Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date

Need some advice from you gals... might be a bit out from normal banquet stuff, hope you all don't mind.

I'm intending to hold my solemnisation on a weekday evening for minimum 50 pax, might be late march or early apr 05. I got a quotation from a ms jennifer (signed off as mgr of catering dept). I was given (upon asking for more stuff): a night's stay (chargable at $160 w/o ABF), 20% complimentary parking, and 6 wines corkages, after which are chargable at $15/- per bottle.

Any tips or ideas as to how should I ask for a foc nite's stay w breakfast (or is it too much to ask for)? Or more wine corkages n parking? Appreciate your comments.
If I happen to be asking too much, do let me know. I'm totally clueless as to how much should I ask for...

Hi Angela, i reckon there's nothing called "too much to ask for"...if the coorinator is willing to give you...that's ur bonus. I think they will usually keep quiet..u don ask, they don give...

I thought usually if they give u room, it will include breakfast...

heheh...maybe i super 'meow'...so will try and ask for anything and hope they will accomodate :D

Haha Shinde .... You will realise soon that if u dun come in at least once to check ur postings, you will feel uncomfortable! This IS addiction!! haha ...

Hi Angela,
Actually for a solemnisation, you really dun have too much things to bargain for, unlike banquet. So, you just narrow down to a few things: - Are most of ur friends or relatives driving? If yes, is 20% complimentary parking enough? If not many pple are driving, then u do not have to bargain for more driving passes liao.

How many wines are u intending to have? If you have more, then bargain for more bottles of corkage.

Ya lor ... i tot room means with breakfast liao??

hi angela, with 50paxs commitment, i don't think they will throw in free room loh... that explains the $160 charge for the night. However, you can bargain for breakfast, don't think it's too much to ask.

agree with Meixia about the parking coupons and stuff.... unless you are sure you have more than 20% driving and bringing in more than 6 bottles of wine, if not don't waste time bargaining with them.... Ask for more if you really bringing more wine and you are sure more than 20% driving.....

i don't think they will allow you to have the ballroom if only 50paxs.. maybe half?

hi all, forgot to mention that they will give complimentary 6 vouchers for high tea right? i also bargained for a free lunch on top of my free bf the day after my wedding...

Wah...seems like MC is more flexible to negotiation for their rom packages as compared to the wedding packages...

Gals, roughly how much did u pay for your rom package? Will be by the poolside? i doubt they will give u the entire place or will they?

Hi Jane,

Yap yap. Me got the complimentary high tea vouchers .. but high tea got durian puree or not har? Or only dinner and lunch have only?
Yum yum .. their durian puree is FANTSATIC!!! haha ....

BugBear, I'll be doing everything on the same day. Actually I kinda of like it to be on a weekday as I simply detest crowds..esp at home. So the lesser the ppl, e happier I am. ^_^

Meixia, i went for the high tea once..rem they have the durian puree..yum yum too.

Hi Jane,
think i was offered complimentary lunch the day after my wedding..not so sure..gotta chk. But i do rem the 6 tic for high tea.

Hi Bugbear,

Yup, I thought breakfast and room comes together also. That's why i'm a bit flabbergasted... The co-ord told me if held this yr, the room is $155/- with breakfast. If next yr, it would be $160/- w/o breakfast... Ok, will try to ask for it...

For their ROM pckg, I have a copy of the proposal for this yr and next. Actually, the difference is the rooms with/without breakfast. My co-ord told me she can keep the same price till next year for my case...

Flexible meh?

Hi Meixia,

Most of my friends drive, and can drink also.
So i'm kinda stuck with it... Will try to balance out...

Hello Jane,

Nope, i asked for the poolside terrace. Didnt want the ballroom as i'm hoping to keep it informal...

Anyone tried their housewine? $49/- per bottle.. that's why was thinking of getting more wine corkages... so x...

angela...i think they more flexible for rom package than wedding package already...they even charge like $2 for each seat cover and only when u meet certain number of tables then they will try and give u the seat cover at $1...at least u managed to get room, some wine corkage waived...hehe...anyway, try asking...no harm lor...if they obliged, u gain, else, u also don lose.

