Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
yes! the food and svc is good! and my banquet manager tt day also very good. he is indeed very friendly and helpful. his name is shazali if i am not wrg.

Yeah yeah .. and its all cos of ..... MICHAEL AND THE CARDS!

hi all! Yes, my banquet manager is also Sazali! Very good service. Really thinks he is much better than Michael and Jean. How i wish he is my coordinator... but too bad he is banquet manager.

AD service very good. Don't worry.

I'm intending to sign up with MC sometime next week for 2005 wedding. On the final phase of discussion and negotiations now. But this thread is really scaring me as my coordinator is Jean and we find that she has been very accomodating to our needs so far like waving off the seal covers charges.

But this whole talk of Michael n cards is quite scary. Are the cards really delivered so late? It's quite disastrous if they are only sent out less than a week before the actual wedding.

It seems to be putting me in a dilemna now as to whether we should really sign up with MC.

hey bearyhugs..for me, i got what i was promised, such as free seat covers and i got my cards 1 month beforehand..and everything went on smoothly...

well, as for michael, i do not have any bad experience with him so can't comment much. he was prompt in following up the wedding prep with me and my hubby.

but what i can say is, if u have your wedding in MC, u will not regret the choice, and u will love it, especially cuz the place & food are fantastic!

Hi bearyhugs...don worry so much about Michael and the cards. So long as u are happy with ur current coordinator and whatever was delivered to you...then just go ahead and make ur decision.

I am sure wedding at MC will be very nice...ballroom nice, food and service also not bad.

maybe just make sure u give them more time in advance for what you need to get for them

hi bearyhugs,
don't worry lah... that time the cards ran out of stock mah... make sure you collect way in advance from them... maybe 2 mths before. : )

jean is so good to you, so you better appreciate and continue to bargain. hee... by the way, how many tables you commit before she gives you free seat covers?

mine was 40+2 tables with the more expensive menu... the 9 course one instead of 8 course one. cuz preferred the items on the 9 course menu.

eeh, maybe they changed their menu...cos the package they sent me...both the weekend package is all 9-course...just menu different only

how nice if my wedding is over..so much headache planning...but reckon all these planning are the best memories

hmm... maybe both are 9course menu? i also not sure liao.. i only know got 2 menu to choose fr...and my hubby and i decided on the more ex one.. cuz the food looks better!

Thanks lenz, Jane and bugbear for all your advice. Felt much safer now. Kindof committed 42 + 2 tables. Got few bottles of wine too. But still trying to negotiate for more freebies. Will let u ppl know once I signed my contract next week.

Also felt that the 9 course suits our taste better. By the way, has anyone seen the bridal suite of MC? Heard that the room and living area is linked by some common corridor?

Hi gals, wow so much to read here about feedback and stuff. Hey, my co-oord is also so Michael. Nightmare hasn't started though. I haven's asked him about cards or anything. My banquet is in Dec. Maybe should start calling now. Anyone of you there know what's the corkage charge like in MC? I was told that they allow duty free wine but not going to waiver the corkage charge.

Hi BearyHugs,
Dun worry lar -- u are in safe hands!
There's bound to be hiccups in our preps so all this talk is to prepare each and every of us what can happen and wat to take note ...

The bridal suite of MC ah? Ermm... actually, its not the fanciful type one lor. What they are offering is a suite, whereby the bedroom and the living room is separated by a wall and a main door is outside these 2 rooms lor. It is not that big but good thing is that u have 2 toilets, 1 in the living rooma nd 1 in ur bedroom. So, when ur relatives come up, u dun have to fight over the toilet with ur relatives. And u can request them to sit in the living room which has its own TV where they can entertain themselves instead of all cramping in ur bedroom while u are doing ur make-up.

Rebecca,
From wat i know, MC will charge corkage for wine but not for hard liquor. And the charge is like $20-$25 per bottle of wine. Very ex ... u can call Micahel to clarify if u wan.
Dun worry, me also AD in Dec. So far, Michael will only start to contact u 2 mths b4 AD for ur food-tasting and u can take ur cards on that day too. Now is too early for MIchael to contact u for any preps for ur AD. This is wat he told me lar.

Meixia, thanks for your advice. But still can't seem to picture a main door outside the 2 bedrooms? I heard from one of my frens saying that he didn't choose MC becos of the bridal suite. So was wondering if it's so terrible.

