Melbourne anyone??

bookworm

Hi nicole and gals,

I have yet to decide which airline, as mine will be free and easy, we decide to go for the cheapest airfare..any recommendations?
will check out quantas

any idea? whats more june is holiday season..urgg, air ticket will be very expen.

kite~

hi nicole,

oic. at least u hv time to go grampians. for us, last day was at warnnambool, so we left at 9am to cheong and drove back to airport. really miss melbourne, hope can go bk again.

oraia

hi bookworm,

oh dear.. really? so fast? i thought i was looking at the ads on the travel agency near my office last wed, and it was still valid!

try emirates... they have pretty good rates sometimes.

angph38

<font color="aa00aa">tobebride,</font>
oops, did i reply u via email??

anyway, City Square Motel website is as follows :
http://www.citysquaremotel.com.au

<font color="aa00aa">kite,</font>
hey, we went up there too
really breathtaking!!!! &amp; it's not too long a hike.. abt 10~15 minutes of slow climb

oraia

hi nicole,

do you have the website from which you booked your rental car (delta)?

hoping to do all my bookings before we fly off this sunday...

bookworm

HI
u gals know the website for emiartes...need to settle the tickets before i start asking for advices in melbourne.

padme

I bought open jaw tickets by emirates too at the Natas fair. Cost only $555 excluding tax. With tax only $670+. My itinerary is Sin/Mel/Bne/Sin. Can try calling Anglo french at 62224222 and ask for leisure dept.

gakusei

I am planning for a free &amp; easy trip too. I was wondering whether to book my accomodation via on-line in Singapore first or should I go over there then do the booking since I will be moving around and everyday's accomodation places will be different. Any advise?

My schedule will be very tight, is 2 days enough for GOR? What is the average driving speed in Australia? IS it difficult to drive along GOR?

oraia

hi gakusei,

i think you should try and book in sg first, rather than have to keep thinking about how u are gg to settle ur accomodation when u are there.
i was quite surprised to find out that some of the nice B&amp;Bs were fully booked when i called them.

btw, if you want good deals on hotels, u can check out this website: www.wotif.com.au. they only allow bookings 2 wks in advance tho'. hope tt helps!

gakusei

Hi Oraia,

BTW, do we need to make payment upon booking on-line? Will it be safe to do on-line booking?

Wow.....so fast fully booked? Think I need to act fast.

oraia

hi gakusei,

eh... for wotif yes, they will charge it to ur credit card. quite safe i think, cos they have secured payment scheme.

for some of the other motels/ B&amp;Bs, if you book with them directly, they will tell you their websites are not secured, then it's probably safer to call them direct, or fax them a reservation form.

no lah.. most of the accomo still have vacancies... only some are booked. when are u gg for ur trip?

pathfinder

hi bookworm, mrs quake,

emirates reaches mel at 12 midnight or thereabouts right? were there a lot of probs for u? like having to pay extra night &amp; finding ur way to hotel etc..

i thought malaysian airlines would be better? got to transit, but reach there 6+.. &amp; cheaper lagi..

padme

hi pathfinder,

Yes, emirates reaches Mel in the middle of the nite but transport to the hotel should not be a problem. There's always the sky bus if you are not taking the cab.

If you calculate properly, you'll realise that an extra nite at some of the hotels and apartment will cost you much less than paying for a ticket on other airlines such as SQ or Quantas.

I'm not keen on MH cos it stops over at KL before leaving for Mel. I beleive there's a transit time of 2 hours in KL. This will stretch the travelling time.

pathfinder

hi mrs quake,

thanks for pointing out the $ diff! it din occur to me before that.. me so lugi.. cheers!

so how was your trip? or u have not set off yet?

pathfinder

can i hear your comments about grampians? am deciding whether to go up from GOR, cos the dist fr gor &amp; then back to mel is quite far yah? (can almost reach penang liao, and heard the roads are quite difficult yah).. cheers!

padme

Hi Pathfinder,

I haven't set off yet. Will leave at the end of May. But I only have 5 days in Mel. Purpose is more to visit hubby's childhood friends there. I'll go to Gold Caost for 3 days after that followed by other areas in Queensland.

