Melbourne anyone??

padme

This thread has been rather quiet forthe last few days...tot I'll just drop a post and start the posting rolling again.

My hubby and I are travelling together with his 2 female colleagues. Non of us drive although my huby and his friends have license. We are thinking of engaging a driver with a car to bring us around. Howeve, the tour companies that we have come across so far does not have a driver cum vehicle package.

If anyone knows of such 'lobang', please let us know.

cake

hi mrs quake

i don't have lobangs for drivers, but you can check out http://www.worldtourism.com.au/Victoria/melbourne/mustsee.htm

they do have a greeter service where they will bring u to places but by public transport

the public transport in Mel is quite ok and reliable.

actually, the best thing is to drive, the roads in Aus are very easy to navigate and drivers are generally quite patient. The only thing to take note in Mel cbd is the Hook Turn . You should rent from big reputable cars rentals such as Hertz and they can give you very good advise and provide you with a street directory.

Enjoy

pathfinder

hi Mrs Quake,

indeed it's been quiet.. I think you dun have to worry too much abt moving ard. i agree with sunnygirl..

In downtown Melbourne or even suburbs, trams + train will bring you to lotsa places.. U can buy the 1 day or 3 day tickets for unlimited use..

Out of Melbourne, you can take day tours to goto again lotsa attractions.. although it's more expensive & less flexible than self drive..

So i would recommend self drive outside Mel, & public tpt in downtown Mel. If you are concerned abt driving in Aust, outside Mel is quite straightforward, very little cars, so just go, stop, steer..

Maybe u can post your intended destinations, and everyone here can help you work out your tpt plan!

jackeann

I have 2 airtickets to melbourne, Maximum 6 month stays. Seats are subject to avaliability. Each ticket is worth $910.00 w/o airport taxes & fuel taxes on Qantas Airways. I am willing to let go at $800.00. Moreover, the vouchure is very flexible, if you don't wish to travel on QF, you can change to other Airlines or even other places. Won from a competition. Selling because, no plan to travel at the moment and vouchure must be use by 18th November 2004. Should you need futher information, please contact me at [email protected]

meagan

Hi all, I will be going to Australia and will be spending 2 days along the GOR. Any recommendations for accommodation?

kite~

Hi Megan,

I was in Melbourne Dec last yr. It would be best to hv at least 3days 2nites to spend along GOR. We stayed at Best western at Apollo Bay and best western at Warrnambool. Both motels.
The fish and chips are delicious at Apollo Bay.

lhuisian

I'm thinking of going to the factory outlets in Melbourne. I beleive there are a few (more than 2 factory outlets selling branded apparal at discounted prices)factory outlets ...

Can anyone advise me which one has more stuff and more worthwhile to go? Coz i only have half a day set aside for factory outlet shopping ...

ms_pink

I would like to go to australia for honeymoon in late oct for 2 weeks. Is it to early to start to plan now?

Want to go melbourne, sydney and tasmania. Is it very rush to go these 3 places in 2 weeks? How should I plan my trip? Like which places to go for how many days is more ideal?

And also what is the weather for these 3 places in late oct to early nov?

Lastly is $5,000 enough to cover just the airfares and accomodations for 2 person for 2 weeks?

shin_yan

Hi may lee,

There are two major factory outlets in Melbourne. Smith street has a lot of the factory oulets selling sports stuff like nike, adidas while chapel street sells women apparal like esprit. Since you have half day, you can only choose one street to go depending on which one you prefer. Just walk along the street and go into any shops which you like. Half a day should be sufficient for you to walk along the whole street. Bear in mind that the shops could close as early as 4.30pm depending on the season. Happy shopping!

worry

Hi Pink,

I'm intending to go Mel, Syd and Tas for my HM too, but in late Nov to early Dec, for about 16 days. I don't know what airline or wat accomodation that u want to stay. But i think 5k is a bit very tight. We had budgeted 8k, with 1.5k shopping and food money. if you spend to the minimal, then i think should be ok.

adele

hi hi everyone ...

i plan to go melbourne in sept after my boy turned one....

i intend to book the land packages which offer by best of australia
but should I book the air ticket now ? is it worth to buy now or later ?

somemore i intend to go another city-maybe sydney
is it better for me to book online their internal airline such as virgin blue, jetstar

please advise ...thanks

meagan

Hi Adele, I think it is best to book your air tix early so that you can choose the best timings. So you are flying to Sydney, coming back from Melb? Need to decide cos usually open jaw tix are more expensive.

