Merchant Court Swissotel

• Thread starter Thread starter bb
  • Start date Start date
hi Meixia,

i think they will just march in... no dance or anything special. i went to furama for wedding dinner recently and got a shock when a waitress got to dance and it was so comical... not nice at all but real funny loh!

i rather they just walk straight in.. hee.. but they say if i bring my own CD, they will just march according to the rythm. hee.. if you bring fast disco kind, they may have to march very fast!

i will be taking 2 deluxe rooms instead of suite as suite is no different from deluxe room since it is just an additional living room. If they have nice suites like the M hotel one, hee.. then i will never give up man! That was like heaven!

Hey Jane - Best wishes for your prep and dun get too stress since they say from the last 1 mth it gets crazy + busy. Must "bao chi" mei mei. Started your facials + beauty prep liao? Like the rest, I would also love to hear about your wedding
and your precious experience of cos

Actually it is strange that some hotels give 2 nites and some only 1 nite. 1 nite very rush like that.

The first dish fanfare shldn't be comical. So long as "formal" enough can liao I suppose?! As in like got "qi pai". Becos sometimes "yue nong yue chiak lat"...

Mr Bean - you sign up with Sheraton Towers ah? Hmm... I went there twice for wedding... very good leh but not within my budget...

Meixia - I haven decide which BB to sign up with becos I am fleshy
and may end up getting custom-made (internet) from HK or US. But scared the gown come liao I see liao faint. I shld only be making 2 dresses (WG + cheongsam). More time to makan and save $$$ esply since I cannot get anything off the rack.

Self-cater make-up + photography = expensive? Hmm... I have to settle soon cos' have to do photo shoot in Jan 04 since my husband coming back 3 weeks for CNY... then in May again for the actual wedding...

As of time of posting - new struggle with date clash btw mum and MIL again... Duhz... we got tong shu also no use... cos' MIL like dun trust my mum like that... so "tao yan" as if own mum will "hai" the daughter like that...

Hi Meixia and all,

Was at my friend's wedding dinner this evening. It's not my first time at Merchant Court, was there twice last year.

Think the food standard dropped since.

What I liked: Sharks fin, Roast Chicken with Thai rice crackers.

Not so well done dishes: Spinach and mushrooms - too soft; celery and scallops - no complaints on the scallops but celecy was quite old and tough.

Extremely Disappointing dish: Yam Paste, one of the worst I've came across. It's not only me, my table people (Ya, my table is all orni fans) all felt that it's the worst dish throughout the dinner. Why? Cos they put sweet corn into the paste, and it really altered the taste. I find it too sweet and not smooth enough also. So if you are having orni, please request not to have the sweet corn.

Ambience wise, I guess you can instruct them whether to have dimmer lights or brighter. March in is normal dry ice, but first dish presentation is a bit more impressive than most places. No dancing lah, don't worry. Just some criss crossing when they walk in and standing along the aisle. simple and good.

Hope you all will have a good time at MC.

Hello Jane,

Really ah? Ok, i must keep in mind not to give them a not so fast music.. or else they will be sooo comical!!! haha .... Ok, must look at the suite and deluxe room again ....
Let me tell u guys something .... i read a first dish presentation in a chinese restaurant abt the 1st dish presentataion... this is it:
"Imagine a ballroom full of guests for the couple to march in. Suddenly, a piece of "Huang Fei-Hong" music came on. THen opened the ballroom doors --- where an emperor and 2 "gong-nu" walked in to the room. The guests tot this is the couple BUT the emperor went up to the stage and said wat an auspicious date this is and even HE the emperor needs to attend the wedding!!!!! Then, after the speech, the couple walked in" .... Dun u think this 1st dish presentation is tooo "memorable" and comical? hahahahahaha ... But have to agree its quite innovative ... hehe

Madwoman,
Har? U wanna order from internet ah? But if u cannot touch and feeland try on the gown material and u just order like tat ... if cannot match, then how? Its ur "ren-sheng-da-shi" leh .... A bit risky to order like tat ...
Actually, there are a few boutiqueas ard that also have nice designs for bigger size brides... i think u shld go source ard 1st and try on their gowns and see .... Think this topic is a bit off this thread liao .... but maybe i can advise u thru email? I got some free-lance photographers contact also and if u interested, can email me at [email protected]. I will be glad to give u the contacts.

