Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
hi buffy,

wow, 43 + 2 is indeed considerable. U should push for your freebies!

Actually, personally I feel that people dun really pay attention to the cake. It's on stage and quite a distance from the guests who can't really see much anyway. Heehee, juz my tots bcos I personally can't really see or take notice of the wedding cake when I attend weddings.

Buffy ... Great minds think alike! hehe ...
Erm..... actually the price of the cake really depends on how many tiers u want ur cake to be and what kind of cake u want for ur wedding.
For eg. You want a fruit cake to be able to complement the garden theme, rite? So, u want fuits for ur topping. Fruits will definitely cost more cos u need toppings for all ur tiers mah so definitely more ex compared to a normal cream cake.
I think the range for a 3-tier cake ranges from $250-$600. Depens on what icing and toppings u want for ur cake lor. Some more, if u really wanna feed ur guests with ur wedding cake, then ur wedding cake will be a BIG one and the cost is definitely EX!!!!

For me, i just want a simple, nice 3-tier cake. Maybe for me , i will just distribute the cake between my and his immediated family memebers and leave the top tier for me and my bf lor. Dun think i will put fruits as it will add to my cost so just a simple chocolate flavour sponge cake with flowers on my cake will do liao.

Hi Kysha,
I initially had the same tots as you. I mean -- Who will go and notice the wedding cake and the cake will cost so much more and some more, the cutting cake segment is less than 5 mins so what is the point of ordering a real cake, rite?
But, come to think of it, having a real cake will make the whole event look more sweet and romantic and imagine that only once-in-a-lifetime do u really get the chance to get a real 3-tier cake! I think the memories will be worth it lor. Just my tots lar ...

hi buffy,

i had 44+2 tables but didn't use that 2 reserved in the end. Always invite more and promise less. i invited about 460 people but only confirmed 44 tables with hotel as you know lah... people sure last min got this got that... work late, etc... oh yes, mine is on a weekday. so ended up, only 440 people turned up, so didn't waste any tables.

my coordinator was jean. bargained for 24 bottles corkage waiver, free seat covers, free breakfast for both rooms and lunch for my room. There wasn't other things to bargain for... must pay for projector if you need. i didn't use loh... that's abt it... oh yah... also had free one 20l on top of the 30l beer as i have 44 tables guaranteed...

not sure abt the reno they had on the suite as i had mine last dec... no reno done as at that time.

Hallo ladies,
Thanks for the advice and tips.

So far, managed to bargain for free seat covers and 24 btls of wine waiver. I din know can bargain for extra rooms for helpers as well. Some more overnight ones. Free breakfast and lunch some more, wah, impressive leh.

This encourages me to bargain some more.

Meixia:
Yah lor, fresh fruits one usually more ex. Anyhow will wait a while longer and see how it goes lor. Maybe by that time also no $ so cant be helped even if I want.

Kysha:
Ya yah, will bargain harder! hahahahahahahaa... Will use Jane's freebies as a benchmark!

BTW ladies, which BS u girls sign up with?

i m considering having my banquet at MC late next yr and am trying to do my research now. does anyone hv the details and pricing for next yr dat u can share with me? what is the min. number of tables for a weekend dinner?

thks much!

hi buffy - great to hear that u managed to bargain for wine corkage waiver and seat covers! Go Go Buffy Go! hehehehe

btw, i've signed up with The Bridal Wardrobe

hi pebbie - u can PM me and drop me your email address and I will send the pricelist to u

min 38 tables for weekend.

Hi Jane,

Wah! You are still coming in to the forum ah?

Ya lor, this thread like very quiet nowadays ... I guess most BTBs are all tied up looking ard for gown designs and photoshoot and stuff like that and preparing for the banquet is left till nearer to the AD then will start to "gan-cheong" the banquet stuff ... I guess so lar. You should know better, right?

