Novotel Clarke Quay

lara

hi ladies im back!!! Thumbs up for NCQ! Ramesh was FANTASTIC! their service is very good... decor was nice too.. my hb b i thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

lingandyang, it's ur turn tmr! enjoy urself ya!!!

bitbit2318

Hi edwin,

Which ballroom u be using? If u are using phoenix ballroom most probably will be ramesh. I request for Ramesh when i meet up with Jamie to discuss the detail but she say she cant confirm. Then a few day before my wedding i email Jamie again saying that i really hope to have ramesh for my wedding. Jamie told me she show the email to the management and finally my wish is granted. Haha.

zflora

Would like to check whether there's lagging in dishes served? I was attending one of my colleagues wedding and was disappointed by their service. The Captain was good thou [not sure who he is]. 1 waitress to about 4 tables and most of them are inexperienced. We were having the 4th dish, while some other tables were waiting for their 3rd dish to be served. And I saw the Captain carrying trays and trays of food to the side table for the waitresses/waiters to serve. Overall, Captain was much busier than waitresses/waiters that day. Not only the dishes, even drinks were not served. We waited quite long for refills.

I'm now wondering will that happen to my dinner.

Do you gals experience that with Novotel? Esp Lingandyang, Lara, and the rest who had theirs lately....

Ya, the stage is still as plain as before.

edwin_teoh

hi bitbit,

i m having my dinner at cinnamon ballroom too... but like u.. i hope to have ramesh to be my coordinator. but then mine dinner is still long way to go.. hopefully he is still ard by then...

moon_27

Hi Flora,

I also heard of the slow serving and the inexperience of the servers service. I guess this has been highlighted several times but NCQ didnt seems to improve. Of course, i am not asking for excellent service but at least a reasonable one. My sister in law just went NCQ to attend a wedding few months ago and she is also giving the same feedback about the service. She mentioned that during the toasting session, a lot of the guest drink are not topped up (only left like 1/4) and when u signal them to come over, they are also very slow.

My dinner is also coming soon and I am hoping that this will be improved!

amyel

R&J,

I have added you.

Ya i went straight after my yum seng on stage..cos 49 tables of guests. Stressed sia..luckily i have friends to help me move the guests for photo-taking. Strictly no tekanning session from drinks else sure no time. During my wedding i told them later i come back and drink with them. By the time i finished 49 tables time to see the guests out....keke escaped from drinking..

zflora

Yes, Moon. You are totally right. Their service really down to drain. Lucky thing is, Jamie still remembers me. She had sent me the checklist and contact to collect the invitation cards. *phew* I will be arranging food tasting in near month. So, Ramesh is the better coordinator. Hmmm, might request for him if mine is not. Another 2.5mths to go before the dinner.. and can't do anything during the Chinese 7th mth [meaning 1.5mth left]. Have not done anything. I must start to send out invites to guest asking for their attendance soon.. :p

moon_27

Hi Flora,

When is your dinner? Mine is in Sept. My hubby will be attending his fren dinner in July and hope tat their services will improved. Will let you know again. =)

Yes, Jamie also send me for collection of the invitation cards. I will also ask for Ramesh since he is a good coordinator. Mine is in Phonexi ballroom

pannie

Hi.

Would like to know when do we normally collect our invitation cards? My PIL asked us whether is it possible to collect them 2 months before wedding caused they would like to bring them up to Malaysia personally to distribute them to the relaitives there. But I always thought the invitation cards are normally being collected 1 mth before.

xuer21

Ann
Over the weekends, I went to T dragon to select and print my cards... they need a few days to send u the template after which u confirm then 10 days later u can collect liao... so since u need 2 mths.. u should go down within now to aug but since aug is 7th mth.. u might wan to think properly again lo..

pannie

Thanks Michelle.

Maybe I will start to work on the invitation cards either in September or October cause my wedding is on 27th Dec. Not too late right?

By the way, how much does it cost to do the printing?

lingandyang

my wedding was just over last Saturday. :D Everything was great except some minor hiccup along the way. I am leaving to hokkaido for my honeymoon tonight so i kinda rushing now. i will post a more detailed post when i come back.
all i wanna say, is Ramesh is really great! He is extremely polite and he did his best to guide us. When we are about to have first march in, he saw that both of us were so nervous and he quickly signalled his waiter to bring us some warm water.