U can try asking them for the contacts to their official wine distributor? Cos for the wedding packages...i understand from the coordinator that if u don want to buy the house pour, can opt for the wine by their wine seller at a range of $28-35+++ should be cheaper this way than to get their house pour.

Hi angela...i don think they will charge corkage on that. at least this is what i understand from the coordinator. Either you pay corkage and bring ur own wine, or can buy form them..i think they cheapest will come up to about $35nett...which i feel might be more worth it than going out to buy...unless u only wanted a specific brand/wine. maybe best that u check with your coordinator...just in case i hear the price wrongly ;p
i very blur one...hehhe

Wow, this thread certainly moves fast! Meixia, U've got mail. Would appreciate your contact for the video montage thingy. I've actually gotten a fren to do it for me but was afraid that he might be too busy.

Heh, Angela, u also ROMing at MC? Mine is going to be at the poolside and on a sunday evening, 12th Dec. But I'm not taking up the ROM package as my guests would just proceed down to the cafe for dinner after the ROM. Think it's more worthwhile like that. We might go for a short trip after ROM so no need to stay over at the hotel. If u buy wine direct from MC, there's no corkage charge involved. But their wine list prices are simply ex (Bugbear, r u sure it's 35 nett? Heard that it's 50 plus per bottle) So it's more economical to buy from outside and pay for their corkage which is $15+++.

Actually, for my deal, my FH used the Thank you meal for 6 to exchange for more wine corkage waiver.

Yeah, I do agree with MeiXia that this whole forum thingy is such an addiction. Help! Nevertheless, thanks for making us feel that we've all made the right choice with MC here, Meixia.

Bearyhugs...from what i understand from the coordinator, if you get the house pour (house wine), it's at $52+++, but special arrangements had been made for wedding couples to buy wine from MC at a range for $28-35+++, so the $28+++ will come up to about $35nett

Maybe you would like to double confirm with your coordinator. Who is ur coordinator? Michael?
I talked to Aaron the other day

Wow! This thread certainly moves fast!
Me read till blur!

Shinde,
Got durian puree at high-tea ah? YIPEE!

Angela,
Like that ah? Your rom is on a weekend or weekday? Cos if wkday, most pple wil not drink that much, thus saving on wine corkages. But, if weekend, then u might have a problem there.

Bearyhugs,
Me sent u reply liao!

Aiyah ... we must all feel glad that we made the rite choce mah ... hor?

Meixia..think we hv almost the same taste ah...hehe...MC, YC den durian puree

Angela, not too sure if tis is useful. One of my friends attended a dinner at MC and she said the waiters top up the guests' wine glasses even thou it's half filled...a bit wasteful huh..Perhaps you can request the banquet mgr to refill the wine glasses only upon request...may be able to save a bit i hope.

meixia, i don't think there is durian paste during high tea... i remembered they only have during lunch and dinner buffets.... the last time i went for high tea, i couldn't find the durian paste leh... i also love that... wasted!

Morning ladies

Must really thank you all ladies, gave me lots of much-needed advice...

Bugbear, the wine list i was given was the one showing housepour at $52. That's why i thought how come so x... Will check with them on the prices again...

Hi Bearyhugs, me too... thought its $52 so thinking of getting from o/s n paying the corkage... Hehe... Yup, i'm having my ROM at the pool, but not going to EMC for the makan, but at poolside there... But i haven't ask them where are they going to put the food... hmmm... Room wise, i needed it as i'm those simply lazy after a day of events, and just want to plonk down to the nearest bed... hehehe...
... Are you having your AD banquet at MC too? What was the thank you meal thingy?

Hi Meixia,

Mine's on a Fri evening. 1/2 of my guests will be working the next day. Hah, ou guests are those young working adults. Can drink on any day one... Even on mondays i can hear them in office planning a session later on...
Haha..

