Novotel Clarke Quay

m2u

To future NCQ brides,

Been busy so didnt get to see the forum lately...
Anyway seem to me u all dun knw which wan to chose between flow of beer or wine so i like to giv some advise mayb u all wan to consider...

For me i will wan to tak the free flow of beer instead of every table 1 bottle of wine.
Depend on how many tables u going to hav on tt day if u going to hav 30,40 or even more then u should tak up the free flow of beer.

Put it this way 1 bottle can pour abt 4-5 glass of wine. If u order wines the outstanding of the wines u can bring back home but not beer cuz u cant expect to bring back the whole barrel back rite... 1 30L of beer barrel cost ard 600+++ if i remember correct diff hotel diff rate but somewhere there... 1 30L com of beer wun last u till the end of the nite ( TRUST ME ) the most on ur 5 course the beer will be finish so r u going to order n other 30L when u still got abt 3-4 course left till the end of the dinner? For my exp comin to the end of the dinner the beer will slow down so if u order n other 30L how many ppl can finish tt 30L? My own exp is 30-40 tables or even more then 40 tables ard 36-48 bottles can last till the end of dinner as for cockage wise mayb u wan to ask for com u 12 bottles of wine dun charge u lo haha this is wat other parkages in other hotel do. 30L of beer can pour abt 90 glasses unless u hav alot of hardcore drinkers then can finish it if not u cant bring back the whole barrel even the beer is not yet finish. On the other hand if u do hav alot of hardcore drinkers u should tak up the flow of beer cuz it will b not wise to open n other 30L n it will add on to ur bill. So if u say most of the ppl drink wines now yes but not alot compare to beer? How many ppl can drink mayb 5-10 i say of wines per person? normally ppl will tak ard 2-3 or 4 glasses of wine per person but not all drink wines as i say.

Somemore GST going to b 7% liao u knw tt 7% will b how much? But all the above is my pt of view & to help save cost on ur WD unless u tel me $ is not a problem for u then so hope i can do some help for u ..... haha so i going to end here tkx for reading i knw it abit long hee hee.... anythin feel free to ask me ( if i hav the time )

luckylucky

Hi m2u,
tkz for your advice, after what u say, i do my own sum. feel that it is really more worth to take the option free "flow of beer", cos like what u mention, normally pple will only drink 1-3 glasses of wine but not beer...and the sabotage part is always using beer instead of wine.

so better dun take risk, scully, on the actual day many pple drink beer and it may add up to 3 barrels and that will cost us $1,200(1 free barrel + $600 X 2). Not forgetting the wine portion cos i believe 1 bottle per table is insufficient.

Xie le gal!

lingandyang

Hi Ahjo77,

can I also take a look at your actual day picture? I went there yesterday to take a look at the ballroom but there was a function going on at that time, so i can only just peek.

Thanks very much!

picogy

Hi Ahjo77,

do u mind sharing your actual day pics with me. [email protected]
I'm also considering NCQ.
Btw has anyone had solemnization at NCQ?
Can they do it outdoor?
Pls share your exp.
Thanks alot

esgril

I brought my friend and parents to view the place and see the actual wedding setup last nite for both Phoenix and Cinnamon Ballroom.

We felt that the wedding layout looks quite bare. The stage in Phoenix looks quite empty, can't really feel it's a stage. The ballroom has high ceiling, which makes it better for wedding. As for cinnamon, it's smaller, stage display better than Phonenix but low ceiling, making it looks a function dinner.

After that, I passed by Peony Jade Restaurant also @ Clarke Quay, there's also a wedding going on. I popped in and took a quick glance at the wedding layout and deco. The place is done up really nicely. My mother said it looks so much better than NCQ.

Now I'm in a dilemma. Dun know which place to book.

not_firmed

Rachel.. the weekday price is $100 lesser for this promotion period...
I asked Jamie yesterday on beer, 1 barrel is at $600+++ for 30L... I bottle of wine is $23nett

Hi m2m.. thks for sharing yr view here...it indeed give us some idea on how to calculate...

