New Zealand

blur_p

Hi cassie,

This is blur_p again
. Do the motels you stayed accepted credit cards. Heard that YHA don't accept credit card...then need to bring along lots of cash

BTW, you just came back. How's the weather? Is it very cold? Need thick jacket or not? How's about the rain?

cassie

planner: apex quoted me a higher rate, can't remember how much at this point. but yah, now that you mention it, perhaps next time we'll use them if they're not so niao!

we mentioned to jeanette that we were just married, and she brought up that there was another singaporean couple who stayed with them and took wedding pics

blur: the motels we stayed in accept credit cards. mt cook yha and several backpacker places don't have this facility though, so make sure you have some cash with you. exchange rate now is quite bad

weather was rainy one day and fine the next, unpredictable. so temp can fluctuate quite a bit. check their met service at www.metservice.co.nz for forecasts; it'll give you some idea.

the rain was usually quite light, unless at the west coast then it could get a bit heavier. we relied on those $1 plastic raincoats bought from accessories shops
you won't need a thick jacket, but bring along layers that you can pile on and remove easily. you going there soon?

blur_p

Hi Cassie,

Yap...
me going there on Monday night (25 Oct). So I'll be the next excited
chap to tell everyone abt NZ...

Did you buy road maps when you are there or those given by the i-site will be enough? BTW, the car audio player CD or tapes? Did you claim back the GST in the airport? Do you know the procedure of claiming?
Sorry too many questions as I'm very
excited abt my trip.

kite~

Hi blur,

wow lucky u flying tonight. Hope you will hv a enjoyable n fun trip there. suppose to be ur honeymoon right? hehe

I think most cars nowadays are in CD kind, dun think hv tapes cassette. u can bring ur own music CD

remember to update ur experience in NZ n ur beautiful pix. look forward to hear from you soon.

thanks in advance.

cassie

blur: there are so many different kinds of maps available free at the i-site, etc, that you'd have to choose the most suitable one ;-) so no need to buy. plus your car rental agency should be giving you a good map too! yup, bring more cd's for the long driving. gst - seems you can't claim it back. have a good trip!
when will you be back? :)

blur_p

Hi Cassie,

I will be travelling in the South of NZ & will be back on the 5th Nov. Will take more pics back to share with you ppl. I got so much information in this forum. It's really wonderful.
Thank you everyone.

Cassie, BTW along the road is it easy to find toilet
?

stussy

Hi blur, u can find toilet in all towns, regardless big or small. If not petrol kiosk. The toilet sign is quite prominent. Jus look out for the toilet sign when u see a welcome sign into a town. (Usually will be a welcome sign, if not u will see a big 50 sign)

cassie

to add, there are usually also toilets near the i-sites at each town. no problem with toilets at all (and they ALL have toilet paper ;-) )

cookiecreamie

Hi CP,

Thanks for the info. This is one option we'll try to explore.

Hi cassie,

Wonder if you visited larnach castle and moeraki boulders? We have just a day in dunedin so not too sure if both are worth visiting. Are they far from each other? And I've heard alot about the steepest slope. What can one do there? Zoom down the slope in the car?

blur_p

Hi Cassie & Stussy,

Thx for the info...Chat wif u gals in 11 days time... byebye...I'll definitely enjoy myself with all your travelling tips....

cfonglan

Hi everybody, can I check anybody bought the travel discount card? And can share how the card save money?

I'll be going in 2 weeks time but seems like it's late to buy it now...

cassie

llamb: what discount card?

c&c: we didn't go to dunedin cos it was a bit out of the way, so can't help you with that

btw anyone going to franz josef? we saw a pretty good book on nz jokes about aussies at the shop there, now regret we didn't buy ;-) so wondering if anyone can help...

cfonglan

There's this discount card offered by NZ tourism at www.discounttravel.co.nz Some vendors offer discount here but u need to pay for the card. Some discounts are pretty good esp. for activities like water rafting, scenic flight etc.

