Melbourne anyone??

mum2b

timminbuzz,
thanks for the link. will open it at home

boazruth2005,
thanks for the sharing, n congrats on your wedding n an ejoyable honeymoon! Actually I also forgotten about this thread n my posting since so many things happening at work now. So it's ok, your sharing is not too late after all!

So, did u book the ticket first ( n SIA charged your credit card on the spot), then proceed to apply for the visa? where do I get the form, is it available online?
wah, so many requirements ya.. actually i'm planning to resign from work next month then go enjoy myself in melbourne. how? is it ok if my hubby still works but i'm not?
also on the bank statement, may i know how much are they (ppl in oz embassy) expecting to see? I mean, we do not put all of eggs in one basket (like the financial planner always says
, so saving acc is not so impressive. wondering if they will reject our visa appl. coz not enough money in the bank?

ruth2005

Hi Mum2B, yes, I booked the ticket online first and SIA charged credit card on the spot. Thereafter, I applied visa by downloading the form first at www.australia.org.sg ... erm, there's no specific or clear guidelines given also but we didn't show them much too. (bank ac of visa applicant only) I think it should be less troublesome for you since you are resigning and thus need not those employer details, leave approval etc. Do bring along the passport of the person going with you, in your case, hubby hee!

mum2b

you mean, if my hubby and I want to apply visa, only one of us need to go to apply it personally? oh, i thought both of us need to go apply personally.
And when did you book all other things (accomodation, tour, airport transfer), is it after you got visa or before?
Sorry so many question to ask, hope u don't mind

i've been to sydney, brisbane and gold coast but not to melbourne. and it was 8 years ago.. hehe

mum2b

If i could apply on behalf of my hubby, does he still need to fill out separate appl form, and provide his employer's letter, leave letter and all the documents you mentioned?

ruth2005

Erm, u mean yourself and husband is both indonesians?? For me, only one of us is. I believe both of you will need to make a visit there. Actually, after I sourced for the accommodation and tour, I simply wait for the air ticket promotion to come soon and it did!! But now, its even cheaper!!

mum2b

yup, both of us are indonesians.
How did u book for the local tour? I don't see any online booking facility in the web www.aroundandabout.com.au
sorry kaypoh, so $3100 is incl all expenses incl all meals, transportations, etc?
may i know how much was your air ticket + taxes?

ruth2005

No worries! The tour was booked thru email exchanges and you can really trust his service, simply wonderful! The tour operator is registered and is one of the very few that is family owned. Thus, service is more personalised. If you like a 2-pax tour (or less than 11 pax), you can really engage him.

No, it's not including meals. $3100+ is for items 1 - 4 in my earlier posting. My airfare is $1444 in total for 2 pax, including taxes. (SQ $498 promotion). Now is $468 liao.

joyful_kiki

Hello! I was wondering if anybody is going to Melb during Nov/Dec. I'll be going to Melb on 6/12. Actually, flying to brisbane on 26/11 also. melb will be free and easy for 5 days.. wondering if anybody got any expertise to share.. i wanna go mornington peninsula.. has anybody been there before?

oraia

hi little twinstars,

mornington peninsula is a lovely lovely place
very quaint little town, very nice to spend a couple of days there.

might be a little hot in dec tho.

worry

Hi little twin stars,

I'll be going to Melb in Nov/Dec too. Will only travel Melb. flying on 26 Nov too. which airline did u take? scully we are taking the same plane?

I am planning to go mornington peninsula too. went to natas fair australian booth and ask the australians how is the weather there. their advise is to bring a wind breaker when we are there cos it can be quite cooling sometimes... that period of time is still not that hot. it is when starting end of dec then start to get hotter and hotter.

worry

Hmmm.. I think now is Spring till Nov right? I also heard in one day, the temperature could even range from Winter to Summer. Very unpredictable.

joyful_kiki

Hi S!

What a coincidance! I'm flying on 26/11 to brisbane first to visit my sister. I'll only be flying to melb on 6/12 via virginblue. I have package tour to great ocean road and penguin parade, but the rest must plan myself.. so thinking of going to mornington peninsula.. are u going there too? I also booked in the natas fair! how long are u going to stay in mornington? i plan to stay only one night there.. plan to drive to MP frm melb at 11am, and leave MP the next day at around 3.30pm.. u think enough time? wat do u plan to do there? swim w the dolphins? Eh, did u manage to get coby's intinery?

Hi Oraia,
thanks for the feedback!

totodilez

Melbourne is very different from brisbane..
Melbourne can be quite cold and windy at night. If u are the type that are afraid of cold..do bring something thick...believe it or not..i use gloves the other time..haha
Hope this info helps.

worry

Hi Grace,

You mean it is still very cold and Windy during the Nov/Dec period? got colder than 16 deg aircon temp? I think i'll bring thicker clothings safer.

Hi little_twin_star,

So in a way we won't be in the same flight arleady. U go bris first while i go Melb first. Virginblue is part of Qantas one is it? I am going Monington Peninsula too. Sorry i cannot help you whether will take how long to reach there cos we are planning to take day tours over there for MP. See wat package they have lor. I didn't book at the NATAS. Went to find info there instead. The flight I book online and accomodation i book via email. Actually i have went to Melb b4, so went to Great Ocean Rd and Philip Island (Penguin Parade) b4. I feel both of these two places are much colder than in the city. So do bring warm clothings. GOR has got a spectacular view and Penguins are cute at the parade..... hmmm...... pai say... wat is COBY? hehehhee.....

joyful_kiki

OH, coby is a person on this forum who has very good plans for melbourne.. but dunno where she disappeared to already.

