Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date

Hi Bug Bear,

Wat do u mean har? You mean the no of tables along the passageway that leads to the stage, is it?
I guess ultimately, it depends on how many tables you want in MC. Cos, i assume that if you have more tables, then perherps they will arrange a few more tables along the aisle lor.

Lenz,
Thanks. receive liao.

Hhmm...yeah...guess i will have to go look at the actual ballroom settings.

hi meixia, u r welcome.

hi bugbear... for mine of 40tables.. i had 4 tables on each side along the aisle i think.

Hi lenz...thanks...do u happen to have any photos of the ballroom? the vivew from the door u walked in to the stage?

hi bugbear.. view fr the door..hmm.. i must go home see the album..not sure.. cuz i didn't scan all my photos to soft copy.. wil update u! ;)

hi lenz...thanks loads! really appreciate that

BTW, how's the coordinators? are they friendly and easy to talk to? i read from most ppl that MC is one of the most inflexible hotels to negotiate for perks or change of perks...any comments on that?

hihi..i think they r friendly and professional.. as for inflexibility.. i think so too leh..but for me..as long as their service (coordinators, banquet manager, waiters/waitresse) is good..and the food is good..and the ballroom is nice.. i dun really mind the inflexibility. however, u can try to bargain still.. cuz if u r lucky, u may get what u want.

to me, i think tt MC per table costs is already less than other popular 4-5 stars hotel....and i think MC's service, it's ballroom design,and food r even better than some other popular 5 star hotels. which is why my hubby and i r very proud that we chose MC for our banquet.

hi hi...hhmm...great to hear good comments...me quite like the ballroom also...big, pillarless and high ceiling...just concerned that if they are inflexible, then all those little little stuffs like white cover seats, etc would add up to the costs lor.

hi bugbear..sori was really busy lately, no time to go find the photos.. i will go look at them tonite..

Hi Bottle,

MC only has 1 ballroom. Normally, even for a lunch banquet, MC needs min 20 tables. So, i think 10 tables is a bit too few. Is it for ur banquet for for ROM?

Anyway, i think you can give them a buzz and enquire.

hi meixia,

sorry... to reply so late! i just came in today to check out and found that this thread is active again. Read back to your reply to mine. Thanks. I went High Tech for printing of my inserts. It's the cheapest i found so far. Paid $90 for 400 inserts (if i remember correctly). Their service is really good. They took just 1 day to print when i confirm the text with them. however, they will tell you 3 days.... but when i faxed my confirmation to them, they called after about 3 hours to say my inserts are ready for collection! Was shocked! The one recommended by MC is more expensive but you don't have to collect the cards as they deliver to you if i am not wrong.

Hi Bottle...are u targeting at ROM or banquet? If you don't mind outdoor...think Altiva (Mt. Faber) has a very nice outdoor settings...just went to view the place over the weekends...quite nice view...i am targeting my ROM there

if you are interested to look at the pictures, email me at: [email protected] I have some of the setting photos

Hi Jane...do you happen to have the printer's address or whom to contact? I presume the inserts u are talking about is for the invitation cards
$90 for 400 inserts is really reasonable...do u happen to have a scanned copy of the inserts that you printed? Mind sharing it?

Hi Jane,

No prob at all!

Where is High Tech? If u dun mind, can post the address and tel no of HIgh Tech so that BugBear and me can call them up?

Ya lor ... $90 for 400 inserts is really an ok price. Must save while we can ... hehe

Btw, how u managed to find High Tech?

Hi Meixia, you signed your banquet with MC already izzit? What are the extra perks that you got? can share? did you talk to michael? I heard that MC is quite inflexible...u encounter that?

Morning BugBear!

Yap. i signed up with MC liao. Erm .. basically, there are no extra perks extended to me by Michael cos MC is reallyyy inflexible! haha .. i guess that this is a trademark of MC liao. They are so "hot", they are snapped up by pple even w/o extending any perks!

