Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
i am just curious, how strict they are on minium tables, what if I am willing to upgrade the menus?

Hi Icy,

For weekend, you must have minimum 38 tables. This is the minimum. For weekdays, i think its 30 or 35. I really cannot remember.

The upgrading of menus have no effect on the min no of tables one. But, i think if u upgade for a weedday dinner and u only short of 2 or 3 tables, maybe they will compromise. Cos weekday dinners not that "hot" mah.
But, for wekkend, dun think there is room for negotiation.

U haven't decided on ur tables har?

Hi Meixia,
I have spoken to the guy who is taking over and he sounds very nice and nt green at all, so I am more assured now.
The only thing now not settled for the banquet will be the renting of projector which I am still sourcing for a good deal. Any clue?

Hi Cheerio,

Glad to hear that! Is Michael the one taking over? ;)

You sourcing for projector ah? Think MC charges quite high for a projector there. Actually, you can find some good lobangs under the thread "Anything under the Sun" where there are pplewho can rent out their projector at prices between $150-250. You can go check that thread out. Or else hor, if u really on good terms with ur boss and ur company happen to have a projector, then, why dun lend from ur company? Its FOC some more!!
But, maybe have to invite ur boss to dinner then ......

Helo Meixia,

no leh, not Michael, its Aaron, sounds like a young chap but very helpful.

yeah.. I might consider loaning the projector from co. but must check the resolution first.

hi Meixia,
i only have a confirm table of 32, i dun think I am able to increase another 6 tables and I want it on a weekend. *sigh* Have to let go.

Hello Icy,

Your confirmed tables is including or excluding the 2 red tables? If it is excluding, then, you will only have 4 more tables to go.
Erm... your namelist is confirmed already? Can discus again with both sets of parents and revise ur namelist?
If really cannot fill up 38 tables hor, then how abt a weekday? If not, think will have to start sourcing for other venues liao ...

Anyway, cheer up. I'm sure u will find a venue that is most suitable for you.

Hi Cheerio,

Yap. If can borrow, why not lor. Can save costs some more ..... hehe.
Think u have to prepare your own laptop to show the presentation too.

Hi Meixia,
My AD is on 18 Dec. Quite close to yours. I've decided on about 38 and 2 reserves. Not many pple cos I've got church wedding too.

Hi Rebecca,

Oh! So you got 2 diff receptions? 1 for church and 1 for dinner? So exciting !!!!

Have you sourced for ur bridal boutiques already?

Meixia,
Including red table - will be 33 tables. still short of 5. Unless I so on and pay all 38 tables first.
Do u know which restuarant is cooking the banquet, i am thinking of just going to that restuarant and makan first.

Hello Icy,

Restaurant ah? Me also not sure leh .... Maybe can ask ur co-ordinator abt it? Pai-seh ...

Har? But if just go to that restaurant to eat first, then if u got food-tasting later, then will be a waste leh. Why dun u talk to ur coordinator and request that she let u food-taste first -- if u like the food and sign on, then this will be considered ur food-tasting liao. If u dun like and dun sign up for heir banquet, then u will pay the full price? Can try and see ..... Hope this helps.

Eh... but i think the food is cooked by their own chefs there one leh ... there is no restaurant there one mah. Think is cooked by the chefs in their Ellenborough Cafe .... If i am not wrong lar!

Meixia,
my bridal boutique is French studio cos my hubby to be liked the photography there but my WG is from Irene's Creation cos I like the gowns and the style there. What about you? Yes I agree having 2 reception is exciting but tiring too. Some of my church friends choose to do it in 2 days. But mine is church in the afternoon and evening dinner at MC. Let's share our photos when it's ready k? When's your PhotoShoot?

Hi Rebecca,

Orh! I see. My BB is Yvonne Creative. Me will be taking my PS in June. How abt you?

Haha ..... can share if the pics are nice lar ... haha.

Meixia,

MY PS will be in June too haha looks like our dates of AD and PS are very close. MY PS is on 19 June. will most prob get my photos in Sept or Oct. I'm thinking of using MC as one of the PS outdoor sites. Cos it's more memorable if take pics at the hotel we holding banquet in. What about u?

Hello .... My PS earlier a bit ... 4th June. hehe.

MC as one of the venue har? But hor, they have garden or nice surrounding to let us take meh? Erm.... i also never think of taking at MC but now that u mention, maybe can try ... hehe. Maybe can call our coordinator up and ask where is good to take pics there lor ... hehe.

Btw, have ur coordinator let u visit any of the bridal suite room? me haven't leh ...

When u plan to have ur food-tasting??

Hi Meixia,
My Coord is Michael. Hasn't asked me to view any rooms or talk about food tasting yet but I think food tasting would be in Sept or maybe later. dunno actually what is a good time. As for the rooms, Michael asked if we wanted a suite or 2 rooms and I decided on taking 2 rooms that night for my sisters and friends who helped out.