Rebecca,
My coordinator quoted us a corkage fees of $15+++ per bottle of wine as of last week.

Hi Bearyhugs,

Ok. Imagine that there are 2 separate rooms with their own individual doors. But, outside these 2 rooms, there is a main door. So, you can choose to open up the 2 rooms' doors but yet keep the main door closed. There is a common "corrider" between these 2 doors for u to walk from 1 room to another. Hope u get wat i mean. If u dun, its ok. Just get ur coordinatoe to show u.

Erm... actually, the room is not that terrible ... just that u cannot compare to other hotels' suites whereby the living room and bedroom is linked together, thus giving it a bigger and spacious feeling, whereas MC room is not linked mah .. so the feeling is smaller lor.

Aiya ... actually only stay for 1 night ....., even if the room is very nice and fantastic, u also will not get the chance to fully utilize and enjoy your room cos u will be so busy on that day that u will not have time!
So, its ok lar.

Thanks Meixia,
Think I get what u mean now. Actually, the bridal suite is also the last thing on my mind to be a determining factor. But when I heard that from one of my frens, thought I wanted to check it out as I didn't have a chance to see the other day. Would I be able to get the coodinator to show me when I sign the contract?

By the way, anyone of you buying wine direct from MC? I know that they sell wine but would if be cheaper to buy from outside and then pay for the corkage fees which is $15+++?

Heard that they may be changing their garden wedding theme to something else next year. Hope it would be as good.

i don't advise buying from MC the wine. Like not cheap... i know it cost more than $30 a bottle... i suggest you fight for waiver for 24 bottles and bring in red wine from outside that cost about $20 per bottle. Anyway, how many guests can tell the difference between a $20 and $30 red wine?

Corkage was quoted as $30+++ per bottle of red wine. After bargaining, they quote $15+++ and told me that was the best they can give.... That means it cost about $20 corkage without wine... so they ask you to buy theirs, don't have to pay corkage... but not worth it loh.

Hi hi...me just went to talk to Aaron last evening and the corkage charge for wine he quoted me is at $15+++ but if u buy wine from them, it's at a range of 28-35+++...depends if u are comfortable with cheaper wines outside. I reckon we should be able to get wines ourside at maybe $13 (+ gst)...so it just might be slightly cheaper to get outside...

MC house pour is very ex...at $52+++

As usual, they are not prepared to waive off the white seat covers...then again, have any of u ladies did not take the white covers? Have u gals seen the chairs without covers? i find they covers look a little old looking..maybe it's the colour, but according to Aaron, they have recently purchased new chairs to suit the ballroom...

Yup, i heard that MC is going to revise their theme...come Aug...not confirmed yet but might have different themes to choose from
sure hope they don increase their prices too much then.

Lenz, can i just check with you your package if for which yr and how much did u pay for it? i am trying to determine how much MC will increase their package each yr... thanks hor!

Har? Really?? MC will only change the theme next yr ot this Aug? Wah ... if implemented by this Aug, then i can choose the diff themes for my wedding in Dec liao lor.

Anyone can confirm? Thks ya ..........

My friend can get duty free wine with staff price...cheaper than usual so does that means I can just pay for corkage abt $20 that's all excluding the wine lor. Hmmm...as for the theme, I would like to know too cos as far as I know MC only has 1 theme now right?

I've just signed with MC today. Jane, u managed to fight for 24 bottles of wine corkage waiver? We only managed to get 18 bottles but one additional 20L promised if we hit 45 tables which most likely we may. Other than that, we got waiver of the rental of the ROM venue at the poolside terrace for our ROM ceremony end this Dec. But the additional night stay at bridal suite is subject to availability. Plus some other small details which I can't rem. AD - May '05.

Meixia, didn't have a chance to go to the bridal suite today. Another couple ws having wedding there.

Yeah, my coordinator did tell me that they are changing their themes this coming Aug. But we would still be given two themes to choose from in future. They are also changing their invit cards and wed favours. I finally get to see the famous ribbons that you guys have been discussing. My FH actually tried to bargain for them to tie the ribbons for us!! Think he's too engrossed into bargaining. The price of MC wed dinners will increase WEF next Aug '05. But the price increase is only going to be at most $20 per table.

Rebecca, I thought we can't serve duty free wine at the hotels?