Jane, btw har, since you are here, misght as well ask you this -- Which printer did u go for ur wedding cards embossment? Did u go to the printer that MC recommend? How much was the cost for ur qty? Are they good? And how long did they take har? Pai seh .... ask u so many questions ..... but, you are the only "being-there, done that" bride tat has gone through all these mah .. hehe.
thanks .........

Wonder if u all could help me a little. Got a booking at Merchant Court on 19th Nov 2004 (Friday). But due to personal reasons, gotta cancel it. Then the hotel asking me to pay for the cancellation charges which amounted to a few k for nothing! Sob...sob...but they say unless i can transfer to another party on this date. I am willing to let it go at a loss of $500 lah...better than nothing...

If u gals dun mind, see if u got any friends/relatives interested, pls let me know...

hi gals....

I'm consider MC also... heard that they are hard to neogiate.... and need to pay this and pay that... so sad....

can anyone tell me... which one is the best person to bargain with

My AD will be in MC too. So far nothing is being thrown in yet? Who is the easiest to negotiate? My coordinator is michael.

I can get my FH to negotiate for a better deal.

So far the negotiate covered by the brides who had held, or are going to hold the banquet at MC are:
1. Free seat cover
2. 24 bottles of wine
3. Another hotel room stay
any more?

Any pointers for futher negotiation?

TIA.

Hi JellyTots & Missysunflower,

Have you both decided on MC liao? Actually hor, what i feel that is that we need not bargain for something that we do not need. Sometimes, we bargain just for the sake of bargaining.

Maybe you two can think over what is the most critical issue to you both? Maybe free seat covers are more impt than another hotel night stay, so you may want to think what to trade off in order to get the free seat covers.
Since MC is known for its rigidness, i dun think we can pin our hopes that MC will give in more freebies to us. So, if we are taking MC for our dinner, then, we must be prepared to trade off something in return for the stuff that we want.

Also, i think that we will have more bargaining power only if we have many tables, e.g. 44 tables. If not, we may need to trade off certain things lor.

For eg, for me, the more impt criteria for me is the free seat covers -- so i traded off something for it lor. Meanwhile, if i do hit the X no of tables for my dinner to qualify for free seat covers, MC will give me that FOC nad return me the previous offer that i traded off lor.

So, i think we must also be flexi on our end lor.

Just my tots ....... No offence meant.

MC has a nice spacious ballroom and I always wanted to hold my wedding dinner there. But I cant meet their weekend tables requirement.
Anyway, I went to my boss's wedding dinner 1 & 1/2 yr back, I fell in love with their ballroom, service and food. I love their desserts! I think they are one of hotels which serve tasteful food. Their Intenational buffet also not bad. Although, service was abit slow cos waitress had to serve us the food individually. They are not allow to put the whole plate on the centre of the table. We did request cos we can choose what we like to eat esp the cold dish. The waitress politely turned us down and it her pleasure to serve all of us. I have been to a few wedding dinners last yr and I think they have the best service and food.

I dun know whether they still maintain the standard now..... never been there for quite some time.

Hi coolangel,

I just attended my friend's wedding last Dec at MC. Dun worry .. their standard is still there. The part where the waitress / waiter will serve us our individual serving is still there. Their food is also nice. So, not much worries on that area.

Like you, i also fell in love with MC 4 yrs back at my friend's wedding too ... Thereafter, i promised myself that i will surely hold my wedding dinner at MC! haha ...

How many tables are you looking at for ur dinner? How abt changing itto a weekday instead? Or, will either set of parents suddenly have an increase of guests for ur dinner, thus, you can then meet the no of tables for a wkend dinner?

Hi Meixia

I have already booked with HIPV. So far, I need abt 30 tables. So I dun think I can reach their requirement. My in law wants us to hold our customary in the weekend so family members no need to take leave for tea ceremony.

Just wonder any one knows whether MC has wedding lunch package? If yes, can you tell me the details?

