Novotel Clarke Quay

lingandyang

Hi Lara,
i see . . its just next week, you must be quite gancheong. My side also . . my in law, dun wan to specify table number. I already explain to them give table number better, to avoid confusion. But they insist. they just said table wat to wat to for this group. -_-''. . sigh watever laH . . i also can't do anything liao. how many tables you have got?

rjwedding

hi lingandyang: i wouldn't be meeting Jamie on ur wedding day.. she says she's not ard on that day.. so will be meeting her this Sat instead.. Have you checked with her whether Huiling will be there for your wedding?? cos I know she's not ard on that weekends..

Those looking for Jamie, can call her office now.. She's in today.. cos she just called me..

rjwedding

Oh.. there's a question for me right?? yes, MLH.. pls tell them more tables better.. just in case, cos re-printing will cost more..

lingandyang

Hi R&J,
i see. . thanks for telling. I'm also meeting her this sat. Wat time you meeting her?

Yah guess i need to check with her who will be with me on my AD. Or is it, everything will be done with the captain and actually either Jamie or Huiling no need to be there too?

pannie

Hi. Would like to check with you gals on the tables which the lady's parents requested from the guy.

By right, the tables requested by the parents is being fully paid for by the guy side or paid by the couple?

rjwedding

hi lingandyang: i'm meeting her at 5pm.. u?? i thought the co-ordinator also need to be ard on that day.. dunno leh.. let us know once u cleared with Jamie..

hi ann: depends.. for my case.. all will be paid by us.. but my parents didn't request for any tables.. so we will take all the ang baos.. for those bride's parents taking the tables, all ang baos for the tables will be kept by the bride's parents regardless whether the tables are paid by groom or couple or some even paid by the groom's family..

pannie

Hi R&J.

Thanks for replying me. For my case, my mum says she will be taking all the ang bao from the tables which she had requested for. She is requesting for about 9 tables and tat would be about $7200 assuming each table cost $800. That's alot of $$ for my hubby to fork out alone.

That's why i wanna check what is the norm. By the way, does the groom side request from the bride side the amt of dowry to be given or the bride parents will decide whether to give or not.

moon_27

Hi Ann,

Is the same for me. My mom also requested for around 6 tables and she will be keeping the ang bao and this is also forked out by myself and hubby.

For dowry, ususally the groom will give an amount to the bride parents and the bride parents are supposed to return portion of the $$$.

crayongal

hey lingandyang..
hehe.. i havent been here for awhile.. been so busy.. work and some of the wedding prep stuff..

btw, who are you gals requesting to be the banquet mgr ? anybody good dat you noe of ? or can gif us some advise after yr wedding date..abt wat to lookout for ..etc... hehe

eh... btw, saw some above comments. i had a pretty gd experience with Huiling. she was e one who contacted/email me to send me chklist and tell me dat i shld go choose my cards etc..
i've oredi collected cards.. now preparing to get them printed lors.
heh... oso abit slow. feel like i am abit behind time le.
not sure watelse needs to be done...

my date is end July.. but now also havent gone for food tasting...hee prob 3rd wk of June.. =)

lingandyang

hey stef! how are you?

Yah me too, so busy with work, gotta clear before i start taking leave.

Oh i nvr tot of requesting who to be my captain. I believe their most of their captains should be quite reliable, hehe i hope. :p no prob no prob! i will share with all wat i have gone thru after my wedding.
Hope it will be smooth.

Oh actually i think everyone has different experience with Huiling. Overall i think she is fine, quite friendly. I guess she is just too busy so can't help but will missed out something.

Oh i think you are still on time, dun worry. But perhaps you can quickly send out cards le once you get them. About 1 month before your wedding, will meet the hotel for discussion of themes etc. Then 1 week before will be finalisation.

rjwedding

think it's pretty norm for bride's parents to request for tables and they will take the ang baos for those tables..

that's why my HB very happy that my mum didn't request for any tables.. so the the dowry is abit higher, but still better than giving tables..

holiday_ger

Juz went for discussion with Jamie. Surprisingly she throw in quite a bit of extra perks for me.

