Melbourne anyone??

kite~

hi matka,

oic. hey u mean u visited NZ before rite? can i PM u abt NZ cos planning to go there for HM?

padme

Nanshee,

Like to check with you where you buy your domestic flight tickets from. It's a real bargain! I'm thinking of going to Melbourne and Gold Coast in June. Checked out the air tickets (International and domestic) and found that the domestic ticket is priced at $350! (horrors!)

Would appreciate it very much if you can give me your contact for the air tickets.

nanshee

tobebride
... total cost for day trip to Philips island and GOR is AUD$152.80 per pax with APT (luxury 5 star coach) .. upon arrival at the airport, do collect a A5 size booklet from the tourist information counter .. u will find some discount cupons that will be of use to u ..
we use that as APT has a 20% discount should we present it to them ..

definitely .. Country Road in Richmond is much much much cheaper than SG .. great for the man if they wear leather shoes as we bought 4 pairs of leather working shoes at AUD$69 per pair ... they having having 50% off from the already discounted price last week when we were there .. and i bought 2 pairs of loafer at AUD$49 per pair and leather belt at AUD$10 per piece, all full leather from Italy.

if u were to asked the victorians, Richmond will be the best place to shop compare to other shopping as u can find lots of great stuff at a low price .. many victorians love to shop there as there are more than a thousand shops ... from bridge street to church street to chapel street .. all shopping shopping shopping .. but warning .. they closed at 5pm .. so better start ur day early .. if not .. can't cover the area ..

melbourne is definitely a better shopping paradise than syd ... alot cheaper than syd .. i was staying at swisstotel in syd .. things are so ex over there .. i simply bought nothing even at their factory outlet .. their size are way too big ..

happy shopping

nanshee

hai ANdrea .. i stayed at unilodge at swantson ... can visit their website ... simply log into google search .. type in unilodge;accommodation and u will find it ..
write to them and they will be happy to serve u ...

nanshee

hello Mrs Quake ... do go to www.virginblue.com.au or www.quantas.com.au .. search for one way, fair price or hot deal package... their prices changes daily and best to book online as they are using ticketless service and they give discount if u book with them online ... normally during school hols or any public hols .. their prices will slash ..

mine is a V-day special .. currently .. to fly to gold coast from mel is at AUD$29 per pax ... that was the price when i was there last week ..

will be going gold coast in April .. will see if there's any promo then ..

melbz

Hi totebride,

Shopping... one of my fave topics! Not too sure on what sort of clothes you're looking for and the budget you have, so just give you an overview...

1. Chapel Street.
Basically you get stuff thats available in the city area plus more! You have the mainstream retail stores like De Cjuba, Kookai, Witchery, COuntry Road, Review and Satch. If you're looking for something different, there is Zimmerman, Scanlan & Theodore, Bracewell (stocks Sass and Bide too!), Rosemin, Fat (has stuff from Gorman). If you have time, do check out Greville Street, which is off Chapel street, and about 10mins walk from the main shopping area. Average price is in the AUD100-250 range.

2. Smith Street & Fitzroy Street (parallel to one another).
At one end there are the Nike, Adidas, etc warehouses/discount stores. There is a pretty good varierty of stores here, from op shops to stores that stock Kate Sylvester. Venus & Mars... one of my favourites.

3. Brands Smart on Maroondah Hwy.
A discount centre for international brands. There were some pretty good buys here. However, I personally feel that if you're looking for 'interesting' and different clothes, this isnt the place to go to. But of course, this is just my personal opinion.

4. Chadstone.
Dont think you should waste your time here. Everything here is available in the city (if that is where you'll be staying). Unless you have too much time to spare, dont bother.

5. Bridge Road @ Richmond.
As nanshee said. Its affordable and there's stuff for everyone.

QV building in the city just opened and it has some nice shops like Cactus Jam and Christensen Copenhagen on the ground level. Also, if you were to go to St. Kilda beach, pop by at the shopping area, near MacDonalds. There are heaps of cafes there and some shops there too!

