Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
Oh. okok. But, maybe 11 pax only for friends lar. Certainly not for relatives. They will condemn you for the rest of your lives!!! You know old folks!!! haha ...

Thanks all for ur advice.

Have a happy weekend ahead!!!!

hehe..ya lor...all 11...i not sure if MC allow.
me leh..i only had 3 tables 11. and yep..their food portion very big wan.. should be enough.

Hahah...i am sure MC won allow all tables 11...else i everyone sure do that...can really save a lot leh...heheh..

Yah...i also have about 3 tables of 11...for my case, i think i will put relatives to table of 11...cos my mom side full of little kids...so if i put 10, wasted the food lor...u know kids...they tend to run about during the wedding.

Good to hear that the food serving is big...some hotels eat till the last course...still not full...

I think Jane's idea is really good. Will consider trying it. Thx!

BugBear, if u wanna change the menu, be prepared to pay more. I rem being quoted almost a hundred bucks extra per tbl cuz I was contemplating the change of fish...Of cuz I gave up the idea eventually. =)

Har? $100 per table? I am only expecting maybe like $30 per dish...u thinking of changing fish only and that much liao...i thinking of adding a scallop dish to the weekday menu...

guess i don have to think of it liao

BugBear,

I think it is better if you check with your coordinator first..maybe they can work out a better deal for you? Better to hear from them too instead of just from me alone. =)

you can change style of cooking without extra charges.... eg. fried fish to steam fish... which older folks prefer.

Yah...i personally also prefer steam fish...sometimes fried fish a bit dry

I think MC weekend menu still ok...the weekday menu a little too simple

yesterday i was there for a wedding dinner. The fried fish with mango is nice. : )

Sazali, the banquet manager, is still the best... very good service. : )

I was also there recently for a Sat wedding dinner too. Food was great!

Service-wise and decor was above average, better than what I see in other hotel ballrooms.

yes, deco still the same. all white lilies with bird cages... you can change the flowers if you want. Sazali told me that sunflowers look great. He said very bright and cheerful... however, i stick to white lilies as it represents pure and long lasting love.... bai nien hao he...

food is great! the helping is big... so don't worry about table for 11.

Think I did hear from my wedding coordinator that their food serving is usually sufficient for 11 pax. So don't need to worry bugbear.

Can't wait to see if MC is coming up some new wedding designs. Does anyone know if their wedding march-in is a standard distance? No way we can increase it further right?

Yipee!! happy to hear good comments abt Merchant. I personally only went there for a wedding like 2 yrs ago...so totally forgot abt the food.

Heheh...guess MC won't allow me to put all tables to 11 pax...heheh

I heard from the coordinators that they are thinking of introducing new themes either in Aug this yr or something...but not confirmed yet. I am hopping they come up with some new themes to choose from. I like the white lilies, but don quite like the bird cage that hangs there...

BTW, do you gals feel that MC deco looks a little oldish? I dunno, but maybe it's the colour of the seat covers, i find it looks grimy

Bearyhugs, i don think they have an alternative route, unless u wan to walk zig zag...starting from the first door of the ballroom, walk L-shape to the center of the aisle, then walk straight down? Think the current straight aisle looks the most grand

Hhmm...only if the ballroom is long and not so wide...then the march-in will be longer :D

Bearyhugs, u planning for a long train gown?

hehe...glad to hear compliments abt MC.

Has anyone tasted their dessert called "Chilled Honey Sea Coconut with Beancurd"? I have it on my menu but not too sure if it is nice..

Hihi All .....

Miss talking to you gals!

Wah .. so many great comments abt MC har? Btw, Jane and Deviant, can you both recap what are the "must-have" dishes for our menu? Like what are the dishes that are more delicious and a "must-have" for our wedding menu? If possible, can pls state that the food you have eaten is for wkend or wkday for our reference?

Thanks x10 very much!

Helo,
Meixia, thought you were missing in action for some time. Glad to see you here again.

Anyone here asking for food tasting for the full course rather than the usual 6 course offered? How much more do we have to top up?
Any idea?

hihi bearyhugs, i topped up for the full course... $25+++ per dish, so I topped up $25*3+++... which means at the end of the food tasting, I paid $75+++. and the food is yummy!

Hihi Bearyhugs,

Ya lor. Busy with my reno and my PS recently.

By the way, just to let you know, even though the package states that the food-tasting is for 6 pax only, you can actually bargain for 10pax. Cos, i think the food portion they give is equivalent to 10 pax portion.

Bargain for this lar. But,as for the top-up for full course, have to pay the $25+++ per dish lor. No room for bargaining. But, i think the price is quite ok.

Lenz,
Where did you have your food-tasting? Cos i did not see any chinese restaurant in MC leh .. dunno where they are going to let us have the food-testing??

wow...$25+++ is rather reasonable...hmmm...i may also consider tasting the full course..hehe..thx lenz =)

BTW, i have a question: is it ok to request for the invite insert template 2 mths b4 my AD? Wanted to print earlier...

hihi, my contract also states food tasting for 6 pax...but when michael called, he told me for 10pax..so good lor.

The food tasting is held at their function rooms.
One room has around 2-3 tables of families having their food-tasting.

and shinde, yep..u can print earlier..just liase with the printing pax earlier lor.. ;)

I think they will usually give food tasting for 10...cos when i talked to Aaron, the package also states for 6...but he say can be arranged for 10...no extra charge.

Shinde,

Ya lor. You can sure take the invites earlier. Maybe you can also schedule your food-tasting 2 mths b4 ur AD so thatyou can have your food-tasting and taking of cards & inserts on the same day? Then, you need not have to go down to MC 2 days liao mah.