I'm looking at cinnamon room. She offered free upgrade to bridal suite, free food tasting and waiver of hard liquor corkage. Requested for free day room for helpers but rejected.

Tink the cinnamon room looks ok but a bit small and the ground floor lobby looks a bit run down. The bridal suite is small and not fantastic either.

Still considering btw novotel and FRF.

rjwedding

oh.. i thought dowry is pin jin leh.. hahahah.. so blur me.. so dowry should be jia chuang lar.. now i know the terms..

hi Ger: i saw the bridal suite quite big leh.. i've seen a few other bridal suite at different hotels, but NCQ seems bigger leh.. do they have different bridal suite?? hmm..

mich55

Hi Ger,

Am meeting Jamie today to have further discussion...so good got upgrade to bridal suite...I also hope that we can get more perks like the helpers room...

Also looking at cinnamon room, the grand ballroom is nicer but 30 tables too much for us..

I also went to FRF before, their smaller ballrooms' ceiling not as high leh...I feel la.

Michelle

holiday_ger

tat's how i feel abt FRF, ceiling not high.

but i hv decided nt to take FRF and novotel liao. Was abt to sign contract today at 5pm with FRF but i fly aeroplane :p

I set my mind on carlton. Went there last evening and immediately change my mind. I tink u shld take a look at carlton if u hv min 23 tables.

rjwedding

hi ger.. think it's really up to every person's taste n opinion.. gald that u have found ur idea wedding venue.. i've been to carlton for wedding.. nice ballroom too.. hope u will have a wonderful wedding.. btw when is your wedding??

just met Jamie.. gald that I've finalised the details with her.. chosen coaster as my wedding favour.. my theme will be only crystal, don't think i'm taking any flowers lar.. the table cloth colour will be red for VIP & bronze for normal.. so happy another thing off my list now.. seen the ballroom again today.. the wedding is having 51 tables.. wow.. hopefully mine will not hit that too.. currently 49 tables (last min)..

lingandyang

~R&J
i met Jamie today too. I also saw the ballroom and decided to change my theme to flower instead of Combi. :p How's your meeting with Jamie? Actually i dunno how to say but i dun really look forward to meet her. I only met her once when i signed up. And this is the second time, and she is still the same as before. A bit cold and not very friendly.

The first thing she said when she sat down is how can i help you today, which for us we find it quite strange, cos we arrange to meet her up is becos the timeline she gave us earlier on said finalisation is 1 week before. So we just follow strictly to her timeline. but she said actually there is no need for final meetup because we had confirm most of the things, and she tot we have something impt to tell her. We were rather shocked by her statement, cos in a way we felt she sounded like we are wasting her time. So this meeting wasn't very nice afterall.

But at least the testing of montages went smoothly.

~Lara,
I think i saw you just now too. Cos i saw your montage and realised you may be testing out the videos too. I actually wanted to say hello to you, but i waited awhile but you hadn't come out yet so i just went off.

lara

hi lingandyang, i think i saw u too haha.. but coz i'm shy so did not say hi.. somemore i was super unglam yest, slipshod dressing, specs n no make up hahah..

mich55

Hi Ger,

Carlton's ballroom is nice.
The perks she gave is exactly the same as yours. She is kind of cool type, seems like already know what we will ask lo...and say helpers room cant give...
The bridal suite is kind of small to me.
She say their wedding show is Aug/Sep.

I tot of waiting cos dates for us is not impt, as long as is Sat & not ghost festival mth.

Anyone here signed up during wedding show? Really better deals?...Can share the perks they offer in wedding shows? kindly email:- [email protected]

tinggy

Hi R&J,

49 tables will be abit squeezy. I had 46 tables. I find quite squeezy liao. And A little dream had performed on stage.

lara

lingandyang, i dunno leh.... aiyo forgot to ask them on sat.. i'll drop Jamie a email later. r u nervous?? urs is in 4 days time!

rjwedding

hi ting: think can't help.. my MIL wanted to increase the tables.. we can't really say no.. just as long don't really go out of the maxi capacity can already.. heard that last Sat's wedding actually was maxi out already, they had to have another dinner another day another place for just 5 more tables.. so jia lat.. hopefully mine will really keep within 48-49 tables.

hi lara & lingandyang: both of ur weddings coming up soon.. remember to update us ok?? congrats in advance!!