Over all, everything went quite smoothly.

xuer21

Ann,
I printed 240 inserts, costs me $108 cos i am using only normal printing in gold ink. Then i bought 2 rolls of gold string from them $10. Added a cute icon in the inserts, a one time charge of $10 total $128.

I would like to find out if any of you girls used the function room just before the banquet for solemnisation? I sort of remember somewhere along this thread somebody mentioned that they will use the ballroom deco to decorate the function room. I asked Jamie, but she said there will be no decorations for the function room. Could someone give me some advise?

Also, Jamie said that there is no sound system in the function room, so i was wondering how to go about playing background music during the solemnisation.

pannie

Hi Michelle.
Thanks for your information.

Seems quite cheap. Actually how is the design of the invitation cards? Are the choices given nice?

xuer21

Ann,
The design of the cards is actually quite limited in my opinion as they have diff designs for diff hotels.. but still i managed to find one simple and nice one... it depends on which kind u looking for? simple and nice? or traditional kind?

rjwedding

hi lara & lingandyang: gald both of ur wedding went smoothly n u enjoyed it so much!! mine just next week.. getting nervous now.. dunno how my wedding will be like..

hi amy: last min we need to add one more tables, so now I got 49 tables.. very close to urs liao.. think i really got to be very precise with my timing and everything will be smooth going.. pray for that next week...

belleteo

Hi ladies, Have not been coming in to this thread for almost 6months. My banquet was also hold in NCQ last yr 3rd Nov.
Just here to share that overall, NCQ is good. Oh ya i got this contacts if u guys wanna print insert. They are call Speed Tech at Ubi, charging only $80 for 300inserts. U might want to call this num to find out more if u are keen. 6741 0083. I know them thru alot of research done...heehee.
And my Guo Da Li cakes to share over here.
And the 1st dish taken during my wedding!

699277.jpg
699278.jpg

funfun

hey belle,

Thanks for the updates!
I remembered u told us abt the insert.. just couldn't locate on this thread... too long n too difficult to dig out the info.

Blurgroom's bride,

I tik u looking for the one tt who mentioned on the deco.
Tts wat jamie told me when I sign the contract.
But i'm planning to hold my solemnization else where.. so I din enquire her any more..

holiday_ger

hi, juz a bit curious... where did u all find 490 ppl to attend ur wedding? do u invite ppl whom u hv nt contact for yrs? me and my HTB are tinking whether want to invite ex-colleagues and friends whom we hv nt met for yrs and will they attend?

moon_27

Hi Blurgroom,

I also requested for the function room for solemnization. That time, jamie or huiling also mentioned that there will be no decoration at all. they merely provide you the room only. and the room is quite small. prob allowed ard 10+ ppl in the room. Or you might want to go there early to decorate or wat? Me also having the same issue.

rjwedding

hi belle: the cakes look yummy.. the food looks even more yummy.. can't wait for mine next week..

hi ger: i'm only inviting close friends.. both me n my HB got alot of friends, those we still got keep in contact one.. then the other half will be for our parents.. we are from very big family.. so relatives already taken up big part of the attendance.. those friends that we didn't keep in touch, we didn't invite, cos we think they might not come too and we don't have enough seats for them.. do u still keep in contact with ur ex-colleague?? if not, then I don't feel a need to invite them..

belleteo

Yes i took the card from T dragon then send to speed technology T dragon was charging quote high. I rather spend more $$ for other things then on the insert....heehee

Oh regarding the cakes, it looks yummy la but actually not nice at all, the cakes inside is abit dry then the outter sugar super sweet. Looks nice only la. I think each box like this cost abt $23. I order thru a freelance lady and get her info thru research.

belleteo

Oh ya, if you gals are interested in the cupcakes think better get from someone else that is making cream on top cos that taste nicer and not so sweet. I can't remember the name of the cupcakes i get from but the house is at Hougang.