Was thinking anybody has bought and used it?

kite~

Hi littlelamb,

wow seems like alot of ppl gg to NZ end of the yr. hehe. so nice......so u wil be gg to only south island? u DIY ur NZ trip? thanks.

cfonglan

I DIY. Bought tic from Emirates to Auckland stay 1 nite there and take domestic flight to CHC. All in all, 10 days. I know gonna be rush but no choice lei.. budget constraint.

I'm thinking of going for scenic flight at Mt Cook, milford sound, water rafting and jet boat in Queenstown, half day glacier walk in Fox Glacier and pancake rock. U all know whether these activities better to pre-book or go there then book? Dunno whether they are so hot till no seat or they jack up the price. Anybody being there can advise?

kite~

Hi littlelamb,

oic. so how much is ur air tix?
hmm ur car rental n accomodation all booked liao? since now is not a peak season, it shld be alrite. peak season/sch holidays start from mid Dec to Jan. I m hopefully to go in Jan when peak season ends. also like you, planning to go south island for ard 10 days as i got budget constraint too like you. how much did u set aside n so far spend for the pre-trip?

cfonglan

My tic is $810. But that is to Auckland only. Bought it during a Chan Bro fair. We going during the week where there's 2 public holiday. My car rental n accom all booked liao. Though not peak season, some apartment which I tried to booked was already full. Think u better plan and book early too. So far, my tic, car rental and accomm adds up to be about $1500 per pax. Hopefully can keep within $2500 for the whole trip.

nemo_sg2004

For those who have went to NZ on free&easy, is it cheaper to book the accommodation in NZ itself than booking through the tour agency in Singapore?

tyikkim

We are planning our trip to South Island for Mar/Apr 2005. Have been following this thread closely as well.

littlelamb : What is the cost of the domestic flight to CHC from AKL? You had to purchase 2 ways right?

kite~

Hi littlelamb,

my budget also like yours, trying to keep S$1500 per person (tix, car and accomodation). But when i calculate, i seems to exceed S$1500. maybe u can advise which car rental co. u booked and which accomomdation u hv booked?

hmm dont mind can you share your itinerary with me? thanks.

cfonglan

Hi Greg, yah I bought 2 way domestic flight at NZ$86 each way. Got it from Qantas and Air Newzealand.

Hi Kite, I booked thru' a local car rental call Anzed. I forgot to tell u I'm going in group of 5 so my car rental and accomm cost can save a bit with cost sharing. Anyway, if you're interested in Anzed, the website is www.anzed.co.nz

My itinery is like this...
Day 1 Flight from Sing
Day 2 Arrives Auckland. Auckland city tour
Day 3 Domestic from Auck to CHC. Collect car, drive to Lake Tekapo, visit Church of Good Shepherd, drive to Mt Cook. Stay at Glentanner Park (@$145/nite)
Day 4 Maybe do a Kea Point Walk (saw the recommendation in this forum) or a scenic flight (Air Safaris Grand Traverse @$234/pax for 50min). Drive to Te Anau and tour round the region. Stay at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park (@$145/nite).
Day 5 Drive to Milford Sound take their scenic cruise. Along the way to Queenstown, can take a look at Eglinton Valley, mirror lake etc. Stay in Queenstown (Top 10 Holiday Park Creeksyde @$155/nite).
Day 6 White water rafting and jet boat in the morning. Afternoon drive to Glenorchy town. Continue to stay in Queenstown.
Day 7 Drive to Fox Glacier for a half day fox glacier walk. Stay in Franz Joseph (Chateau Franz Motel @$135/nite)
Day 8 Might visit lake matheson, gillespie's beach in the morning. Afternoon drive to Greymouth. Along the way if there's time, might visit glowworm cave or shanty town. Stay in Greymouth (Riverview Motel @$125/nite).
Day 9 Morning drive to see pancake rock. Afternoon drive to CHC, passing by Aurthur's pass. Stay in CHC (Avalon Motel @145/nite)
Day 10 CHC city tour in the morning. Afternoon transfer to airport.