Hi Cheona,
Sharks fin nice har? Me tot of changing to abalone leh ... but since u say nice.. then i'm having 2nd tots liao ...
Me not having spinach and mushrooms so ok. Celery and scallops must check again ...

Thank you for telling us!

Oh-oh ... seems like madwoman willbe disappointed with the yam paste liao .. since uts ur fav ... but nvm lar.. like wat cheona said, u can request not to addin sweet corn lor .. and during food-tasting, u can try out how it tastes like and if really that bad, then change to other desserts lor.

Hi Buffy,
If u have read the previous threads on MC, then u will have realised by now that everything abt MC is not bad ... JUST that they are quite rigid abt the negotiations. As for corkage charges, wat u r toking abt? Hard liquor or wine? Cos hard liquor corkages are usally waived off ... but wine very hard to waive. So, maybe u can dun serve wine during the dinner lor.

See?!?!?! I shorten my name liaozzzz.....

Yozz Meixia,
I dunno leh. I thot some girls also order from those internet bridal shops? Vera Wang not order from internet one meh? Though I not so rich to buy Vera Wang. Have found a design actually - they are waiting for me to give them my size measurement before they start making the dress - and also waiting for instructions on the dress details - I dun like sequins I prefer beads & pearl droplets. I will email you & you can gimme some comments & pointers
if you dun mind lah of cos.

Hi Cheona,
Never heard of "orh nee" with sweetcorn. Maybe the chef is not Teochew
You are right, sweet corn can really spoil the overall taste & if my wedding dinner end with a "pui chow nua" dessert then I think I will cry. Maybe abit extreme but who dun want a memorable wedding yeah?!

Errr... Meixia bring sparkers for 1st dish or your march-in?? Heehee!!

Hi madwoman,

do u think your MIL and mum would believe a "feng shui" master instead? Looks to me that might be the best way to resolve the "disagreements" of the dates between your mum and MIL. I can recommend my "feng shui" master if u want. CHeck with your mum... or MIL.

Thanks mr bean!!

Actually the date my mum pick is really auspicious also lah. Not that I am siding my mum. And my husband also want the first 2 wks of May so he dun need to apply extra leave from his company in Shanghai.

But what I not happy is that his mum claims herself as being chin chai and not superstitious and now behaving like one already. Double standards lor... As if my own mother will "hai" the own daughter on the most impt of her life like that...

But I will tell my husband abt your feng shui master and see what he say and get back to you. But really thank you for making the suggestion

Hi Madwoman,

No problem..
problems always happen like that lar bet MIL and your mum, although they have the same objectives - the best for everybody! See whether you can get your husband to talk to her mum...

Frankly speaking, I would not want to ask u to consult a "fengshui" master if necessary, cos they may come back saying that actually that period in may is no good according to your "ba zhi". Then more confusion lar... So, i hope this is the last resort.

Hallo Madwoman!

Hahah ... u very innovative hor? Sparklers as 1st dish? Actually, i tot of having that when i march in BUT i scared some guests may be over-excited and throw the sparklers anywhere and burn my WG!!! haha ... So, out goes that idea!

Haiya ... u dun let me "kok" you on ur head ah! Of cos can email me lar!!!! That's y we are here for mah ... care & share session mah ...

So, just feel free to email me hor....

Yap, i actually with Mr Bean leh .... sometimes not really a good idea to consult fengshui master cos they may not say nice things abt ur wedding date and u may end up in doubts and more trouble liao .....

hi all... i think it is very subjective about the yam paste. My friend just tried and said it's nice. i will stick to it lah... no time to change liao. my wedding in days and i want everything to be confirmed by next week.

will share with you all my experience. I request for the malay banquet manager, sazali, to be the in-charge that day as i read he is recommended and always within sight when you need him. I met up with him and i really like his service. Very friendly and helpful. Gave me some tips on choosing the deco, flowers and so on... very nice and experienced guy. Hope he really can be there for my wedding. There are only 2 banquet managers anyway... so it's either him or another one whom i have not met.

Hi Jane,

When will MC attach a banquet manager to you? How long b4 ur wedding dinner? Then wat happens to the banquet coordinator who attended to us earlier on?