Let me know if you need the exact address of any shop or if you need any other info!

angph38

cody,
need to check wif u, u mentioned u collected ur car (from Premier) at Melborune city office?

hubby called to ask, he said the lady (super unfriendly) said only Melbourne airport has office & no where else leh. somemore, gotta book 1 wk in advance?

cody

hello angelia, no ... i collected it fr the airport.

yah, the people at premier are quite unfriendly, but what to do? they are the cheapest!

if you want to collect it in town, try Budget (www.budget.com.au). THey have regular internet offers that are quite good.

yah, must book in advance.

oraia

hihi all,

am thinking of taking a short holi in melb this apr. love the city! does any one have any lobang for cheap airfares and also, any accomodation in melb city? (the last time i stayed at victoria hotel which is ok, but not tt cheap)

hi tobebride,

sydney fish market is a must!!!!
if u love sashimi esp... and seafood. yum yum yum yum!!!
i went last year and till now am still thinking of the yummy food there!

nanshee

hai gals .. anyone familiar with gold coast .. I need to accoomodation near royal pines resort for my course this april .. any info?? thanks a zillion!

oraia .. u mind unilodge apratment?? quite affordable if more than 2 persons .. very centralized ..

oraia

hi nanshee,

do u mean there's a unilodge apt in melbourne too? i thought that was in sydney?

do u know the rates? shall go check it out.. thanks!

nanshee

yeap .. oraia .. there's one in Mel opp RMIT at Mel Central .. i stayed there just a week ago .. 2 bed room apartment .. is AUD 165 nett for night ... go check its website .. go into google search .. type in unilodge; accommodation and u are direct to its website

sunlover

CB is offering 4 nights free and easy package to Melbourne at 1058 per pax, excluding taxes. You can choose either Duxton or Ramada and includes daily breakfasts, airport transfers and return airfare by Qf/BA. For Westin Melbourne, it is priced at 1258 excluding taxes.

You can call up Tevin at 62129959. Pls note i do not gain anything from it. Just sharing info and was a customer of Tevin. Found him qte a reliable and efficient tour consultant.

hoshi5

Hi Jo,

Thanks for ur info. It's really useful.
Can I check with u whether there is any expiry date to this offer? meaning, when is the latest we can book to enjoy this offer? I'm planning to go in June....
Also, any idea how much is the taxes?

sunlover

hi hoshi,

The above mentioned offers are valid only till 25th Mar.
for june trip, i think you can look out for the promotions during the Natas travel fair from 19th Mar-21st Mar.

HTH,
sunlover

hoshi5

Hi jo,

wat if we want to rent a car?.... how long shld we take? is it advisable?.. since it's only 4N stay... We feel like renting car to GOR,to save time lah... shld we take 2 days or what?
Also, if we go in June, will it be very difficult to drive coz winter...
Pls advise...

cake

Melbourne is really easy to navigate....I always feel it is better to buy air ticket and book hotel through the internet..much cheaper than F & E packages. You can check out www.needitnow.com.au for last min deals on hotels.....quite cheap even for 5* hotels

oraia

hi sunnygirl,

thanks for the website, will check it out!

do u know which online website is good for air tics?

cake

hey oraia

for air tickets...I think airfares.com.sg usually has good prices...but if you have lots of time..i suggest going to individual airlines to check..such as qantas.com.sg .The are having a deal to go Melbourne at $608

pretty cheap...but it is excluding tax and fees....so....to include that...maybe more worth to book through agency.

when are u going to melbourne? I will be going too in late April.

oraia

hi sunnygirl,

thanks! i think i checked airfares.com.sg recently, the prices were not v cheap... is quantas having a deal at 608? that's not bad! i was quoted 680 before taxes at a travel agency.
am wondering if the natas fair will offer good airtics prices... or good value F&E prices.

we're thinking of gg melb in late april as well!
are u gg for the natas fair?

oh, and another qn, the www.needitnow.com.au has dates that are only 2 weeks fr now... so does that mean we can only get to book the hotels when we are almost leaving if we want to book it thru' that website? the rates are excellent!

cake

hi oraia

i plan to wait till natas to see if can get better tickets too.
needitnow.com is a portal for booking last min hotels...so only for 2 weeks...but u don have to worry...they always have rooms and u can stay in a nice 5 star hotel for half the price...i think it is quite worth it. Only problem is transfers from airport. but u can take the airport shuttle for $22 return...right to your hotel

oraia

hi sunnygirl,

great! thanks! i've been to melbourne before 2 yrs ago, and i love the place so much.

but this needitnow.com is new to me and i'm quite excited abt the prices!!
transfers are not a problem... we're planning to take the airport shuttle anyway if we do "ala carte" bookings for airfare and accomo.. hehe.

will u be staying in melb city the whole time u are there? or will u be gg to other places? the last time i went to mornington peninsula.. beautiful!

tobebride

May I know how many airports each are there in Sydney and Melbourne? What is the name of the airport that SIA flies to? Does Virgin Blues flies to the same airport?

kite~

hi tobebride,

Qantas n SIA flies from Melbourne airport. the one at tullamarine.

his airport is very busy with 2 terminal, with 1 serving domestic (virgin blue)n the other serving internationally.

