Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date

furry, you can choose the flowers. By default is white lilies, if you want others, just inform them. No problem.

hi meixia,
may i have the songlist please? i think it's really patient and detailed of you to have selected so many songs. my AD is 03 April 05 at Raffles Hotel, and i am preparing my song list now.

you can send to me at [email protected].

thanks alot..

hi furry, think if your choice of the flwrs is off Mc's budget, may hv to top up money leh...

Anybody knows if we use flwrs lower than their budget, they credit back the money or not huh? hahaha...

And furry... MC pkg is very standardize. Think the gals here get almost the same offers. Even with the increase of tables you want, they also increase the standardize amt of things like what they offer to others. Not much of a diff.

Bridely Meixia may be too bizi with her wedding to come in here liao...? Usually she prompt to enquiries. Hohoho...
She's a HAPPY BRIDE now...

Jane,
I understd that the default flowers are lilies and orchids rite? So far, any idea which other flowers which we request need not have to pay extra?

Hi Ynyx,
Guess they will not be so nice to refund us if we are choosing flower of lower share.

Would like to find out if anyone here enjoys more than 1 barrel of beer? Also, any idea how many barrel of beer are required per night?

Hi furry, i think white roses no need to pay extra, I saw the flower stands with roses the day I went down.

As for the barrel of beer, I'm only getting one..I think it depends on your guests whether they drink alot or not..I'm having my dinner on a weekday so I hope alcohol consumption will be lower than weekend..

hi furry, think roses are fine. Don't think they need you to pay extra. just choose flowers that are in season and easily found... lilies are not cheap, so i guess not many flowers are more expensive than lilies.

as for beer, i had 2 barrels. 1 30l and 1 20l. just nice for a tue dinner.

Hi gals, I've decided on a 8 course menu for weekday..thanks for all the comments.

Btw, I only been to MC once, looked at the ballroom,talked to the coordinator. Is it enough? Wondering if I should go again and dun know what else have I missed out asking..

My coordinator told me I just need to email him the menu, my address..oops wat else..I really forgot..then he can draft out the contract for us to sign

Hi Sel and Jane,
Was informed that the ballroom is reserved for us now. Phew! Now moving back to negotiation. =P

Hi Jane,
Can I check how many tables are you taking up? They seemed very rigid with almost everything.

Hi Sel,
Sounds good. At least we have roses to choose. kekeke...any idea if they are changing their table setting? So far, their table setting is not even comparable with other 4* hotel.

Dun mind me asking...when is ur WD?

Hi furry, I don't know if the table setting I saw was a new theme or not but its floating orchids in a glass bowl with tealight? Which 4* hotel setting is nice?

My AD in March 2006

Hi Sel,
I saw the new theme. Looks good and romantic.

The 4* is Amara. Check out the ballroom. U will be impressed.

My AD will be 16Oct'05. WOW! U r really early man. Have alot of time to consider.

Hi Jane,
I shd be having only 40tables. No $ so must limit ourselves. kekeke...quite sad tat their perks are so rigid and the pricing is quite ex.

Wow the thread is really quiet..

Hmm, wondering if anyone prepare wedding favours for their guests besides the chocolates provided by MC?

Hi Sel,
Glad I finally found someone reacting in this thread. Everyone seems MIA.

Have u signed up with them yet? When is ur wedding?

BTW, I have tots about getting something else instead of the chocs. Duno if they value add in other way. Any idea? What do u intend to do?

Hi furry, I just came back from bangkok, saw some chopsticks that I found rather interesting so I tot of ordering as a wedding favour.
Btw, last time I spoke to my coordinator,he said that they only have chocolates and no other wedding favour. So i assume that if you want something else you have to spend on that aspect.

Nope I haven't signed with them yet,planning to do so soon..my wedding in Mar 2006. You finalised your contract?

Hi Sel,

WOW...u r so early. 2006 mar and u are already in prepn. Has ur hubby proposed? kekeke....kaypo here

BTW, I have not signed up with them yet but in terms of negotiation.

Hi Furry, hahah not yet, he hasn't proposed but I've found my ring already.

I didnt really negotiate, more of understanding what they can and cannot offer.We're in the midst of discussing the menu,what to change,stick to what etc. Should be finalising mine soon,once I go thru the menu with my mother.My future MIL quite satisfied with MC's menu,she says its traditional and the old folks will like it.

You holding yours on weekday or weekend? I don't think I'm looking for another hotel already..we like the exclusiveness of the dinner venue,esp the recep area. And also alot of hotels hasn't come out with 2006 prices and I'm lazy to visit more hotels hah..

HELLO ALL ......... I AM BACK!!! haha .. miss me?? I am Mrs Lee now .... hahahaha.

Apologies for not answering all of your queries .. was on a full week's leave before my wedding. Finally back today.