When are you setting off? Or have you come back? According to what I know, you have to get off the plane at KL airport and board another plane at a different gate to get to Mel. Total travelling tim to Mel should be 10-10.5 hours. (1/2 hr to KL airport, 2 hour transit, 7.5 hours to Mel)

pathfinder

hi Mrs Quake,

hmm seems like everyone has deserted this thread huh..

i'm leaving this weekend. Anything you would like to check out? Will keep you posted of my findings when i get back.. cheers!

camelot

Hi nicole (muffins),

Going to Melbourne coming weekend as part of work. Just got my flat and thinking of getting nice victorian-style accessories and furnishings.

Wondering if you know places in Melbourne where i can get nice victorian/english "portable" finishings which I can lug back home?

padme

Hello Pathfinder,

Enjoy your trip there!

If you are visiting Victoria Market, Yarra Valley, Healsville Sanctuary and Philip Island, do come back here to post your reviews about these places. As my trip to Melbourne is really short, I need to make the most of it!

muffins

Hmm.. i seriously hv no idea..

but u can try asking the people at the tourist info centre at Federation Square near Flinders Street station. they'r v helful.

bookworm

still waiting for my hubby to confirm his leave..anymore recommendations to buy cheap tickets..heehee..after the tickets, must ask all the shi fu to brief me where to go liao..haha

BTw, do they have bath and body works , victoria secrets in melbourne? what brand of is worth to buy there. the last time i heard, abt sydney espirit bags are real cheap and i actually came back without buying anything....sad!

kite~

hi bookworm,

nope melbourne does not carry Bath and body works. But i do have some bath n body works creamy body wash n lotions from usa.
smells heavenly,

When i was in melbourne, i bought Jurlique rose hand cream, very good for dry skin.
costs AU$19 for a tube.

they do hv jurlique, aesop, n other brands. Not sure Perfect Potion is avail. there anot.

riushiki

I'm also thinking of a free and easy trip to Melbourne for my honeymoon :p
What will the temperature like in October ?

oraia

just came back fr melb last nite!!

tobebride~ try www.wotif.com.au. it's cheaper. safe, reliable. just rem to print out ur email confirmation slips and bring them along on ur trips... cos one of my bookings at darling towers didn't get keyed in due to some system error. luckily i brought along the confirmation slip! *phew* but overall, it's a good website, cheaper than needitnow.com

sheridan sheets are slightly cheaper i think. sometimes they have sales in either david jones/ myers, which is quite worth it.

for those gg to mornington peninsula, i highly highly recommend this place called the Beachside B&amp;B.fantastic B&amp;B!!! the lady, kathy is sooooo nice...

oraia

hi tobebride,

darling towers is right smack in the middle of the city along collins street. opp there's kookai, ninewest, hugo boss... etc.

v convenient, can walk to flinders st. station, crown, and all the shopping areas in town (except chapel st.)

room is clean, w full kitchen. not bad.
(i booked the 1-bedroom apt).

mail_lum

hi, i'm thinking of going to melbourne in mid or end June for 1 week... anyone knows how the weather will be? will it be too cold for sightseeing?

mail_lum

hi bookworm,

nope... not yet. still deciding if we should go because if it's too cold, then can't do much sightseeing or shopping

when do you intend to go?

sunlover

Im thinking of going there in july with my friends too. most prob will get the Qantas air ticket at 650 per person, excluding taxes

mail_lum

hi.... i'm thinking of going of going in the 3rd week too during the school hols.

sunlover, thanks... i'll look up on the Qantas tickets too

pathfinder

hi Mrs Quake,

i think the collective reviews of everyone here would help u better

let me start the ball rolling by giving my 2 cents.. the rest, pls feel free to comment!

Victoria Market: So-so.. Like our mkt here but in ang moh setting so a different experience.. Good coffee as well..

Yarra Valley: Good if you are into wine &amp; scenery.. i went to Chandon: good tour, view &amp; wine tasting.. din goto Healesville Sanctuary cos of rain..

Philip Island: Went to see penguins come home, interesting (Penguin Parade).. got seals also..

I would also recommend these:

Great Ocean Rd: the stretch from Torquay to Port Campbell..

Grampians: just goto the various lookouts to save time..

As for accom i chose recommended B&amp;Bs &amp; indeed they were great! If you are interested i will post them for u to consider.. cheers!

melken

Hi Mrs Quake,

I was at melbourne last Nov.

First stop was a short tour of the Melbourne Aquarium, after that, on the way to/fro Philip Island, visited the Lavendar farm, winery, Strawberry Park. I personally find the trip to Great Ocean Road most memorable, though it takes an entire day to finished the 3 sites at G.O.R.

Just my 2 cents....

padme

Hi Pathfinder!

