New Zealand

bebee

hi SSF
thanks so much... thats very useful!!
really lookin forward... now have to do some research... n oso find out which is better, north or south island

thankz!!!

missy

Hi Bebe,

I drove from north to south. basically in north, they are famous for rotorua their thermal hot springs. the place is just so amazing..they can just have a pool of water and it will be heated. they even use it for steaming their food. and the funny part is at the bus stop, there is a pool of water for the passengers to soak their feet while waiting for bus. the place is really amazing although i didn't really like the sulphur smell. but its just amazing that such place is full of thermal heated area. North is famous for their maori culture.

then there is wellington (capital of NZ) of course..who can forget their botantic garden especially their rose garden. it is so beautiful...different colours of roses which is really big. nice place for photo taking. then there is also their tram that goes from the botanic garden and right to the heart of the city. shopping and lots of shopping!!! so we can tour and shop at the same time..same place. then we took the ferry across from wellington(north) to picton(south). it was a beautiful sight and great journey. so if you are planning for north, don't miss out those places.

My thoughts is that since you have already paid so much for the flight...might as well extend your stay and cover both north and south. In all, I spend 5 days in north...and 10 days in south.

maylim

Hi, it's me again!

Anyone can help which car rental company is good? I am decideing Ezy, Ace or Travel New Zealand Services.... do you think i should buy the additional eg. NZ$8 or NZ$12 to reduce the insurance?

mngo

hi maylim
i ever rent from ezy rental and go rental. both are as good
. most importantly, they must have an office for u to collect and return your car should the 2 destinations be different

as for insurance, it really depends on what's being covered and what you need.

missy

hi maylim,

i was with Omega rental and apparently the car was pretty cheap at NZ39 per day but its 1.5CC. The car was not too bad. i mean it didnt give us any problem. we didnt buy any insurance at all as I mentioned previously if you scroll further or the archive ones, they are not really particular about checking every part and spot of the car. they just check on the windows and the 4 corners. as long as no dent, they are OK. they don;t really inspect every paint ..maybe because the car has quite a few paint coming off. so we are very kiasu like afraid he will miss any spot and charge us. haha..so we said here got paint off..and there got paint off. and he said no worries, there will be more when you return. hahaa...so they are not particular about the paint. so we didnt buy any further insurance at all...we really save a lot. when we returned, they check 4 corners and windows and said OK. Omega even send us to the ferry terminal when we returned the car in North island.

maylim

I thought of using Ace rental... they provide shuttle from airport to their office and but when return, we have to return at their office and then take taxi to airport.... is it troublesome to call taxi with all our luagges? The ezy car rental and travel services new zealand car rental is more expensive by NZ$100 than ace rental lor... so what you all think? should take cheaper one rite?

lokera

Hi MNGO,
After reading through the net, seems that South is more fun? Maybe you can give me for each if u dun mind?
Usually how many days are recommended? Me thinkning of going ard 8 days...Self-Drive if possible...
Do you noe how's the weather like during Feb/Mar?
Thank You!

cookiecreamie

Anyone tried the Hooker Valley Walk? Now comtemplating whether to try the full day or half day walk. Heard it is a must-try but hoping it's not too siong also.

Anyone took the day cruise to Milford Sound? Read from Real Journey that scenic and nature cruises are available. Any idea which one is better?

I'm forgoing Hanmer Spring and Kaikoura cos its too out of the way. Now thinking of heading Christchurch straight from Mt Cook. Is it advisable to travel 4 hrs from Mt Cook to Christchurch (after the hooker velly walk) or should I stay 1 night somewhere. If the latter, where inbetween Mt Cook and Christchurch do you suggest?

tohdj

SSF,

how's your trip? got photos to share?

C&C,

I took the Kea Point walk...didn't have time to do Hooker Valley walk.

I took the Milford Sound cruise...mine was the red company. NZ$66 per person with lunch. Book thru motel reception.

Don't miss Hanmer Spring...if you enjoy thermal pools. You'll feel great after a dip. I dipped for almost 2 hours!!!

There's a place called Twizel, which is near Mt Cook. You'll drive pass there from Christchurch. Stay there for a nice, and wake up to see Lake Twizel.

cookiecreamie

Hi tohdj,

How was Kea Point Walk? There is a half-day Hooker Valley Walk (about 3.5 hrs) and it costs $70.