Really enjoyed my wedding on 4th Dec. Michael was a GREAT help!!!! Even though he was not my banquet manager, he made the effort to drop down before my 1st march-in to see how me and my hubby were doing. He even reassured me as i was VERY nervous before my 1st march-in. So, gal, Michael was great! Not to worry lar ....

I marched in at 8.15pm sharp. Had my solemnisation on stage. Was great with the JP and my mum and his father on stage as witnesses. When we exchanged our wedding vows, surprise! My hubby actually wept!! haha ... then i followed tearing too ... so paiseh!!!! But, at that time, the solemnisation part was just too romantic and when wer sayed out the vows, it kinda struck us both how we both overcame our differences and finally became husband wife on tat nite. *smile*
My colleagues began weeping with us too! haha ....

Everyone had compliments for my banquet menu. The food was great and the portion was big too. The set up was wonderful too! My mum was complimenting on how nice the ballroom was set up and most of my parents' relatives & frens said the ballroom atmosphere and decor was great!!!
So, gals, for the food, not to worry!!!! Even my MIL who is picky abt food also complimented MC's menu!

As it was on a sat, i actually used up to 80 litres of beer. Had no red wine but had hard liquor. Used up to 7 bottles of hard liquor. I had 42 tables + 2 spare. Did not open up my spare tables in the end. One word of advice to gals holding their wedding : if you are planning for 40 tables, confirm oly 39 tables + 2 spare. Cos, in the end, some of ur guests will surely not turn up one and you will have 1 tables less liao. Always confirm the no of tables to be 1 less than ur actual tables.

My gate-crashing in the morning was very fun too. My bedroom door was actually spoilt in the process. Cos my brother actually passed the house keys to my hubby the night before!!! Wah Lau! Imagine my sisters' surprise when teh brothers opened up the door and ran to my bedroom!!! haha .. it was fun!!!

All in all, i do not regret choosing MC as my dinner venue. I had so much compliments abt my choice of banquet venue that i am still basking in the compliments of it! haha ... So, gals, no regrets lar!

Latly, for the song lists, u gals can actually go to the thread of wedding songs and lok thru the songs there. I chose my songs from there too! Good luck!

Hi meixia,
congrats! i think i saw u on sat 4 dec at merchant court. but i can't remember a thing now.. :P

4 dec was my rom at 10.20am and then we went to merchant court for buffet lunch. me and my 3 gal frens were last to leave the cafe and actually walked thru the event hallway (the waiter told us so), think while ur sending ur guest off.. paiseh.. but, really... so coincidence... hee..

btw, the song list, may i know where to view..

thanks thanks..

Hi Zenith, thank you! Yap ... i think i saw you too. You were the bride who were walking back to the room with ur gal friends, rite?

Think at that time, i just alighted from my car and walking towards the lobby. he he .. so coincidental!

You can view the song list from the thread "wedding songs".

Hi meixia, is it?... hahahah.. so malu.... cos we want to walk some other way but the waiter say it's ok to walk thru.. aiyo.. :p

i will check out the wedding songs thread.. hehe

Hi Zenith,

You had buffet lunch at merchant court? can you share with me where at merchant court, how much per pax and was it on a weekend?

Was thinking of heading there for makan after my ROM

Hi Meixia

Congratulations to you and Hubby.

Btw, I am in the midst of booking my wedding package with MC but not to sure how to negotiate for better deals.

My hubby thought of asking for an additional night's stay @ MC but coordinator like not very flexible. Btw, I have about 50 tables so how many litres of beer should I cater for? MC has given us 30 l + 20 l of beer which we think it is not a lot.

Hi Elmo,

For additional night, erm, i think they will tell you subject to availability lor. Think teh chances are not that high .. so dun place too much hopes on it.

Is ur wedding on a weekday or weekend? If weekday, 50 litres should be enough. However, if on weekend, it should be not enough cos for my 42 tables, i already had 80litres of beer! So, perherps you should get another 30l just in case.

hi rainne,
congrats
when is ur rom? u have to book at least one week in advance for the buffet at cafe. it's popular, starts at 12pm. on my rom day, it was already very packed the moment buffet starts.

Here's the info:
Merchant Court Hotel
Peranakan Spread buffet Lunch (12pm – 2:30pm)
$19.90+++

Ellenborough Market Café Tel: 6337 2288

Hi elmo,I'm also in the midst of booking. Which date you looking at?

Meixia, do share your wedding pics,with your description of your AD, I feel very confident of MC!!

Btw, I'm going to be Mrs Lee too hahah..but no big changes lah.coz I already is Miss Lee.

Hi Meixia...erm ...shd be Mrs Lee,

Congrats! Can sense the joy in yur msg....where did U go for honeymoon?