It also serves car rental companies. that time we self drive and returned our car at the airport.

angph38

juz back from Melbourne, stayed at City Square Motel along Swanston St, which is opp Westin Hotel!!

reasonable room (we booked a triple and was given a quad room so i suspect they dun really hv "triple" share room
) with shower & small kitchenette (toaster, microwave oven, boiler, coffee + tea, complimentary bread, wif jam & butter of cos, for breakfast) for $115.

it's juz abt 5 mins walk from Flinders Station.

bookworm

Need some help from u.
I was thinking of going to Melbourne for a trip during my honeymoon but we have got many friends staying there, anyone know just where to buy CHEAP TICKETS for 2?? its free and easy , no neen any accomadations.

oraia

has anyone been to geelong or bellarine peninsula region? anything exciting there to see?

will be stopping by there for about 2 days...

soap

I am going 2 melbourne for my honeymoon in July. Nd 2 check the following :-
(this is my 1st time 2 melbourne so dunno if it is easy to get around).

1) Which hotel is better (City Sqaure Motel or Victoria Hotel)
2) Is there any website offering cheap airtickets?
3) If I want to go to Great Ocean route, Philip Island & Grampians, shd I stay overnight at these places or a day trip would be sufficient?
Anyone noe how much is the packages prices there?
4) How do I get to the hotel from the airport? Do I take a shuttle bus, trains or taxi?

oraia

hi soap,

i stayed at victoria hotel the last time. it's not bad... quite clean and basic. but the location's really good. within walking distance to all the exciting shops.

there's an airport shuttle. i think it's 24 hrs. (not sure, can chk it out) but it's quite prompt and rather cheap...

tobebride

any recommendation on Melbourne River Cruises? Is it worth going? How much is it? Where can booking be done?

Also what about the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne?

muffins

me juz came back frm melbourne yesterday.

juz wanna say a big thank u to everyone here who had post their experiences here.

Me and hubby had a WONDERFUL!! WONDERFUL!!time in melbourne (esp the drive along the Great Ocean Road)and wld like to share our experiences wif everyone esp to those who r planning to go.

We spent 3Dys and 2 nights (self drive) travelling from mel city to Geelong, Torquay, Lorne, Apollo Bay, Cape Otway, Princetown, Port Campbell National park, Warnamball and Grampians back to mel thru the Western Highway. Its pretty cold now along the Great Ocean Road. So for those who r going now, do bring winter wear with you.

We got the car from Delta Europecar Rental(very established in Austrialia). Its slightly cheaper than car rental companies like Hertz. For those who happen to take Virgin Blue (thier domestic airline) from other parts of Aust to Mel, Delta Europecar is having some discout for Virgin Blue passengers.

3Days 2 nights is the minimum number of days required for the above drive. The drive from Lorne to Apollo Bay is the most scenic (wif mountain on one side and the LOVELY sea on the other). However, the road along this stretch is the most winding/bending. so the driver has to watch the road quite carefully.

We stayed at Victoria Hotel in mel city. Rooms are clean and simple. But the location is superberb coz its right smack in Little Colins Street (the place for shopping) and very near to other shops like Burke Street Mall and the tram stations.

We went to St Kilda (South of Mel City across the Yarra River)on Sunday. Ackland Street at St Kilda's very good for their cakes and the Art and Craft market is only opened on Sundays. The Luna Park which is an amusement park (a landmark) is also at St Kilda. There's so much good food, coffee, cakes and pubs at St Kilda.

Chapel street at the prahan area is where the high end shops are located. din buy things here juz did window shopping. Chapel st is a very long st, so can walk till u drop.

Richmond (on the East of mel City) has some shops there at warehouse prices. But, I personally feel that the stuff there are still quite ex after the discounts. shopping at Richmond area is along Bridge road and Swan st. do try the vietnam resturants along Victoria St.

