New Zealand

zenn

Hi Planner,
Nice pix! You went to both glaciers? Any diff or which is better?

Btw, where is Lake Hawea and Lake Rotoiti?

Issit worth going to Milford Sound? Where did you stay for the farm stay?

Sorry for so many questions ya.

Hi C&C,
I thought of going Kaikoura and Hanmer Spring too but kinda out of the way so drop the idea...

cookiecreamie

Read somewhere that Kaikoura is fun so making that our last stop before going Christchurch. It will be crazy to drive straight from Dunedin to Kaikoura so gonna stop by Twizel and Hanmer Spring.

2 days in Queenstown I hope its enough. By the way, is it advisable to place bookings for the various activites (hotair balloon, glacier walk, milford sound cruise, etc) prior to departure? Thought I should only do so while there but since it's Dec that I'm going and being typical kiasu singaporean, maybe i should just proceed with the bookings! How???

maylim

Hi Zenn

Thank you so much..... sorry that you got to 'plan' for me on top of yours.. so funny.... give you headache.. ke ke...Really appreciate...

Yar.. i guess i am too greedy..the glengorchy is 4 hrs (9am or 1.30pm), the arrowtown is 3hrs (10am or 1pm), the deer is 2hrs (10.30am or 2.30pm)... hope to go these 3 places... and then te anau (2pm or 6.45pm) and milford and fox glacier (half day) and mt cook(hope to do some half day walk).... wah.... i think so hard leh... he he...

maylim

Hi Zenn

How do you calculate the hrs needed by using your website given?? I can't calculate leh... i think i will go to milford thru queenstown better... i want the coach and cruise... wanted to reduce the driving tiredness as much as possible for my hb... i can't drive.. he he.... but your itinerary dun have te anau glowworms...
.. :p

tks so much

rihini

Planner,
what camera did you use? I like the paranomic views. my Olyumpus digi cam allows this feature but haven't succeed in making a merge yet. maybe you can give some tips here?

Zenn,
how's the air ticket arrangement if you postpone? What type of accomodations(motels or YHA) did you plan for?

zenn

Hi maylim,
No problem. Quite enjoy planning hahhaa What is there to see in Glengorchy huh? For Deer Park Height you can drive in rite? Dan you don't ve to follow their timing?

You dont ve much time in Queenstown leh. You sure you can visit all the above? Alternatively, you ve to forgo the train to greymouth? Dan you can travel the same day you arrive.

Oh you ve to multiple the distance and 0.7438 (est).

Hi rihini,
I just checked - must travel by 31 Oct... Looking at Motels. How abt u?

zenn

Hi C&C,

If I am not wrong, people goes Kaikoura to see whales rite? What else huh? But even fm Twizel to Hanmer Spring also pretty far leh...

ekiror

Hi Zenn
Yup, i went to both Glacier as they are just about 20 minutes drive away.
I did't join the walk at the glacier..only see from below and never even went close to the Glacier. Because of time limitation..buts its good enough. Well...let me explain.
Fraz Josep....do you know that you have to walk about 1hr from the car park (on gravel as can see from my pics) before you reach the mouth of the glacier. We are totally shack out by then...Dun talk about climbing the glacier. PLus U must see weather is good to climb or not. So thru and fro to Fraz Joseph from Car Park will take you about 2 hrs plus liao. The climb is not cheap and i guess u must be physically fit to do that. Another alternative is to take Helicopter lor...but that will cost $$$

After the walk from Fraz Joseph, we proceed to Fox Glacer...and again you have to walk a long path (but this time about 20-30 minutes) to the mouth of the glacier.

We were quite ambitious when doing the planning in singapore before the trip...but when we reach there, after all the walk...you will feel sian and tired. Dun talk about the actual climb...hee hee. So we just went close to the mouth of glacier took some photos and leave liao. Its quite a amazing sight. MUST GO!!

Another advise...give allowance to driving timing...we overshot timing at some parts of NZ...Because of moutainous areas and winding roads, you have to travel like 30km to 50km per hr....so plan properly. Roads from Fox Glacier will take about 5-6 hrs... because of winding roads from Fox Glacier to Haast. ANother thing...there is no shelter from the 1 hr walk from Car Park to Franz Joseph. Have to bring umbrella or hat if you see cloudy sky...