Jamie didn't mentioned that I need to meet up with her again 1 week prior to my wedding.. last Sat meeting up is to firm up all the details.. anything else will be till the day itself.. the captain (Ramesh) will keep in touch with us on that day.. that's what Jamie told me.. but some other things I need to let her know 1 week prior to my wedding which she told me e-mail her can already.. actually last Sat also my 2nd time meeting her.. she's still the same.. friendly to me leh..

mich55

Have decided in Novotel...Need some advise here...Do we pay deposit first or Jamie has to draft the contract first??...What speacial items to look out for in the contract?

I called her yesterday & she return my call at 9pm...so late...so poor thing...

rjwedding

i paid my deposit 1st so as to book the date i want.. think most of us paid the deposit 1st then get the contract at a later date.. but you got to check through the contract for the things or perks they offered to you..

think she always worked till very late one.. think this line always worked till very late one..

when do u girls take leave before ur wedding day?? actually i don't plan to take leave prior to my wedding day.. hopefully i can complete all the things before my wedding day lor.. but my mum tells me to take a few days before.. but my work is so much, how to take leave??

lingandyang

Lara,
i see. i think mine is Ramesh. He seems quite ok. Yah pretty nervous leh. Can't imagine so fast its coming le. Your is Thurs, just 2 days away. Congrats gal! all the best to you! Enjoy yourself and be a pretty bride!

R&J,
thanks! sure sure will try to update as much as possible. I'm leaving on 23 jun for my honeymoon so will try to update at least a bit before i leave.

oh i see. maybe i have no yuanfen with Jamie. She always quite cold to me. Though Huiling is not as experienced as her, but at least she always appear friendly.

Oh i took leave starting today! haa. Perhaps you can try take at least 1 day? Cos for me, i really wan to take cos as long as i'm at work i really must rush everyday so tiring. So i wanted to give myself a break. Is there anyone you can handover your work for the time being?

mich55

Thanks R&J.

Should take 1 day to get some rest. Pamper yourself a bit...haha like doing medi or pedi, etc. When is your AD?

lara

thanks lingandyang

ya R&J., u shld take at least 1 day before ur AD coz sure got many things to settle one... n Mani pedi too

amyel

just had my wedding on 14 June, e one with 51 tables and another 7 tables on 13 June.
Just wanna say, the wedding went very smoothly esp with Ramesh and Jamie's help.
Food and co-ordination wise was well done.

rjwedding

hi amy: u really got lots of tables leh.. where u hold ur extra 7 tables at?? is 51 tables very cramp?? gald everything went smoothly.. i was there to meet up with Jamie, then went over to see the ballroom.. saw ur MCs rehearsing.. they looks pro leh.. are they ur own friends??

thanks girls, since my wedding is on Sunday.. so not too sure whether to take on that Friday before.. got lots of things to do and I'm already thaking 2 weeks after my wedding.. so i don't feel nice taking that Friday.. anyway will see how lor.. if I can't complete the things on time, then I got to take that Friday lor..

holiday_ger

Hi Michelle, i understand u hv made up ur mind and Carlton may nt be ur ideal venue. But juz fyi, in case u may be interested, Carlton is hving an open house on 28 Jun. Per table is $800 nett with free flow beer. I tink it's worth considering. It's ok if u really nt interested. becos i find our situation quite similar tat's why i feel bad if i dun inform u.

amyel

yes the BM had a meeting with the groom, MCees and helpers at abt 5pm..not too sure how long it took cos i did not attend.. shld be ard 15mins i suppose

R&J,
ya the tables was really to the max...
I held the extra 7 at Grassroot club, Gim Tian restaurant. Wanted to hold it at Dragon Phonexi but was fully booked.
They shrank my stage in order to accommodate 51 tables. The stage wise still ok but the seating arrangements abit cramp lah all push to the wall lor...
Ya the MCs are my own frens..first time hosting also keke... but glad it all went well...