You can book internal flights online but it will be in Aussie dollars so could be more expensive. Can check with the local agencies if they can help you book internal flights and compare if they are cheaper. I booked my internal flight from Syd to Taz with a local agency cos it's cheaper but since you are going during off-peak season, it may be cheaper to book online.

adele

hi meagan

thanks for ur advice...

have you been to mt buller ? the ski resort ?

actually which 2nd city you recommend to visit ?
sydney ? perth ? or carin

meagan

hi adele, no i din go to mt buller. I spent 2 days on the GOR, 2 days in the city and 1 day on the steam billy train tour (which I don't think it is very worth it.)

I haven't been to perth. Between cairns and sydney, i preferred cairns cos of the activities there eg whitewater rafting, hot air ballooning, skydiving and diving at the great barrier reef. Sydney is ok if you like cities and shopping. You can also take tours out of town to Hunter Valley, Blue mountains etc.

schnauzie

would it be v rushed if i do a 1 day city tour of sydney? include circular quay, darling harbour, paddy's , queen victoria buildingm pitt street mall?

if im goin to the factory outlet in melbourne..can i give birkenhead point a miss?

cake

hi schnauzie

1 day is enough to stop and see those places you mentioned..but i doubt you will enjoy it coz it will be rushed. Darling harbour etc..are really happening @ nite so you can cover paddys, queen vic and pitt in the day.

birkenhead and the factory outlets in melbourne r similar...so if u are rushed for time, i would go to the birkenhead one coz @ least the building is quite nice.

dancingqueen

Can anyone advise if I should travel to Melbourne in August? Will I freeze to death? I'm planning a honeymoon there. Will be doing a self-drive trip. How many days would be comfortable to cover the interesting places?

jewelmelody

Hi dancingqueen,

I'll been to Mel a couple of times so can give a little ideas...

August is around late winter and early spring hence the weather will be really cold and the day will be quite short and night is long...

I would think the best time to travel to Oz is from Sept to Feb. Sept to Nov is Spring and Dec to Feb is Summer.

The most interesting places you can covered are Sovereign Hill in Ballarat, Phillips Island, Great Ocean Road, Melbourne city, Yarra Valley for the grapevine yards, Dandenong for the Billy if you have the time.

But the Great Ocean Road is a nice place to see the magnificent ocean and the 12 apostles..

droopy_eyes

Hi Dancing Queen,
I was at Melbourne last August. Hee hee...won't freeze lah. It was raining on the last day when we were there, & the night temp even dropped till 4 degrees.

We spent abt 9 days driving from Sydney to Snowy Mountains, then to Melbourne. Abit rush actually. Was at Melbourne for abt 3 days, spent one day driving to & fro the Great Ocean Road & another day at Philips Island where u can visit the vineyards, farms & see the penguin parade. Last day shopped at Queen Victoria Market in the morning, the City at noon & at night before we boarded the plane, we visited the Casino. Siong right? If u want a more relaxed trip, you'll definitely need more days. Also, because it's winter, the sky will turn dark early. If I remember correctly, around 5 something.

dancingqueen

hi jewel & droopy,

thanks for your advice. my wedding is end july. i'm desperately looking for a honeymoon destination which we can travel to in a few days after the wedding but can't seem to find one. europe is summer so everything will be expensive while nz and oz is experiencing winter :S help!

jewelmelody

Hi dancing queen,you can still travel End-July to Melbourne but it will be cold however you can also take the opportunity to ski in Mt Buller. It is another kind of experience to visit Melbourne in winter. Euro is so high now EURO 1 = S$2.17 ! infact this is the right time to visit US as the rate is S$1.65. why don't u consider Korea? It is a nice country and somemore cheap package as well.