Kudos to Jane!!!
Feeling excited & "guo da li" already?!?! Yah maybe diff day diff experience. So you just concentrate on being mei mei and let your others go and stress other things. We look forward to hear your good news soon

btw anyone of you Teochew here huh?? Can discuss discuss...

Mr bean & Meixia - Yah perhaps shldn't check anymore and trust my own mother. Probably will only get even more confusing and pek chek
But I will still check with husband over the phone this weekend.

Meixia - Not innovative but fun what. Create a fun atmosphere so ppl remember that so and so wedding got something like that. Actually I want sparkers along the "aisle" when we march-in but who on earth is going to light them all up for me?!?! Candles leh?!?! Hmmm... Dun "kok" me... you probably already recv my email liao

hi madwoman,

my guo da li is this Sat. : ) i may not even be home as i need to attend a friend's church wedding and then helping as receptionist during the dinner. hee...

i am hokkien but i love yam paste. hee..

Meixia, they will attach a banquet manager about 2 weeks before your wedding. However, their service is quite slow and i got to chase them for everything.... even meetings and collection of invitation cards, etc... so be prepared. My emails were seldom replied. Think they are all very busy.. my wedding coordinator said usually she will stay to say hi during the cocktail time but will leave for the day and the banquet manager is the one in charge of the whole dinner. Catering sales coordinators/executives are just people who work office hours... not even weekends.. so it is the banquet manager who will run the show after being briefed by the coordinator. Think it is the same everywhere.

Hello Madwoman,

Yaya .. me received ur mail liao and replied back liao.

Erm... you can ask ur helpers to help light up the sparklers 1st lar b4 u march in lor. Me also thinking of having my helpers blow the bubbles when i march in mah.

Thanks Jane for ur info.
Happy Preparation!

Huh Jane?!?! Guo Da Li can not be at home one meh?!?! Hmm... my mum & MIL were still saying that must make my husband come back to S'pore for the Guo Da Li at least 2 weeks before the AD cos' 1 week beforehand not enuff time to give out invitation cards. But maybe your parents not as "chinese" ours. So lucky... envious liao...

Meixia - Bubblez not messy meh? How many helpers involve and how much bubblez you want? Hahaha!!! Oh btw there is this girl selling her YC package in the YC thread. You see it anot??

Eh.... i tot normally guo da li needs to be at least 2 weeks in advance one???
Cos... all my friends they having their guo da li 2 weeks in advance leh....

Yap! Guo da li is held at home one .... u cannot possibly carry all the stuff that the nan-fang gave you from the restaurant to ur house\mah... so might as well hold it at hm lor.

Bubble y will messy? I will be buying that sort of bubble-gun that can blow out big bubbles ... the sort that u buy from Toy S Rus one ... i think quite romantic leh. Anyway, me also LOVE bubbles mah ... so i'm hoping to have that lor.
Actually sparklers is a good idea leh ... just tat i'm scared accidents do happen and will burn my WG !!!!! hehe ...

Woooooo.... wondering how Jane is getting on with the last few days of her wedding day. I cannot wait for mine so I wonder how she possibly could?!How come its quiet everywhere?!?!

Meixia - the bubble gun like not very elegant leh... suppose to be romantic not comic
So got better ideas how to produce bubble that won't make it look like a bubble party??
I think I will do scented candles & rose petals (not as confetti ok). Never heard before? Me neither. Only a silly idea that has yet to be conceptualize!!

Mr Bean - Not changing the date anymore becos husband want to stix firmly with the chosen date. But thanks for your suggesting with the "feng shui shifu".

So now no choice wait for coordinator to advise if that day booking is confirm liao or I can give deposit and "snatch" the date. However dun really think can supercede ppl like that. So have to see how liao.

hi madwoman,

i am back! Hee... my guo da li was really rowdy and crowded. My relatives come to my house to be with my mum and my fiance had 2 aunties with him as matchmakers... according to chinese tradition. Was a crazy day for me. As i attend my friend's church wedding half way, my fiance called and said they are on their way, took a cab, rushed like crazy and reach home in time to welcome them. i decided to be be at home as i want to pass some fishes to my fiance and thus need to pack in a bag. They are my lovely goldfishes.