Lake HAwea is near Wanaka...you wont miss that when you drive from fox glacier back to Queenstown. Near Lake Wanaka also.

Lake Rotoiti is about 150km -200km south of Nelson.

Mildford Sound worth going or not? Some people told me nothing much. But i saw one of the most beautiful waterfall there.... I saw dolphins swiming by our ferry. I saw Seal. Its up to you...quite scenic as well...cheap lah..about NZ60 per person. I bought the ticket there straight. Also bring you to an underwater observatory (this one nothing much, can skip)

Farm stay at Canteburry...on way back from Queenstown to Christchurch... This is a luxurious farm. Facilities is 5 star. Not smelly. They specialised in deer and cows farming. Two friendly cat. And a super friendly dog. A huge pig, 2 goats and 2 sheeps..hee hee

ekiror

HI rihini
My camera not very good leh...canon ixus 330. old liao.. camera got this features that allow paranomic pics. After that, transfer to pic and use the software provided to join all together. Nothing complicated. Just a few simple click then join together liao.

Maylim, basically you want to go to those LOTR place rite. I think no point. BEcause they have remove all setting from LOTR.... All you see is trees, mountains, hills, grasspatch.....nothing much actually. What i suggest is just plan your intinerary according to the places/town you want to visit....dun bother about what LOTR filming site because its totally different from the movie. You wont even know this place is film what and where in the movie. I had the same mindset as you when we did the planning..upon reaching there...hee hee...you wont get to see the fabulous scene from LOTR. But the scenery of NZ amazing. Unless you want to follow a tour that bring you around all the places they film the places with a guide to explain where is what in the movie..otherwise u wont know. Maybe I'm wrong, I'll wait for your comments when u back from NZ about the LOTR setting..hee hee..okie.
Another thing, if you are not going for horse riding at Glenorchy, then no need to go Glenorchy. Nothing much. Hope this helps. Remember to share your pics when you back okie.

maylim

Hi Planner

My hb love LOTR and horse riding... he very looking forward to them...usually he dun like to go tour..so hope he is happy this time lor..
For me, i just like the glowworms... like very pretty to see something 'glowing' hopefully.. he he..after seeing what you told Zenn...maybe we oso only see see when in fox and mt cook... he he .... coz we are the very lazy type...maybe i focus more on queenstown where all the LOTR is.. he he ... i am the okie type lah... as long as tour, i will be very excited.... so maybe as long as my hb enjoy, i can oso enjoy one lah... okie.. i go plan again... and like you say.. maybe reach there... will have some change of plan... he he...

Hi Zenn
Tks so much for everything... i go and redo my plan again.. he he... you going NZ when huh? Hope you enjoy yourself too!

Good day to all of you!

maylim

Hi Planner

Can i know whether do you leave all your bags in the car and then go for the tour? I was thinking that when i am on my way from wanaka to arrowtown, can i park my car with all my luggages at arrowtown and then join a three hours tour and after the tour, drive to queenstown to check in... is it safe or should we always check in hotel first then go out to play?

Another thing... did you carry bag packs or use luggages when travelling in NZ? Coz I dun noe need to buy bag pack better or can use back those luggages that i have?

ekiror

maylim
First of all, we did not join any tour there. Every where we went, we went ourselves. So a bit hard for me to advise you lei...but then what we do is, most of the time, we will check in hotel first and go out play... IF you wanna leave everything in car also can lah, we also did that in some of the places. Quite safe. Put in car booth lor. Don't worry, there will be alot of tourists car..and you see their luaggages...really alot alot kind, all leave in the car and join short tour one..

We carry both bag packs and luggages...hmm..let me think...1 back pack, 1 big luagages, 1 trolley bag and i think 1 sports bag...haa haa.. alot hor...can't be help lah. we are there are 22 days mah.....

rihini

Hey Planner,

ya.... that's what the manual says. But, seems like always cannot control the pictures all at the same height and distance when I move the angle. u got any special tips?

maylim

Anyone have any accomodation below NZ$100 per nite per room to recommend? Especially in Wanaka coz that's my 1st nite directly from driving from Christchurch.. also in Queenstown, Te Anau and Fox Glacier and Christchurch.

Tks!

ekiror

Hi rihini
no special tips leh..i just take one shot, shift left/right a bit and take, shift a bit again to take, shift and take again.....then download to pc and the programme will join all 4 shots together.