Hi All... *wave wave*

Anyone have any idea what is the max capacity of MC? Is it 60 tables? I am wondering if we only have like 40 tables, would they open up the entire ballroom or they only give u partial? BTW, MC only 1 big ballroomat the ground floor right? I remembered attending a friend's wedding there about 2.5yrs ago and the ballroom is realy huge...but recently when i went there for some event, the ballroom looks miserably small...but the height of the ceiling is wonderful! and best of all, it's pillarless! :D

hihi june, i had my wedding there last nov..and i had 40 tables...and the ballroom still looks spacious. according to MC, the ballroom can hold 55 tables. so not to worry if u r having 40 tables like me. ;)

Hi Lenz! great to hear that their max is 55...cos currently, me and my FH friends already choked up nearly 28 tables liao...so hotels that i have targeted like intercon only max of 34 tables...i quite like the ballroom of MC and the packages are very affordable... :D

Hi All, anyone mind passing me the contacts to the coordinator? the package i have on hand is this year's package. Wondering if they have any revision to their package...also to try and arrange for viewing. Thanks.

Hi lenz, thank you so much. My email is: [email protected]
How do you find the food/service, etc? is yours a weekday or weekend? u managed to break-even? what about corkages charges for beer and wine?

Oops...so sorry...so many Qs

hi bugbear..mine is a weekend. and the food is fantastic..that's what my family and friends said..my dad told me that his friends said tt they enjoyed the dinner so much that they made sure they finished the last dish - dessert, before they leave.

service is good cuz it is 1 waiter to a table...so each table gets dedicated service.

i enjoyed my wedding alot..will email u after this. ;)

Hi gals, I'm a Merchant Court bride too
Just like to check, will the coordinator follow up with us before the wedding date and provide us a timeline for items such as invitation cards, food tasting, etc? Or do we have to take our own initiative and make arrangements with them?

Hi Lenz, good to hear that the food and service is good...i am quite concerned about service...cos i hate those that starts clearing away when u are still eating...will contact the coordinator once i receive the details from u...thanks loads...

Care to share more of ur experiences? Anything that needs to be aware of?

hi bugbear..i email u liao.. also shared some experiences in the email.

and pooh, my coordinator did follow up with me on what i have to do etc.. he was the one who guided my hubby and i on the banquet planning like invitation cards..food tasting etc..

Thks Lenz
When did your coordinator contact you? Like how long before the wedding date? Did he arrange a date for you or do you arrange urself? Btw, you said MC can take 55 tables?! Is that correct? Thought can take only 50, excluding the stage? Pls advice...

Hi Pooh Pooh,

Yap, Lenz is right. MC can really take up to 55 tables (max).
Dun worry, even if it is 55 tables, the area is still quite ok ... at least the seats are not back to back. Still got moving space.

Had u gone down to MC to take a look at their ballroom? Its really quite spacious and grand with their high ceiling.

Hi Pooh pooh, Meixia....MC ballroom is really very nice, big and ceiling is high...best is that it's pilarless!
It's really great to hear that even with 55 tables, there is still space to move around...i am concerned about the space in between chairs...if it's too near each other...when taking group photos will pose a problem.

Anyone knows what is the current wedding favours offered by MC? or anyone have the 2005/2006 package? The package i have is till Dec 04 only.

Hi BugBear,
Oh ... You are already so in love with their ballroom .... just like me!!! haha ....

I believe MC will still be continuing their wedding favours in 2005/6. And that is their chocolate pralines. Dun think they will be introducing and new favours ... cos 4 yrs back, they were still having the same pralines till now!

Are u thinking of having other favours other tha the pralines? Maybe you can source for ur own favours and exchange MC's chocolate pralines for something else ....?
This will be what i will be doing also ....

Hi Meixia...we can actually change the wedding favours? meaning that instead of taking the favours, we maybe ask them to waive off a few bottles of corkage? Ah yo...most hotels are already changing their wedding favours...MC still giving choc pralines

Hi BugBear,
Correct. You can exchange something else if u do not want the chocolate pralines. If in your case, you want to exchange for wine waiver, shouldn't be a problem.

Ya lor ... i also ask MC why still choc pralines, then they say its cos many pple like choc pralines .... haha. Dun know how true ... hehe.