For me, at this moment, MC only extend the free perks like free corkage charge for hard liquor and additional car pass and invitation cards for my guests. This is it. And it is based on 38 tables. I asked Michael if at a later stage, i need to increase my no. of tables, will i enjoy extra perks? Michael only said maybe and he needs to see how many no. of tables i am increasing to.
Actually, for me, i am ok with MC package liao. My only concern is that i am scared that 1 30l of beer is not enough for my guests but if i increase the no. of tables, then maybe i will try to bargain for extra barrel lor. I think that's it. AS for seat covers, cos i wil not be taking MC's choc pralines, i am exchanging for seat covers.

How abt u? Have u requested Michael to email u MC's package? When are u planning for ur wedding dinner? Must act fast hor -- MC very hot one ....

hi meixia and bugbear, i found high tech in the printers thread in this singapore brides website forum. you can contact them at 64589455 and look for Meiyan, a very nice and friendly lady. Very good service. They have quite a number of pictures to choose from but you can always bring along your favourite pictures (eg. previous moments) and they will print on the inserts for you. You can also print any words you want on any part of the insert. I printed some bible verses at the corners. You don't have to think of the chinese wordings too... they have the template, so just need to fill in the blanks. But you can always change and add words if you want. They are very professional. You don't have to bring alone any invitation cards as they have nearly a sample of all hotels. Just tell them which hotel and they will know the template for your card. Very pro. They are located at AMK. So far, this is the cheapest i found... and quite good quality.

Sorry, i don't have a scan copy of my card for your viewing.

Enjoy your preparation.

By the way, i went MC last weekend for a afternoon wedding held in the main ballroom. The food is really nice though buffet style.... nicer than my dinner. I guess the standard is still there lah...

Found the following in that thread... this is more accurate... i spelt their name wrongly. hee.

Hi-Tech
=======
Ang Mo Kio Techplace 1 #03-01/02

Insert:
100-200pc $80
200-300pc $90

HotStamp:
$0.35 per pc
mould $80
hot stamping $150 for 200pc incl mould

Hi Jane, thanks for the info.

Meixia...sounds like MC is really terrible hor...i went to talk to sheraton and they throw in quite a few perks withouteven asking...and she say that when i have my date fixed, we can talk further
no lah...i have book yet...cos i am targeting end 05 or early 06..cos come jul, i will b outstationed for abt 1 yr...that's why i am thinkning of getting some info and stuffs like that...else when i come back...very rush and all in a mess lor.
sigh...they din even give free covers? ah yo...if really add up all these nitty gritty costs...think their prices almost same as other hotels liao...

Hi Jane,

Wah! So many info!
Thanks so much ...

A few questions to ask:
-When u mentioned that Hi-Tech has got cards from MC, that means i no need to take any cards from MC for printing ah?

-U mentioned that they have a few pictures to let us choose and print on the inserts, rite? If we choose their pictures or we bring our own pictures / words for them to print on the inserts, is it at extra cost?

- Hot stamp is more ex than inserts rite?

TIA for ur advice hor ..

BugBear,
Erm .. think even if u add in the seat covers cost, also will not cost as much as other 5-star hotel wedding banquet costs. Reason for MC being like this is prob due to that they have 1 exclusive ballroom for wedding and the ballroom is really grand with high ceilings and pillarless. It really gives u a diff feeling lor ....Diff from the other 5-star hotel ballroom. This is wat i feel lar ....
Depends on wat u want lor.... But, my advice to you is to source ard for more venues and compare.

Happy searching!