I am counting down... will be on leave next week. Then going for honeymoon, so will be back only after 22 Dec before i reply all of you and to tell you all how everything went.

Stay cool! Everything will be fine.

Hello Jane!!

U r telling who to stay cool??? U urself lar, rite? hehe ....

Looks like u are really getting into the mood now liao ... so envious of you!

When is ur wedding dinner ah? Did u mention ur date earlier on? If so, sorry if i did not catch ur date.

Where u and ur lao gong going for honeymoon? Soooo romantic...!!!!!

Wishing u a blissful marriage and "zao-sheng-gui-zi"!!!! haha ....

Dang dang dang dang .... dang dang dang dang .... (wedding song march-in) hehe

Madwoman ...
Bubbles comical meh?? No lar... dun think so lar. Plssss lar.. can give me some encouragment or not? hehe ... i really like bubbles leh ... somehow bubbles make it so romantic... no meh?
Dun care, dun care.. i just wan to have bubbles ... hahahaha ....
Haiya.. see how lor ... see till then got any other ideas or not lor ....

Hi Madwoman,

you are welcome... just glad that everything is sorted out.

Hi Meixia,

Bubbles would be unique... but need to find a better way to release the bubble. one idea is that if u have a lot of niece and nephew.. u can get them to stand at the side of the aisle and blow the bubble .. instead of using the spray gun.

Hi Jane,

It's finally happening. Stay cool and enjoy your big day!!!

hi Meixia,

i am staying cool... real cool... hee...

my big day is next week. but won't share the date can? will let you know after that. my honeymoon is also next week. going korea to ski. : )

i will be on leave only next week... so will still be around... by the way, they have new table display for all tables... also lilies but without birdcage. This will start in Dec for all couples... unless you request to have the old theme, they will still allow loh... i chose the new theme. not bad lah.. quite nice.

Hi Mr Bean....

But hor, having them standing at the aisles spurting out bubbles is no diff from blowing, rite? Wait hor, they blow until no breath liao then "wa-meng-si-bo bubbles liao"? hahahahaha ....
anyway, thanks for ur suggesstion .... If u guys attend any wedding that uses bubbles, can share with me how those couples did it? Kam-sia, kam-sia ....

Hiya Jane,
KOREA?? SKI?? I LIKE!!!! hehe .... Have fun over there!!
Wah, MC got new theme ah? Btw hor, wat is the colour of ur table cloth? Wat colours do MC have for table cloths anyway? Can we request for the colours that we want for the table cloths?
Btw Jane, mind if u do share with us ur pics on ur wedding dinner? We want to share ur happiness with you, right guys??!!

Meixia - I thought of something quite romantic liao... You can use coloured balloons also leh... though a different category to bubbles... duhz... But not balloons coming down... rather balloons going up... How huh? Any good?

My wedding plan is still in a big mess so cannot suggest I use it myself. Sekali everyone "buey song" then die die no wedding liao...

Birdcage?!?!?! I thought that is Marriott Hotel theme this year?!?!?!

Honeymoon in Korea sounds very good leh Jane... Good move at this time of the year... But dun forget shopping hor!! If you can manage your way around, Korea will be a shopping paradise as well!!! A lot of quality "replica goods" also

In any case if we dun hear from you - pleaseeeeeeeeee enjoy yourself thoroughly both at the wedding + the honeymoon

Hiya,

i also tot of balloons but hor ... semms more like a birthday party than a wedding if put balloons leh ....

But, thanks for ur suggesstions. Anyway, you had better think of YOUR wedding decor first ... coming soon hor? hehe ..... 5 more mths !!!!!

Hi madwoman and meixia,

yes, will definitely share lots of tips with you all after my wedding. My table cloth is white. They only have 2 choices - white or peach. You can mix and match. You can have all white, all peach, mixture of white and peach, or white cloth with peach napkins, peach cloth with white napkins, etc... i chose all white as it will look more classy. In fact the whole ballroom will look very white as flowers are all white lilies. Only 2 red tables... hee.. all my deco in white and i chose the fountain theme, also quite white... i will be holding white lilies and white roses for my bouquet. A very pure wedding.... hee..

Won't be accessing anymore until after wedding. Tell you more next time! Stay cool... all brides to be!