Just a suggesstion .........

Hi Lenz,
Oh ... so its at their funstion rooms har? I see ... Thanks for solving my riddle.

meixia,

prawns, coffee pork ribs, udon noodles, mushrooms are nice.

sharks fin so so and yam paste not so nice.

"Chilled Honey Sea Coconut with Beancurd" is too sweet... not very nice.
mine is for weekday.

Hhmm...i was thinking of changing the dessert to yam paste...seems like the yam paste is not that good huh.

Any good suggestion for desserts? Any of you know if Merchant will arrange for individual small little cakes, 1 each for the guests instead of the traditional chinese desserts? something like what Marriott offers?

I also managed to get food tasting for 10 easily. Maybe that's a gimmick used by them. It looked like we've bargained for it but they actually offer it to all?? Haha....

Bugbear, have u decided on merchant court already?

Besides yampaste and chilled honey sea coconut, what other deserts are available?

Hi bearyhugs....nope, i have not decided on MC yet. Still working out some details...but quite interested in theirs...also waiting for their new package (Aug-Dec05) to be out in Aug this year...i believe there is a change in pricing...

if i were to sign with them now, i will have to pay an additional $20+++ for each table as a surcharge for advanced booking...but if i wait for their new package to be out, the price increase might just range from $5-10.

yah bugbear, i suggest u wait also.

i am not sure what desserts they have. mine was yam paste and my friends think it was not nice. However, the older friends and folks like it. so very subjective...

the last wedding i went, i was served the coconut beancurd thing which i find too sweet and fattening. maybe, you want to try the red bean thinggy??

Hi Jane,

Thanks for your reccomendation. However, i went to my friend's wedding at MC and the dessert served was yam paste and i find it quite fragrant. Quite different from other yam paste. Or maybe its just my taste buds lar ... haha
But, i do think the older folks will like yam paste more rather than the chilled sea coconut stuff .......

hi hi...

Jane...yup, i will wait...cos i do not have an exact date as well...and the coordinator told me that the usual increase is only ard $5-10...

I personally quite like yam paste and a lot...so tot of changing it to yam paste. dunno if they serve ice cream as desserts...cos i think by the time for dessert, everyone already quite full...so most ppl might just skip the yam paste...thinking of changing it to something lighter

don't think they serve ice cream.... maybe can try honeydew sago but too cheap... so not worth.

Anyway, just try asking for something special? maybe fruits?? hee..

I have another dessert from MC:

"Chilled Lotus Seed with Red Dates and Lily Buds"

Not so sure how it taste thou.

hihi shinde, "Chilled Lotus Seed with Red Dates and Lily Buds" - that's what i had for my wedding.. not bad la...something light and refreshing lor..

harrow lenz

heeee...so that may be one of the possible option for me...cuz Jane said that the sea coconut thingy is overly sweet. since my mum & MIL are both diabetic, sea coconut is definitely out. =)

Thks..

as for me, my mil very health conscious one.. luckily she like the "Chilled Lotus Seed with Red Dates and Lily Buds" dessert.

Hello ... seems like our topic has changed to desserts, desserts and more desserts! hehe ........

Ok, anyone tried this dessert - "Double Boiled Snow Fungus with Red Dates and Lotus Seeds" before? Feedback?
Thanks .......

Hi Lenz ... no lar .. the desert is diff from Shinde lar. Mine is Snow fungus whereas hers is chilled lotus seeds.

Hahah...now it's into desserts

I was thinking of getting individual ice cream cakes...similar to what Marriot serves...but dunno if MC does that...cos i personally love orr ni (yam paste) a lot...but scared that by the time dessert is served, everyone is too full to enjoy liao...so now thinking of some lighter desserts...any suggestion?

hi meixia, but ya leh.... though my dessert is "Chilled Lotus Seed with Red Dates and Lily Buds", inside also got snow fungus.. that's why i thought it is the same... ;)

anyway, same or not,not impt la hor...the dessert tt u choose is nice is most impt. ;)

and most most impt is tt on your wedding day, everything runs smoothly and everyone is happy!

Yes yes!! Food wise, i think MC serves pretty good food...at least common consense that their food is quite safe.

Meixia...don worry so much...relax and be a happy bride! :D

haha...now everyone is interested in desserts!

lenz, is the Chilled Lotus Seed with Red Dates and Lily Buds sweet?? I'm seriously considering it for my wedding.

Meixia, starting to feel strezz?? I kinda freaked out since I have not start on anything except visiting this forum...boy cant imagine the wedding is in 6 mths' time.

Hello All ..... har? i give you all the impression that i worry too much har? oh-oh ....

Haha ... no lar. me not worried lar. Anyway, thanks for all the advice.

Hi Bug Bear, but ice cream cakes is like more suited for friends and peers leh. How abt those older folks who are not into this? Even though it may be refreshing to have ice-cream cakes, but the extra cost to serve so many guests and the tot that older folks may not take a liking to it seems deterrent.
Maybe orh-ni will be a much safer choice? Anyway, u also like the orh-ni, rite?

Hi Shinde,

Me not that stressed lar.

Ya lor ... cannot imagine leh ... its like i just started out my preps 1 yr ago and now, its suddenly 6 mths left to my wedding ....... feeling both excited and nervous. haha .....

Btw, is MC still using white lilies for its decor har? Me thinking of changing to all roses leh ... but i dun know if the effect will be good. Any advice pls?
TIA ........

hi shinde,

nope, the dessert is not too sweet.. just nice ba...it's similar to "cheng teng" type of refreshness. but up to u la..cuz it's a cold dessrt...so sometimes old ppl dun like cold dessert.