Anyone else got contacts for cheap and good wines?

hi bearyhugs, i got 24 bottles waiver for 44 + 2 tables. You should bargain for 6 more bottles. So far, 24 is the most they can go for waiver of corkage... also got 20l free barrel of beer. But i guess your poolside terrace rental waiver is quite worth lah... something more. : )

Hi Bearyhugs,

haha .. i cannot stop laughing when i read that uur hubby bargained with MC to tie the ribbons for you! haha .. so funny!!!! He very cute leh!

How many tables u confirmed with them?
Did u see what will be their new wedding favours? Not choco pralines anymore? When u mentioned that they are also changing cards, what are the colours like? But, still must tie ribbon har? hehe ....

If i remember correctly, there are some rather good and cheap wines selling at Carrefour. You can go down there and recee a bit. Think its abt $12 per bottle. Alternatively, some shops do sell you crates of bottles of red wine and you can return them the unused bottles of wines which are not opened yet. Then, u just pay for what u opened lor.

Hi Meixia, on sun, i went to meet MC, but they are still showing me the old cards and the choc pralines. THey did tell me that they are changin themes, but did not tell me about wedding favours and cards. I did ask Aaron if they will be changing the cards, but according to him, he say that they have been having the cards for the last 1-2 years and so far this current design is the more popular ones.

I finally understand what the cards and the ribbon stuffs liao :D

Haha BugBear ... u are another one to see the famous ribbons of MC liao!

So how? U confirmed with MC liao or tentative booking?

meixia...me haven confirm anything yet...still looking ard...cos my date not so near...so still can see see look look
i will most probbaly wait for them to come up with their new themes, new favours, etc...then i go see see again and decide

u taking the weekday or weekend package?

Yeah, Meixia, U bet that my FH was so engrossed into bargaining that he probably didn't realized what he was saying. He even tried to ask for an additional "Ang Pow" box! Think our coordinator also can't help laughing. Was wondering if we were one of the most diff couples becos we were negotiating for more than an hr before we put down our signatures.

I also saw the famous ribbons but I did feedback to them that if the ribbons serve a purpose e.g. help to close up the card then, it's worthwhile. But by having the ribbons up on top of the cards, it doesn't serve any purpose at all.

I confirmed with them 42 + 2 tables. BTW, they should be changing the design of the cards n colours.

am pretty new here. Have signed up with MC for wedding in Dec04.

Just a question, anyone of you intending to show slides of wedding/childhood photos during the dinner? Just wondering how many projector screens MC will provide given dat they hv quite a sizable room..

Meixia, realised tt we both signed up for MC for wedding banquet and YC's bridal service. so qiao...hehe =)

hi all, wah..so many postings.

hi bearyhugs, i personally find the MC cards unique leh..and alot of my guests find the card very special and nice too.
and i think if the ribbons is actually used to close up the cards, the ppl got to untie it to open the card..and they wun bother to tie it back liao.. like tt the card dun stay as nice liao leh.anyway, that's my personal opinion. ;)

and shinde, i showed slideshow during my wedding. MC have 1 projector screen and it is enough for everyone in the ballroom to view. but like many other hotels, u gotta bring yr own projector... to rent it from hotel costs a few hundred bucks! - not only for MC actually, cuz even when i organise my company events @ other hotels etc..usually hotels dun provide projectors unless u pay the rental charges..

Hi BugBear!

Oh .. i see. Yap. agree that u must look-look see-see ard 1st then decide on your wedding venue. Anyway, you still got time, so no worries lar!

Mine is on a weekend (Sat).

Hihi Bearyhugs,
Oh! So, u did not get to see the new card design lar? Erm.. i agree with lenz that the ribon makes the card special lor .. if not, other weding cards are like the same lor ... so, MC cards will stand out. Aiya ... take it as a bonding time between u and ur hubby and ur families!

Hi Shinde!
Welcome to our MC club! Wah! U just booked MC only or what? Cos, ur wedding is in Dec this yr, right? Now book still got date meh? Me also wedding in Dec leh! When is urs? Mine on 4th Dec.
Haha .. ya lor.. so qiao. U also booked YC har? Why nv see ur thread under YC?
Eh .. y not u email me then we can talk privately abt YC? So qiao leh .. hehe.
My email add: [email protected]. Looking fwd to ur email!

gee lenz...thx. my sole concern was tt my guests wun be able to view from the back. =)Gotta hunt for projector nw..

