Novotel Clarke Quay

xuer21

haha... initially wanted to take the food one ... but hor... too many ppl.. when i go to the ladies and i saw the queue... it really discourage me from taking haha .. i saw alot of ppl take a small glass i guess its filled with a green color food inside... dunno what is that...

funfun08

hahaha.... I came out fr the ladies den managed to join in the Q...
But I lik the beijing duck wrap onli..
other food.. hmm so so onli..

The dim sum not nice, coz me indigestion until 8pm...
fried mango wt yam paste very very hard.. so i gv up on trying.. my FH oso dun wan to eat..

hmm.. my FH tried the test tube of yellow curry wt duck, he said yucks.. den i tried the laksa.. hmm.. so so only..

Pastries not bad..

pooh83

LoL ... Its fusion my dear... East Meets West HaHA!! Wonder if Novotel serves such food like the Tomato Juice Vodka w/ Mussels for Pre Dinner cocktail it will be cool sia ... hee hee

xuer21

hmmm i guess maybe they might intend to prepare that for the pre cocktail.. new menu??? haha... fuse until i blur liao.. hehe

pooh83

I was told that they only serve assorted peanuts and free flow of soft drinks
sianz 1/2 leh hahas

pooh83

LoL ... Come to think of it, if don't serve peanuts, later no one eat the main course then alot of wastage le woh ! Hehe

funfun08

oooh...
ya.. i asked hui ling..she told me is onli drinks n peanuts..
even today's deco (ceiling wt some candle light) oso need to top up.. nice hor?

AD will be nth except the round table n reception table wt simple flowers..jus lik the level 5 ballroom

funfun08

did u all manage to try gobi.com.sg??

I lik their pastries... duno the name of it when i try..
But the 3tiers on display cost S$400 le.. abit ex..

pooh83

Nice is nice , but no one will pay attention to the top ceiling de la haha...

Btw, is this what u are refering to? My FHTB happened to take note of the ceiling wahaha

527929.jpg

funfun08

ya ya.. is this one..
but is quite nice when u look fr far.. guests can easily noticed..
not when u directly below it la.. haha

pooh83

Lol ... but i am sure its gonna be costly loh.. where do you want to put the flowers as mentioned at ? At the same place ?

pooh83

My FHTB pondered over this question too but i gave him a blur look and eventually he dropped off the intention to find for the answer too... HaHa !

guess no one will be so itchy finger to go and hit the candles ba ... hehe! Kids couldnt reach that high

xuer21

but but but... if the cloth or whatever holding onto the candle one loosen or split or dunno what... then it will drop!!! haha its nice but hor... dangerous...

pooh83

Sway loh ... bo pian... KeKe..

So conclusion is as follows,

Nice to See, good to view,
Once drop, considered burnt

LOL ...

crayongal

hey gals..
i like the deco on the ceiling........

hmm.. i guess nearer to AD, we have to speak to the ncq florist to nego and discuss deco.
keke.. nobody ask huiling or ncq staff if they're gonna have any changes to the deco or anythg to make it look less bare? hehe =P

erms, i saw some comments frm u gals abt the ballroom being small? why isit so ah..?
when i viewed ballroom when i signed up..looks quite huge le.. and high ceiling..
so, ya.. apparently, if u have abt 40+ tables..also can accomodate quite comfortably.. (dat is phoenix ballroom lah.. )

so .. ya... heh.. kinda confused wif dat comment.
clarify anyone?! =)

xuer21

i guess the impression that gives the guests today is that due to the centre stage and that i think novotel only uses a part of the entire ballroom thats y it appears to be small ... thats my opinion ...

crayongal

btw, who is geo_win .. neva see the person on our thread before.. heh..

anyhows, geo_win... u may want to clarify with ncq.. the tablecloth.. got afew more colors to choose frm. VIP table does not need to be red/pink(erms..is there pink? heh.. i din noe. ) but .. ya.... and ballroom..i rmbr not so small.. so, chill... dun be so sians..
moreover, u oredi booked abt a year ago.. means yr AD is soon? =)

pooh83

Stef,

Due to the wedding show, they had actually blocked up the room into approximately a qudrant. what u saw today was like 1/4 of the actual size and the walls on the left and behind the backstage is removable...

