Novotel Clarke Quay

rainame

Hmm..not so sure about that though.. He seems a nice guy, so hope everything will be smooth sailing!!
Mine is a wedding lunch.. anyone else as well?

ixoral

Just emailed Huiling for the checklist and floorplan.
Her new email is indeed funny...meant to confuse and reduce spam? ha

Btw anyone here collected your wedding cards from T-dragon yet? I check with HL she said we'll just need to show T-dragon our contract and they will just take 70% of your confirmed tables and allocate you the no. of cards. Should we confirm more than stated in the contract, we must tell HL first. Then we go to T-dragon to collect the extra cards, and the printer will verify with NCQ themselves.

So looks like it's most convenient to confirm our guaranteed tables before proceeding to card printing? Any ex-brides or those gg to wed soon with advise?

bna_2010

randyce: Did they extent the $50 dollar per table off offer to you when you booked?
I understand the offer was only good till arpil 2010 weddings?
I am looking at Nov 2010.

ixoral: is it? haha maybe later I email her and see what's that hee.

yours is 70% ixoral? I neg mine to 80% during BOWS when I signed up with them.

bna2010: think the $50 per table offer no more, correct me if I'm wrong. Last weekend during their promotional show, they changed to $1k off. randyce managed to get them to extend the perks for her AD in Sep 2010 I believe.

ixoral

thomas: i forgot the percentage i negotiated for. I hope it's 80% too. Haha need to dig out my contract to check first. hehe. but i think i'll go down to jb to print the inserts since my bs is there too. From what i read in forum the rates are like halved! Smthg like SG: 200pcs/S$100 vs JB: 200pcs/RM80. *gasp*

winterpolaris

hello Ixoral,

you going to JB to print?? eh where ar? I also want... i got my own business contact, he told can give me good rate but is almost what you said leh.

Let me know ya :D

mspiggy85

bna2010: the $50 off per table no more leh. but as i intend to sign with them during the show so they manage to extend the 1k promotion to me.

pannie

Hi Ixoral.

I would suggest you to get your cards first then wait till you can confirmed the number of tables cos normally that would be too close to wedding le.

If you are not too sure, then take the closest minimum number you are most sure about.

For me, I start with 30 tables although in the end I have close to 40. I just collect my cards along the way when I have more tables.

ixoral: I see...ya JB shld be cheaper I guess due to exchange rate too. Dun think my wife wanna go down all the way there just to print, too much of a hassle. Will get it done in SG.

Hui Shan: I think in NCQ's new webby there are floorplans for both Cinnamon and Phoenix ballrooms...check it out

Ann: thanks for the tip again!

evergreen: I see...no wonder never heard of him...thanks for info too!

pannie

Hi Thomas.

You are welcome. I try to help wherever i can. ^_^

Another thing is printing inserts. You must take into account of the amount of time you have. Tying inserts to every cards or sticking it to the cards also take times.

Actually my hubby wanted to print inserts like you do but for me knowing his character and mine, I insisted on printing on the card although it's more expensive. In the end, he was glad I had insisted on my way cause we were too busy with work and wedding prep that we hardly had time to write our wedding invitations so not to even say place the inserts in the cards itself.

ixoral

winterpolaris: i shd be chkg out T&T at jb city sq which is recommended by alot of ppl here. There're several threads on them under 'wedding cards' category.
If your business contact is someone u'r comfortable with, i guess it's always better to deal w someone u know!

Ann: thanks for the advice. Guess i better sit down with hb and run thru our draft guest list and roughly note down the no. of cards required. If the number is less than the minimum T-dragon can give me, then i will go ahead to collect first! Any idea if they will bring in new card designs every now and then? Or the typical card designs usually stay put?

I think most ppl print on inserts cos it's cheaper right? I didnt know that if we print on inserts we got to tie ourselves! i thought the printing co. will settle for us :p Oh no, meaning we got to buy our own gold strings??