What is the website for your Milford Sound cruise? $66 is quite a steal. Saw a 2.5 hrs cruise at real journey and it's over $130 (lunch excluded somemore!)!

bebee

Thank SSF!!
been busy lately with moving house and wedding invites.. how time flies... i hope i have time to book a reasonable tour... n have enough leave for honeymoon

missy

hi tohdj,

i took video cam as well as still pics. didn;t scan them..so sorry. but the scenery is really good

askabride

Any1 knows what's the temperature range like in Nov? Also, any1 joined any real gd tour packages fr Singapore? Was thinking we mite nt have the time to plan and go ard on our own, so mite consider signing up some tour pkg...comments?

tohdj

>How was Kea Point Walk? There is a half-day Hooker Valley Walk (about 3.5 hrs) and it costs $70.

Nice and peaceful. We spent close to an hour to enjoy the view and serenity. We were the only people there for a period of 20 minutes.

No need to pay money for these walks. Just follow directions. Ask the i-Site for the map.

>What is the website for your Milford Sound cruise? $66 is quite a steal. Saw a 2.5 hrs cruise at real journey and it's over $130 (lunch excluded somemore!)!

Can't remember the company name...i booked through the motel.

cookiecreamie

hi tohdj,

oh... so you actually trek without a guide. is that advisable? trying to save as much $$$ cos our budget seems to be bursting.

Think your milford cruise excludes return coach, right? so you drove there? from Queenstown or Te Anau? How was the drive up?

cookiecreamie

Anyone took the TransAlpine? Just realised that there are different tickets at different prices - Saver, Economy and Standard. Anyone brought any of the tickets directly from TranzScenic? Other than the pricing, any difference in terms of seat allocation? The Saver ticket is so much cheaper than the other fares but I'm afraid I may end up seating at somewhere without windows instead of admiring the paranomic views.

bamboobride

ladies,

can anyone advise me what is the temperature and season like in jan?

is it very hectic to go nz during honeymoon? we would like to relax during our honeymoon n the last thing we want to do is to wakr up at 0600 to catch the package tour. is it better to go with package tour or free and easy? will 12 days be enough? thanks

mngo

cin, jan is summer. not humid though.
depending on yr schedule and places u go to, u can choose to have a relax honeymoon. f&e is much better as u can have your own time and target.

bamboobride

hi mngo,

thanks for the advise. yah. dun want to tired myself during the honeymoon. cos the purpose is to relax after the wedding. my frd who went to europe told me that hers was so rush. everyday got to wake up at 6 + n constantly on the coach. though it was fun but end up she was so tired that she got to take 3 more days to rest after her honeymoon.
is it easy to f & e in new zealand? will it be more ex compared to taking package?

thanks! : )

tohdj

C&C,

I've provided my experience in this forums in July. Do a search for it.

1. We walk there by ourselves. No guides needed unless you climbing to the peak.

2. We drove to Milford. Check my post in July

kite~

just wondering how much do u spend for ur NZ f&e trip? usually how much extra $ to bring?

total expenditure?

i wld like to focus on south island only, prefer 10 days, f&e self drive.

cos i m planning towards it for HM in Jan 2005 but yet to confirm. thanks.

kite~

hmm if i book everything in Dec, do u think it's too rush? cos i can confirm only in dec. thanks.

v_ni

hey does anyone know if the motels in new zealand charge different for walk-in vs pre-booked?

i'm going in november...and haven't booked the accomodations yet

baibies

Hi Kite, the prev I went total we spent ard 8Kplus. we went for total 16-18days(cannot rem). 10days tour package bal F&E. I bought not much cash most expenses are chg to credit card.

Hi Vni, y dun you book the accomodations 1st? Cos Nov is starting of sch holidays..

kite~

Hi May,

when is the last time u went? planning to go in mid Jan, not sure whether if i book during end of Dec, issit too rush cos i cant confirm now.

ekiror

If i'm not wrong, Nov to MArch is the peak season. Summer time with longer daylight. So better secured accommodation fast.

mngo

hi vni, if u are going early november where holidays has not started, u can go without booking of accomodation. tat was wat we did.
but if u are going much later , then i suggest u to secure yr accomodation

hi kite, if u are booking in dec for jan tour, then there might be a risk of no available flights for your desired dates or even motels will be fully occupied.

hi may, i spent less than 2k for myself F&E (car, lodging, food and admission tickets!) . it was 16 days tour - winter

kite~

Hi mngo & planner,

Wow u spent less than 2k only for 16 days tour is very worth while. which yr did u travel to NZ?

i m planning to bring $1k cash there for both person, not sure enough to spend there anot.