Meixia,I actually booked MC last sept..just tt i seldom visit tis forum then. Tot i shld be more active nw since my big day is drawing near..mine is on the 22 dec.

Will send a mail to you when time allows lah..can obtain valuable tips from u ma..hehe =)

Lenz, when was your AD? How much did you pay for ur package then? Me trying to determine how much they will increase their package each year.
BTW, can send me your photos again? [email protected]
thanks hor

Hi Shinde,

No worries! Take ur time. Or else u can drop in to YC to take a look at our postings there!

Haha .. tell u hor -- i also booked MC last Sept .. haha .... So qiao!

Shinde, welcome to the MC thread too.
How many tables did u book for and did u get any corkage waiver or additional beer FOC?

By the way, where do u gals get contacts for your intended video montage?
Anyone knows if the sound system in MC is of good quality?

Hi Hi

Meixia..it's really conincidental huh...who knows, we might hv bumped into each other b4...unknowingly. ^.^ Will try to participate in the YC thread if i cld be of any help lor..i'm also a blur sotong.

bearyhugs, so far i've cfm 35 tbls with MC. Being a lousy bargainer, I only managed to get $1 seat covers...dats all..hehe..but I guess me & hubby finds the deal reasonable and we feel pretty bad to squeeze them dry...hee...

Bearyhugs,

You wanna do video montage for ur wedding dinner presentation ah? I have already sourced for my videographer and he can do a montage from your childhood photos. Price at $50. If u want his contact, drop me an email at [email protected]. Will be glad to help!

Sound system at MC not bad leh ... my frined held a video montage there and the system is loud and clear, w/o any disruptions. So, no worries lar.

Hi meixia...can also send me the videographer contacts? keep as reference

Shinde...ur AD on a weekdays? No lah...i don think u are a lousy bargainer...managed to bargain seat covers at $1 already very good liao...i am looking at 38 tables and the coordinator only told me that he will try to see if he can reduce the seat covers for me..i haven't even touched on other items yet
MC is really very strict with their perks and stuffs...i find it quite difficult to negotiate anything with them

yup. they are FAMOUS for being so stingy on their perks... well, when you visit other hotels, you can see the difference when they throw in this and that for you without you even asking! They will say, i give you free flow beer, corkage waived for all hard liquor and wine, free seat covers, free helper's room, free projector, free 1 more night for your anniversary, etc... though MC say they have put in the cost in their package, but their package price is about the same as MC's too. These are 5 star hotels like Marriot and Pan Pac and M Hotel, etc... heard of all these perks from friends. But anyway, MC is still my choice because of the food and exclusive ONE ballroom with exclusive cocktail area. : ) Guess got to trade all these for the difficult bargain and vomit blood service.

Jane...same sentiments exactly. MC always stress that other hotels packaged everything into their price...but end day...not much difference in price. I also like the ballrom and foyer...

BugBear,
Pls email me and i shall fwd u the contacts.

Jane, BugBear,
Its true lor ... i agree with u both entirely. But, like what Jane said, MC does stand out with its exclusive ballroom and foyer lor. Some more, other 5 star hotels ballroom doesn't even match up to MC's ballroom. So, i have no regrets abt choosing it.

So, lets all stick up to the choice that we have made, ok? Yip Yip Hooray! keke ..

Hi again...gosh...din noe tis cld be so addictive...hehe

BugBear, yep mine AD on Wed...tot since its hols season, hols mood, ppl wun mind attending weekday wedding...

Gals,actually i haven attended a single wedding at MC. But like you al, i like it as it is very exclusive..plus accessible.

And haaa...Meixia, I really like ur optimism..cheer us up. =)

Hi hi...Shinde, tell me about being addicted to this forum...i have been coming in and out here so many times, refreshing the site to see if there are any new posts! :D

Yeah, MC ballroom is nice...big and pillarless..but i think 1 thing that they lose out now is that they don have intelligent lighting. I think intelligent lighting does make a ballroom have the dreamy dreamy effect
nevertheless, MC ballroom is still very nice!

Shinde...i amm also thinking of having a weekday banquet...cos the date that i like happens to fall on a tuesday. What about ur tea ceremony? U doing in on the weekends before, or on the same day? Reckon weekday weddings are so common these days...ppl won mind attending