I did a lot of research on places to go. Hopefully can cover most of it :p

kite~

Hi littlelamb,

thanks for typing out. oic. so u are going in a group of 5 which means cheaper abit. good good can share. The link u gave me seems very good, provide free service of mobile phone n pickup n drop car at CC.

Perhaps u can wait for Cassie to come back n share with u more abt her trip since she is now in NZ. hehe. u gg in 2 weeks time rite?

stussy

Hi Kite~, I rented my car from Anzed too. The owner is very good. Once u reach, he will drive u to his office. When there, he will throw u with maps & advice relevant to the trip.

cassie

kite: i'm here
blur's the one having a whale of a time in nz now ;-)

llamb: you may wish to rethink your day 4. the drive from mt cook to queenstown already takes 4-5 hours. i'm not sure how long it would take you from queenstown to te anau, unless there's a straighter route from mt cook to te anau?

btw lake matheson is at fox, not fj. perhaps you'd like to spend the night at fox instead?

heehee if you're going past fj can pop in the souvenir store to buy a book for me? ;-)

java_guru

I strongly recommend Anzed and have used their car in 2003 (mazada auto 1.3/6L, tape drive but u can use a tape-cd convertor). Car in very good condition. http://www.anzed.co.nz/

Reasons :
(1) Best rates I could find. Might give u a discount if u mention me (see below).
(2) Picks you up from Airport and sends u back when u leave.
(3) Provides brochures, maps and a ton of motel/apartment accomodation books. Gives driving tips and advice if u run your driving plan thru him.
(4) Loan of Mobile phone. (you pay charges though but quite a lot of the motels are toll free)
(5) FOC Snow chains and shows u how to fit them.
(6) FOC loan of rice cooker!!! (don't eat pasta everyday leh...can die one!)
(7) Friendly, approachable, reasonable and isn't picky.
(8) Email and book. He doesn't make u do a deposit or online payment.

He is singaporean who migrated. Tell him SQ IA colleague who came by in Apr 2003. He is former SQ.

cfonglan

Kite, u're welcome. I'm going on 6 Nov, which is next Sat!!
I'm so excited...

Cassie, I think the journey to Te Anau is about 7-8 hr. If I leave Mt Cook before noon, I'll be able to make it to Te Anau before sunset. It's gonna be long, tiring journey.

I tot fj is only about 1 hr from fox? I might change the itinery when I reached there. Thanks for your advise.

Sure, just let me know the title of the book and whether is soft or hard cover and where u saw it, i'll try to see if I can find. But no promise hor, u saw my hectic itinery, maybe no time for shopping

Cassie, Stussy, care to share what activities did you go? Should be alright to book from there rite?

Seems like nobody bought their discount travel card... Was thinking of buying from those who bought...

kite~

Hi littlelamb,

wow so envy, flying next sat. remember to snap more pics n share with us, can?

remember to bring more warm clothins.

Hi XYZ,

how much does a Mazda 1.6litre auto, cos it just stated starts from NZ$51 per day? thanks.

java_guru

kite,

come to think of it, I believe it was a Mazada familia 1.3L auto. But it was more than enough power. Can't remember the pricing but it was better than any Hertz/Thrifty etc.

Do not speed in NZ (nor Aus) as the traffic fines start from NSD 150 onwards. Many singaporeans come back with fine(s).

Email Teddy for his quote.

stussy

Hi little lamb, think not advisable to drive straight to Te Anue. Think that time i left before noon and reach queenstown just before evening. Cos i go arrowtown sightseeing.

Activities :
1) Shotover - can book in queenstown office.
2) Milford - Must book in advance. Or else u waste ur drive there.
3) Wine tour - Walk in can
4) Deer farm - Walk in
5) Heli up FJ - Book advance. But also subject to weather

Try not to drive too long. The further i had was from Te Anue to Milford in the morning, then Milford back to Queenstown. Already very tiring.

stussy

If u really drive there, better book lodging in advance.

Btw, most of the activities can book at i-site.