Esgirl.. I went to NCQ last nite too.. I went in to view cinnamon ballroom, since i'm taking that room... my hb like it v much, coz it's simple n cosy... Didn went to Peony Jade though...

jasmine23

urrgh... after reading through the comments... seems like beer is more worth it... anyone koes, after signing the contract, can change???

jasmine23

yup... tweety... the contract i have is 1 bttle of wine per table n 1 barrel of beer.... i thought i can bargain wif them since after reading the tread dat beer consumption is more den wine...

any idea 1 barrel of beer can last for how long???

anyone has any idea how 2 contrl the wine n beer???

luckylucky

I was there yesterday too..wow so many btb were there... i did check with Jaime, she mentioned that in the contract, it will be stated as "free flow of beer" or "1 barrel of beer + 1 wine per table"...so the option is still open..u can always change at a later date. No problem on that!
In fact, initially, i am looking at weekdays but now my bf's family commented that it will be better to hold it on the weekend. Got to respect them, guess will have to give NCQ a miss if we couldn't get the date (lookin at nov 07).
any idea which hotel weekend date for Oct and Nov 07 is still available?
Tkz in advance...

picogy

Anyone wish to know the 08 prices in detail pls pm me. I just got the prices frm them.
I think is worth giving a thought. increament is only $20 per table. But the coordinator told me the prices are only valid till end of this year. Not sure how true it is but will have to check with the sales manager.

Hi Jasmine Loke,
In my opinion, free flow of beer is better
cos the alcohol content is not as high as red wine (14%). So usually ppl will drink beer more than wine. Well hope my advise does help u.

Irene

belleteo

Actually maybe we could do this as know that quite a number of wedding practice this.
Before the dinner start, ppl will ask for drinks, either red wine or beer. We can always instruct the waiter that tell the guest, red wine will only be served when dinner start then want beer instead.
So most ppl will ok. Once dinner start, come to think of it only a less portion of ppl will change the glasses into red wine since they have already started drinking beer.
Like that can save on wine and go for free flow beer.

And red wine is onyl charged per bottle OPENED. So not that bad. We can also prepare 30 bottles and if really exceed, we can always tell guest sorry run out of red wine, would you like beer instead. I believe those guest will not make noise also.
These is some ways to save $$$.
After all, dinner over and ppl will also forget abt such minor things so dun need feel pai seh also.

Wonder hows the food taste.

ssang

Hi m2u

Thanks and I agree on your comment.

I jus attended a wedding dinr and realise that a barrel of 30 litres will def. nt enough for 30 tables. just imaging there is 1 beer drinker at a table, each drinker hv 5 mugs thru out the dinr.the whole nite will b approx. 150 mugs and tis calculation is based on the min.
I think 1 nite easily 3 barrels.

so aft observing this situation, i will tk up the free flow of beer.

Jasmine:
Your wedding is drawing near, mayb u cn share ur experience wif us after your ur special nite and when u are back from your honeymoon.

Thanks BTB for your good advice.

: )
Sunny gal.

picogy

Hi Lingandyang,

You got mail

I'll be going down this sat. Will try to take some pics and try to upload here for u gals.

jasmine23

hi all, thanks for all the advice.... will try to c if i could change mine to free flow of beer instead.....

hi sunny gal, i will update all of u on the food, atmosphere n service once my AD is over....

esgril

I went down last sunday to take some pixs of both ballrooms (Phoenix and Cinnamon). Those who wants to see how the actual wedding setup looks like.. let me know.

not_firmed

Thanks Esgirl... got the photos alr...
From the photos ot seems that the table set-up material is different from Phoenix n cinnamon room, is it??? Is it upon request??

Phoenix ballroom's seems like using ivory silky white napkin...

biny

I am so worried after reading Esgirl note....... Seems like I am not the only one who thinks the stage decor is so bare.

Unlike other hotels whose walls are decorated with panelling or mirrors, the walls of the ballroom is so BARE. The stage is so small and empty on its own and the decorations looks terrible. With a black metal stand holding some lights and white background........ sigh

I told Jamie its not very nice but she replied to ask me to spent money on flowers and stage decorations on my own!!! So unhappy........

U know if they allow the 2 screens side by side the stage, it wouldnt look so bad. Instead, there is only one screen on the side....... With the high ceiling, it really looks so BARE. How ah =( Me so unhappy.... If I gonna spent so much money on decorating the place, then I rather choose a better hotel right? How how

dongdong111

I am so unhappy with that coordinator - Jamie's service. I really need to share and vent my frustrations out......

It seems like she is not the only coordinator in this hotel but I tot she was the main one so I approach her hoping to neg for a gd deal.

