Novotel Clarke Quay

footprint

Went for my food-tasting yesterday le!

Hmm.. simple explanation:
All dishes are nice (esp the shark fin & chicken), except the fish. -_-"
too hard (which should be due to the fish too big)

Later when i more free, then give a detailed explanation of each individual dish. haa..

footprint

yes... rock Garoupa.

thought of changing to soon hock, but the person-in-charge says Garoupa is definitely more presentable than soon hock, esp. when soon hock, there's a possibility of having more than 1 in the bowl as size too small.

still thinking though.

ya, soon hock is considered cheapo fish, not that suitable to use for banquets.

waiting for ur detailed FR on ur food tasting hee

happinessbliss

poohise,

i had my wedding last yr.
I change the fish to steam soonhock. It was great! Do not worry abt the presentation cos if the fish is small, they will give u 2 in a plate, no complaints so far from my guest on the fish dish.... all commented the steam soon hock was great...

Kat: LOL

Happiness: thanks for ur feedback! any comments from ur guests that it's a cheapo fish? That's my main concern actually...

footprint

the fish is fresh, but hard lor. :p

Phoenix Platter : I chose ba kwa, chinese ham, drunken chix, jelly, prawn salad.
Nice but portion too little.
Though we had 11 person, but each of the items not enough for each person to have a pc.

Soup: Very nice! Had mentioned in my feedback that prefer them to do the distribution of shark fin soup as the sharks fin they will place on top of the soup. so distribution is impt to ensure everyone gets to have a bite @ the fin. :p

Roast Crispy Chix with deep-fried garlic: Very nice!

Steamed Rock Garoupa in Trad. Classic Style:
Fresh, but too hard. dun like the cooking method, though my family members feel its ok. Most prob will just remain as this ba

live prawns: Nice coz fresh. haa.. :p
Each of us has like 2 prawns each.

Abalone Mushroom & Spinach with Conpoy: Nice. Also, to take note, spinach (according to the PIC) got season... Think as weather get cold, like Oct, will be more bitter. For mine in May, no prob so will stick to this.

Noodle: Portion alot. Also, the PIC recommended to go with vinegar is yummy.

Cream of Mango with Pomelo: Refreshing. Had requested to add more pomelo. And yes, pomelo also got season, so for mine in May, might be slight bitter (during mid-autumn, the pomelo is the best)

Had ordered another serving of yam paste to compare (to pay ourselves of coz).
Not bad, they have bits of yam thus able to "chew" it.
But will still stick to Cream of Mango as its lighter.

poohise: hard like stone ah? LOL

eh, tot food tasting is for 10pax? u got 11, sure not enuff right? hmmm...........

cheer7

1 of my friend oso commented tt e food s nice but e portion s small when she attended a banquet there in feb... she had taken something b4 she went for e dinner n after the dinner, went to have supper @ 1 of the restaurant at clarke quay...

winterpolaris

tat what i am worry with. I also mentioned to Huiling about the portion.. dunwant my guests said not enuff
esp the dinner so expensive for me. hahaa

Wonder if they can add in more. The roast chicken with garlic dish is making me drool!
Thanks Poohise for your feedback. Your selection is what I am looking at too ;)

Ok lar.. if fish is fresh that ok at least maybe can highlight this to the chef right? Food tasting session must discount 10% for AD cos sure very hard to QC. Esp that day if there are 2 weddings going on, Kitchen sure very very very busy!

cheer: omg...really ah? that's very BAD, how can anyone not be full after a wedding dinner and still can go for supper? really disgraceful if word of this gets around...

I will def make sure I remind Huiling on this, dun wanna make myself a laughing stock for years to come...

footprint

haaa..
well, i feel only the phoenix platter portion too little.
Rest just nice, esp for 11 pax.
The noodle indeed alot, but has more is better than less la.

And yes, usually VIP tables, the food will be more and nicer? haa.. :p

poohise: maybe they think for starters, no need to have so much?

dunno abt the VIP part haha, usually we wun even get a chance to eat until when we are back in our bridal suite, dun u agree?

winterpolaris

Hello Poohise,

if that the case that the starter is little, then is still ok. but to go off for supper after wedding dinner is terrible! and usually guests will never feedback this to the couple because they will spare a thought for them after all is their big day.

hahaha but VIP table nicer and more.. the couple like us.. we never have a chance to eat more.. LOL since we are running all over the places to take photos, change gown * blah blah*

*pray hard*

jasmine: for 10

kat: agree with u, that wld be SO disgraceful...think I wun have place to hide my face next time shld this happen to me...

can ask them to bring some of the dishes up to ur suite, but it wun be a lot and also wun be the whole 8-9 course, so def will still be hungry haha

winterpolaris

hahaha that why in the package we are given $35 credits to order room service from the menu...

But seriously, i think we shd all bug them and tell them to take note of the qty. Even if food is not good, at least the qty shd be sufficient.

Kat: I certainly will, dun worry. U shld, too.

food not good, give u a lot also no use haha.

must be at least palatable lah.

footprint

haa.. ya.. we wont have time to eat, other than 1st & 2nd dish ba.