Japan and Korea in the Spring/summer in July.

droopy_eyes

agree with Jewel, if u are looking for a few days trip, why dun u take the opportunity to ski in Australia? Europe & US will need more time than that. Winter can be romantic too! We went up Snowy Mountains & had great fun building a snowman & engaging in snowball fights.

How abt Tasmania, heard it's beautiful!

dancingqueen

Hi Jewel and Droopy,

We were planning 7 days in Melbourne & 7 days in Tasmania but we want to make sure we know what we are getting ourselves into before reaching there :D

Actually, many people have suggested that that we visit US. I was even reading up on New England but the one season with fantastic views is fall but that's in Oct. Kinda late for our honeymoon.

Korea doesn't appeal to us although I love Korean dramas :p

schnauzie

Im visiting melbourne in end june, early july..is it gonna be real cold?

I'm driving to GOR too, wat to look out for ? Should I stay at Apollo bay or Port Campbell?

Is shoppin in melbourne good?

jewelmelody

Hi Schnauzie, I like your nick!!

You own a Schnauzer ?? I have a Miniature Schnauzer - black and silver and now 3 years old

I had not stayed put in any hotel along Great Ocean road. Me and fiance drive early morning from Melbourne leaving 6am to Port Campbell and back to Melbourne at 1 am..Wow really no joke the journey is very long. 4 hrs to and 4 hrs back but we travel in summer. Great Ocean road has winding road and 12 Apostles and the London Bridege. Actually I feel nothing to see just rocks but I do like the magnificent ocean!

I shop in Queen Victoria market and some shopping centres e.g Chadstone at the sub-urban.

meagan

hi schnazie, we decided to stay at apollo bay instead of Port Campbell as AB is nearer to Melb. I think you need to drive for a while more before reaching PC. Go go this site for info.
http://www.greatoceanroad.com.au/

We stayed at this place called 'Bed of Roses' a spacious, pretty cottage along Nelson Street.

Hey jewel, yah the drive is no joke. We din want to drive all the way back on the same day so we stayed a nite at AB. But this also means less time travelling in Melb itself.

schnauzie

Hi Jewel!
ya i got 2 schnauzer, the BS one is 2+ yrs old ;p
where did u stay in melbourne?

Meagan >> Bed of Roses looks nice in the website..is it realli so nice? how much did u pay?

schnauzie

hey jewel 5^!fella schnauzer lovers!

think i will either book it last minute when i reach aust or juzz go door to door to check when i reach melbourne haha

meagan

Hi schanuzie, yeah the oottage is really nice and spacious. I like the decor very much, sort of victorian style with a fireplace too. But the location is a bit off, so that's why it is quite cheap. We paid A$150 in Dec, which is during peak period.

If u have the budget, can consider seafarers
http://www.seafarers.com.au/ The pics look really good but too bad it was fully booked on the date we wanted.

schnauzie

Hi Meagan, the seafarers' out of my budget ;(
Anyone got any nice place to suggest at appollo bay at less than 100? say 80 to 100 per night?

ppgroom

me and my wife will be going Melbourne this week. Free and easy for 8D/7N

Just wondering if my own planned itinerary below is good?

Day 1: City shopping and visit Crown Casino at night

Day 2: Great Ocean Road (full day)

Day 3 (Sunday): Victoria Market and St Kilda beach

Day 4: Port Phillip Island or Dandenong (which one is better?)

Day 5: Shopping at Richmond and Smith Street, walk around city

Day 6: Sovereign Hill or Yarra Valley (again, which is better?)

Day 7: More shopping at Chapel Street and more city strolling

Day 8: Check out

any other great places to visit? seems like alot of shopping hor? my wife would be thrilled though, but my pocket won't!! HAHAHAHAHA

breaya

All parts of melbourne are great! so dun wori. I stayed at the Crown Hotel the other time. and the weather was fantastic. Realli luv it alot there and even contemplated living there. haha

professor

hi ppgroom,

i think now is cold session at MEL.so bring more jacket.

as for :
Day 2: Great Ocean Road (full day)
pls sleep well the night before.

Day 4: Port Phillip Island or Dandenong (which one is better?)