Hopefully it answers your question *winks

Xue21,

Think dont waste time to get that stupid flower feature on the ceiling la, not pratical. Sure it must be costly too de ...

xuer21

ya.. i like the flower deco with the dangerous candles but hor... like what u say its very true.. dun wan to waste too much $$ also... can u imagine.. if really on that day the candles drop... and everyone hair will be chao-ta... pengz...

pooh83

lol... guest chao ta nvm, not you and your wedding gown can liaoz... Lol !

Btw, what do you all think of the bridal gowns that they showcase today?

I personally think that its all so ugly :p and my FHTB thinks its all too revealing...

xuer21

hmmmm.... honestly, i feel its ok la... dun really like the black series though. As for the rest.. i only like abt 2... if i rememeber correctly is what the 3rd model wore the first time they came out. As for the evening gown hor.. guess the colors are more daring ba.. not those common types one.. personally i like 2 one is the blue one .. and the other one is the champagne color one...

pooh83

The blue one is still ok, the champagne one will be slighly better ba i guess...hehe

Will be going to Whitelink's Bridal show next month... hee hee

eden_dream

I'm joining the troup here to be a BTB in Sep 08!! I made a last min switch to change from Phoenix ballroom to Cinnamon ballroom as I really wanted to hold a banquet at NCQ on a sat and somebody booked the Phoenix ballroom JUST before I did.. Hope the Cinnamon ballroom and recep area would b as pretty as the Phoenix area.. Cuz it kinda gave me a "squeezy" feeling when I went to view it..

Anyway I won 1st prize for the 2nd lucky draw!!

funfun08

Oooh... eden, COngrat!!! you r the crystal girl, rite? u n ur fren soooo heng!!!Both won prizes rite?

Hahahaha...

Gina, u saw the real size of Phoenix ballroom b4?? my FH n me oso shocked during the show.. how come is so small...

Anyone hv the real size of Phoenix ballroom?? Can share out?

doric

Quite disappointed with the bridal suite. I remember last year wedding show bridal suite nt so simple one, got much more decor, dun really like the woody furniture, look cheapo leh. Chey, last yr I thot we'll be getting tat kind of suite, nw hopes all dashed

Seems tat yesterday time management nt very good. They allocated 1hr for the 1st few items but didn't take tat long leh, a bit boring actually. But last yr was a mad house cos everybody rushing out for the food aft bridal show. Tis year we smart liao, cm out earlier.

Btw, do u get the feeling tat only Jamie know wat is going on? We wanted to check with the staff how long b4 our AD will they contact us but 2 of their staff couldn't answer us. In the end still hv to go back to Jamie. I thot tis is only a simple qn??? Sigh.....

diva79

kc , Michelle >> yup we won some prizes. but we cant use it at all so tot of selling them away..hb was shocked too

geo_win >> u only saw part of the grandball room . must of it is taken up by the stage and the changing room behind the stage mean for the models etc. the table cloth u can check with your cordinator. personally i like the red and the gray ones.

funfun >> u tasted the testubes? we were looking all over wondering where to get them cant find anywhere...dim sum not bad. the fried mango with yam paste like plastic but the beiging duck wrap roll is very nice!!

funfun>> need to top up how much lei?

belleteo

Hey ladies,

Kind of confused lei. I remember the ballroom was quite big that can put up to 50tables. As for the bridal suit, i remember it was vety nicely decorated too. But the comments i heard now is like not so good hor. As for the table cloth think you can choose brown, dark / bright red, grey. I same as Divasan, i prefer the grey for guest and red for VIP.

Anyone can advise on the food as i need to email Jamie the list of food that i want so she can prepare for food tasting. Still thinking getting $728 or $698 package lei.

funfun08

divasan>> for the deco, i'm not sure.. I tik huiling was xhausted ler..I purposely to Q for her yday.. But her service so so only, everythg oso need to chk wt Jamie..

Abit unhappy when I asked her how much top up need to pay den she told me tt I hv to work them out wt the florist my own.
sian..

Doric>> totally agree wt u.. coz Jamie is the manager ma..