Novotel Clarke Quay

myistime

Yeah, and we even won a foot massage voucher on that day. But Jamie was too busy to go through with us the package into details, was still wondering if we really got the best deal that day. :p

biny

i booked with novotel also but just found out from jamie that there will not be a red carpet for the actual wedding event.... very dissappointed cos only get to walk down the aisle on a RED CARPET on my big day ma....... i really am surprised to hear that cos almost all hotels provide them ma. Is it a common request?

rine13

Any ex bride frm NCQ can advise me on the hotel..as i would like to cfm the booking but after hearing so many negative comments on NCQ i felt a little confused on my decision.

jasmine23

hi hi... i also booke NCQ but not on their wedding show... still got the perks likes 1 xtra night stay @ bridal suite, 1 wine per table, $100 anniversary voucher...but gotto use UOB credit to sign up... was reading the thread... read smthing about the shark fin... issit realli not nice??? realli no carpet ah??? thought there would b, forgotten to ask.... haiz

rine13

hi jasmine really no red carpet as i had checked with jaime...i just booked NCQ..yup gt to use UOB card to sign up then u r able to enjoy the perks..

biny

i really dun understand y Novotel cant afford to buy a red carpet so that all couples can get to used it. Novotel can then let the couples decide whether or not to use it instead of what Jamie claimed as "a clash of design with the flower stands?!!"..... sigh

Hey Jasmine, the $100 anniversary voucher- is it for a one night anniversary stay or for anniversary dinner? Did u get to enjoy free flow of beer on top of one bottle of wine/table?

shugar

Hi Everafter n Janice,

You've got mail!

belleteo

Hi Bruce,

I sign up with GHA Yishun. How abt you?
How abt you?

Talking abt red carpet, i also ask but really dont have and some of them claim that old ppl or children sometimes with trip by it and fall.

No choice, we got to give N take. Anyway, already consider very good deal.
They will be renovating the toilet also!

fion77

Very much interested to sign up NCQ, hwever it seem the comments are reali bad.

Any pics of the new renovated ballroom?

Newbie..;)

theaprilwedding

Hi Shugar - do you mind sharing with me your pics of NCQ? [email protected] Thanks muchly. Are you using the Cinnammon Room? I'm looking at a small crowd too.

Anyone knows what are the different decor themes the hotel has for banquets? I read in the thread they have a crystal theme. Any others?

Thanks again.

shugar

Hi Rany,

they have another theme... its red and uses fresh flowers.
Yup, I'm using Cinnammon room coz its fits my table number juz nice and I like the room too!

Sent you the pics...

Meiyan, sent to you too!

theaprilwedding

Thanks Shugar, got your mail. Really appreciate it.

I saw the pic of the Cinammon room. Is the decor in that pic the red theme you're talking about? Or is that the crystal theme? The stage and walls look abit bare leh.

shugar

Hi Rany,

You got another mail!
The pics I have are of the Crystal theme.
The chair and table colors you can choose between a gold or red. I think they also have a few more choices too like champagne.

I guess the deco is not as fabulous as some of the other hotels I must admit, but i think the room fits the criteria of pillerless, (well almost, save for a small one at the side of the room) high ceiling and honeycomb style chandeliers.

The red theme is a floral one. I dun have pics though, but saw it during their wedding show. Red floral arrangements. If I'm not wrong, its 3 floral stands on the stage and 2 at the entrance where you do your march in. And also red floral arrangement for the bridal table.

Have you booked with NCQ too?

theaprilwedding

Hi Shugar!!

The pictures were most helpful. Thanks for them.

Not booked NCQ yet but we have asked them for a proposal and my mother expressed her interest in using them (she's paying for the banquet).

So when's your banquet?

shugar

Hi Rany,

Mine's in Sept '07.
Their package is not bad, that's why we decided on NCQ. Wah, your mom paying for your banquet? That's nice of her!

Nicole,
What's your email address?

eemoo

I'm gonna sign on the dotted lines with them tomorrow evening...but they didn't mention abt the $100 voucher ley... =(

Was deciding between Amara and Novotel but chose Novotel cos they have beautiful ballrooms..
But i just read the threads...is Novotal that bad?

shugar

Hi eemoo,

You refering the $100 anniversary voucher?
not sure if that's a perk they offered for sign-ups during their wedding show... maybe you want to check with your co-ordinator?

biny

ya I admit the walls are a bit bare with no design or lightings.

There will only be one screen on the right - instead of two screens with the stage in between. This means that guests sitting near the right side of the ballroom would have to tilt their heads to see the video montage. I have been misleaded to think that there will be 2 screens as what they have set up during their recent wedding show. =(

As for the stage decor, I also find the decor too simple and unromantic. Just a metal stand with some lights. Plus with no screens by the side, it just looks so "bare"..... sigh

eemoo

Hi Shugar,

I've signed up with them already...didn't check for the voucher cos have bargained quite a number of stuff from them liao.. =)

Anyway, to sum it up, I think their service is excellent! at least better than some hotels of the same star ratings I've went to. And their table set up looks posh..=)

jasmine23

Sorry been busy for a while.....

Hi rine13, thanks i checked with jamie too.... ya, i gotto enjoy the perks when i signed wif UOB...