You gals might want to try search thru yahoo, think got quite a few places do have cupcakes.
Hope it helps!

rjwedding

if u girls looking for cupcakes, my sister got a friend makes very nice cupcakes.. if interested, PM me.. but I need to check with my sister whether she wants to do in big bulk.. but i must say her cupcakes really very nice.. she did some for my sister's birthday recently.. yummy..

pannie

Hey Michelle.
I also dunno which one I prefer. But I like cute stuff. Hehe!! So dunno have cute wedding invites or not.

xuer21

Ann,
u can go down and take a look ba.. for me i selected a cute and simple one.. as IMO thats the best la haha...

Belle,
i think ur cupcakes from cupcake divinity?

thocat

Hey there

I also think T-dragon is quite ex.
anyone have ncq map to share?
i will be having many guests taking public transport but cant seem to find any decent map

pls email me at

thank you.

jiahui

Don understand why NCQ never provide map, like other hotels/restaurant do.
Quite troublesome for the guest.
But if you tell them at Liang Court, then they know where the place is.

rjwedding

hi PCW: mine one day after yours 6th Jul, same ballroom as you.. how's ur prep?? how many tables are u having??

Think most people will know Liang Court, so most of the time, I will tell them NCQ is at Liang Court.. I've checked with my sister on her friend's cupcakes.. she can only make during weekends or during her freetime, cos she's still studying.. actually she hardly do in big bulk, she often do for friend's birthday for the fun of it.. i just find her cakes very nice, so wanted to recommend.. see how lor, if anybody interested, i can try to ask her..

pcw

Hi R&J, cool! I have only 33 tables, we cut down from our initial list of 39 tables. But 49 tables is unbelievable, you are going to have a great time. We don't have very big family or alot of relatives, the guests mainly are church friends, friends, colleagues and business partners. Our prep is mostly done, now just sit back, sms and email to remind our guests and check on last minute changes to our seating arrangement and importantly plotting how to gatecrash my wife's house on AD with little damages haha...

vianice

Hi edwin (edwin_teoh)

I also thinking of having my wedding in cinnamon room. Do you have any comments/photo to share for cinnamon room? I called Jamie a few times. She always not in the office or reply e-mail. Until now still haven't get to meet up with her. I need to finalize this week. Hopefully she is free tommorrow.

ttbrides

hi hi hi!! im Back too!! my wedding on 22June. same as Lara and lingandyang.. my wedding went smoothly. im so happy. Ramesh was great!!

edwin_teoh

Hi Vian,

hmm... with regards to cinnamon, if you are having a tables of ard 18 to 24, the ballroom should be suitable for you. In the ballroom there is a pillar but i dun think that is a problem because this pillar is not going to block any of your guest from the stage view. The ceiling is not as nice as those with cornices or what should I call... but then it is still better than some other function room in other hotel. Cinnamon ballroom is also quite squarish in shape.

As for jamie, I think she may be quite busy and henceforth unable to check her emails until late at night. sometimes she do check in early morning. Well, Catering sales manager mostly are out of the office entertaining clients so that y she is not in her office all the time. Maybe you can leave her a message to call you back or you can try to call her once a while to see if you can get her.

It would be best if you can go down to see the ballroom yourself esp when there is a wedding, so that you can feel the deco and theme in your presence.Pictures maybe too much or too little a detail.

vividz

Hi PCW, can u email me the table arrangement? I also will be held at the same ballroom. I will have abt 32 tables like tat, so I want to know how it will look like. I asked huiling ald, but she seems to miss tat out cos she just came back from her leave. I asked her again ald, can u just email me first. thanks. my email is [email protected]

It's quite hard to get Jamie & Huiling, but I'm glad tat Huiling replied us after she came back from her leave.

rjwedding

welcome back crystal!! glad u had a great time!!

anyone can advise whether will it look nice if i put flower balls onto the each crystal stands on the aisle?? the flower ball looks like this:

701070.jpg

vividz

I'm not sure if it looks nice, I think should be alrite.

pcw, thanks for the table arrangement. Just received Huiling's email, she said she will be away for 2 days again. she just came back for one day after her leave then go on leave again. so much leave to clear, haha. she said she will ask Jamie to email, I tink Jamie so busy dun have time to read her email also.