Hi Meixia,

U mentioned in earlier under the thread "Anything under the Sun" where there are pplewho can rent out their projector at prices between $150-250. But I cant find the thread there?

Can you tell me what is the title of the thread?

I am also holding my dinner at Merchant Court...Wondering if any of you knows if Merchant Court provide ang bao box and do they have a piano?

Hello girls!

I am interested to look at Merchant Court, so would appreciate any comments on the food, service, ambience, bridal suite, etc etc..

Thanks,

Hi Rebecca,
Wah! So good har? Michael did not even ask me if i want the bridal suite or 2 rooms! hmmph!!!
But, the additional room that u gor for ur helpers -- is it only for day use or they can stay overnight? think must ask properly ....

Then, the room that you take, is it only a normal deluxe room?

Hi Vivis,
You cannot find har? okok.. i try to see if i can search for the thread and i let u know again, ok?

Hi Lovey,
I dun think MC provides ang bao box .... u prob need to bring ur own. You can just buy a nice one at GiftLand where they have this ready-wrapped square box and you can cut an opening at the top for pple to slot in ang baos. And nope ... MC does not have a piano in their ballroom. But, think u can call up to se if they can arrange 1 for you in the ballroom / reception for you.

Hi Fates,
THink you will have to either go down to MC and take a look yourself to feel the ambience there or you can refer to prev threads discussed here.

Hi Meixia,

Would appreciate that. Cse i relly search the thread until i go bogus.

Hi Lovely,

Meixia is right. MC do not provide Ang Bao Boxes. I did ask them b4.

Meixia,
Michael told us that the arrangement for the rooms is like that. If we take a bridal suite then we can stay for 2 nights. If not then we can exchange for 2 normal delux rooms each only 1 night so that my helpers can stay one night too.

Rebecca!!!
Are u sure that this is the arrangement???
Cos Michael only stated that i have a 1 nite stay in a bridal suite!!!! And the no of tables that i have booked is more leh!!!
And there is no mention of day room!!!!

U sure??? Maybe i could call him up ....

Hi snow,

yes. the price is out.Basically, it is the same as 2004.
For weekends, the table price is $630+++ & $660+++ respectively per table.
You may want to call MC up for further queries.

Hi Vivis,

I have been searching high and low for the thread that i mentioned to you but seems that the thread is missing now .....
I am so sorry.

If u are thinking of renting from MC, the charges is a bit high. If i am not wrong, it is ard $400. Not worth it leh .....
Can ur company lend it to you? If they dun mind, then i think it will be a better deal to borrow from company leh ..... How?

I am also a MC bride. Posted some stuff in this thread long time back liao and sorta MIA for a while. Are there any weekday brides here like me?

Meixia, apologies! I was talking about letting us choose between 1 night bridal suite or 2 normal rooms for 1 night as well. Sorry wrong details.

Hi Kysha,

My AD is on a Thurs, 30 Dec, one day before New Year's Eve. Which are the other places u are considering? And are you planning for it this year or the next?

MC brides:
Am I mistaken but is MC really quite niao when it comes to negotiating huh? I do not seem to have much luck on the waiver of wine corkage. Anyone did better than me?

hi buffy,

yes they are very niao because their prices is one of the lowest amongst 5 star hotels. i managed to get 24 bottles wine corkage waiver with 44 tables guaranteed. you can negotiate if you have more tables. Ask for free seat covers also.

hi meixia, i changed my bridal suite to 2 rooms too. so my helpers actually stayed over night at the other room.

Hi Rebecca,

Its ok. No worries! Thanks for ur clarification!

Hello Jane,
Longgggg time no see! How's married life now? hehe .... got used to it liao?
You also changed to 2 deluxe rooms har? Hmmm.... maybe i will stick to my bridal suite lor .... more spacious ... hehe.

Hi Jane,

Thanks for sharing. Ok,ok. Will try to negotiate harder.

Oh, I would like to seek for more advice. HB and I were discussing and we basically do not need to have the ice carving on the stage. Anyone has the same tots and have changed it for something else?

What about PS? Anyone using the area for the PS? Is the bridal suite very nice? 'Cos I have not seen before and my photographer was asking if I wanna use it for PS wor...

Oh, anyone can advise me on the colour of the walls? I cant remember and my BS was asking me that day 'cos we were deciding on the EG colour and we did not want the dress to blend in with the walls lor.

Thanks yeah?!!??

Hi Vivis,
The email add i sent you is my office email add. So, i can only reply u via email on Monday, okie?
Tahan for a while .... okie? hehe .....

hi buffy!

my wedding will be in May 05. yes, I've heard that MC can be quite tough in giving out perks, but if I'm not wrong some weekday brides shared that they are more generous for weekday weddings and if u hv many tables. All the best in ur negotiating and do share ur experience wif me so that I can learn from u yah?

hi jane, how many bottles of wine did ur guests consume? did u end up paying alot for corkage charges?

hi kysha, i only brought in 24 bottles of wine and was consumed by the 3rd dish. Didn't pay any corkage since i didn't bring more.. hee... save money loh... the waiters will offer my guests hard liquor or beer when wine runs out. Also, ask them to serve only after the 1st dish in order to control consumption. Never serve wine or beer during cocktail. You will regret.