Maylim,
actually you should go to Taka NZ Tourism board to get the whole list of accommodation in NZ. Quite a thick book but very useful. Then email these companies from here. Otherwise you can also go there and call. But too risky. May be fully booked especially at Queenstown.

missy

Hi Maylim,

I have posted this before. Copying for your reference:

Rotorua - Tresco Rotorua (NZ90) B&B
Napier - Pinehaven (NZ80) B&B
Wellington - Portland Best Western Hotel NZ135
Sharella Motor Lodge NZ99 (opp Botanic garden)

Nelson - Oaskland Lodge NZ99
Greymouth - Revington Hotel NZ70
Fox Glacier - Fox Glacier Lodge NZ70
Wanaka - Alpine Motel NZ80
Queenstown - Earnslaw Lodge NZ80
Te Anau - Alphenhorn Motel NZ65
Dunedin - Best Western Court Hotel NZ75

Also, NZ is a very safe place. You can put your stuffs in the boot and wander ard. That's what we do too..since the shops close early..we normally shop first and then find a hotel ard 6 plus when you can have the night all alone without any night activities in some places.

maylim

Hi SSF

I saw your posting before.. so sorry that you had to retype for me.... tks... can i know for Fox Glacier Lodge, I couldn't find the website... how did you book it? When you reach there? I am trying to book all the stays now... also for Queenstown, Earnslaw lodge say NZ$100 if want lake view.. NZ$120.. so pretty high for me.. hope to find one with lake facing but NZ$100 and below leh.. anyone can help??

Tks so much.

Best Regards

missy

Hi Maylim,

I booked Fox Glacier Lodge when I was there. FG is just a small town so you should be able to find some lodging there. No worries.

As for Earnslaw lodge, if you don't book with lakeview...then when you open the balcony...that will be your car. So much easier for you to transport things and its cheaper. As for the lakeview, the lounge is facing the lake..so if you want to see the view, go to the lounge sittng area. Its the same
just my views. So when you going?

ms_tay

my husband and I intended to take a coach fm Queenstown to Fox to Greymouth.

Anyone with any idea where can i get more info on this?

thxs!

maylim

Hi SSF

I will be goind end of Sep 04.... coming soon... he he.... tks for ur great help.

Can anyone advise is it safe to go for the Te Anau Glowworm tour at 6.45pm to 9.15pm? It's dark already so I guess no scenery to see, rite? So dark go out dangerous?? How's the whole trip? Safe? Anyone went at nite before? Is it good or nothing much to see? I will be doing milford sound in the morning and then glowworm at nite... can a not huh?

missy

hi maylim,

yes i did went for the 9.15p.m trip. my advise is a NO NO..not because it is not safe but the journey to the cave is about 45 mins and you are travelling in pitch dark. there is nothing to see at all. it's better to go in the afternoon. I believe there is a 2p.m one which we missed the last time round.

Frankly speaking, i find it nothing special at all...i travel in pitch dark..reached there also dark..and then to the caves in dark to see the glow worm...its really special those glow worm...but if you want to go...i would recommend you to go in the afternoon or else save your money. Milford sound trip takes an entire day..you leave at 7 a.m and will return at around 6 p.m...so if you want to go for the night tour for glow worm, you can still make it..but its really not worth going at night. SO basically i stayed 2 nights in te anau...fyi, it is basically a small town..nothing much. and there is a library that open from 12p.m to 6p.m...you can go there if you feel bored to read magazines..and they are the latest one. other than that, there are some sourvenier stores.

ekiror

maylim,
You can actually do the glowworm in the afternoon. Do they open at night? I thought it will close before night fall. But basically, inside the cave where you see the glowworm, it is pitch dark. And cannot make noise or take photo. You will scare these "worms". If you are staying at Te Anau, then it is ok. But if you are travelling back to Queenstown, then you have to decide if you are confident to drive in the dark.