Anyway, you just think over wht is the issue most impt to you for the banquet, then u think if it is worth it to exchange the pralines for something else lor.

Hi Meixia, thanks for the advice. Will most probably try and negotiate more corkage waiver...think corkage chares is a bigger issue for me...heheh

Thks Meixia, Bugbear! My husband and myself have been down a couple of times to look at their ballroom...love it so much!!! Defnitely one of the best ard! We are quite worried that the place will be too cramp with so many tables (close to 50)...Meixia, does MC only have choco pralines? So you'll be changing the chocolate pralines for something else? Any contacts for wedding favours to recommend? Will it be difficult to negotiate for waiver of cockage as I've already signed up the pkg?? I'm having a issue with that too...perhaps you can share with me how to do that? You can email me at [email protected] if it is not convenient to post here...

Hi Lenz,
Do you have any pictures of the banquet set up to share with me? I can't decide if I shld take Regent or Merchant Court. I'm looking at 40 tables.

Can share your experience with me? You can email me at [email protected]

Hi Pooh pooh...i haven actually been to view yet...but have attended weddings at MC. Think the ballroom should be ok with 50 tbales...cos i have a friend who had her wedding there 2yrs ago and she had close to 55 tables (i think) and it's still quite alright in between the tables. so no worries about that.

Have you ladies considered Swiss Otel Stamford (previously known as Westin) while considering MC? I am now contemplating between the 2...I like the convenience of Stamdford, but i don like the idea of sharing the reception area...cos I am only targeting ard 40-45 tables...hence it will not be enuf to take up the entire Raffles ballroom..but will be too big for Stamford ballroom...any comments?

Hi Odiey, From the weddings that I have attended at MC, i find the ballroom quite nice...big, high ceiling, pillarless...probably the only thing is that MC is a 4.5* hotel (or is it a 5*?) whereas Regent is a 5*...and the locality of MC is of course more convenient for ur guests who doesn't drive

I personally have not viewed Regent...so these are just my 2-cents worth

WOW!!!! So happenning now at this thread!

Pooh Pooh,
Haha .. another MC ballroom lover! haha .... Its just love at first sight, isn't it? Like what BugBear said, dun worry abt the space constraint. Even with 50 tables, tehy are still quite spacious. So, dun worry.

Yap. MC only has choc pralines as wedding favours. Wat kind of wedding favours are u looking at? Perishables or non-perishables (e.g. chopsticks, candles etc)Maybe u tell me, i can let u know the lobang that i have. hehe ...
As for the xchange for something else if u do want the pralines, its ok to do so even if u have signed the package. Who is ur coordinator? Cos for me, i only told my coordinator that i dun wan the pralines and wan to xchange for something else afetr i signed my package .... so, should not be a prob on this lar. U also want wine corkage waiver ah? Same like BugBear ...
But, u shld think over what is more critical to u lor ... so u can xchange something more worthwhile for u mah .... Have u confirmed ur package? How many tables r u looking at? If u r looking at 50 tables, then u shld be able to bargain for more things mah .... so, if u want to xchange ur pralines for something else, what else can u xchange for har? hehe ....

BugBear,
Erm... i dun think Swissotel food is as good as MC leh. It may appear grand but food-wise, its only so-so lor. And i think its too grand to be cosy for a wedding lor ..... How many tables r u looking at? Some more, at MC, u have the luxury of being the only one to hold he wedding there, not like Swissotel who can hold several weddings in a day.
BugBear, when did MC send u their wedding package? Cos if only recently, the package shld be the same in 2005.

Hope my comments help!

hihi gals.. wah..so many postings...

and ya, i agree with meixia leh.. i attended my friend's wedding in swissotel stamford b4...food not nice wan...

Hi Meixia...yah lor...that's why i am thinking more about MC as compared to Swiss otel...eventhough they are under the same management. I heard and personally experienced the food of MC and indeed it is really good. very big in serving as well. Yah lor...i also hated the idea of having to share the ballroom and the reception area. i am actually targeting ard 40-45 tables...and i am a little worried that with only 40 tables, MC ballroom will look quite empty. any idea if they are going to segregate the ballroom if we have less tables?