Just attended my friend wedding at MC yesterday. Overall rating is very good. Here's my feedback.

1. Food
It was a 9 course dinner, and i must say that the food was delicious. The first 3 dishes were delicious - sharksfin with crab meat, cold dish and i think fried chicken with thai chilli sause (something like that). The portion served was big, and the prawns were fresh and big. The udon noodle was nice. Overall food rating was good. There is about 1 server per table, and all food are served portion before being served on the table. Each table actually has a small side serving table. The serving was quite fast though, so we actually has to ask the banquet manager to slow down so that phototaking could be completed in time. There were about 45 tables.

2. Ambience
They uses the water fountain as the setting on the stage. The cake was quite tall (i think 9 layer), so it overshadow the couple (hee hee). There was candlelight next to the glasses for pouring champagne so it was very romantic. My friend actually distributed party boppers and bubbles to those tables along the aisle. So as they march it, the guests blow the bubbles and pulls the party boppers. The bubbles have little effect though... The march-in song was nice.. i think is the scottish music. The centerpiece on each table was nice.. i think it was lily on a tray with marbles.. looks very japanese. Furthermore, it was near to Christmas, so the entire foyer was decorated with christmas decorations.

3. AV system
There was a bit of "hiccup" during the first march-in. During the showing of the video montage, there was no sound. After that, everything was fine. So, my advice to all brides who are showing the video montage, do test it out with the soundman from MC first...

So overall assessment is GOOD!!!

Hi Mr. Bean,

I have just signed up MC so thanks for the feedback. Just some questions: was it 45 + 2 tables or 43 + 2 yr friend had?

Did it feel very crammed? Reason why I am asking is because ours will be 43 + 2 tables and MIL insisted on having a small dance floor - you know those parquet board? Apparently, it is their culture wor; though I dun think anyone will be up for much dancing on a Thurs night.

Did you feel that it was crammed? Was it almost "back-to-back" between tables and chairs? Oh, what was the dessert you had huh? Any good?

Hello Mr Bean,

Thanks for your feedback! Wah!!! Me an-xing liao .. hehe.

Yap, heard from most pple that the sharks fins and cold dish is good. What i am worried is the ambience of the room.. but guess me also dun have to worry abt it liao. I like the white and peach colour theme of the cloths though ..
thanks Jane!

Mr Bean, ask u ah ... did you see any Bangadelsh waiters there? My coordinator said wanna get back to me on this bit now still haven't .. so since u are just back from the wedding, ask you lar! hehe ...

For the prawns hor, is it fried or steamed ah? Is it with trios peppers ah? Cos me having that so just wanna confirm with you.

Just wanna say a big THANK YOU for readily sharing with us reg MC even though u are not taking it. Thanks once again!!!!!

Hi Buffy,

I think it was 43+2 tables. Nope, i dont think it was very crammed. There is still room to put a side table for the waiters/waitress to put and distribute the food. There is enough walking space.. i dont need to say excuse when crossing the ballroom. But if u intend to put a dance floor, i think it would be very packed. Frankly speaking, based on the timing yesterday, i dont think u have time for a dance. With all the photoshooting, everything ended at 10.30pm. My advise is to take aways the dance floor. Too crowded!!! I think the dessert was something like red dates with .. something.. cant remember. But do take note of the serving of the food. Make sure it coordinates with the photo-taking, or else u will end up people leaving early after the food has been finished (without any photo-taking)

Meixia,
There are bangadelsh waiters, but i think the service was okie lar. there was a mixture of bangadelsh, young and old waiters and waitress. I think overall the service is good. One thing i dont like is that they tend to stand on one side of the room during the 2nd march-in.. looks a bit ugly.

The prawns are steamed and not fried. I think it is live drunken prawns.

yap.. the white and peach cloths do look grand.

anyway, it's my pleasure to share with you guys.

Hi Mr. Bean,

(hee hee, wat a funny name
) Thatnks for the information. Much as I would like to say "no" to the dance floor, I really dun think we are able to do away with it. My husband is of "mixed" race and apparently, the old Portugese ladies wanna dance!

Sigh... Any other nice dishes you tried? What about the fish and the mushrooms? Were they good?

Thanks; I truly feel much better after reading your positive comments!

