Marina Mandarin Singapore

hamhambijou

@ lollyjolly

When is your wedding going to be held?

Hmm I asked about the new themes too, but (if I don't remember wrongly), they mentioned that their themes are unlikely to change from this year, which was fine with us 'cos we liked the red and black one we saw. More drama hehe.. But she did mention that if there were any new themes that came out, we would be able to choose from those, as well as any new selection of wedding favours etc.

Wonder if anyone is able to share if MM only has one dummy wedding cake for use with all the themes? Cos when Christine showed us one banquet that was being set up in garden theme, I thought I heard her mention that, but last Sat when we went to pay the deposit and went to kaypoh around on our own, we saw another banquet being set up with a lovely square cake that the banquet manager confirmed was the dummy cake provided by the hotel.

lollyjolly

@ hamtaro&bijou

my wedding will be held in June 2012. How bout yours?

I quite like the red and black one too. But too bad the guests' seats are without the sash. And the VIP table, I am very concern with the black chair covers as my grandma is very traditional and may not like the idea. Hope they have more themes to choose from

Not sure about the cake, sounds good to have a lovely cake. I find the stage rather plain and there should be more deco to light up the stage. Hope someone can confirm this

hamhambijou

@ lollyjolly

Mine will be held in Nov 2012.

Haha I'm not too fussed about the guests' seats not having sash, so can close 1 eye ;) If you are concerned, maybe can work with their florist to see how much it will cost to put sash on alternate chairs?

Ya abit concerned also about how mine and FH's older relatives will feel about the black chair covers, but our parents are OK with it, so should be fine :D Perhaps can try see if can do red chair covers, and red tablecloth with the sheer black fabric covering it instead? May make it more acceptable..

Is your wedding at the MM Ballroom or Vanda Ballroom?

lollyjolly

@hamtaro&bijou

I have checked witht the floris and it cost $3 per chair. If I were to tie for 200 chairs, it will cost be $600 additional. I am quite picky on this bcos I have seen Sheraton Hotel's display and its so pretty! Almost signed up with them but in the end prefer MM's atmosphere. I think I should learn to close one eye too. Gonna save alot!

Will try to work it out with christine on the tablecloth etc. Hope we can come out with something nice. My friend gave a nasty comment when I say I may want to consider gold and red for my VIP. She said: won't it look like kim zua? (paper money)
Was so taken aback when she said that. And made me think so much when choosing red, black and gold theme.

I am now considering to choose garden theme to have a british feel. but it doesnt have a WOW impact to impress my guests.

I am seriously turning into a bridezilla!

Mine will be held at ballroom

hamhambijou

@ lollyjolly

Mine will be held at the MM ballroom too!

Wah that was quite a nasty comment! Maybe she meant angbao zua? Red and gold mah. I don't see how that one looks like kim zua!

I would just advice to go with your gut feeling. Whichever you like, whether is the red and black, or the garden theme, just go for it and don't care what your friend says. So long as you and your HTB are happy with it. It is your wedding after all. Just my 2 cents worth

shazsharon

Hi all... Just done with my wedding dinner at Vanda Ballroom.

Our Coordinator is Fiona and Banquet Manager on duty that day was Kelvin. They were very experienced and we were well taken care of, the pre-dinner briefing was very detailed and thorough. Hubby and our helpers were kept informed through out the dinner.

There were some small hiccups with the banquet service, like breaking a glass or two...Not very serious but Banquet Manager informed hubby promptly before we could find out from our guests.

Majority good comments about the food, portions were large.. love the mango sago dessert, many guests were already full after 8 dishes but they still finished up the dessert.. and some said the garouper was dry.. well, i guess you can't please everyone..

The red fantasia theme is pretty appropriate for chinese weddings, aisle stands and floral arrangement looks good in our photos but I think there's still room for improvement, have seen better..

No hiccups with the AV.. everything went smoothly during our march-in and playing of video montages...

We have some really gd drinkers.. Our 30L barrel of beer ran out before the 2nd dish...didnt open additional barrel, but managed to get banquet staff to help push red wine instead.. so in the end, our guests managed to finish all the free red wine and in additional, 4.5 bottles of hard liquor and only 2 bottles of red wine we brought over.

2 angpow boxes... really not enough, luckily we noted other MM brides' advice and requested for additional.

I have 2 change of gowns, a evening gown and a cheongsam for sending off guests. Walking on the 3inch heels from vanda ballroom to the lift lobby took a while and alittle effort.. BTB take note..

It didn't really help when our bridal suite was on the 14th floor... The bridal suite we had was pretty spacious.. there were 2 bathrooms, so was pretty convenient and we dun really need the helpers' room.

The banquet service was great but we cannot say the same for the hotel.

The room service for our after-dinner supper took forever to come, we were famished by then. Checking-out took us another hour... we called for assistance to bring our stuffs down but after waiting for 20 minutes, we gave up. Luckily, we already returned our gowns and suits the day before. We stayed for 2 nights in exchange for the day helpers' room.