Hi Sel & furry,

Im currently sourcing a few venues but am quite keen in MC cos had attended wedding dinners twice over there and am satisfied with the food & svc...Btw, can share your package details with me? I'm holding my dinner in 2006 too...im thinking of changing the wedding favors to sumthg else too....Carlton hotel offers nice wedding favors...

Hi Meixia,
So glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding day! Congrats that you are finally Mrs now!

So how was kevin our videographer? Tell me more by emailing me can? [email protected]
Thanks ahh...

I would be having my ROM this sunday, 12th Dec at Merchant Court too, rem? But jus heard from weather forecast that there would be afternoon and early evening showers that day... sigh... so sad!! May hav to hold it at their function room liao. So what song did u use as your first and second march-in?

Care to share with me your photos too? If it's ready, your photographer was from Kayledescope right?

am new to this thread, but seems like MC is quite a good hotel eh? i only have about 150 guests and my wedding will be on aug 2005.. so not sure if that is an option for me. I have trouble finding a hotel that has a nice room to accomodate such a small group of guests...

Hi Sel aka Mrs Lee .... haha
No prob! Once my AD photos are ready, will post those photos and let u see the MC decor itself. I think u dun have to worry abt MC ....... all my relatives were inpressed with their decor and service and food!

Hi Dapimon,
Nope ... not yet gone for my honeymoon. Planning for next Feb .. maybe Korea. See 1st lar ... suddenly like no "feeling" to go for honeymoon liao leh .... haha .... my new house is like a honeymoon for me liaoz lor .... hehe

Hi Bearyhugs ...
Yaya ... finally, i am Mrs liao.. haha. Suddenly feel old now liao ....
Kevin was great!!! Really .. my jie-mei who was following me the whole day was complimenting on how professional he was ... Plus the fact that he had that kind of personality where me and my hubby feel very warm towards him ....its like he is our friend on that day lor. My jie-mei and my relatives all tot that he is my friend cos me and my hubby tok to him like an old friend .... hehe. So, even though i had not got my video, i have confidence the video will turn out nice. So, no need to wory abt Kevin.

Yap. Photographer from Kayledescope. Ok, will share once ready.

Tml is your ROM!!! Excited? Relax ... and CONGRATS!!!!!

I'm back!! Very happy that the whole ROM went on very smoothly. JP David Loh was great! He not only made a good JP but a good MCee as well! He made everyone felt comfortable and at ease; a bit the "gao xiao" though... But overall, we were pretty happy with MC hotel's service. They made sure everything was in place and it didn't rain so nice weather yesterday evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole process. I was really anxious and jittery the whole morning; it was hubby who stayed calm and made sure everything goes well. He gave me a pleasant surprise by buying our fav precious moments figurine as the ring bearer. I thought MC would provide the ring pillow; apparently, they don't anymore and Hub at first told me that it would be provided but when we were abt to exchange rings, then I realized that he had prepared our fav precious moments figurin to replace the ring pillow. It was so very sweet.

Great service from MC hotel n we didn't regret our choice at all. Hope everything will turn out equally smooth on our actual day next yr at MC too.

Meixia, I've finally joined the MRs clubbies too. Haha... Thanks for all your advice so far. Yur comments certainly made me feel that we've made the right choice for our videographer. Anyway, did u opt for the express video highlights?

Hihi ...... welcome to the club!!! hahaha ....
You are sure 1 happy woman ....

So coincidental! My JP who solemnises my marriage on my wedding is also David Loh! He is indeed very good and his sound is very resounding!! haha .... he also doubles-up as my emcee for my solemnisation part .... hahaha.

No lar ... MC nv provides ring pillow one. Has never have... i think. I also bought my own one.
Ur hubby is so sweet to give u this surprise!

Dun worry lar ... I'm sure MC will render the same service to you for ur AD next year!! MC is indeed very good in their services, aren't they? I 'm so glad i chose them for my wedding.

Yap. Kevin is the right choice lar... no worries. Nope ... i did not opt for the express highlights in the end.

Hi Meixia,
What a coincidence that we both used the same JP! Yeah, I do agree with you that his voice is really "powerful". No regrets with him either.

By the way, do share yur pics with us once they are ready. So if you didn't opt for the express highlights then did you hav any photo montage during the dinner?

Hi Meixia
I had my rom at MC in Sept. Am considering to hold my banquet at MC too. Would appreciate it if you could share your pics with me as i've never attend any wedding there so far? My email is [email protected]. Thanks very much.

Hi Bearyhugs,

Nope .. i did away with the photo montage also. Actually tot of showing my photo montage with pics from my album but come to think of it, most ppl have already seen my wedding album and since i also brought my album to MC, i did not show the montage cos pple might be bored by it. haha ....