Hi Biny,
the $100 anniversary voucher- is for my 1 yr anniversary dinner. I got 1 bttle of wine per table & 1 barrel of beer.... sob sob no free flow.... how about u???

belleteo

Hi Bruce Almighty's bride ,

My Rom come first it is on Christmas Eve. I will be gg to GHA to select my rom gown on 30th Oct.

My AD is 3rd Nov.

Hey Gals,
For NCQ, there wont be any free flow beer unless u want to ex change per table one bottle of red wine to free flow beer.
Red carpet, i ask liao also dont have, they say nowsaday ppl hardly go for red carpet liao. Anyway me also hope to have red carpet but my fren told me she attend a wedding the an old woman fall cos trip on the carpet.

I think the ballroom is nice i mean the bigger ballroom cos the stage is been set up on that day which means not fix therefore will be in the centre and pillarless high celling.
Resonable price also.
They will still be renovating more things so by end of next year, more new things.
I heard that they are also improving in service and Novotel in other country is consider a good hotel so they surely will improved.

Hi Biny,
Maybe u find it a bit pain but after whole place full of tables, centre piece and light effect plus so many different guests wearing so colouful, you wont find it plain anymore ;)
Ppl then c an forcus more on brides cos the most standout...hee

theaprilwedding

Hey Shugar,

We were looking at Sept 07 too!! But then moved it up to June 07. Believe me, it's not a good thing when your mother wants to pay, esp when you have my mother. She wants everything done her way and it feels less and less like my wedding. Sigh....

So quite honestly, you're better off. ;)

pipilili

shugar...i havent receive anything from you.my email: [email protected].

all,
since everyone wants the red carpet, we shd all email Jamie and tell her to buy one. if the response is overwhelming - i think she will propose to management.

shugar

Hi nicole and Dazzle81,

Sent!

Dazzle,
I think you can check with Jamie if the date you are looking at is available. Year end months are generally quite popular. Do check it out with her soon!

miss_bean

actually I just signed up with NCQ yesterday and met up with Jamie..quite like their cinnamon room as it is at a private area on level 5 hence you have more privacy and the reception area is great and cosy..they are currently upgrading hence guess by next year it would look better plus the wedding offer is actually quite good compared to many other hotels..

read some comments about Jamie..would like to say she is quite ok..not as cold as what some describe..quite friendly and approachable..and she even blocked my wedding slot for me first when i haven't even confirm and pay my deposit..

so if interested do try to book with them soon as they are having some promotion for this october...

biny

Hi Belle, I still think its gonna be plain. You know they have 2 themes - the "red" and "crystal". For these themes, the only thing that is "red or gold" is just the 2 VIP tables that will be decorated with nice table clothes with special centerpiecese. The rest of the tables and chairs will be just white with a "curved-snake-like-design" candle light holder. There is no consistency in the theme decorations except the different colours for the 2 VIP tables. The stage decor and centerpieces for the normal tables are all the same regardless of theme.

I absolutely agree with Nicole. We should all feedback to Jamie and ask her to get a red carpet. (At least if we opt for the "red" theme, the red carpet will stand out and be consistent with the theme). I think the hotel can def afford to buy one, so cross our fingers if she can do something for us.......

ahjo77

HI Everyone

I just had my wedding banquet in NCQ last sat , eeverything went on smooth and great ....the service of the operations , banuet staff was good .....

Guest compliement that the deco n lighting is nice...food wise is aceptable

thos who would be having ur wedding @ NCQ can relax abt those neg remarks previously ..

Lastly , the bridal suite deco is very nice and cosy too....=)

everton

Can someone share with me the package for the wedding show? Miss the show in Sep due to work commitments...wonder if it is still valid if I book it now...any pictures would be most helpful...Looking at 30-35 tables for Friday or Sat...

rene2803

My 2 cents' worth.... i think all of us NCQ BTBs have done our homework & know that NCQ is offering a really good package considering that it's a high ceiling, pillarless ballroom we're talking abt. Not sure if any of you are doing sales but for an ex sales person like me, really understand that when you buy something, you get what you pay for. They also need to earn so if you're comfortable with the package & the perks they can offer at that price, just let it be. They also need to earn mah. Maybe becos I used to do sales b4, find customers who're over demanding v irritating & even more so I won't want to give them what they want. To me, as long as they make sure on the actual dinner, everything runs like clockwork, I'm happy. As for Jamie, think she's a lovely coordinator! Credit where credit is due..

princess_momo

Hi Shugar,

Thanks for the pics! I got it.
Currently, I'm still looking at other hotels as well.
I prefer the Grand Ballroom, but too bad I don't have enough tables (around 25 max). I called up NCQ to check, they quoted me $2,500+++ for renting of the Grand Ballroom...Out of my budget....

belleteo

Hi Biny,

Relax..i think overall the deco will be nice.
BTW, good idea to us them buy a carpet.
Can all of us arrange to ask for carpet togther?

shugar

Hi Wee,

NCQ has 4 different menus to choose from. These all have different costs per table. And also diff in price between weekday and weekend packages.
If you would like to take a look at the 2007 package, leave me your email and I could send it over.

Or if you'd prefer, you could call the hotel and ask for Jamie from catering sales.