Go for Phillip island,but the penguins parade not really worth of money.

Day 6: Sovereign Hill or Yarra Valley (again, which is better?)

Yarra Valley is better,visit wine factory.

try to visit their morning market, can get a lot of cheap n fresh fruit .(carriebean market not bad if i not mistaken)

schnauzie

Hi PP, Im goin Melb this week too! Maybe we will be on same flight? heh..Havent book any accomm for melb and GOR yet...when Im back then will let u all know if I was ever stranded *fingers crossed*

iggy17

hey schnazie,

I am just back from Melb on 15 June spend 2.5 weeks there due to 1 week training in melb. been there for a week's training every month since chinese new year so i cld experience the changes in wat time the dusk falls. Back in Feb, at 7.30pm, it was still very bright. It's winter now so it gets completely dark at 5pm. Try to plan yr drives earlier and get to another town before dusk if not confident of driving in the dark. Dun wanna sound too scary but it still better to play safe.

Good to see so many people spending their honeymoon there. It was a great place! Nice historical biuldings, great shopping and makan places.

We spent 1day at Philip Island & 4D3N travelling back and forth GOR.

Caution: The winds along GOR was really very chilling, bring a windbreaker (thick padded one) along or a nice warm wool sweater. I was down with cold during part of the trip due to exposing to the wind and back in the warmth of e car the next moment. The scenery was so beautiful that we kept taking pics of the sea till my parents and frens ask why we did that. From the pics, cant really tell how nice the place is, so it wld be better if u can video it down...esp the great waves smashing against the rocks 8-10 storeys below the cliffs

Before embarking on GOR, we spent a day at Philips Island, visited Warrook Cattle farm. At Philip Island, we roamed Churchill's Island, Koala Santuary bfore settling down for the Cute Penguine parade. The little fairy penguines are so cuteee...
that we almost wanna sneaked 1 out in our backpack cos we were just a foot away from them as they waddled from the beach back to their nests under the viewing platform

Our self drive schedule:
Day 1: from Melb to Lorne, via Torquay the surf city. Check out the Surf City Plaza

Day 2: At Lorne, we stayed at Coachman Inn, little apartment with laundry facilities. Have a bite at the restaurant at the jetty, nice view and fresh seafood. The Eskine falls though a famous landmark but nothing much to see, Teddy's Lookout is fantastic!

Day 3: Apollo Bay We visited the Cape Otway Lighthouse, magnificent view! We stayed at apartments most of the time cos' we wanna cook. It costs abt AU95 fully equipped kitchen + jaccuzi bath!!! heehee..this was one of the best bargain we'hv got. We usully buy fresh seafood from the seafood center near the jetty or the supermart for dinner since there isn't much to do after it gts dark anyway ;)

Day 4: Port CampBell
Great place for windsurf and fishing. The apartments there are even better! Costs abt AU98, better condition than those at AB and Lorne.

Always look out for Information (the big letter i)when you drive into each town, there are enough info on accomodation, restaurants, tours information, dun really need to plan beforehand even. Very helpful guides and friendly people!

After that we flew over to Gold coast and visited the seaworld, dreamworld, movieworld, etc...weather was much wamer, I was faithfully eating an ice-cream everyday cos' it was so yummy. Even in Melb, the ice-creams were stll popular too...;) GC esp surfers paradise was great for shopping...hmm i wonder wat's the exchange rate now? It was so tempting to spend but abit heartpain when u look at the bills later...

Hope u have a great holiday!! rem to share yr pics!

kite~

i went melbourne n great ocean rd in dec 2003, it was fun n breathtaking driving along GOR.