Hi Tulip,
No prob.
Will definitely share my pics with you once ready. But, you guys must have some patience .... my photographres say will rush my photos out by Xmas. So,prob have to wait till then lor. If you are going to hold ur wedding banquet in MC, I'm sure you will have no regrets! MC is great!!

wah... long time not been here... Very happening indeed!!

Meixia, u brought your happy spirit in here as well upon your recent wedding. xi qi yang yang!

hi Meixia, welcome back! Was so exciting reading your comments.. must be a wonderful day and it was so touching when your hubby teared.... that shows how deeply he is in love with you. so envious.. hee... if i witness both of you crying, i sure will cry too with the audience... so touching...sob sob..

Helloooo .....

Hi Unyx,
Ya lor! Where have you been?? haha .... Haha .... Good mah .. some more this is the festive season also .. must have more xi qi! haha ....
So, how's ur preps?

Hi Tulip,
My BS is Yvonne Creative. Yap. House finished renovation 1 month before my wedding. Its a headache, man! Had to juggle both my wedding and house together .... If you can avoid, dun ever try to do double-hatting. Do ur your house 1st, the afetr a year then plan for ur wedding. Its better in terms of financially and its more SANE!!! haha ....

Hihi Jane,
Thank you for welcoming me. hehe ..... I am in your "club" liao! haha ...
Ya lor ..... i was very touched when i saw his tears too ... 2nd time i saw him cry. The 1st was wheh he proposed to me in the cable car & when i started to cry, he followed suit too! haha .....the 2nd is during our wedding lor.

haha .. we gals very sentimental one lar .. see other pple cry, we will also start to cry one.

So, planning to welcome another person to your household yet? hehe ....

Hi Meixia,

He is so sweet! Cried when proposing and when getting married... so romantic and surely he must have loved you so much! I never see my hubby cry before.. he said GUYS don't cry! So egoistic! But i think when we quarrelled after wedding about me feeling neglected by him, he was so stressed his eyes were teary and his voice changed... i think he cried... he was stressed working and juggling with his sideline-HP shop and now with me staying with him. hee.. but thank God, now is ok liao.. more settled and his shop has closed down. Oops!

Oh well, i am in my second trimester now.... : )

We just had our wedding dinner at MC last week. Overall it was a very good experience. Michael was impeccable towards the arrangement of our wedding banquet. He was very approachable and responsive to our questions and requests. The banquet manager and his team (one guy called Kumar) were very impressive too. They coordinated the entire event very well and could not be faulted. We were very impressed with their service.

Food-wise, it was great and the portion was huge The services of the waiters were good. The only thing is that the food could have been warmer. But overall my family and friends enjoyed the food.

We would like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you to Michael and his team for a memorable evening.

JANE!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! You will be a mum soon!!!! OH WOW!!!!

Did u guys plan for it? Wow .. you very li-hai leh ... u just married less than 1 yr, right? So fast you are prepared to have BB liao ah? Your hubby must be so estactic!!!! Not to mention your ILs and your parents!!! So, are you treated like a queen now? haha .....
How is pregnancy? Can take it? When is your EDD?
Must maintain a happy & relaxed mood so that BB is happy too.

Haiya .. ok lar. Anyway, its only twice in my lifetime that i think i will see him cry lor ... haha.... Sometimes, these things happen only at the right time & right place one. hehe ..
Haiyoh ... ur hubby never cry doesn't mean he dun love you, ok? I am sure he loves you just as much, just that diff guys express it in diff ways lor.

Glad that everything is ok with u both now. Remember, must be happy, ok? Now diff status liao ... got to think of 1 more extra "headcount".

Congrats to you, Jane!! You must be real excited abt your baby. All the best!! So have you gone for scanning to see the gender of your baby?

Must update us hor...

Meixia, glad to know that MC had provided good service to so many. More or less assured that we've made the right choice again.

congrats to Meixia and fishy11 and ofcz not forgetting Jane.

Btw i'm new here

Meixia and Fishy11, it's glad to see that both of you were very please with the service provide by the MC.
My sis will be having her wd at MC too in Jan05, she is kind of worried what to do for the march-in so will you be able to share your exprience or is there anyone be able to help?

JANE! CONGRATS!!! Doc told you the due date?

hello meixia... me been bizi with work leh... no time to even drop by. So u planning your honeymoon? Though I am not here often, dun forget to include me in your foto viewing list arh...

Seems like some of you have nice contact with Michael. Maybe he's fated to serve you, so you all find him ok. Personally, I am still pizz off with his boh-chup & slow to response attitude. He was always trying to "entertain"/bluff thru us. My new coordinator however is more sincerce. Fate btwn ppl to ppl is important. Michael got no yuan(2) fen(4) wz my hub & I.