Marina Mandarin Singapore

misspiglet

Being lurking around this thread for a while too! I'm a MM vanda ballroom btb , nov 2011. ;( quite disappointed with the deco too but I was sold with the perks. They are at least quite flexible with the contract ! I'm interested in getting guest table deco too , pm me! :D

chloebb

Hi all, I'm holding my wedding at m.m too, same here was attracted by the perks they threw in, the deco n themes are v disappointing, I signed up last year nov during wedding fair. My coordinator is Christine, she took over my case frm another coordinator name Cindy. Everything went really fine, n I am very glad that they try to accomdate my needs within their means, however I had a conversation w Christine just few days ago, her response was really rude n sarcastic. My parents in law wanted me to find out, for remaining tables that were nt used, are they allowed to return back for consumption any time after the wedding? (I strongly doubt it, bcos it wasnt stated during our confirmation n deposit)however my parents persuade me to ask since it doesnt cause anything. Relunctantly I called Christine, politely asked her, putting it in a way like I know it's a bit awkward, however she response to me at 'No, we are not a restaurant' I felt really angered by her reply, as it is just merely a question, she cud hv told me nicely, backfired with such comment, I felt her attitude of customer service might just equally compared to restaurant.

liquidzza

hi piglet! im thinking of putting drapes in the ballroom to cover the ugly paintings
. something like this, but maybe not in pink. dunno if its possible to do the ceiling as it is already so low. any comments? im not sure about the cost though..
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=130197117053734&set=a.129907700416009.26283.129257213814391&type=1&theater

chloe, i understand what you mean. how can your coordinator talk like that? in the first place you are merely asking her a question because if she doesnt know, we are the ones paying so much for the banquet! for her job too! but i think just let it go, dont let her affect ur mood! Hugs

other than the hotel decor, i think their food presentation is bad too. wonder if we can change it slightly during food tasting hor?

and their wedding invitations and favors are giving me a headache. if i were to source myself, cost is an issue..=(

sheryce

Hi all, anyone has their banquet done recently? Any comments on the food? I'm thinking of doing without the food tasting as I feel that the food tasting doesn't equate to the food served on the AD. So might as well not do it and contra a table off to save some dollars and cents. Although its not alot of money but every cent counts during wedding prep because the wedding expense is just horrifying..

Liquidzza, I just collected my invites over the last weekend. I DIY my invites and it cost me around $1 each inclusive of envelopes, I'm quite happy with it! Total cost me less than $130 for the invites plus envelopes, I even top up for good quality thick paper if not it will be even cheaper. I only printed ard 60% of my total guests which I think will be more than enough. Most ppl have alot of left overs..
Wedding favours are still baking in process, I've bought the materials so just need to sit down and get them done!
Overall, I think it didn't cost me a bomb to do all these, you just need to find the right place to buy your items and you can save a lot.

liquidzza

sheryce? i think if your parents and in-laws are not too particular about food, skipping the foodtasting part can save a table!!thats alot to save for over $1k!! me n bf also considering if we can skip the food tasting that!

hehe. where did u print your cards at? mind to share w me how ur card looks like or email? i really want to have a different invitation too, but bf keep telling me waste money, but yours seems within my budget!you are so resourceful...unlike me, everythingi search for seems ex!!then i dont think its worth it, but yet want a different one..=(

sheryce

Liquidzza, emailed you my invites!

Yes, I'll most likely skip the food tasting and save that 1k! My parents and in-laws are very easy-going people so they have no preference.
Seriously even the food tasting is good, doesn't mean the food served on the AD will be equally good.