Meixia, yes, i am finally back. Married for 3 mths plus already... so fast hor? My married life is good. Put on 6kg and my friends and colleagues commented i must be real happy. sigh... put on 4kg in 1 mth and now 6kg. My MIL cooks well and she bought lots of tidbits as i love to eat them. So had the habit of eating crackers and chips every night while watching TV. Must control liao... some even suspected i am pregnant! Of course i am not. Overall, my married life is blissful. Thank God. didn't have to do housework as my MIL does them all. Very blessed. By the way, i am staying with in-laws.

Buffy, i didn't use the ice carving but chose the fountain theme instead. The wall colour?? i think it is beige if i am not wrong.... as for the bridal suite, i have a friend who commented that it is the worst she has seen. In fact, she didn't choose MC because she doesn't like the bridal suite. To me, it is ok loh... just a bedroom and a small living room with sofa and TV. The difference between the bridal suite and the deluxe room is just the extra living room. So no point lah... it is not as if you have a bigger and nicer bath tub or more romantic bedroom. Both the bedrooms look exactly the same loh... The best bridal suite is still the M Hotel one. Fantastic! With jacuzzi and high tech bathroom. i use MC for PS. But only the lobby and swimming pool area... not the room. The lobby ok lah... not bad...

Hello Jane!
You MUST be a happily married woman now! So "xin-fu"! Glad to hear that you are getting along well with ur in-laws .... quite "nan-de" to hear someone getting on well with their in-laws! And reading from ur post, ur MIL must dote on you a lot!!!
Well, at least you have "inspired" me liao .. haha.... cos me also will be staying with my in-laws after my marriage. Not immediately lar but a few yrs later.

Buffy,
Yap. Thw walls are either white or light beigy in colour. But, i think the ice-carvings not bad mah ... u dun like har? At least got some decor on the stage mah ...

thanks for the advice, Jane. Will take note not to serve wine during cocktail.

is the bridal suite really that bad? i was informed that they were upgrading the bridal suites or some rooms, sometime last year. is it true?

Was a bit caught up with work so did not have any chance to reply earlier.

<font color="0000ff">Kysha</font>
Sure, will share if I am able to negotiate for more things. Actually, my tables are not very few esp for a weekend. Think it will be ard 43 + 2 but hor, sigh... They still super niao.
Think they know that they are popular lor, that's why.

<font color="119911">Jane</font>
Wah, how many tables you had and yrs is on a weekend? This will sort of help me to plan how many bottles to bring lor. Wah, 24 btls out by 3rd dish. Anyone gave any "nasty" comments about this? 'Cos for my bro's wedding, the waitors were a little slow in getting the wines out and then one of the guests complained to my dad said that there is no more wine, which is not possible since they had 11 btls left. Sigh... Some ppl hor...

Wah, the bridal suite that bad huh? Think if that is the case, we will have to make another trip down the hotel to tour the place abit and look for potential places for PS.

<font color="ff6000">Meixia</font>
Thanks for the advice for the walls, will tell my BS. I dun really fancy the swan ice carving leh but I also know that if I dun want, the stage looks empty. See how lah!

When is yr AD?

Hi Buffy!
43+2 tables is quite a lot what! THink Jane had 43+2 tables for her dinner and she tried to bargain for more freebies! Look above thread for the freebies that she tried to bargain for. Shld try to, ok? U getting 43 think can get more lar ... Dun let MC get away with this hor. hehe

My AD is on 4th Dec. Urs?

Hmm... maybe u wanna put some flower stands on the stage if u really dun wan the ice-carvings and fountain?
By the way, me thinking not to have the wedding cake by MC ... very fake leh ... so me thinking to but my own 3-tier cake. Any advice by anyone?

<font color="ff6000">Meixia!!!!</font> I was also thinking of having a real cake!!!! Hee hee... But hor, think it is quite ex leh, the entire cake can come up to more than $350, depending on how elaborate you want it to be.

I was thinking of having those that have lotsa fruits on top such as blue berries, raspberries, etc so it can complement the garden theme. What about you?

Yah lor, 43 + 2 for weekday is quite a lot leh. Maybe I lousy at bargaining. K, will scroll up and see what Jane bargained for. <font color="0000ff">Jane: Any advice / tactics to share? Who's yr coordinator?</font>

Meixia, my AD is on 30 Dec, its a Thurs and one day before New Year Eve. We picked this date because most companies grant their staff half day off on such days so they need only to work half day the following day. Some of my friends told me that they will even apply for leave to enjoy a long weekend and really get into the New Year mood wor. Hee... So exciting. Hope they dun get to enthusiastic and sabo me BIG time! hahahahahaaaa...