Hi Buffy,

I think the mushrooms were big and comes with abalone. Taste good. Oh yes... the steamed groupa is great too. Quite a big fish...
But u need to take note that all these are weekend menu, so if your wedding is on a weekday, then u may have to top up some of the dishes.
Honestly if i were to change, I would change the Udon noodles. Notice that not many people took the noodle.

I still feel that if u have about 40 -45 tables, it is a bit crowded to include a dance floor. Maybe what u can do is ask MC whether can they use one of the small function room across the main ballroom for the dance... if not then try to cut down the no of tables. Another idea is to dance on the stage... (that might be a better suggestion)

Wahhhh Mr Bean - you seem super busy tasting all the wedding banquet around leh

But hor your input here is invaluable also becos it actually boost our confidence level but then I dun like the Bangaldesh waiters part leh... think Meixia also dun like...

Still trying to solve the seat cover + wedding cake bit. Happy already then pay deposit
Cheapo yeah?!?!

Now waiting Jane to come back and share her good news

Hi Mr. Bean,

Thanks for the info. Yeah, mine is a weekday wedding so the dishes differ slightly. I am requesting for E-Fu noodles though since it is either that or some glutinous rice thing which may be "too much".

I also feel that having a dance floor is not a wise thing to do esp with so many tables. But my in-laws are very insistent on this and we are already having some problems with them. I guess I will just let it be and see what the turn out is closer to date. Perhaps the no. of tables will exceed 45 and then, we will have no choice but to forgo the dance floor. Dun wanna start another disagreement over something like this.

In addition, MC told me that they will charge me an additional of 500+++ for every hr exceeding 11pm. So, that worries me as well. Yeah, was also thinking of having it on the stage. But the suggestion on the function room is good too but I am sure it will cost us extra.

Thanks for the suggestions though! Its a great help!

Hi Buffy,

Wow... 500+++ is a lot. Might as well celebrate across at clarke quay!

U r right. Let's take a step back and see how things go when it is nearer your dates.

Hi all! I am back from my wedding! It was a memorable and wonderful smoothgoing wedding... really thank God.

However, friends told me the food was so so only... especially the sharks fins... many said it wasn't nice. Not much taste... i agree cos i ate that before i went to change to my evening gown. The yam paste was also not nice. i kind of regret asking for that. However, the udon noodles was great. Most of them like that but they said the portion wasn't enough.

My guests told me that the waiters took very long to refill drinks. They had to ask him before he moves... i saw the photos taken for table to table toasting and i noticed most of the glasses were indeed empty or near to empty. So please remember to brief your banquet manager to take note of that and to brief all his waiters and waitresses to top up drinks fast.

i love the ambience though. It was white, pure, holy and romantic. I enjoyed every moment. I hope all of you will too. : )

Hello Jane!!!!! U R BACK!!!

Glad that overall, everything is fine for you ... kanna sabo? hehe ...

Sharks fins' so-so only ah? Tot this is suppossed to be good one?!?! Can advice wat dishes are nice?
U kanna stressed on ur wedding dinner or not?
So, when ya and ur hubby going to korea? Hope u had a romantic and memorable honeymooon there!!

Wishing you a blissful marriage once again and 'bai-tou-xie-lao" !!!!!!

Haiyah ..........
This thread like veryyyyyyy quiet now ...all busy preparing for their own wedding????

Anyway, me just attended my friend's wedding lunch at MC. The food is not bad ... especially with the spare ribs in BBQ sauce.

However, 1 thing i dun like is that MC waiters are too efficient --- they are like rushing you to finish their food lor ..... its like when i ate something and left half of the portion on my plate and to talk with my friends, then the waiter will automatically (and very fast!) try to clear my plate. Some may ask if i still want my food but a few didn't. So, i felt pressurized to clear my food fast lor.

Maybe u guys can bring this point up to ur coordinator.

Hope my comments help!

Hi Meixia,

Yah... very quiet hor? wonder why... *scratch head*... i didn't really kena sabo cos it was a weekday and the next day is a working day. Told them no time cos.... i got quite alot of tables... hee..

food that is nice... hmm... chicken and udon noodles nice... but hor... i didn't get to eat, so not sure what is nice and what is not. When they deliver the food to my room... all quite cold liao... after i am about to eat... so all not nice liao...