I remembered when i travel back to Queenstown from Mildford at night...about 9 plus. There is this part of the road which is very foggy and misty. Like some kind of scene in some ghost movies..Hey, i'm not trying to scare you okie.hee hee. It will be alright if you travel slowly and on your headlight. As i said before...watch out for those possium.

maylim

Huhhh.. but my time schedule can't make it for the night one leh.....or anyone know how far is it to drive from arrowtown to Te Anau? And also from Queenstown to Fox? Te Anau to Queenstown? The timing in those website say Queenstown to Fox is 8hrs... but my fren say 6 hrs can liao... so huh to estimate huh?? Got such thing meh??

cookiecreamie

Can we self-drive from Te Anau to the glowworm caves or do we have to sign up for a day tour? If the former is possible, can we buy the ticket only upon reaching there or should we purchase in advance?

missy

Hi C&C

yes you can self drice to te anau and sign a day tour for the flow worm cruise. for teh afternoon ones, you may have to pre book in case it is in demand.

maylim

Hi everyone, back again... anyone know the time to drive from Mt cook to Te Anau? For those record in the maps, they mentioned that Queenstown to Fox need 7.40hrs but my friend say she took only 5hrs to 6hrs... so how accurate are those hrs in the map?? Queenstown to Fox Glacier can 5hrs to 6hrs? Tks.

ekiror

maylim
actually it is possible provided it is non stop driving, plus exceed speed limit at certain parts of the road. Be careful hor. NZ got lots of petrol cars around. And drive carefully.

missy

hi maylim, those time in the map are very accurate. it depends on how fast ur friend drive. i believe they did state the speed on the map for the hrs they predicted.

and yes queenstown to fox glacier is abt 5hrs to 6hrs..thats why we stopped at wanaka for a day break before continuing to queenstown.
my advice is enjoy the ride and don't speed...they are very strict with drunk driving...if you look at the side of the road, there are many crosses especially at bend...those are people who died at the scene. can be very scary when u see like 4 crosses at a sharp bend. some even have photos on it and flowers.

i saw a display of pics of crosses in the St Paul church in Wellington. It was so tragic and sad when you see like family all passed away. go take a look if you pass by st paul at wellington. its FOC anyway.

Also NZ has a very funny way of asking people to reduce speed. they have funny sign boards...so look out for them

maylim

Hi SSF

One more qn again... i was planning to drive from Queenstown to Wanaka at 4.30pm. I planning to take your recommendation of Alphine Motel in Wanaka. What time will i reach the motel? And also, the next day morning, I will then drive to Fox Glacier....how long will i reach Fox? u think it is better or can stay at Queenstown and then next morning drive straight to Fox Glacier? he he

Thank you so much.

missy

Hi Maylim,

queenstown to wanaka is about an hr drive. you will reach wanaka at ard 5.30p.m. if you reach there so late there isn;t much thing for you to explore. if you don;t intend to explore much in wanaka. my suggestion is to stay another night at queenstown..have ample rest and then early in the morning...shoot from queenstown to Fox glacier. so if you leave queenstown at ard 6.am..you will reach around 11 plus ..the journey is ard 6 hrs. plan your trip carefully and check out the fox glacier climb..will you guys be tired after travelling the entire 6 hrs? still have energy to do the climb? the climb fyi is pretty strenous but a MUST do thing
remember to have a bite before going..bring some chocolate bars and lots of water.

maylim

Hi SSF

Tks so much for your info.... yar... we wanted to catch the climb the next day but was worried that we can't join the tour in time... the tour start at 1.45pm.... so if i start driving at 7am from Queenstown, according to those map that states 7.40hrs... then we will be late for the climb... unless like u say the journey is abt 6hrs...then maybe reach abt 1pm.

But what time the sun rises? u mean can leave at 6am? Is it still not bright??? I only plan to have a night at Wanaka so that we can cut short the drive by abt 2hrs.. (no time at wanaka for activities oso okie coz can't have everything lor)... so at least we still have energy to climb.... so wat do u suggest? go to wanaka the nite before or drive straight to fox in the next morning? I don't like to rush here rush there... like very tiring .... so if after reading your this email, it seems that i should stay at Queenstown.... so what you advise? Tks so much.... very indecisive leh.... pls help... ke ke

missy

ok if you don't plan to explore wanaka, then i would suggest you drive to wanaka and stay over for the night. you can go to the lake wanaka. just beside the i-site. nice scenery with mt aspiring at the backdrop. opp i-site, there is a subway. you can have dinner there and gaze at the lake. hehee.. and remember to buy some food like chocs, water, etc before heading to fox glacier as it's very ex there coz its mainly a small town for tourist. then leave at around 6.30a.m..it should be turning bright soon. The sun rises at ard 6.45a.m..same like in SGP.

maylim

Hi SSF

Wah.. so fast you reply me.. so happy... tks...opps... so now i should stay at wanaka the nite b4.... better issit? okie, since u think is better, then i will stick to your suggested one.. to confirm... it takes 1hr only to go wanaka from Queenstown? The map stated 1.5hrs... can i estimate your timing? tks so much.

have a lovely day!

missy

Hi Stussy, basically i think all towns are quite ok coz they have big supermarket..but fox glacier don't have ..they just have a pathetic convenience store and they jack up the prices.