I hope you enjoyed your trip! And thanks for the reviews too! I can't wait to board the plane to Melbourne now. Counting down to 29 May!

Melken,

How long did you take to finish touring the Melbourne aquarium? My hubby is crazy about aquariums and wants to visit. But we are so strap for time and just want to visit if it's really worth it.

pathfinder

hi Mrs Quake,

the day is getting shorter already. When i came back, dawn was 6.30am and dusk 5.30 pm. Less natural attractions, most places open 10am to 5pm. fyi in your planning.. cheers!

melken

Hi Mrs Quake,

The Aquarium tour is about an hour or two.
Personally, I don't really find it really fanastic and definitely not a "must-go".

It has a underwater world, kinda like Sentosa's, except bigger and nicer.

Enjoy your Melbourne trip. Don't forget to take lots of Photos....

sharetoo

fyi Melbourne tic only $600 (4 to go)

Greetings from Singapore Airlines!

We have made it easy to choose the best value flights to popular destinations. Convenient flights when you want to fly. Excellent inflight cuisine and relaxed comfort. En route, you can enjoy KrisWorld, your personal inflight entertainment system, and of course, the inflight service even other airlines talk about.

Destination
Airfare Only

Per Person

Bangkok (SQ880 only#) S$168

Jakarta (SQ168 only#) S$168

Bangkok (all other flights) S$198

Jakarta (all other flights) S$198

Surabaya S$198

Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Guangzhou S$368

Perth S$500

Brisbane S$600

Sydney*, Melbourne*, Adelaide* S$600

Auckland, Christchurch S$900

The promotion ends 20 May 2004. Click here to book now! http://www.singaporeair.com/saa/app/saa?hidHeaderAction=onHeaderMenuClick&amp;hidTopicArea=SGPromoFare&amp;currentSite=sg

(No service fee when you book online.)

Yours sincerely,
Singapore Airlines

Terms and Conditions

# "Supper Specials" flights - SQ880 departs Singapore for Bangkok at 10.55pm. SQ168 departs Singapore for Jakarta at 9.15pm.

1. Prices shown are per person, on Economy Class.

2. Minimum of 2 passengers travelling together out of and back to Singapore, except minimum of 4 passengers for those destinations marked with an asterisk (*).

3.Travel out of Singapore by 25 May 2004.
4. Tickets must be purchased by 20 May 2004 or at least 5 days before departure from Singapore, whichever is earlier.

5. Tickets are non-refundable, and change of flight or date is not permitted.

6. Tickets are not eligible for mileage accrual or for use in conjunction with upgrade awards, and are not endorsable.

7. All fares shown exclude service fees, airport taxes and insurance charges.
8. Subject to seat availability.
9. Other terms and conditions apply.

Received this email from a friend? If you would like to join our mailing list, click here.

Privacy Policy

Visit us at www.singaporeair.com.sg © Singapore Airlines - All Rights Reserved

padme

Hi Pathfinder,

Thanks for the info! You mentioned that many attractions close at 5pm. I hope that doesn't include the Crown Casino/ Entertainment! Cos we plan to visit that at night!

I suppose the night spots and restaurants will still be open after 5pm right?

Melken,

Thanks for your review of the aquarium. I'll let my hubby know and most likely, 'll persuade him to give it a miss. Afterall, we are going to Brisbane and Sunshine Coast. There'll be bigger zoo and aquariums ther! Oh yes, did you go to Healsville Sanctuary at Yarra Glen?

oraia

hi mrs quake,

crown casino opens 24 hrs.
no worries. when u are at crown, be sure to check out cafe gecko's cakes and hot chocolate!!! *YUM*

kite~

Hi Mrs Quake,

I went to crown casino/entertainment at around 7pm, stil very lively n opened up to at nite, we stayed there for dinner n left at 9pm. Very crowded cos lot of pubs over there. We hv dinner at e buffet, find it so=so not worth. each person almost AU$20.

I also went to Healsville Sanctuary. All the wild animals are there, very cute. but e place like Zoo. nothing much except see animals. we allow to touch kangeroo. so cute. koala bears cant be touched, it's protected.

melken

Hi Mrs Quake,

You are right, you should probably give Melbourne Aquarium a miss.

Didn't get to go to Healsville Sanctuary, but managed to carry and take pictures with the Koalas and Kangeroos in Goldcoast Dreamworld.

Crown Casino is quite Grand, should drop by if you have the time. Can try the 2 cents Jackpot machine if you aren't a big gambler.