Some of my friends told me they like the yam paste... so it is really subjective. i personally don't like it... i got to eat this dish... some finds abit weird to have corns inside... which kind of spoil the taste. Some said the pork ribs in coffee sauce not nice as the meat is really hard.

Meixia, when is your wedding?

i just came back from Korea not long. It was great! Saw snow and went skiing. )

Hello Jane!

You are FINALLY back!!!! haha ...
Glad to see u here!

Wah ... u really know how to find excuses to escape sabo hor? hehe ... Yap. Me heard that udon is not bad and shark's fin soup. Can elaborate on the type of chicken u had? By the way, which package you took? Mine is the weekend dinner package (the 1st one). How abt urs?

Know wat? Me also planned to either visit Korea or Australia for my honeymoon. But, heard that Dec is not a good time to visit Australia, only in Sept. So perherps planning to go there in 2005 and to go Korea 1st for honeymoon. So, how is Korea? Must be soooo exciting to see so many snow, rite? haha .. cannot imagine .. What is the temp there?
Where did u stay? At the winter ski resort? Urs is a free & easy or tour? How many days? How much? hahahah ... i must be asking u too many questions .. but i need to know roughly the cost to spend there mah .... correct? I thank you in advance hor ...

My wedding ah? Still long --- 4th Dec 04. haha .... Me a bit kiasu to start so early but i like to prepare things early so that i need not rush at the last min mah ....

Meanwhile, take care and have a Merry Merry xmas!!!!

hi meixia,

korea is great. First time see snow... skiing is real fun! i went on package tour for 8 days. Paid about $1700 each person. Spent about $500 per person buying souvenirs and Ginseng. My tour includes 100% meals, so no need to pay for food, can save alot. Temperature was about -7 degrees... really cold!

My package is merchant court was a weekday one. Chicken is normal roasted chicken... maybe i like chicken, that is why it is nice to me. hee... as for yours, it is weekend package, so it should be much better food. Don't worry... : )

Hello Jane ...

Okok.... now i know "agar agar" wat price to pay liao. hehe ...

Oh! You took weekday package ah? More bargaining power, rite? cos weekday dinner not that hot so can bargain more .... keke

Btw, how was the feedback from your relatives reg the food and ambience har? POsitive? Me is most afraid of the remarks of the older folks ...... once they say negative things hor, that's its liao lor. So me quite worried ..... <sigh>

I am new here.My husband and I intend to held our wedding at MC. But 2005 price havnt released out yet. Is it now too early for booking?

Hi Meixia,

No relatives feedback to me. I only checked with friends. Actually not much bargaining power also as they are really hot... got long queue, so very inflexible in any perks...

i love the ambience but the food is so so lah...

snow, 2005 is not too early to book. you can start booking tomorrow onwards... 2004. if not, don't be shocked when the dates you want are all taken up... i booked mine in 2002 for Dec 2003.

Hello Snow,

Welcum to the MC gang! haha .... Haiyo .. tell you ah.. to book now for 2005 is not considered early liao .... MC is so hot that pple book well in advance, just like wat Jane said.
For me, i had booked in Sept 03 for my Dec 04 wedding.
However, i believe that the price is not out yet for 2005, so what you can do is that you can still call MC up and let them know that u r interested in their 2005 packages and ask them when the 2005 price packages will be out lor. Avvording to market rates, the wedding tables price will increase $20-$30 per table from the previous table rates lor. So, you can ask them the rate for 2004 and add another $20-$30 more to your 2005 wedding packages lor. This should be an estimated cost.

Jane,
Ya lor. till now, still cannot understand why they are so hot leh .... yap. ambience is good with the tall ceiling and spacious ballroom ... just hope the food is ok.

Btw, how long b4 ur wedding, did ur coordinator start to call u up?

Hi Meixia and Jane Tan,
Wow.....I didnt know MC really that hot...I thought orchard area is more hot than here.....Heehee......I would like to ask you for advise. If I had book for year 2005 but later due to perrsonal then delay to 2006 is it ok???
Cos my huddy and I want to be either june 2005 or june 2006. Why need to add another $20-$30 more. They got inculd what. Er.....I dont have their contact no. BTW find who is the best. My coordinator havnt call up but BS had book liao. BTW,I would like to know for prepare wedding, estimated cost is about how much in the dinne, PS, guo li.......etc
Sorry for asking too much of questions cos I now too excited liao Hee.....