Think Teddy is m'sian staying in s'pore. Very nice and helpful guy.

java_guru

Teddy is now a New Zealander! He owns Anzed. It is a one man show and perheps he has one employee. (Might have been Malaysian but worked in Singapore).

cfonglan

Good morning everybody....

It's being raining almost everyday. Wonder how's the weather in NZ. Heard from my colleague that NZ rain more than 200 days a year. Which means no matter which time of the year u go, there'll sure be rain. Those who've being there, is it true?

stussy

Dunno about the 200 days thing. But when i was there in Sep, it was raining on some of the days. But not really a problem. Rides not really affected except for Heli ride. The rain usually not very heavy.

I heard Milford rain quite often though. Was lucky during my trip there, weather very good at Milford.

v_ni

hey, for those that just came back from new zealand?

was the weather cold? i mean did you bring a light winter coat? or it's enough just bring a normal sweater and rain coat?

I'm leaving for NZ on 20 Nov, not sure how much warm clothing i'll need, cos i heard it could be quite chilly at milford sound.

I've been checking the weather and its between 5 to 15 degrees. sounds pretty cold leh.....

java_guru

For the FJ Helicopter Ice Hike, the weather is very important. It is cancelled with a refund if the weather turns bad or there is fog. We we likely as mine was the morning group. When we left at noon, the afternoon was cancelled because of heavy fog and clouds.

PS : IMHO, there is no point doing the ice hike from the base as it is very tiring and you see very little. Pay more and do the Helicopter Ice Hike. You will see ice caves and squeeze thru crevasses. It is much more enjoyable and u only do it once in a lifetime.

v_ni

XYZ, thanks. shucks.....was trying to pack as lite as possible. cos i'm going to melb/sydney then to christchurch and around the south island.

plus i'll be staying at YHA, don't want to look like an idiot with a huge luggage!!

BTW, the helihike is so damn expensive!! $300 per pax. was planning to just do the ice hike from the base......

aiya....

java_guru

vni - A backpacker standard kit would include a light fleece/polar plus gortex outer shield jacket plus thick jeans. enough. (I think the firm loans the jacket/pants too) That would cover nearly all eventualties unless u are talking abt -10 for prolonged exposure.

Trust me on the helicopter. U won't do it again at all and if u factor in all the cost and time u will need to repeat a helihike when u have more $$$....it is more than worth it.

I went on the helihike and walked to the face of the glacier just for the fun of it. All the pple on the helihike were WOW....all the pple walking back from the hike was ah...SHAG and dirty.

I will post pics in 2 weeks time as I am moving house at the moment.

PS : carpark to glacier face is abt 45 min walk one way. (>3 km inside). You still have to walk up u know!

cfonglan

I was also thinking of going for the half day glacier walk.

XYZ, do you know what's the diff between Fox Glacier and Franz Joseph Glacier? Fox glacier walk is cheaper than FJ. But seems like in this forum most pple went for FJ and I do not know why?

XYZ, you mean the heliwalk does not start from the glacier terminal, they heli ride u to some point and you walk from there? And that's why u will be able to see more things compared to those who did not do the heli? Sigh... now I have to re budget again...

Anybody tried the combo water rafting and shotover jet in QT? Was wondering is it better to get the combo or take separately...

v_ni

XYZ, thanks for the advise on the heli hike. will see if i'm able to convince my hubby to "upgrade" yet another activity. we didn't expect NZ to be quite ex, bursting our budget already.

first time staying at hostel...so a bit suaku. i decided to stay at YHA instead of motels, figured it's better to stay at relatively new hostels vs some crappy 3* motel.

the YHA's at melb/sydney had pretty good reviews...place looks new too. but the NZ ones didn't have any pics on the websites. but i did read a couple of good reviews from this forum.

i saw your post on the car rental in 2003. how long were you in NZ?

bamboobride

i intend to go nz for my honeymoon in nz in this coming mid jan. any idea how is the weather like? is as scorching hot as australia in summer? is 14 days enough for just south island?

any idea any airlines having promotion at the moment. this is such a useful thread. gonna take my time n slowly read from the very beginning.

any of u going in jan too? i intend to just book air tickets n rent a car instead of getting a package. but do u thk its better to get a package n extend afew days f&e on our own? how abt the stay? is it easy to get a room there on the very night itself?

sorry, so many qns to ask. its only recently we decided to go nz instead of europe.

kite~

Finally, we have confirmed to go NZ in this Jan for our honeymoon (cos previous was di li ter li, not sure where to go). been following this thread closely though.