What kind of sovernirs can be purchased there? cos need to buy for colleagues, families n frens. got cheap cheap ones. hehe me cheapo.

baibies

Hi kite I went in april. oh i tot u going during dec :p, jan shd be quite alrite. nt sch holiday but better book b4 u go, most of them allows cancellation within certain no. of days. u can email them to ask abt the price and conditions. mayb u like to consider those b&b. quite nice oso.

mngo, did u go with a big group? 2k is like kite says very worth it.

i din buy any sovernirs.. cos like no pt if i buy those key chains or paper weight.. my colleagues have too much of it.. when ppl give to us we oso duno wan to put where. I bought alot of those macadania nuts etc for them to share. for families mayb u will wan to buy some manuka honey or lanolin cream or t-shirts for them.

cookiecreamie

Anyone went Mt Cook and did not take on those guided walks? Now in a dilemma cos not too sure if we should pay to go on those guided walks or to just follow those trails. Heard the Hooker Valley Walk is fantestic so not too sure if we should miss it at all. Someone, please advise.

kite~

Hi may n the rest,

just checking most of you here book your f&e tour from tour agency or DIY?

as i thought of booking from agencies n at least they can help take care of booking the air tix, car rental plus accomodation for us. however, i will plan my own itinerary on where to go. just book its f&e package. do u think its cheaper in tis way? or DIY better?

kite~

Hi may,

thanks for ur suggestions on souvernirs.

Hi C&C,

when are u planning to travel to NZ?

stussy

Hi Kite & C&C,

1. DIY will give you much freedom. Cos at certain places, no matter how good or how nice pple describe, you may not like it. So you can jus touch and go. Save u a lot of time. Also alot of towns are quite quiet from Mon ~ Thur, so you can actually do planning at nite. But of cos you must have a rough guide on your route lar.

2. Souvenirs : Got a lot of gift shops cater for tourist. There the key chains is still okay. But you may like to look ard few shops before buying, cos diff shop give diff discount. Basically the tourist attractions souvenirs are not too expensive. If you see something you like, can buy some.

3. If you dun like the key chains and magnets, can try places like the (1) fudge shop in CHC art centre; (2) Winery all over the places (3) Farms also all over the places. These places will sell things more unique and prices still quite reasonable.

4. Self drive is definitely my recommendation. More freedom, also at night you will not be trap in your hotel & motel.

Feel free to ask qn. Still fresh from my trip. :)

ade75

I'm planning to go to NZ in mid-Dec for HM. Can you gals suggest which tour agency and package should I take? I plan to go for 1.5 weeks onli.

cookiecreamie

Hi Stussey,

Did you go mt cook? taken any of the walks?

We'll be staying a night in Christchurch before leaving for Greymouth the next day. We'll be staying some 5km away from town. Is the bus transport frequent? Anything to do while in town?

stussy

Hi C&C, I went Mt Cook. But basically i drove in. I taken the valley walk. Hermitage very nice. But basically nothing much except scenery.

I dun think the bus there frequent. Me drive, so did not pay much attention to bus. But as far as i can rem, dun see much buses there. If you in CHC, better to drive, cos u can head south to the hill to see CHC town. Also go shopping mall which is not within the central. Also take short trip to places like Akaroa. CHC to me is quite dead.

But must go is the Botanic garden. There is a rose garden. When i went it wasn't blooming. But think will be nice if bloom.

Other then that, nothing much in CHC.

kite~

hi C&C,

oic u gg in dec. hv u booked everything yet? how much budget set aside for NZ?

hi stussy,

any pics to share? how much did u stay n spend?

Btw my fren just came back fr NZ n now its spring n flowers are beautiful. she lives in CHC n is a resident there, brought some brochures bk for me.

stussy

Hi Kite, i spent abt $4K for 2 excluding air tickets. I spent abt 12 days ard the south island.

Sorry, have not sorted out my pics yet.

If flowers are blooming, then must go botanic gdn

cookiecreamie

Hi Stussy,

Thanks for info on Mt Cook. Guess we might skip the hooker valley walk to save some $$$. We are not renting car for 1st day cos we'll be taking the transalpine the next day but we should have the car on our last day of our trip, which will be christchurch.

kite,

for now, we're setting aside $6k but I figure we'll burst the budget when we are there. air tickets itself already over $2.5k.

stussy

Hi C&C, i will personally recommend Hanmer Spring and Kaikora. Nice place.

Also, do try Gibson Valley & there is this sheep farm in Kaikora that do shearing of sheep perf. Only NZ$10. The owner very friendly. Perf is at 1.30 $ 4 o'clock. Do give it a try if you there.

kite~

hi stussy,

its alrite. take ur time.

hi C&C,
my wedding in fact in end of Dec, that's y going in Jan wil be cheaper (air tixs).

Ur air tixs very ex cos u are going during peak period in Dec which is the highest in price. which airline u taking? air NZ? how much is e tax?