I have no regret personalising my wedding invite and wedding favours. I have something special for my guest and it didn't cost me a bomb so I'm quite happy with that. I really can't bear to give my guest some hideous wedding favours..
My husband did complain about the $$$ when I wanted to personalied them but I managed to convinced him by keeping them at minimal cost.

liquidzza

has any brides had their wedding at vanda? or if anyone has attended their wedding share some recent pictures?

recently, i keep wishing that i have a ballroom as nice as Intercontinental. high ceiling, grand, white, glass and pretty. but of coz the cost is also alot higher! now worried that if i back out of MM, i gotta forfeit my $4k deposit even though its OCT next year!hotel doesnt allow trf...=(

i realise the ballroom and foyer seems too dim for photos and video when i research on google.Is there any way to make it brighter? the ballroom resembles a small chinese restaurant than a ballroom. is it just me thinking of it like that? *pulls hair* help!!!!how to beautify or rectify this place? am i worrying too much? *sigh*

i quite like the foyer initially when i sign the package, but after their wedding show, the ballroom looks lacking and dull and until now i cannot imagine how to beautify the place.pls do give me suggestions!!no offence to brides who had their wedding there, coz i am a MM btb too.

sheryce

You are thinking of backing out on MM? Thats gonna cost your 4k deposit.. Hmm.. I think it's more worth it to think of ways to beutify the ballroom instead of forfeiting the 4k deposit.

I think you are worrying too much. It may be fine, let me show you my photos after my wedding in Dec.. I'm keeping my finger's crossed now, since I have only 2 months plus to go, its too late to regret now.. I can only do up to my best ability.

I'm not using any professional deco, only DIY stuff so you see if its very lacking for your expectation. If yes then probaby you can engage a professional to do it. If you are ok with my DIY standard, then you can use mine as a reference to improvise on.

liquidzza

sheryce, thank you for being so nice! ya, the $4k deposit is really holding me..maybe i am worrying too much! tmw im going to june florist to see if she has nicer themes or decor. have you met up with her? sheryce, i am sure your DIY efforts will be very nice and bring much more meaning to make your wedding memorable. maybe i shd think of how i can DIY too..=)

Prada, mine is at vanda (level5). i really like their foyer reception n mm is a nice hotel, but worrying the short ceiling n small ballroom doesnt feel so grand..decor n flavors are lacking

liquidzza

sheryce, went to visit june today. actually the prices she quote is ok. guest table flowers with candles ranges about $12-$20 that looks fine. then she has other top themes.

can use white drapes to cover stage $200 but not able to do whole ballroom

VIP table $60 (crystal stand w flowers)
aisle stand $30
Rom decor $250 (table, 5 chair, aisle chair and arch stand $250)

but thing is, i find her not helpful. when i like a particular VIP centrepc n ask her what can i match with for aisle and guest tables, her reply was "depends on what you like, everything also can match"....>_< then i just spend my time flip her photos of themes then ask her for quotations...

jemcel

Hi liquidzza,

did you approach june yourself or thru reco fr MM?

My AD is end;Oct 2011, anyone about the same dates as me?

I thot of upgrading the wedding favours or invite but gave up liao, too last min and lazy to source! So if you have the time, go for it!!

But now I oso think the deco has lotsa room for improvement... therefore thinking of asking June florist if the price is reasonable!

liquidzza

hi cel, i went to june florist directly as my coordinator told me to. i think her price for decor seems quite ok. but given that we are "Topping up", im not so sure if it is reasonable. maybe u can call june florist n drop by her shop. she dun have a showcase of themes there, but lots of photos on what she has done. =)

sheryce

Hi Liquidzza, I guess if you have to top up 1-2k for your deco is still better than forfiet 4k deposit.. Heartpain the money arh..

I am attracted to MM because of the package price and perks they offer. But I must say that their ballroom is really not fantastic, low ceiling and no grand ambience. Now that the wedding is nearer and we are looking more into the deco details, I feel even more helpless with half-past six deco. MM does have a lot more to do for their deco, its so lacking compared to the other 5 star hotels.

But well since I've signed up and not wise to give up the deposit for other hotels, I just have to make do with the ballroom and try to improvise on the deco. Alot of effort on my part to coordinate and DIY.. hopefully its worth it!

I've not met up with June florist, maybe i should do that soon. But I really can't tolerate bad service! Haha..

lyn_sg

Printed my inserts for $60 for 300 pieces. Distributing my cards now. Next will be food tasting. Anyone has anything to share regarding which dishes are better?