Hi Maylim, it;s around there..an hr plus. it won;t deviate too much from the estimated time. you can also get the map from the airport.

maylim

Hi SSF

I got it... will follow ur suggestion to overnite at Wanaka after your desciption of the lake... having dinner there.. he he... tks sooooo much for your confirmation, everything.. cheers....

missy

hi maylim,

no problem at all...also do remember to bring some music cds along..as the reception for the radio is very bad especially when you drive at the hilly areas. so a good music will keep you guys alert along the journey ;)

maylim

Hi SSF and all guys

Can anyone recommend a place to stay with own bathroom at Mt Cook? I tried to book Glentanner Park Centre but was fully book...need helppppppp
anyone can help me here??? plsssss ... tksssss so much!

maylim

Hi SSF

It's okie... tks so much... i will search... side track a bit... anyone want to buy digital camera - Samsung Digimax V4.... i won in lucky draw... but i already has one... brand new still got warranty card... retail price at $695... i sell around $400... trying to sell fast.... anyone interested... friends? colleagues?? pls email me [email protected] tks

cassie

hi maylim,

mount cook doesn't offer much accommodation options - it's either glentanner, the hermitage and its chalets, or the yha. alternatively, you can drive down to twizel for the night. good luck

a question for those who've been there and back: it seems most activity / accommodation operators only accept cash. did you bring a whole lot of cash over, draw from atms, or....? i'm hoping not to carry too much cash around. how about traveller's cheques? would be grateful if you could advise about the best option. thanks!

cookiecreamie

Anyone stayed at the Glentanner before? How are their tourist cabins and how far are they from Mount Cook Village? Within walking distance?

If I chose to stay in Twizel the night before, would it be too rush to drive up the next morning to Mt Cook for the half-day Hooker Valley Walk?

missy

HI Cassie,

we paid most of the operators using credit card. CC is widely accepted over there. However, we did bring about 1K of cash to NZ. as for those market bazaar, they don;t accept cards.

cassie

Thanks missy
it's just that all the accommodation /activity operators so far have used my credit card to secure the bookings, but then they tell me they only wish to accept cash on arrival. we're thinking of just bringing NZ1000 cash but at this rate it'll be used up in 3 days! ;-) i think they're all trying to avoid the extra fees charged by the card companies. at any rate, did you notice if atms were readily available?

cookie: from what i read twizel is about 40min drive from mt cook village, so there should be time to do the walk if you set off in the morning.
btw i think glentanner is 22km from the village, can double check at their website

missy

Hi Cassie,
So far all the accomodation I stayed do not have such problem except for one B&B. ANd yes there are ATM available ..you can find in their shopping mall. But do bear in mind that surcharge will be impose for withdrawal. so it may not be worth at all. you may want to consider paying CASH for accomodation and CC for activies. I am sure that activities allow CC.

bebee

hi everyone here,

i am planning my honeymoon n my FH n i would like to go to NZ...
do you hav any recommendations?
is it very cold to go in late nov or early dec?

missy

Hi bebe,

i went during the autumn ...in May. There are many special rates offer during that period for accomodation and even ferry from north to south as it is considered off peak.

Ok, i got the following from a site. It should help you:

Spring (September-November) is a great time to visit as the country is alive with spring blossoms and frolicking lambs. Summer (December-February) is excellent provided that you have pre-booked accommodation. Temperatures are around 20°-30° Celsius and Kiwis head to the beach and the bush. Autumn (March-May) is good too as the weather is still pleasantly warm and poplar trees in the South Island are a brilliant golden hue. Winter (June-August) is also great as the ski slopes are humming and you can travel around easily. It is still mild in the north and relatively dry in the south and east.