Ann: thanks again...I agree with u too, dun think we have the time to tie every insert to the card. Too time consuming le.

ixoral: if I'm not wrong they wun tie for u de, u have to do it urselves.

Queen: they will contact u for food tasting roughly abt 2 mths before ur AD ba...

lilmspep

Hi all, i'm new here...

M a NCQ BTB too..
my AD is on the 12th Nov at phoenix ballroom..
my FH n i decided to take it for the perks n aso mainly d advice from u guys here... =)

pannie

Hi Ixoral.

Normally they seldom bring in new designs of cards.

Yes, you will have to buy gold strings to tie yourself. You will have to measure and cut the strings and tie them. Alternatively, you can glue the inserts (apply glue on the folding line) to the cards. Both ways are also time consuming.

By the way, your invitation cards don't come to you folded too. You have to fold them one by one.

ixoral

Ann: icic. oh ya one more thing. what info must we have in hand before we head down to the printer? e.g. parents' names, hotel name and address, cocktail and dinner timing, etc. Anything i missed out?

Anyone gonna print NCQ map to put into the card yourself? Anyone with NCQ map sample? Thanks!

lilmspep: welcome to the club! who's ur coordinator? then evergreen can update for u...

rand: yes whahahahahahaa

ixoral: think we will print out the map on NCQ's website and insert into our cards when our time comes. Dun wan our relatives to get lost, esp those coming in from overseas.

pannie

Hi Ixoral.

Since you are printing in JB, you need more details. Like address of hotel in chinese, your parents name in chinese, the chinese date which your wedding is on, etc.

I have my wedding invite template with all the information in it. Cos have confidential information in it so cannot publicly put up here. If you want to see, can PM me and I send a copy to you to have a look. ^_^

ixoral

Michelle: thanks! but if print the first pic in black and white, will be quite dark right? wonder if got those map with lines and white spaces only..

Ann: thanks for your help!

mich55

ixoral> welcome...ya, cos is shaded...think 1 novotel provide also something like right? or u try streetdirectory, duno can copy & paste or not...

Ann> u print from T&T as well? can email me the template? tks!

pannie

Hi Michelle.

I printed at T-dragon. Not T&T. If you would like to see the template, do PM me so that I have your email address.

tickpoe

dear BTBs, after hotel-hunting for months, we are very likely choosing NCQ to hold our wedding banquet in Oct 2010. Since it’s still a long way to go, my FH thinks we should not sign up now, but only wait till the roadshows where we can sign up for NCQ with better perks. Any advice?? i am just quite kiasu.. wanna sign up quickly!! :p

winterpolaris

Hello Tickpoe,

If your chosen wedding date is a very popular date, you should sign up now because that means the date will be likely to take up if you wait any longer.

Like my wedding date was supposed to be at 19 Dec this year and i wanted to do at Orchard Parade hotel and my mom changed it to 23 Jan next year and end up so many hotels were fully booked. I nearly fainted and almost couldn't find any hotels at all. Thankfully Novotel got space and after which quite a number of couples was behind me. I checked many hotels and I was put on waiting list
There are many couples who booked the date as early as 2 years in advance. In the past I thought they were being too kiasu, apparently no, is really scary cos popular dates are taken up in most hotels!

Unless you have no issue with dates and that means you are flexible to move early to Sep or late to Nov, that you don't have to sign up now. Checked with your parents if they are those type who need to have a say in choosing your wedding date.

tickpoe: I agree with winter, ur fellow sporeans are very KS, most of them tend to book early to avoid disappointment esp when urs is a "hot" date. Better to be safe than sorry unless u are not bothered abt dates. NCQ's next wedding show I think in Sep, not too sure...by that time ur choice date cld be gone. Do consider carefully.