Cloudy : sorry to said that MM food is not Tat nice except for dessert mango sago. The fish was the worst.

Other than that is ok. Flower wise I don't feel is necessary to hire another florist to decor the place la save your $ on your honeymoon better.

I just done my AD on early sept .

Enjoy ur big day

lyn_sg

What are the dishes that you have choosen?

Yar, i wont be topping up on flowers. Getting broke with all the wedding stuff.

Mine is late Oct. Going for food tasting next week.

Mine is on sat dinner menu

Can't rem much but got herbal chicken, mee suan, cereal prawn hmmm cant remember liao haha ops forget the best dessert mango sago.

lyn_sg

Oic. I will choose mango sago too. For the dishes, think will see how the food tasting is like.

I thought can only choose either bubbles or dry ice? Can do both?

liquidzza

hi weddingsoon, thanks so much for sharing the info. didnt sound too good that food is not that nice. =( is that what your guest feedback? have you got any photos of your big day to share with us? is the lighting at foyer or ballroom too dim for ps? dunno, but i want my wedding a pretty pretty memorable one leh, so how not to fret over flowers and design? of coz i wont want to splurge on these, but i do hope to do something unique to my own wedding leh...

Liquidzza : my photo haven't ready yet so dono bright enough Bo but hey y u worry this?? This shld b the problem for the PG. (they got flash light so no worry)

Ya guests feedback to me lor. But still find overall ok. Haha just remember to tell the f &amp; b manager to remember to fill the drink up n don wait till guest ask for it. Service good but food bad still ok can u imagine service n food bad haha heng MM service not bad

So don't worry too much n enjoy ur big day :p

sheryce

weddingsoon: you are making me very worried because I was intending to do without the food tasting!
Any particular dish to avoid?
Gosh.. many people are still telling me the food is good and I'm still kinda hopeful..
If food is bad then I think i really made the wrong choice, bad food, bad deco, bad ballroom!

chloebb

Hi Sheryce, recently i just finished my wedding.. i went without food tasting, and the feedback on the actual came out.. 8/10 positive, lots of good feedback abt food.. except for elderly relatives 1 or 2 that comment prawns were not fresh however if its 8/10 positive i am very confidence that M.M did, did a great job. I felt rest assure abt it becos M.M's Chef are doing all these dishes over and over again..

for me i wasnt thinkin too much, plus those great feedback from forum, friends backdated years ago even before i took up their banquet.

I am gg to write in a compliment letter to the management who assisted me during my wedding. Plus earlier I wrote abt a comment that i was mad for one of the coordinator gave me a bad response, however on the actual night.. the floral that i requested, they did a very good job. The colors i wanted were really nicely matched. So dun worry too much, jia you! ;D

sheryce

Hi Chloe, thanks for your assurance, very much needed and appreciated. I guess we have gone too far to turn back so just look ahead.
I have only 2 months plus to go, can't wait to get it done and over with. This whole thing is just too tiring for me esp when I'm the main and only planner!

I know how some of the elder relatives can be very picky on food, the fact that its held in the hotel, they already have the food discounted! I have been to some relative's wedding and I thought the food are quite good, but still, they are some relatives who will say lousy food! To them, hotel food are always no good.. So I've learnt to discount some of their comments..

sheryce

T&amp;T printer in JB. You can search thru the Wedding card thread, they seem quite popular among singaporeans. So far so good, I've no issues dealing with them.

lyn_sg

Meyny: I did mine at T&amp;T too. Very good experience with them. Excellent service and job done fast &amp; well done. I'm glad that I did with them.

lyn_sg

Dear all, I did my food tasting at MM. The food is good and the portion is very generous.

1) Deluxe Cold Dish Combination
(Prawn Salad, Crabmeat with Eggs, Spring Roll, Deep-fried Meat with Beancurd Skin &amp; RED Baby Octopus) Other choices include another type of octopus, jellyfish, etc.