Hi meixia...yeah, i am planning to take a look at stamford ballroom...but reckon the ceiling is not as high as MC...well, tot since i still have time...can look around

hi bugbear, stamford ballroom...do you meant the Swissotel the stamford? better think twice. i have a friend who went there for wedding dinner and the food sucks! i don't know why... but she said all the guests didn't like the food. It's really bad loh.... though it's under same management as MC.

meixia, hotstamping is definitely more expensive. you can see the price i pasted on the above... it costs 35 cents a piece. On top of that, the mould is $80. inserts cost about $0.225 a piece. No need mould.

when i say don't need to bring cards, doesn't mean they provide cards. You will collect the inserts, go home and paste on the cards MC provide. You know something? MC cards, you got to paste and tie ribbons on each card, very time consuming and tedious! can die when you got to tie like 300 cards or more! Anyway, MC only give 60% free cards right? Additonal is $2 each. I bargained for 70%. other hotels give up to 80% and some give 100% free cards.

bugbear, you can bargain for free seat covers. most hotel provide free but MC charge $2 per cover. So silly!! They will tell you other hotels include into their package cost and that's why they say free lah.... but hor... i don't care! Just bargain! I got all my covers free.

Hi Jane,

WHAT??!! You mean i have to take the inserts and paste myself??? Not the printer paste for me meh?
Ya... i know MC cards have to tie ribbons by myself one ... nvm lar ... treat it like a experience and time-bonding with my family and bf lor. keke ... But, i cannot understand why the printer cannot paste for us the inserts??

Jane, i think u got free seat covers cos you got 44 tables. That's y u can bargain with MC on this. If based on 38 tables cannot lar. I broached this with Michael liao ... he told me if increase tables, then can lor. Tat's y i exchanged my pralines for seat covers mah.

meixia, you got to paste yourself.... they don't paste for you. I guess it's the same with other printers. Except that some printers charge a minimal amount to paste or tie strings for customers.

For 38 tables, you can bargain for $1 per seat cover.

Wah...heheh...MC really very 'niao' hor...with 38 tables...then can bargain for $1 seat covers...ah yo...think i must brush up my negotiation skills before talking to them liao...
ah yo...MC really inflexible hor...i who is ur coordinator? Michael for the both of u? I heard there is another lady called Jenny...any idea if she is better to talk to?

Jane...serious ar? i still tot that since MC and swiss otel under same mgmt...food should be comparable...wah...like that i must think twice about stamford liao...me hopping by MC over the weekends to see see look look...as well as to see if i can arrange to meet up with the coordintors or not

hihi meixia, ya..u gotta paste the inserts yourself. cuz in case u write wrongly, u just write on another insert... then after tt then u paste. so u wun spoil the card mah..

cuz once they stick for u...and u write wrgly..then tear the insert out and paste another one..may spoil the card.

Morning Jane & Lenz!

Ok lor ... bo-bian lor. Have to resign to fate that we need to paste the inserts by ourselves lor ... Nvm lar ... bonding time .. haha.

Jane, i know. My seat covers already at $1 per seat cover liao. But, i dun want the pralines by MC so that's y i exchanged for it mah. Thanks anyway for ur info. Btw har, Does Hi Tech have many "mei-mei" cards there if we decide not to take MC's cards? Expensive for their cards?

Lenz, Orh. Its like that one har? That means will the printer give extra inserts? Cos, if write wrongly hor, then take extra one, later not enough for my cards, how?

BugBear, Really lar. The food at Stamford really SUCKS! The only thing is that maybe their exterior is grand enough lor. That's it. But, i think for weddings, the food is very impt -- esp for older folks. So, u may want to take this into consideration. Yap. There's another lady by the name of Jenny there. Haiya .. i think talk to who also the same at MC .. haha. But, maybe u could try. Yaya .. my coordinator is Michael.
But, i think u must think wat are the more impt / least impt stuffs that u will/ will not want for ur banquet b4 mtg them up. This way, u can know what are ur pirorities and maybe u can xchange for something else on ur list.

Happy Bargaining Orh!

hihi morning gals!

Hi Bugbear, i cannot find a photo of the view from the door when I march-in to the stage... sori.