Comments from my guests for food ranging from average to good, depending on their personal preferences. Only negative is on the wine, my guests is commenting the wine is very diluted, not very nice.

Ramesh (BM) is very helpful and pro, he makes sure everything is smooth and will guide u along before ur march in.. so not too worry.

Jamie is there also to ensure the event is in order and to see if anything needs to be done last min.

amyel

Oh forgot to add.. my alcohol consumption was super high..
my guests drank 55 bottles of red wine, 1 barrel of beer + 40 bottles of beer and 6 hard liquier
by the 2nd march in before the 3rd dish, BM was telling us at the door, our alcohol is shooting and they have finished the barrel of beer, and 3/4 of provided red wine..

rjwedding

wow.. that's really alot leh.. but now everything over now, u can really be relieved.. what time ur dinner ends?? how long u take for table to table photo shoot??

xuer21

Amy,
wah.. ur alcohol consumption is really so high... i am wondering how many btls of beer should i bring.. intended to bring 30 btls.. but scared not enough le.. does ur frens and relatives drive?? cos most of my guests drive.. so maybe will drink little????

Wine i not so worry cos can purchase from the hotel.. worry abt the beer thing.... what time does ur dinner start????

mich55

Hi Ger,

Thanks for the info

Can you email other info to me?? like the food & perks [email protected].
Previously we went to carlton before, my bf say the food they give not tt good, hmmm but that was before they revise their package, i think...can email me so I take a look??? cos meeting Jamie on Tues leh, gg to give deposit alr...Tks so much

bitbit2318

My wedding just over last sunday in the cinnamon ballroom. Everything went on smoothly. Ramesh was good and remind us alway on wat to do. I am impressed by the services offer by NCQ.

edwin_teoh

hi bitbit...

any photos to be share later?

yes ramesh is a very good coordinator... spoken to him once and like the way he engage with pple

bitbit2318

Hi edwin,

My photo not ready yet. Will post once ready. Usually Ramesh is incharge of phoenix ballrom but i make a special request for him. As my husband was abit drunk that day Ramesh even took the trouble to make hot towel for him. The next day when we check out of the room he call to check if my husband was ok and head still pain or not. All these small action really touches our heart and make the day special for us.

amyel

Hi R&J & Michelle

think ard 9pm bah, cos i started my MTV 8.30pm. I started taking photos right after my 2nd march in inorder to end the dinner at abt 11pm. Due to my 2nd march in video abit long therefore drag quite awhile. They delayed the serving of dessert so that i can finished the photo taking in time.
Really tired after the photo taking keke.. smile till numb liaoz

Michelle, ya most of frens din drive for the wedding cos they wan to drink. Plus i catered for buses for my hubby side.

Actually i also dunno how bottles of beer my FIL order, cos was from his fren den in consignment.

rjwedding

Hi Amy: yours is Sat, so ending late should be ok.. mine will be on Sun, so everything must chop chop and fast.. During my last meeting with jamie, she reminded us after the yum seng, we straight go table to table photo taking, cannot go mingle with frens.. hehehe.. think my timing very impt.. all my videos will keep to abt 3-5 mins only.. hopefully my ppl will not drink too much.. but to play safe, think i will bring in about 30 bottles of beer, hopefully it's enough.. can add me in ur multiply?? just invited u..

hi bitbit: gald ur wedding went smoothly.. think ncq's service is really good ar.. i also heard ramesh is really very detailed-orientated.. now looking forward to my wedding in Jul.. do share with us ur photos when ready..

lingandyang

Hi Lara,
HOw's your wedding ytd? I hope you had enjoyed yourself thoroughly.
Tml is my turn, will keep you updated. Wish me luck for a nice weather. :D