But she is forever busy. Never can get her. So when I finally get to meet her, I was very dissappointed with her service. She may seems very professional, but she is very cold and puts on a fake smile. When I asked for certain stuff, she just rejected me flat.... Well, I understand that she has her own constraints but when I saw her thumping her hands impatiently, I really am pissed.... This kind of body language is very impolite and unprofessional!!!! I only took 5 mins of her time, so y does she have to display this kind of attitude?

Everyone will want a good deal and will try best to bargain. But I dun like the way she rejected all my requests. Even though I wanted so much to book Novotel, now I am in a big fix cos I dunno if I should go for it as I really dun like her!! So I dunno if I should feel that the hotel is more imp than the coordinator. BUT if the coordinator's attitude is so bad, what am I gonna do closer to my actual wedding? It means that I will not have the confidence..... After reading this forum, I realise that its not me

jasmine23

Hi Esgirl, thanks for the pict....

hmm... kind of worry now.... any1 had their dinner there b4??? how issit??? anyone tried request for another screen????

esgril

Hi tweety

I noticed that the plates used in Phoenix ballroom is different from Cinnamon.

In the phoenix ballroom, they have an extra big round plate beneath the normal white plate. So there's double layer. See the table setting pix which i sent u.

However, in the cinnamon ballroom table setting, it's just only ONE ordinary white plate on the table.

belleteo

Thanks EsGirl.

A bit different from what i have seen at the WS lei. The WS looks much nicer.
I do have a pic of the Cinnamon ballroom where i took on WS. If you gals need, pls let me know.

The pics esgal sent like very bare for the Phoenix ballroom. looks too bare. mm... start to worry now also.

biny

ya I tot the pics on their official website and marketing brochures look great....... but when I saw the actual setup and stage decor on an actual wedding, I freak out and really worry.... I really regret this..... all my frens agree with me that it looks plain and bare, I am so sad now.......

esgril

yup.. The photos shown on their website, looks great. However, I was also suprised when I saw the actual wedding setup. Look quite normal and plain. The fren that went with me that day to see the ballrooms, she works with one of our local bridal magazine, she advised me to think twice about booking NCQ, as she said too much work to be done to decorate the place.

I would suggest that before u book any hotel, better see the real wedding setup. Have an idea how it looks like. I mean see the exact ballroom that u would be booking, not another ballroom and expect it to be the same. Sometimes, different ballrooms give different effect, ambience and feel.

Take photos of the ballroom, then u can refer back when u go back home. Or else, u may not remember clearly the details.

After seeing NCQ, I walked to Clarke Quay and took a look at the actual wedding setup at Peony Jade, well, the place looks exactly the same as shown in their pixs on their website. It gives a wedding feel. http://www.quaysidedining.com/pj_weddings.php

If only the hotel can provide such decor, that would be great.

m2u

Hi all....

after reading wat u all had wrote on the forum so i wan to giv some idea b4 u all sign up....

Dun look @ their wedsite or pics from them cuz pics will not b the same on ur WD tt day. try go down to other couples WD n tak a look see their deco cuz this is wat me & my laogong do when we wan to decide which hotel to chose for our WD. Wat u all wrote say the setting seem to b diff from the ballroom but to me it look more like they short of setting for both ballroom & cinnamon tt y the setting is diff...

I think u all knw b4 u sign the contact everything they will tel u ok ok no prob but when the day come everythin dun seem ok to me. so i always tel myself dun rush to sign for their package cuz spore they r not the only hotel so gals out there tak ur time. on the other hand we must ask ourself too, how much u pay for a package n u will expect wat kind of svr lo correct cuz this is wat i think la... if u held ur WD @ 5 star hotel i guess u wun hav this kind of complain ba cuz wat u pay for u get wat kind of svr... most important to me is the food ( will it taste the same when i hav my food tasting cuz sometime it will taste diff when ur WD come ) & the svr ( they hav enough staff to serve us cuz i dun wan on tt day not enough staff to serve me or my guests ) if not enough staff tt mean the food will b rush, n they will serve very badly to my guests.... N to all pls tak note halfway on ur WD go ard ask ur guests see they got any complain anot like the server got serve them well anot or like how the food taste etc... cuz on tt day u wun knw wat happenin in the ballroom bside ur own VIP table.