Hi Shinde,

Ok, will take yr advice on the topping up of wine. Thanks.

Jane,
oh! Really ah? Ok.. maybe i xchange the high tea voucher for lunch .. i die die also must eat my durian puree. hehe .....

Shinde,
Ha .. ya lor. Let's see what more similarities we have ....

Angela...the wine that i am talking about is not from their wine list...it's not the house pour...it's a special arrangement that MC made with a wine seller. u can check with ur coordinator if they have such arrangements...cos this was what i got from the coordinator i met that day ") the housepour is a killer. $52+++...

Hi Angela,
Oh, so u having your post ROM meal at the poolside terrace as well? When is your ROM? Mine on 12th Dec. Managed to book David Loh as JP. He's so hot tat day as he has solem every one n half hour! Thought if u have the buffet at the poolside, it will be much more ex per pax right? For us, if we have it at E cafe, then it will just be the normal dinner buffet price of $27+++ per pax. How much is yours?

The thank you meal is part of the wedding banquet dinner package for 6. My FH used that to exchange for more wine corkage waiver instead.

Meixia, thanks for the video contact. Went to their website to see see look look. So impressive. Hope my wedding will turn out equally good as those shown.

Hihi Bearyhugs,

Welcum lar. hehe ... So, u booked him liao?
Me also booked David Loh as my JP.
I booked him 1 yr ago .. haha ... me Kiasu mah ....

Hi Bearyhugs,

My ROM will be on 1.4.05.
Very far hor... hehehe...

Yep, the dinner at poolside will b more x. I have the soft copy, do you want me to email u?
I went to try the food at EMC on a Sat, but the food's not really to mine or fh's liking...
So, we hope that this other menu (which my co-ord said) is for these kind of special ftns...
But havent book JP yet... still got a long way. Erm... correct?

Oh, you also having your AD dinner with MC too?

Meixia, when is your ROM? Also at Merchant Court too?

Angela, it will be great if you could email me the menu. PM me the details can? My AD also with MC. That's why they can waive off the rental charges for the poolside terrace for us. AD on 20/05/2005. Hot date again. Your ROM on 1st April? Heh, that's april's fools day. : >

Hi Meixia,
Have you chosen your wedding songs?
I emailed to Kevin re the videography but I can't seem to book him for the actual day. Do we need to pay some deposit in order to book him in the first place?

Hi Starfruit,
U can choose between the 630 or 660 +++ per table menu for the weekend. Min ard 38 tables.

Do give them a call to find out the details.

Hihi Bearyhugs,

No lar ... me not having ROM. Instead, me will be having my solemnisation together with my wedding dinner. So, all the guests will witness my solemnisation lor. hehe ......

You checked Kevin's schedule liao har? If he is full hor, then i think you cannot engage him liao.
You only need to pay deposit when after mtg him and he is available for ur AD then, u need to pay a deposit.

You mean my march-in songs har? Erm... I'm still in the selection of choosing my march-in songs and solemnisation song. But, i have yet to hear the song played by MC for the 1st dish presentation leh ... maybe next time i go down to collect my wedding cards, then i will request for MC to play for me to listen lor. Also, i am thinking how i can also incorporate some chinese wedding songs to my music to suit the elderly. How abt u? Chose ur wedding songs liao?

Hi Bearyhugs,

Paiseh, i very sua-ku... Dunno how to use PM to email u... coz the menu was sent to me in attachment (word doc) form...
Can i have your email add instead?

Regards.

Hi angela,
U can click on my bearyhugs nick to PM me as that will bring u direct to my email add. Anyway, my email add is [email protected]

Meixia, do share with us once u've heard any wedding songs being played at MC. Yeah, I do hear chinese wedding songs at times. One of my colleagues had "Ai de zhen hao" for her march-in. Quite common right? As for Kevin, how much deposit do u have to pay when u decide to engage him? What if he can't turn up on the actual day due to some unforeseen circumstances? Sorry, just asking to be on the safe side.