Haha ... dun worry snow, i know exactly how u feel rite now cos i was just like you initially ... but my excitement die now liao ... haha ....

Ok, let me do my best to answer ur questions:
(1) If you had booked for 2005 but postponed to a later date, you will have to pay a penalty for it. dun know how many % of the total wedding dinner... SO ITS NOT WORTH IT! What i can advise u is that you and ur bf have to really sit down and discuss the date with both ur parents and agree on it THEN book the wedding date. Once confirmed the date, then book the hotel If not, the penalty charges are quite high. So, dun do this!

(2) The extra $$ is not anything extra .. but rather it is a "tradition" or the "market rate" that every hotel is doing. So, the increase. Get it? Every year, the price will be upped by $20 per table lor ...

(3) Will advise you to decide on the date 1st b4 calling MC up.

(4) Think for the wedding preparation and guo da li stuff, you can go to the other thread"Anything under the sun", and u will see the discussion topics there.Not quite appropriate for us to discuss these under this thread leh .... hehe Happy reading!

(5) Cost of the dinner will be known once u know the dinner price of the wedding package in 2005 lor.

Hope my comments are of help to you!

hi snow and meixia,

the coordinator only contacted me about 2 mths before wedding for food tasting... actually i was the one who called... their service really very slow... i called to check abt the food tasting and the invitation cards. Then they said they will check and call me back... but never loh... i have to keep chasing... i had 3 change of coordinators liao... the last one was Jean and i think so far she is good loh... more friendly and flexible though still not flexible compared to other hotels...

The banquet managers who are in charge of your wedding night are more professional and helpful than the coordinators. The one i had was really very responsible and helpful. His service is good and he is always around when you need him... never out of sight... he has good advice on how to decorate the ballroom too... you can ask him for opinions as he has been working there for many years and he saw all soughts of ambience with different flowers deco...

snow, like what meixia said, you will only know how much you need if you know the table cost and no. of tables. i had more than 40 tables but still managed to break even. Thanks to all my generous friends and family members who helped. : )

Enjoy your preparation. i advise you to place tentative bookings with MC now. (they allow 2 dates) and don't confirm or pay deposit first until you confirm the date... if not, there will be penalty. Not worth...

Now that there is Clarke Quay MRT right outside their door step, they are even more popular and inflexible.. so be quick... price may go up but once you have agreed on the old pricing, they will not change for you.

By the way, few of my friends from church told me recently that the dinner and ambience were great! They love the food and one of the couples actually told me that they tried so many wedding dinners at different hotels, MC stand out in the ambience, service and food. : )

Wah! Jane ... I'm relieved to hear of the good remarks from ur frens ... This proves that we have made the rite choice ... hehe

Har? U mean is not the wedding coordinators who call us up to follow up one ah? We still have to chase them ah??? Hai ... hope mine is not like tat .....
Yap. I agree that the banquet manager is good. I was helping my fren's wedding in Dec at MC for her and the banquet mgr was really never out of sight one lor. Quite impressed and relieved lor .... Hehe ... then i know that at least on my wedding nite, i can rest assured liao.

Jane, wat do u mean by we can ask the banquet mgr for advice on how to decorate the ballroom? Cos, i tot banquet mgr will only meet up with u only 2 weeks b4 the wedding? Then, in this case, how do we get the advice of the banquet mgr? It will be too late to get the advice liao ... isn't it?

Thank you in advance for all ur help hor ...

hi meixia,

yes, when you meet the banquet mgr 2 weeks before, that is when you tell them what theme you want ... birdcage, fountain, garden, etc... and what flowers you want for ballroom deco. if you have no preference, then they will give you white lilies which is their standard one...

the banquet mgr told me that he thinks sunflowers look the best. So far, only 1 couple tried that and he felt the whole place look so bright and cheerful. As i had my holy matrimony held there before dinner, i didn't want such bright theme, so had a pure, romantic and holy ambience which is the white lilies and fountain kissing doves on stage. : ) Looks great!