But they will pack for you and put in bridal suite ba.
Also i had wrote down on my feedback to have 2 ala-carte yam paste coz i want to eat those. Wahaha. :p

poohise: ya pack they will, but not ALL the dishes lor. Maybe out of 8-9, they give u 4 only.

yam paste is nice leh, I want to have that also on my AD after my banquet is over wahhahahaha

maybe if still hungry, can order room service? 50% off for us on our big day keke

twilight_zone30

Hi all..

long time since i've been here...
this thread sure moving fast.

poohise> thank you for sharing your food tasting experience with us. Quite a good experience you had there.. Seems like the quantity issue keeps coming up..

twilight: welcome back! not at all, I find it moving very slowly...

noticed ur name not inside the list above, u not a NCQ btb?

twilight_zone30

Hi Thomas

yeah.. maybe I was not around for quite some time, so feel like so many posts..

the list above??
oh ya.. that was updated by evergreen huh...
I am Novotel btb...

confirmed on 30th Nov, Cinnamon, coordinator Huiling
managed to get the $50nett off per table.
so... guess i'm "in the club" dy now..
hahaha

cheer7

mmm... tt's my friend feedback.... mayb bcos e banquet s held shortly aft chinese new year (CNY)? thus e portion s small or she has been feasting durin e CNY, so feel tt e portion s small.... mayb we shd wait for more feedback...

personally feel both qty n quality of food r equally impt.... if really veri small portion, then mayb go for 'heavier' stuff like rice, yam paste... as least can fill e stomach ;)

twilight: yes, updated by her...good, she can help u update when she comes in haha. 30 Nov 2009 or 2010?

good for u! I just got notice that NCQ now got this promotion....and I signed up oredi before this

www.dreamweddingsatnovotel.com "click on promotional specials"

Sigh...

cheer: agree with u

twilight_zone30

Thomas> it's 30 Nov 2009.. Wah!! Free flow of beer ar?? i also signed up dy..
dunno if I can get 'additional' those perks or not. very good deal leh..

cheer> totally agree with you also..

twilight_zone30

thomas> yes indeed.. I tried calling Huiling just now.. But eventually she was on leave.. Kevin picked up the call, and tell me that they are unable to extend that for us anymore... too bad though... sigh... But still, glad that I still have the cash discount..

evergreen_23

yoz all,

totally no time to login, but i still read the entry via email alert.

updates are here...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Ballroom</TD><TD>Coordinator </TD></TR><TR><TD>zer061zer0</TD><TD>01-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohise</TD><TD>03-May-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hui</TD><TD>08-Jun-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>aroh</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chan Hui Shan</TD><TD>13-Oct-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheer</TD><TD>25-Oct-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>mmelody11</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Genevia</TD><TD>15-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixoral</TD><TD>21-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vi</TD><TD>29-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twilight Zone</TD><TD>30-Nov-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ger Lim</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>W&amp;L</TD><TD>04-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>juju</TD><TD>10-Dec-09</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>bahamass</TD><TD>09-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>evergreen</TD><TD>10-Jan-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine</TD><TD>23-Jan-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>natelyn</TD><TD>13-Mar-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thomas</TD><TD>14-Mar-10</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Huiling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl </TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Phoenix Ballroom</TD><TD>Kevin</td></tr></table>

As for the offer, actually for some ppl, it's more worth it now, but for some, the $50 nett off is more worth it! hehe.. i think for me, the latter one applies to me. If i have 36 tables, i will save $1800, with 2 barrels of beer.. so still more worth it than the current offer... i negotiated sooo long to get the helper room and they die die don wan to give me lo... -_-|||

But then again, like what winterpolaris say, we can't wait till now then book lo... if not, the dates would have been gone..

evergreen: yalor we also, but die die they dun wanna give us helper's room and free flow beer also...

anyway nvm lah, looking forward to my big day next yr...and it's EXACTLY one year from today!

twilight_zone30

evergreen> yah.. true indeed.. you'll win some and lose some.. wanna wait for better and better deals, end up all dates not available liao.. My hubby also tell me.. "like all those boutiques la.. you can buy a shirt today in normal price, suddenly tomorrow go on sale.. we can't do much one.. as long as got good deals, gud enuf liao.." heheheh... stay positive for our upcoming weddings..

spqing17

hi En, just wanted to share my banquet experience at Novotel Clarke Quay as a guest. Been to hotel for wedding banquets in late 2007 while it was undergoing renovation) and recently in 2009 (renovation all completed).

The overall dining experience was great. The banquet hall is tastefully decorated, no pillars, big reception area and food and service is not bad as well. The only grduge I have for the place is the multi-storey carpark. I believe it is shared between Liang Court (the shopping mall) and the hotel. It is a total nightmare to exit the
carpark on a weekend night, after the end of the wedding banquet, on both occassions! It took me a good 40 mins before I can get out of the
carpark gantry and down the spiral ramp before reaching the one way road (Clarke Quay)!

The congestion starts in the carpark itself and ends immediately after exiting the gantry on level 3. Motion is not possible most of the
time, not to even mention crawling. Even for those who just entered the carpark and looking for a lot are stuck.

No doubt, there is some congestion on the road exiting to river valley road as it is only a one way road. However, cars are still in motion
and at most it took me 3 mins to hit river valley road, hence this little jam does not contribute to the congestion within the carpark itself.

Perhaps you'll understand more if you've been to that carpark before. Hopefully you try it on a less crowded day and not get stuck for so long!

Consider the above, if you will like your friends and relatives to be stuck for at least 30 mins in the carpark after leaving your wedding banquet that ended at 11pm.

cheer: not too sure, still considering...did ur coordinator tell u how much it was? mine's 380++ for another night's stay.