Oh, so this is ur second time round to melb, so more experienced, v good..

worry

Hi little twin star,

Oh coby is a person in this forum ah.. i dun have her itenery. u have it? Maybe she just got married already then dun come here anymore? :p

although is my 2nd time, i am not more experienced. I remember some of the streets there but i forgot where is it already. When i am there i'll be a new tourist in MElb as well. hehe.. i'm not good with roads. I like melb very much so i dun mind to revisit again.

worry

i'll be going for 10 days only. i haven't really plan for the days yet. but should be going for day tours for few days and going outskirts for shopping and 1-2 days shopping in the city.

nyleda

hi hi...

anyone can recommend budget hotels in melbourne ? in terms of location, quality
don mind-B&B, hostels or apartment.

coz on budget tour ...

nyleda

spingtan

Hi, anyone been to Melbourne in Aug? can advise on the weather? As its winter, will it be too foggy/ rainy to go to GOR?

tulipblue

hi springtan,
Melbourne in August will be cold but i think a windbreaker is enough coz thats when winter is starting to end soon...winter in Melbourne is seldom rainy or foggy but rather windy so the weather will be just fine to go to GOR..in fact when i was there in early August 2 yrs back the weather was fantastic..blue skies and hardly any clouds @ GOR..

mngo

hi springtan
i suggest you check out the climate before you leave cos i've frens staying in melbourne and they experience 0 degrees during winter. nowadays the climate a bit funny, and also the season starts later now. so aug may or may not be end winter... really depends.

mew

hi hi..

I'll be goin to melb end of this month.. F&E..
Anyone just came back, how's the weather there now?

We are planning to drive ourself from melbourne -> apollo Bay -> port campbell -> Grampian -> Ballarat -> melbourne..

have anyone tried this? do u think we can complete it in 3 days? (most probably overnight at apollo bay n grampian along the way).

Seems like not much people talking about grampian here? is it worth goin?

gingercoke

hello molly,
i have been to melbourne in mar on a driving holiday. we spent abt 4 days driving the Great Southern Route. it might a bit tight for 3 days.

we took a Fly n Drive package.
The package included accommadation, car rental, air tickets.

The Grampian forrest r mostly burnt. think they hv a fire in jan/feb this yr. no harm dropping by. u might spot some of their native animals.

bb_queen

Hi Molly

I just came back from Mel this morning. The temp ranges from single digit (nearer to 10) to 17 degrees. You will need winter clothes. If u are going to great ocean road, you will need gloves and scarves as well. I think it will all depend on your tolerance for cold.

arte

thanks for the recommendation. I think it is really convenient!
Btw, know of any airport shuttle that brings from Airport to door step?

I know of one that goes to city but wanna avoid hassle of changing a cab etc

timminbuzz

Arte...
Driving to Geelong is gd...or if u dun wanna drive...can take a train.

There's no airport shuttle to door step. Where r u gg? cos u can always take e tram. Think they stop @ either spencer st. or franklin st.

Huan...
Oct is great. It's spring time. Sunny but cool. awesome time.

arte

Drive to Geelong is 1 hr? Is it easy drive?

Also...what is the car rental charges like in melbourne for 1 day?

timminbuzz

Arte...
sorry...dunno what's e charges...but u can always check them out online. To me...drive in melbourne's always easy.

mngo

arte
yea lor.. it is 1 hour. actually , if u depart melbourne at non peak hours it is relatively easy. but if u driving during peak hours, then u will be stuck in the jam, and hv to see carefully which lane u hv to turn to get to geelong.

car rental.. we paid abt 40 + per day excluding insurance. cos insurance is 20+ per day. v expensive

huan

Hi timminbuzz,
really?! Great! glad to hear dat!!
we intend to go to mel n sydney for our honeymoon. perhaps for ard 8 to 10 days. dunno if the time is enuff or not...

timminbuzz

Huan...
I'm biased. haha...time is never enuff in Melbourne.
Depends on what u wanna cover... but it might be a bit rushed for 2 cities. Might not have enuff time to have a feel of e place.
Flying up to sydney or driving?

huan

Hi timminbuzz,
would prefer to fly up

i've checked the prices for tix in the quantas website. it states there ard A$121 for the domestic flight. i supposed dat will b quite a reasonable price?
oh... i've nv been to mel before! but i dun mind spending a few more days in sydney coz i love dat place and my hb hasnt been to either sydney nor mel before. wanna 1 stone kill 2 birds! kinda greedy huh? :p

nueyerdua

I stayed in melbourne for a few months a few years back. Love the place!!

If u like shopping, stay in the city and there's lots of food from western to vietnamese to italian. Crown Casino is just across the Yarra River and they have some nice restaurants there + buffets + movie theatres + game arcade.

If you prefer arty stuff, there's a concert hall near the river, or a museum + ominimax theatre in Carlton which is walking distance from the CBD

If u move out of the CBD by train/tram, there's shopping on Richmond or a sunday market at St Kilda's

As for nature lovers, there's always the day trips to the Dadenongs, Grampians etc
oh..... and there's also a Puffing Billy train ride through the hills

lph

i stayed in victoria hotel in melbourne.
but i stayed in the hostel with the shared hotel.
location not bad.
i took the airport shuttle. they pick me up at my hotel and bring us to a bus terminal where we change to another bus. not sure if its still available now.

huan

wow... listening to wat u all said makes me wanna go there more!!!
hope i'll b able to visit the 2 cities coz i cant give either of them up!!!
any promos on the air tix dat any of u know of?!