How about the service at MC? i know it's those 1-1 kind...but are the waiters and waitresses neatly/professionally dressed? I am quite particular about their dressing...maybe bcos there was once i attended a friend's wedding (not at MC)...the staffs there are dressed quite shabbily...and they clear the plates so terribly...as if the guests owe it to them...had a very bad impression then

Nope, the package i got is valid till Dec 2004...and i am targeting end 2005 or early 2006...depending on the tong shu...me still waiting for it to come out
...so i will need the new package...I tried asking for the new package and even tried to arrange for a viewing as well as a meet-up with the coordinator of MC, but upon hearing that my date is ard end 05, the coordinator doesn't seem to be very interested and he just let my email replies to him 'die a natural death'...so sad...am i being too KS? How long did you gals start looking for a venue?

hihi bugbear.. one thing abt michael is..i think he dun like emails one..cuz hez very slow in replying emails..he usually calls me instead of emailing me..

anyway, ya.. i think cuz now is too early for them to book you for end 2005 or early 2006..cuz their schedule for end05-early06 may not be out yet..

i source for venue 1 yr b4 wedding.

Hi BugBear,

Haiyoh ... why so depressed? Cheer up, okie?

Then, only can u be a happy bride-to-be preparing for ur wedding mah .. hehe.
Dun worry, if u are targetting at 40-45 tables, they will give you the whole ballroom one. I presume that u are having ur weding on a weekend, so, the min tables for wkend is 38 tables and MC will open teh whole ballroom for even 38 tables, so u definitely no need to worry abt not having the whole ballroom to yourself. If you are having 40 tables, then ,C will arrange the tables all around the ballroom, but at a more spacious allowance for each tables lor. Isn't this even better?

I am also quite worried abt MC's waiters and waitresses's services. But, from my attending weddings there, their service is still not bad. You just have to inform ur coordinator that you dun want the waiters to clear the table so fast/slow or serve the food too fast/ slow. Tis is the only point that u have to look out for. Other than tis, their service is no big problem.

Ok, if u are targetting end 2005/06, then MC may not be ready to give u their package so fast. Cos, its still a long way to go for ur wedding .. and there may be changes to eithet the price per table or a change in their menu. But, based on experience, MC's package will not differ too much from their previous wedding package. Price-wise, i cannot confirm. Sorry abt this.
Think if u are targetting end 05/early 06, then you should only srart sourcing in Nov 04. And before u call MC, you need to have a ready date for ur wedding banquet first lor. Hvae several dates on hand just in case ur 1st date is taken up by others.

Dun worry, u are not being KS .... we have all been through this and we fully understand ... hehe ...

Anyway, i started looking 1 yr in advance too.

Hi Meixia, Actually for me, the ballroom is not really love at first sight but rather, after comparing with other ballrooms, I find it quite cool.. hee hee, especially, when they put in the lilies...very nice scent...

I'm looking at something not so expensive but exquisitive for wedding favours.. he he
have any recommendations?? :P What did you managed to exchange for the pralines??? Can share with me?

well...fr experience... the service was pretty good on my wedding day..

and bugbear.. u got the link to my photos right? cuz fr there..there's a photo "food entrance" so u can see how the waiters/waitresses r dressed.

Lenz ... share share the link, can?
hehe ...
mind emailimg to [email protected]? thanks so much ....

Pooh Pooh,
I am exploring between candles and chocolates(yes, its chocs again). But the chocs are rather special leh ..... got designs printed on them. So, I am thinking of taking that. Why dun u email to me so that i can share with u the link to that choc design? My email address as above.

Hi Meixia, Lenz, thanks for all the advice...feeling much better
...yeah, i also think that i might have started too early, but just want to gather more info to avoid disappointment...heheh...anyway, my fh just talked to Michael and he asked us to prepare an increment of about $20+++ for 2005/06 package.