Example: I once attend my best friend WD @ xxx hotel during the dinner time 1 of the server pour a glass of red wine onto this xxx guest. the duty captain on tt day didnt knw till the guest complain then they come forward to assit tt guest... but tt not the main pt, the main pt is they nv inform the wedding couple abt wat happen jus now in the ballroom till the guest tel the couple then they knw... it look so bad on tt day when a guest come up to u n tel u arr u ( couple ) jus now a server pour a wine on me u knw ma they ( hotel ) wash my clothes help me ask them when i can get it back.. it so paisei u knw wat if it happen on my WD i oso duno how to ans back... so when my friend ask the captain how come they nv inform them then they tryin to find thousand of excuse to cover themself n i think it very bad... in the end my friend die die oso dun wan to sign the bill cuz she damm mad when they did somethin lydat n they try to cover themself by findin lame excuse so this is 1 of the thing i like to share wit u all hope it help...

belleteo

OH No. Why is the setup so different from what i saw on WS. This is so unfair, as if they are tricking us to sign the contract. But what done cannot be undone. I have already sign up with them.
Hopefully by next year they will improved.

diva79

Any Novotel brides to share their experience of the hotel? Thinkin of signing up with them but having sec tots....

Due to the deco..

diorsnow

oh my... Novotel is also in my list too. However do agreed Jamie is forever busy.. i dont really like her attitude. I got to meet with Wendy from Mandarin Marina and she's very sincere and nice to talk to, but i dont like their banquet room...
Then i also met Thomson from Pan Pac, nice guy but not very flexible.. :x

Can email me novotel photos? Thanks a million!

jonchew

Just attended my friend's wedding at Novotel last night, here are some of my personal view:

1) Quite put off by the waiter. First of all the food are not evenly distributed lor. The shark fin and ee mee come in different portions in the bowl served.
2) The lack of uniformity in the utensil used. I counted 3 different sizes of bowls are used for the shark fins.
3) Then saw my friend doing her first march in, the waiters who is doing the dry ice effect mam chiam lose in lalang like that. My friend walk in liao the dry ice haven't come out yet. Not to mention the poor coordination of the music being played for her march-in.
4) The decor definitely bery bare nothing much expect some fake flowers with candles lit. There is a row of "fake trees" with candle lit at the side of the red carpet. Saw at least a few of the bowl that used to hold the candles is dangling out of the holder. One bump is all it takes and the candle will drop out.

Guess the service shld have been bery much better lor.

diva79

I have met up with Jamie today. She is friendly and although she is very very busy, she forked out time to attend to us for nearly an hour today.

She informed us that there will be differnt color table coverings (for the non-VIP tables) for the next year. So I guess with the colored table coverings for the non-VIP, the whole place will look more colorful.

We saw the actual wedding setup too. I agree with the forum that the stage looks small and kinda of plain when all the lights are switched on. However, when we saw the "intelligent" lighting display and with the lights dimmed down, the ballroom turned out surprsingly nice and okay.

She informed us that the candles for the crystal panels will be lighted on and form a nice decorative background. We didn't see this effect but I guess it should turn out fine too.

Nevertheless, one drawback we noticed is that the smell of the fumes at the reception area is fairly noticeable. For this is a minus point.

Other than that, i think for the NOV promotion they are having right now it quite attractive and worth to consider. Tall ceilings, pillarless and with free use of projector and free flow of beer. In addition, we saw the layout for 32 tables and the place is still quite spacious and not cramped.

And to address the lack of decor (since the ballroom is so big), we can check with the hotel florist to come up with the additional floral table/stage decoration to spice up the place. However, this will be an extra cost charged to us. Honestly, I feel with the lights dimmed I dun think the decor will be much of an issue.

Lastly, maybe because Novotel is more for corporate functions and that is why the ballroom decor is not so "wedding-like". I saw the Amara /M-hotel function rooms also the same kind. Walls very plain not much decor.

diva79

Nevertheless, one drawback we noticed is that the smell of the fumes at the reception area is slightly noticeable.

Typo...

diorsnow

I met up with Jamie today also.. she's quite accomdating, free flow of beet but no red wine. Free corkage charges.. And most attractively, $100 off every table. If i have 25 tables, that be $2500 less..... thus my bf is seriously considering that and Sheraton Towers (i prefer the latter) I went to see Novotel settings.. high ceiling with chandelier. But overall, does not look as grand as sheraton.. I will be making a decision by wednesday as our AD is in Nov'07..

Pls advise

diva79

I think Novotel is value for money. But in terms of look and feel, Sheraton is better. heard its a 5 star hotel?

OT...Winnie (diorsnow)...are u from flowerpod? Congrates!