Hi cin,

me too going to South Island in Jan 05. Which week or exact date u gg? me hvnt book my air tix cos was deciding 10 days or 12 days as budget constraint.

I know that in Jan in NZ is their peak period and summer. however, dun think it wil be as hot as aus.

For me i intend to DIY everything from air tix, car rental n accomodation. but hvnt search for accomodation yet. Car rental will look for Teddy based on everyone's recommendation here.

i find that booking package from tour agency more ex. even though after tat extend...based on my calculation. perhaps u can do some cal. too.

Hi vni and littlelamb,

so how's preparation for ur NZ trip?

kite~

i have a few qs.

1) i plan to stay in NZ for 10 nites, meaning how many days will that be? 11 or 12 days?

2) How much is the petrol costs like in NZ? cheaper than in SG?

3) Any idea for accomodation (prefer motel but no need kitchen facilities), do they have those below S$80 as this is my budget line

4) Any cheap and nice food to recommend in South Island?

5) Last but not least, i will try to plan my itinerary by this week n hope u can help me suggest if its ok.

thanks in advance.

tyikkim

hi Kite,

I am also planning our honeymoon for Mar/Apr 2005. I have never been there, but all my answers are based on my research through this thread, visit to NZ Tourism Board, a travel guide on NZ printed in May 2004 and also chats with friends who have been there.

Answers:
1. If you plan to stay for 10 nites, it is 11 DAYS. Reason why packages have such things like 6days/4nites is because the flight departs Singapore at night and this is counted as one night of the tour.
2. Petrol in NZ is cheaper than in S'pore. WHat I've heard is about $1 per litre, whereas its like $1.40+ in S'pore now. Anyway, at the entrance of the petrol kiosk, they have huge boards that displays the prices. Was told that the further south from Christchurch...the more expensive.

3. If you take the base of YHA accomm as cheapest, it'll work out to be NZ$50 per couple per nite. We are looking at one level higher. That is the Bella Vista motels or the Top Ten group of accomm. These properties charge like NZ80-NZ120 per dbl room. But top ten would suit you better. Check it out at www.top10.co.nz
4. Can't recommend you any till I get there and taste the food myself.
5. To assist you in itinerary planning...guess one of the key factors is to priortise the list of activities to 1. MUST DO 2. Should do 3. If still have $$ after numbers 1 & 2, can consider these. If you priorties to these 3 categories, I think we can help sketch the parameters of your itin.

stussy

Hi Greg & Kite, when i was there in Sept'04, after taking into account for the xchange rate, the petrol is almost the same.

You are rite, the further south u go, the more ex it is. So try to pump at bigger town. Seems cheaper there.

1 thing to note, no petrol kiosk at Milford. So if you driving there, pump full in Te Anau first. For emergency.

cassie

llamb: most of the activities we booked there. a few days' advance notice is good, except for queenstown sometimes you can literally book the day itself!

THe book is "Favourite New Zealand Jokes About Australians" by Katrina Power, NZ10, a small paperback. There're only 2 souvenir shops in FJ across the road from each other, so if you're driving through it wouldn't take that long, but if you've no time don't worry about it
if you happen to be doing your shopping anywhere else perhaps you could help ask too

btw we signed up for the helihike on FJ but it didn't run, so we did the full day hike. If you have time the full day is really a better choice, cos we feel the half day doesn't really give much opportunity to see crevases and ice caves. the first half of the hikes is the toughest and the rewards only come along in the afternoon ;-)