Hope u join us soon!

cheer7

ann: thanks for e info on e fish.. n sharin wif us all tt u hav went thr'.. its a great help cos some of us here r quite clueless as to wat to do next... hee...

tickpoe: althernatively, u can chk wif NCQ whether they can tentatively book e date for u 1st... usually they can hold it for u till mayb their next fair/show...

my FH n i oso cant get e initial date tt we wan in nov/dec, we hav chk wif 4 diff hotel wif 4 diff dates n NCQ s e onli one available... as my parents onli confirm our weddin dates in jan tis yr though we got e dates fro e shu fu in aug last yr... luckily NCQ s oso 1 of our fav choices.. if not, we wil need to go through another round of venue sourcing...

tickpoe

thanks winter, thomas, cheer!! wow it's such an active thread here! by the way, i only got to check out the pheonix ballroom, and it's really nice. How's the cinnamon ballroom like? Is it also pillarless?

winterpolaris

eh almost.. but got 1 pillar but is at the side and the coordinator will arrange in such a way that no tables will be blocked by the pillar so not to worry

tickpoe

that's great. do u think it's a problem with the parking for the guests? I was thinking Liang court's carpark is always jammed up.. guests might not be happy? but my FH says there's no way I can make everyone happy.. as long as hotel is nice, food is great, the rest that happens after our wedding does not concern us... hahaha

cinnamon ballroom is equally as cosy and nice hee

ya Liang Court doesn't really have that many lots to park but no choice, have to give and take sometimes.

cutelittletoes

evergreen -> help me update please!
nick: cutelittletoes
AD: 14 Nov 2009
Ballroom: Phoenix
Coord: Kevin

Thomas -> yah, we definitely save more money by choosing the $50 bucks off. =)

all -> how do you feel about not serving beer to guest during banquet?

ixoral

Queen: Invites and printing better to do abt 6months before. cos you need time for the agency to print, check draft, final version and then also to tie your inserts in (if any).

evergreen_23

updates...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>zer061zer0</TD><TD>01-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohise</TD><TD>03-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hui</TD><TD>08-Jun-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>aroh</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chan Hui Shan</TD><TD>13-Oct-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheer</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>lilmspep</TD><TD>12-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>cutelittletoes</TD><TD>14-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vi</TD><TD>29-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twilight Zone</TD><TD>30-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>juju</TD><TD>10-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheeky_chick</TD><TD>12-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rainame</TD><TD>13-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jenny tan</TD><TD>22-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>bahamass</TD><TD>09-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>randyce</TD><TD>25-Sep-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl </TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin</td></tr></table>

huhu

for printing of invites, you will need to wait for your coordinator to email you the letter which you can show to T-dragon. My wedding is in June and we received Huiling's email on checklist and printing of invites in Feb, which i think was very responsive of her cos at that time we haven started planning anything yet.

In my opinion, no point print invites so early cos nearer to wedding date, there will be adjustment made to the guest list and you will need to increase/decrease the no of invites to print. If there's a need to increase printing invites later or need more cards, there are additional charges to incur. So, print your invites when you have more or less confirmed the guest list.

We selected cards in early Mar and will be going down to collect the printed cards tmr. They quite speedy in their replies and have all the templates ready so the process was a breeze. Mostly the delay is on our part cos too lazy to look at the artwork they emailed over =p

its 10 weeks to my wedding and I have not call Huiling to discuss anything yet haha. I guess we need to confirm the menu and arrange for food tasting next...

evergreen_23

i thought invites to print 6 months before a bit too early right? how to gauge how many to print?

pearl: nowadays, ppl don really take beer.. more would prefer wine.. but then we must also cater to those "uncles" and "Aunites"... they may still want beer cos they may not know how to appreciate wine.. so i thought it's better to still have beer.. but don need to cater so much for it..

huhu

hi pearl,
i agree with evergreen. We wanted to do away with the whole beer thingy but my parents like not willing to so we will stick to the 1 barrel given plus perhaps buy another 36 bottles ourselves.