Do feel free to post any queries. i'm most happy to share my experiences..

kite~

hi nicole,

glad u enjoyed ur melbourne trip! me really miss the place.

U did e right thing by spending 3D2N self drive along GOR. we oso did that too but too bad we didnt managed to cover Grampians cos lack of time. We stayed at Apollo bay and warnnambool. Where did u stay along e GOR?

so i guess u must hv visited alot of waterfalls n went to some lookout point? we went to 3 waterfalls at lorne n some lookout point along GOR n apollo bay, very nice.

kite~

the above pic is taken at Marriners Lookout (Panoramic views of Apollo Bay and its surrounding coast). FH and I climbed up to the top of the hill, very breathtaking!

bookworm

Hi nicole,

i am also planning to go melborne with my hubby in june, we are looking at the air tickets right now.can u share where u bought ur air tickets? also , urs is free and easy? u mean u booked the car prior before through internet?

we were late for the promtion by chanbrothers so the air ticket to melbourne cost us $840 right now without the tax...sigh...
any one has got any idea where i can purchse the air tickets now

tobebride

Hi nicole,

may I know how much did you pay for your stay at Victoria Hotel per night? Where did you do the booking?

bread

tobebride, victoria hotel having promotion, A$99/nite including taxes... u can book directly @ ww.victoriahotel.com.au....

bookworm, i paying $1189 for Sin/Mel/Brisbane/Sin include both Sin & Aus taxes....

oraia

bookworm,

quantas/ BA is having a promo now to melbourne. i believe the air tics are gg at about $580 before taxes (which are about $120). you may wish to consider.

muffins

Hi Kite

We stayed at Apollo Bay and Warnnambol too.
We left Warnnambol at abt 6.30am on the third day and cheong all the way to Grampians. Managed to reach Grapiams at around 9.30am.

no lah.. din really visit much water falls. only went to Erskine falls at Lorne and Mackenzie falls at Grampians.

only spent the morning at Grampians coz we have to hit backto mel by 6pm (b/4 the sky gets dark).

Sigh.. our oni regrets is dat we din have enuf time for mel city like Colins and Little Colins St.

Hi bookworm

u going in June? its going to be cold and windy.. muz bring winter clothes.

Yup.. ours was free and easy. We booked our SIA tickets through tradewinds. Costs S$950 before tax coz ours was open jaw tickets. (Singapore to Brisbane and Mel to Singapore). Which airline are u flying?

Yep.. we booked the car thru the net b/4 we flew to Aust. oh ya, do book at least a 2 litre car coz : -

1)u wil find that the car is more stable when u travel at speeds like 120km/hr.

2)some parts of the Great Ocean Roads are quite steep. so it helps if the car is more powerful.

Hi tobebride

We booked the hotel thru the net. tink its abt AUD$110 per day. but the rate varies depending whether it is weekday, weekends or their peak seasons. u can go to any search engines and type in Victoria Hotel melbourne. Most wil bring u to this site called HotelClub and u can book thru HotelClub. dun worie, its quite safe booking thru HotelClub on the net.

nnchander

Hi Nicole,
Glad to hear of your trip to Melb! Was there about three weeks' back for business, and am looking forward to another one in June with friends and family!

we are planning to visit syd and melb, and therefore will need to buy the open-jaw tickets. They have a promo now which is good for us. Would like to check with you if the inter-state flight was expensive? Did you make your purchase in Singapore first, or did you arrange for that in Aus? Also, do you think it's possible for the local tour agent to arrange an interstate flight for us -- perhaps another SQ flight in transit? I'm hoping to eliminate the hassle of making travel arrangements there...

One other question ... which car company did you hire from? is it costly now?

Sorry to inundate you with questions... just trying to make early plans

Thanx in advance for your help!

@ndrea

muffins

Hi Andrea

the interstate flight from Brisbane to Mel was AUD119 (excluding taxes, etc). We booked thru the internet before we flew to Aus.

I tink u cld prob get an interstate flight in Sydney. But i'm nt too whether it wil b cheaper to get it thru the net or in Sydney.

eh.. what do u mean by SQ flight in transit?

I got my car thru Delta Europcar. Its slightly cheaper compared to the other big boys like Hertz.