Sad to hear that one of the 12 apostles has collasped and washed onto the rocks. Now left 8 poles. Tat time i saw is 9 in total.

schnauzie

just back from melbourne,
the sights realli beautiful but a pity i saw the 8 apostles as i went there 1 day after the 9th apostles crumbled.
philip island is beautiful..love the little penguins!!!

went mad shoppin in melb with the winter sale and all~

kite~

hi schnauzie,

Melbourne must be very cold now. what is the temp like? safe to drive along GOR during winter?

ruth2005

Hi, i'm going to Melbourne in early August, staying at city area. May I know where can I get lobang for clothings at reasonable price?

schnauzie

hi kite...its ard 11 degrees now..some days are comfortable but some days its just cooold. GOR n philip island is significantly colder so be prepared.

boazruth - i strongly recommend bridge street and chapel street shopping area. chapel street is called the shopping mecca of melbourne! cheaper than shopping in the city.. it's abt a 15 mins trams ride from city...grab a day ticket for zone 1 ;p

ruth2005

Oh Schnauzie, that's great info, thanks! I shall proceed to Chapel Street then and get the ticket needed.

By the way, anyone here knows any easy way to apply for visa? I actually got the ticket from SQ online and they don't help visa application for Indonesia. Called up the embassy but was told needed evidence of funds, employer ltr etc. How come so difficult?!?

mum2b

hi boazruth,
so u r indonesian? sorry i can't help, quite the opposite, i want to ask about how u plan ur trip coz i'm planning to visit melb on early nov, n i'm indonesian too. hope u don't mind

so when r u going, for how long n can share ur itinerary?
online ticket is so tempting to buy coz it's a lot cheaper, but i also worry about visa. i mean once we click confirmed, then our credit card is billed already. what if after that we can't get visa for any reason?

timminbuzz

Mum2B...
I just chanced upon this thread. You might want to visit this site: www.visitvictoria.com

They have lotsa info and even an online travel planner. Hope it's useful.

Nov's a great time to visit. It's spring! Best time to be in Melb. Of cos Melb's weather is a lil' erratic, so be prepared with warm clothings. Enjoy yourself!

elven_princess

I was in Melbourne with my bf in May to catch our fave band, Megadeth, Live in concert. we are die-hard fans & had backstage passes so we absolutely have to go. lol. I really like Melbourne, loads of nice food & shopping is way better than alot of otehr states in Aus. Will prob go back there next year or so.
Missed the penguins parade, though. I heard so much abt it!

ruth2005

Hi Mum2b, sorry for late reply as I just came back from Honeymoon Melbourne! I went for 7D5N only but enjoyed my trip really. Visa application is really headache for me as SQ doesn't do application for me. To make things worse, the embassy is the worst service provider I've met. Probably it's due to terrorism or it's their so called requirement, you really need to prepare a lot of stuff for visa. Take note there is no photocopying service provided at the embassy and the queue and security check is long and thorough. Hope I did not miss out any ... but good thing is approval is on the spot!

1. Completed appln
2. passport
3. photocopy of ic
4. photo
5. employment ltr stating your position, period of service, pay etc.
6. leave approval ltr and stating you will be resuming work after which.
7. Bank statement
8. $95 (if i'm not wrong)

I did all bookings online almost.

1. Flight - www.singaporeair.com.sg (SQ Flight)
2. Accommodation - www.qantasholidays.com.sg (5N at Duxton Hotel)
3. Airport transfers - www.skybus.com.au
4. Tour - www.aroundandabout.com.au (4 full day tour)

Total cost for 2 with all taxes, visa etc is around S$3100. That's definitely savings of $700 at least compared to booking with local tour agency!

Day 1 - Checked in at 1pm. Went Bridge road (Richmond) to shop but no cheap bargains really but's its cheaper compared to city.
Day 2 - Went 2pax tour to GOR and Oatfly walk. GOR is MAGNIFICENT! Oatfly walk is ok only but it feels good at 45m tower when the "wind" hit you real hard haha!
Day 3 - Grampians!! The waterfall is not bad but do check out the jaw of death and other top view!
Day 4 - Mt Buller. We were fortunate that it started to snow much the day before. The whole area is covered with snow like christmas time hee!
Day 5 - Philip island - The penguins are cute but not many. Only 20 over small cuties but you can really get close to them at the walkway back. I visited the maze (A$15 / pax) and wildlife park too. Got to check the kangaroos, they are much cute than penguins haha!
Day 6 - Victoria market - This is where you find almost the cheapest buy and souvenirs etc! They are closed around 2pm. So, visit early!

Hope this helps. . .