2) Braised Superior Soup with Sliced Abalone, Fish Maw, Scallop &amp; Crabmeat

3) Chef’s Special Crispy Roasted Chicken with Prawn Crackers

4) Steamed Live Sea Bass “Teochew Styleâ€

5) Pan-Fried Prawns with Quaker Oats

6) Lingzhi &amp; Black Mushroom with Seasonal Vegetable

7) Braised Ee Fu Noodles with Crabmeat, Mushroom &amp; Chives

8) Mango Sago with Ice Cream

I hope the standard will not be too far off for the AD.

shazsharon

Thanks Cloudy
Printing in JB is really a better deal.

All the best for your big day. I'm goin for my food tasting nxt week too.. hopefully turn out as good as yours.

lyn_sg

Sharon: Yar, it is much cheaper and you can choose as many cartoons as you want without additional charges. If you want the order form or samples, PM me your email and I will send to you.

Enjoy your food tasting. 2 more weeks to my AD... nervous haha.

sheryce

Sharon: thanks for reviewing on the food. I didn't go for food tasting, can I ask if there's anything on the menu that you think we should avoid?

Cloudy: I printed the whole card not the insert as I'm not taking MM's invites. It cost me ard RM270 for 130 cards plus envelopes. I top up abit for the better quality paper.

shazsharon

Sheryce: Havent go for my food trial yet, is on nxt week. Our food trial menu is below, do we share any same dishes? will review after the trial.

During July's wedding show, I remember the lobster combi was not fresh, the seafood soup was forgetable, the rest of the dishes like lotus rice, roasted chicken (I had braces that time and no prob chewing the chic breast) and mango sago were good.

1. Suckling Pig Combination
2. Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Seafood
3. Steamed Chicken with Chinese Wine &amp; Herbs
4. Steamed Live Garoupa “Teochew Styleâ€
5. Pan Fried Prawns in Oriental Sauce
6. Braised Abalone with Seasonal Vegetables
7. Smoked Tea Duck with Mini Pancake
8. Fried Hokkien Mee Sua with Assorted Meat
9. Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts

curlyger

I try to contact the sales manager, Fiona Lee but no avail

Any kind hearted soul can send me pictures of the ballroom with the wedding setup?
Many thanks in advance

~mimosa~

thanks lyn_sg,
they offereed 20% of guest list...will see if can get 30%

im interested to see photos of actual setup without any top-up deco
any to pics to share?
thanks!!

doofers

Hi all, I will be holding my wedding at MM too. Booked the Grand Ballroom for Nov 2012.

I managed to get pics of the ballroom themes from Fiona. There are only 3 themes so not much of a choice.

Has anyone seen the wedding favors from MM? I only saw from pics shown during my meeting with Fiona.
Wondering if there will be new favors coming up soon.

sheryce

Jacqueline: in my opinion, i think the grand ballroom is much nicer than the Vanda ballroom.
If you are getting the grand ballroom I think its a good choice!

shazsharon

1. Suckling Pig Combination
2. Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Seafood
3. Steamed Chicken with Chinese Wine &amp; Herbs
4. Steamed Live Garoupa “Teochew Styleâ€
5. Pan Fried Prawns in Oriental Sauce
6. Braised Abalone with Seasonal Vegetables
7. Smoked Tea Duck with Mini Pancake
8. Fried Hokkien Mee Sua with Assorted Meat
9. Yam Paste with Gingko Nuts
10. Mango Sago with Ice-cream

Had our food trial last week... most of the food went well... like other MM couples, we had generous portion too. Specially like dish no. 1,5,7,8,9,10. Banquet staff was very patient too, introduce the dish first, inform us to take a picture then he proceed to serve individual plates.

Only issue we had was the fish... too dry and tasted sourish, overpowered by the excessive giam chye. The presentation of the chicken dish was quite bizzarre too.. a whole chicken was served partially submerged in a glass bowl of wine/herbal soup, there were no garnishing or whatsoever ingredients in the soup. Like the chicken is soaking in a bathtub like dat.. haha..weird.. we have decided to change it to the roasted chicken instead.