Hi Meixia,abt the inserts.. not the printer give u extra.. it is by right, your printer shud advise you how many to print - usually you have to print more than the actual no of cards required.. for me, i had around 250cards.. and i printed 300 inserts. and ya...indeed wrote wrongly for a number of times.. esp those chinese names! i am lousy at that..grrr... ;) so better print extra inserts as back up.

Hi Lenz,

Okok. Me "ming-bai" liao .... thanks ah! hehe ...
Got a feeling that i am like a production worker doing production line when i am tying up the cards and pasting the inserts. haha ....

meixia, like lenz mentioned, i printed extra. I have 300 cards, so i print 400 pcs to play safe since every 100 pcs more cost only $10 extra. i also request MC to give me 200 pcs cream cards (for friends) and 100pcs red cards (for relatives). When i print the inserts, i chose 250pcs on cream paper and 150pcs on pink papers so as to match the cards.

When you paste the inserts, use double sided tape, it is more effective. Glue can't stick as it is too watery and it will make the paper insert look crumpled, not nice. Don't worry, pasting is so much easier and faster than tying the ribbons! Really tedious man! and tiring... but like you said, family bonding loh... i tie with my hubby, MIL & their maid. Hee.. Enjoy!

bugbear, my coordinator was changed 3 times. Ever had Michael who is super inflexible! then changed to Jean who is better... more gentle and easier to negotiate... i feel.

oh..i never use double sides tape.. i used gluestick..cuz paste wrongly can easily remove it.. and dun crumple the paper like normal glue does.

and ya! the ribbons r really tedious! but then again, so proud when ppl say tt MC cards r unique..;) so it's worth it!

Hi Jane...i managed to get this guy called Aaron...he sounds much better than michael...and yes, i heard from a lot of ppl that michael is super inflexible. so hopefully aaron is easier to talk to :p

Wah...din know that preparing the cards can be soooo tedious...Qs: why must paste? can't we just tie the insert to the cards with ribbons? i received a lot of cards this way...isn't that saving 1 step? but for famiy bonding...it's really good.

oh..cuz the merchant card design hor... got the ribbon there liao..put the gold string will look too much.. not nice liao..

bugbear, when you see the card, you will understand. The ribbon is meant to tie a certain portion on the card but it cannot tie the insert at all.... because it simply doesn't connect unless you want to print a longer insert and punch 2 holes which will be even more tedious.

Also, if you decide to tie gold strings like other wedding invitation cards, i agree with lenz that it will be too much as there is already a ribbon on each card. so to paste is more practical.

ooh i c...i think i understand liao...so MC card has got 2 holes where the ribbon go thru it...then the insert u will have to paste in on both sides of the card...is it?

Heheh...sorri ar...me haven seen the cards before...actually haven even signed up with MC ;p

Haha ... think we are all going gaga over the wedding cards.

BugBear, dun worry. U will know what we mean when u have signed up with MC and they will mail u the card sample. Then, u will know wat we mean. PLus -- MC will even give u instructions on how to tie the ribbon and the required length of theribbon! haha ....

Aaron har? He's quite a nice chap. I met up with him last time when Micahel cannot meet me to show me the room. The impression i get from him is not bad.

Hi Meixia...heheh...it really does sound fun with the cards and the ribbons! MC somemore will tell u how to tie...heheh

Good good...good to hear that Aaron seems better than Michael. Michael is really not that 'popular' among the MC thread ;p

because michael's favourite word is 'CANNOT'. Sigh... no room for negotiation at all... and hor.. sound so merciless, no customer service. Got so upset with him that time....

Oh No! Jane, you are making me nervous abt Michael leh .... then me how? *panic panic*

How u got to change ur coordinator the last time?

but i ok with michael leh... he was quite professional in handling my wedding last yr.. even when things cropped up on actual day. but well well, maybe indeed he should brush up his customer svc skills..

hahah...think Michael is really stirring into a hot topic here...hhah...