By the way, does MC have halal menue? DO we have to state in our contract? I forgot to and do we have to pay extra?

bearyhugs...i reckon most hotels will be able to arrange a table of halal food...or if need to, even 1 person servings, if u cannot get a table of 10.

Bearyhugs,

I have sent you an email reg Kevin.

As for halal menu, yes. Mc does provide. Let the coordinator know b4 hand. But, bear in mind that halal menu is more expensive per pax.

Hi all..hope things are okie for you. =)

bearyhugs, Meixia's rite. MC does serve halal food thou the chef is not from MC. And it'll definitely be more ex to provide halal menu based on perpax basis as it'll be on top of the per tbl chrg, e.g u have 1 person having halah meal, the cost for that tbl will be $650 + $65 (for dat single person).

Hope this helps. =)

So quiet here??

okie, i need advice..any idea how many weeks/days in advance do i need to cfm the actual number of tbls with MC?

I foresee myself going crazy over the guest list already

Shinde...it's been really quiet for a while...but i have been coming in to look for new posts...but as i haven't signed up for any packages yet...hence, i wouldn't be able to help you with

Hihi Shinde,

Normally,the no of tables can be confirmed 1 week b4 ur wedding dinner. No need to confirm so early one ... cos may be last min changes.
So, 1 week b4 ur wedding, then u need to let MC know the exact no of tables lor.

Hope this clears your doubt.

Any of u ladies changed the menu or add additional dishes? As i most likely to opt for the weekday package, i thinking of taking the sharksfin soup from the 9-course to the 8-course and subsequently add another abalone or scallop dish to the 8-course.

Any idea if it's possible and how much to opt up?

A tip for all of you brides-to-be... remember to put as many tables of 11 as possible as MC doesn't charge extra. I had about 15 tables with 11 chairs and just as expected, some 13 guests couldn't come last min and i only had 2 tables with 11 chairs in the end. Just inform the waiters to remove the chair for those tables you know have absentees. You can save alot of $$. I saved a table cost. : )

Hi BugBear,

If you wanna change the menu, then you got to check with ur coordinator what are the other dishes in the same price range that you can change w/o topping up extra money. If the dish that you wanna change is not in the range, then, you will need to top up.

If you are changing so many dishes, then y not u top up to the more expensive wkday menu for ur package? More "wu-hua" this way ... isn't it? Since you wanna change some of the dishes from the 9-course to ur 8-course mah.

Hi Jane,

But if we put 11 chairs for some tables, the food is still for 10 pax serving, rite? Wun it be a bit too cramped?
Wun the guests at the 11 pax seating be offended? I mean -- they could be thinking that its so unfair to them.

Advise pls?

meixia...i am thinking of taking exchanging 2 dishes from the 9-course to the 8-course and adding another abalone or scallop dish to the 8-course...even if i take 9-course weekday, no abalone also...that's why my FH wanted to top up, instead of just taking the 9-course...he prefers most of the 8-course dishes...fussy!

Hahah...if MC don care 11 per table...then might as well change all to 11 ;p save more

Meixia, no lah...i don think they will feel offended...cos for me, i sure to make 3 tables to 11, cos my cousins have children who are only like 2-5 yrs old...so if i put table of 10 for them, the food will be wasted...and i don have enuf ppl for 4 tables...so might as well top up chairs for the kids

Even if it's for friends, i think they will mind too...cos i believe they would rather be seated together with the same gang...then to be separated jsut bcos the table is i 10s

hahah...good good...then might as well make all tables to be 11!

What about the serving size? Is it big? food wise shouldn't be too bad right?

bugbear, cannot be all 11 chairs lah... MC will scream at you. haha..

meixia, think they all answer your question liao. Yes, quite spacious. food is enough for 11 paxs though meant for 10. I put friends (esp. those bringing boyfriends) to tables for 11 so they won't mind... unlike relatives who will talk... some with big kids, so put 11, they will understand. hope it helps.