Thank god, everything was over... it was indeed a very very busy day but we are grateful to MM for making our night a very memorable one

pisces86

I think christine's attitude is very bad. She speaks as if she knows everything. And does not check w her guests what they would like. I bet alot of clients found that against her as well. We have put our deposit but find her very unfriendly and uncaring for our wedding. Any idea if we can change wedding coordinator?

pqx

@Hwf (pisces86)

Yup i so agree with you..Christine has pissed my fiancee on the very first meeting. She was practically rushing through the details without allowing us the time to slowly digest.
Anw, we requested for a change of coordinator the very next day and was approved. Hopefully things will go well from here!

chikpuppy

Oh... I am so surprised that Christine has been insulted in such a harsh way here. I do not agree with you. My wedding is held later this year and my fiancée and I are taken aback with the remarks made here. We think that having Christine as our wedding coordinator is a blessing.

Why? Simply because from the first appointment to the signing of the contract, Christine has displayed her impeccable professionalism and sincerity at all times. Her patience had no limit as we shot our questions at her. Every problem raised was always answered with interesting solutions and various other options

In my opinion, the wedding package Christine has tailored for us was satisfying to our taste, although as a very difficult customer myself, it also made us realize that we might be probably be bargaining for a too-good of an offer.

Though all this are in my own opinion. You may have a varied remark that might be bitter or perhaps word of appreciations. But all in all, I think Christine is great and recommend her to couples planning their successful marriage. Any complaints should be said to her on the appointment. I doubt anyone would like to have a tarnished reputation due to unsatisfied customers who keep mum to their dissatisfaction.

pisces86

Oh well, good for u then.. Maybe it just didn't work out for us. Anw just look through the archives. There are mixed testimonies about Christine. So I guess just let ppl decide for themselves. I hope that every couple who has chosen marina mandarin as their wedding banquet venue can have a beautiful memory of their wedding day.

minami

Hi brides and BTB,
I am considering signing up with MM but I have no idea what perks I shld request from them. Any suggestions?

TIA~

hellogirl

I have 24 bottles of Jacob's Creeks ( Cabernet Sauvignon ) in boxes to let go at $15 per bottle.
All bottles are seal in box.
Whoever interested can call me at 8455 0808 for more details.

sunshine2906

Hi HappyJan,

I've been to the ballroom couple of weeks back for viewing...Ceiling is lower than Grand Ballroom but it's has a cosy feel... if you don't have the max number of tables you wouldn't be bothered by the pillars as well... I think it's pretty good... like the reception area... got exclusive feel... :)

Hi sunshine2906. I intend to sign with MM for 2013. Thinking of waiting for the wedding show to have more perks. Which date u looking at?

sunshine2906

Hi Valentine,

I'm looking at 1 June 2013 lunch... met up with the coordinator before I know of the wedding show.. subsequently emailed her for the additional perks which will be given during the show and realised that it's about the same.. so me and HTB decided to give the wedding show a miss. How about you? which date are you looking at?

chrislu

Im attending too! Because I want to see the Vanda room, so far never receive any emails from any of the brides here.. I also want to see what are the perks offered.. Their rates are not cheap but the perks given are not attractive enough.

sunshine2906

mine is a lunch so the standard perks given are different.. but the additional they can give are considered very good for lunch! dinner wise I'm not so sure though.. always try and ask for what want.. they will give if they can, if not they will let u know.

it also depends on which ballroom you are looking at. grand ballroom they will be willing to give more while vanda will be lesser

I only have the pictures of grand ballroom but no photo of vanda. my coordinator is Wendy.

hua31

can you share with me your package and any additional perks? Am meeting up with Christine this weekend.. but getting a bit worried after hearing the comments about her!

sunshine2906

Hi Valentine,
yup, she can't waive that for me because its lunch...we are ok with it since we can use it for some special occasion dinner...i'm having min 30 tables because i'm holding in the Marina Mandarin Ballroom

Hi Pamela, pls check your email...sent. pls note that mine is a lunch

smileypodder

Hi Ladies, I have $1K White Link cash voucher for sale at just $799.

It was a lucky draw prize from the wedding fair. Intend to sale the voucher as I have already sign up with another bridal shop prior to the wedding show.

PM me if you are interested.

sunshine2906

it's not really that short right? still pretty ok... alternatively just walk slower or u can discuss with your coordinator to re plan the walk in aisle... she may be able to help? if you want a long march in, can consider pan PAC... :p

missy_pam

Hi Sunshine, hmm....not sure leh.. we went to view the Main Ballroom on Level 1.. My HTB likes it sooo much.. haha.. like it cos it is spacious.. But I am still contemplating leh.. haha.. If the march-in plays a impt part?? haha....

sunshine2906

haha actually it did cross my mind before as well and I was telling HTB that we will march in from side door then walk to the middle then continue to walk to the front... hehe... but I don't think I'll do that... it can be short but memorable!

missy_pam

oo.. great! am also liasing with Wendy.. Act am not really exploring many options, maybe looking at Swissotel Merchant Court and MM? Hee...

sunshine2906

I think she's quite nice and flexible!

Swissotel Merchant Court was also one of my shortlisted venue but HTB don't really like so in the end we didn't consider it...=p

when is your AD? lunch or dinner?

missy_pam

great to hear that you are liasing good with her! :D
Mine is tent on 13 June 2013, dinner
Sunshine, u have skype or msn? Maybe i can add u to chat in there? :D