I haven't met Michael and Aaron yet...but through the phone conversation...Aaron seems to be more friendly. I asked Michael abt the 2005 packages and all he told me was that it will be released in aug...and seems not interested to entertain me. At least Aaron offered to meet up with me and to provide me with more details about their packages.

that's the point. Michael always don't bother to check things for you. He always promise me over the phone that he will check for me this and that and call me back by the next day, etc... but never did! In total, there are 3 or 4 times he promised to call me back but didn't. I have to call back to chase him and the worse part is ... he hasn't even checked. I ask him things like food tasting can be weekday or not.... since he said only weekends.... invitation cards can give more or not..... carpark coupons can be more or not.... baby chairs how many in total since i have so many relatives with babies and small kids... etc... and he always say he will check and call back but never did.... i was so fed up that the final time, i actually told him off. i said you never call back ... are you sure this time you will call back?? and when will you call back?? then he said he is very busy lah.. will call me back the next day to tell me the answer and guess what?? he didn't again!!! i called him the following day.. and he forgot all about my queries... as usual. so i give up on him liao.. then i was thinking how i can tell him i want to change coordinator but hor... thank God, he told me that he has too many clients, so he passed my account to his colleague, Jean, to handle... so i happy loh... jean more friendly and customer service is there. At least she remembers me when i call her. That is the least they can do right?

ya lor... michael is hot topic now huh? hehe..

but well, i should actually thank him cuz he indeed helped me alot on my actual day.. cuz some problems cropped up and he helped my hubby and i settled the problems professionally.
so my hubby & i r actually quite grateful to him. so we were glad tt he was our coordinator after all..

anyway, how come no one mention martin nowadays? is he still in MC?

one more absurd thing to add.... when i asked michael when i can collect my invitation cards, he said 1 month before. Then i called up one month before to say i will go down and collect the cards, then he said no stock! i asked him when the stock is coming in, he said should be these few days as printer coming down to deliver to them that week. Asked him for exact day and he said he will call printer and call me back. Then as usual, never call me back! i wanted the cards early so that we can tie the stupid ribbons, etc.. and send out. Then when i called him back, he said he couldn't get the printer, don't know how true lah... after that, 3 weeks before the wedding, i called him and he said cards still not delivered yet!! and the printer also don't know when they will be delivering! i told him to chase the printer lah... my wedding is 3 weeks away! Then guess what? he said 'i have clients whose wedding is next week and they also haven't gotten the cards.' He dare to tell me that!! He should be apologising instead of telling people whose wedding is nearer than mine! i really gave up on him. Anyway, meixia, don't worry lah.. maybe he has changed for the better. Maybe there are complaints and he has improved. i must say he sounds much better face to face. On the phone, really bad monotonous tone...not much feelings. hee..

ah yo..Michael really jiat lat leh...maybe he did change a little...cos out of 3 times that he promised to call me back...he did once! heheh... and i agree with Jane that he always forgot my queries as well...and i have to ask all over again...luckily that i requested to meet up with him this weekend...and fortunately for me, he is not availble this weekend...so i reckon he got Aaron to meet me...heheh...

Lenz, good to hear that at least there are some good feedbacks about Michael...else really demoralizing.

HELLO!!! Wah Lau! Just over lunch and there are so many postings on Michael! hehe .. He like William Hung now -- the talk of the town! hahaha ...

Actually,i agree with Lenz. His service to me also not that bad leh .. up to now lar. And, Jane, i agree that his voice over phone is VERY monotonous one .. also dun know why. But, face-to-face, he is ok one lor. hehe ...
And he did call me back to follow-up .. but maybe its cos i call him up almost every 3 hrs or so to chase him for my answers so he scared of me liao. haha ...

Jia Liat! Then, i better take my cards 2 mths b4 my wedding! haha ...

Anyway, Jane. Good to share this with us -- so we have an inkling of wat to take note. But, heng, overall their food and service not that bad on the AD, rite? That's what matters lor ...