Marina Mandarin Singapore

sheryce

Any comments on Scallop with Asparagus and Quaker oat fried prawns? I chose this 2 dishes but seems like not many people choose these.

lyn_sg

Dear all, my AD is over. Everything at MM went well. The food is good and my guest commented that the portion is very generous. Taste wise, almost similar to food tasting, not too far off. All our feedback during food tasting was acted upon well.

Sheryce: I had the Pan-Fried Prawns with Quaker Oats. My family likes it. The prawns are huge. The size is just slightly smaller on AD but the guest already said "Wow, the prawns are so big."

sheryce

Cloudy: May i ask if they serve exactly 10 prawns for 1 table? I might have a few table with 11 ppl and I'm afraid the prawns are not enough. It will be quite paiseh.

lyn_sg

Sheryce: I think should not be a problem. Usually they put 1-2 extra. If you are doing food tasting, can double check with the chef.

sheryce

I'm not doing food tasting therefore I won't have a chance to talk to the Chef. But according to my coordinator, usually Quaker oat prawn will be just nice 10 that kind due to bigger size prawn. If it is herbal prawn they will put a few more.
I'm not sure how true is there. Very paiseh if there's not enough to go around the table.

lyn_sg

Sheryce: If you want quarker prawns and want to be safe, then have to top up 1 additional food portion for tables with 11 pax. Else go for herbal prawns if you feel more comfortable about it.

Try to arrange so that the 11th person is a child/infant may help too. There will also be a few absentees after you confirm the nos 1 week before AD so factor that in as well. I have 2 tables that i top up to 11 pax, end up both tables also have absentees.

sheryce

Hi Cloudy, thanks for your valuable advise. Yes, i didn't think of last min absentee! ok I think I'll go ahead with 10 pax, if there are absentee I'll shift the people around abit. Can't help it that banquets nowadays are not cheap and people's ang bao are the same for so many years (no offence). We have to be very prudent with planning if not there will be $$ wasted here and there.

Don't mind I ask those who have done their banquet, you all manage to break even with the ang bao collected? I know the affluence of the guests will make alot of difference but I just want to have a gauge of the average.

lyn_sg

Sheryce: Yar planning very important cause each empty seat we have to pay by ourselves. You need to inform the hotel 7 days in advance on fd portion. I had 5 extra guest and decide not to open a table, plan to use spare table if needed. End up more than 5 absentees cause most will say not coming only a few days before so end up i just shifted the spaces a bit 1 day before and save up on a table. I also added a few 11 seats but 10 food portion table just in case people never inform and bring more guest like gf/bf. Then will want to sit together. Better to have extra chairs, it's always easy to remove then having headache of not enough seats.

For mine, i made a surplus for banquet. My guest are mainly average Singaporean (not rich nor poor). Relatives especially those with kids will be under but frens/colleagues will give more so able to compensate for relatives' side. My smallest ang bao is $20 and some $50. Then majority are $80, $100 and $120. The most common/average amt is $100. I had 2 bottles of red wine from MM left over (1 complimentary bottle per table). I bought extra whites and the consumption amt is about half a bottle per table. Hope these infor will be useful for your planning.

sheryce

Cloudy: great to hear that you made a surplus! I don't dare think about surplus, as long as breakeven I'll be more than happy. I have alot of relatives bringing children and their children are not the toddler taking baby seats kind. Many are 7-9 years old which need to take up a seat. I'm very worried for the relative side.
Omg.. who gave $20?? got write name? I'll faint if i see $20.. lol I'm expecting most people to bao ard $100 too..

All in all, how many bottles of wine your guest consumed? Did you bring hard liquor? I find the liquor and wine quite tricky to plan, too much leftover is wastage, not enough very paiseh.

lyn_sg

Sheryce: I was just hoping to breakeven as well too. Glad still have extra to lighten our other wedding expenses like BS and photography.

Yes. Wrote name. It's my mum's fren. Cant blame him also cause my mum and her colleagues only earn like $4+ per hour. I am glad he still wrote name. I know and can understand. I have about 10 with no names and these are mainly small amount. I think got some never even give ang bao cause attendance and ang bao dont tally.

31 bottles of red wine, 15 bottles of white, 0 bottle of hard liquor. I have a total of 33 tables. I brought 2 bottles of hard liquor but nobody requested for it so never even open.

For children, no choice lor. I get average $50 per child. If you can, form 1 table of 9 adults and 2 children. Then enough food and you wont have to pay so much. For baby chairs, always put it with 10 adults. If you are tight on budget, then need to plan well on seating arrangement.

jacoco

I jus went to discuss the package at MM last week and indeed they throw in alot of peaks. I am worried abt the food cos many of the comments on the foods are negative..

Cloudy: U took the Grand Ballroom for your AD on Monday 31st Oct 2011?Any pictures to show us?

Yup the Ang Bao these days from relative/frds usually is ard avg $100 and u'r lucky to chave surplus ^^

lyn_sg

Jacqueline: I have no problem on food. In fact, I felt MM food is much better as compared to some hotels i went to. During food tasting, everything is nice. On AD, no complaints and everyone said ate till very full.

Yes, mine is Grand Ballroom. It's on 30th. Photos not out yet. PG needs time to edit.

Yar lucky plus mine is lunch which contributes too.

jemcel

Hello girls,

I did my AD on 28th Oct, dinner at Grand Ballroom... made a loss. But we were quite happy with MM in general.

Partly cos we have a empty table (over catered), and cannot credit mah.. so we asked the hotel staff to distribute the food to the tables nearby.

We added 12 tables of 11 pax! We were worried that our 11-pax tables doesnt have sufficient food that it wouldnt look nice. But I guess in the end, its worth it cos can tell tt my guests like the food and praised tt the servings are generous.

So do your planning earlier! and if you have 40 tables, only ask for 39 + 2...

My pics are not out yet too! lets share the pics ok

BTW - any idea if the unconsumed complimentary wine given can be brought back? i din ask how many were open actually

sheryce

Jacqueline: I've been receiving alot of positive comments on the food so I think it should be fine. I hope mine will be good too

Cloudy: woah your wine consumption is pretty high. And your's a lunch, your guests must be good drinkers. I only have 30 red and 6 white for 24 tables. I'll get ready a few bottles of hard liquor, hopefuly its enough to go around the whole night.

Yup I can understand that some old uncles/aunties who doesn't earn alot and can't afford more ang bao $$ but still try to give within their means as a blessing. But my friend have this cousin who brought 3 kids to her wedding and only give $128 for 5 ppl. They are mid level execs in their 30s, really can't understand why they did that..

lyn_sg

Cel: I agree that asking for 1 table less is good since there's 2 spares.

The complimentary wines can be brought home. I took back 2 bottles.

Sheryce: No lah. My wine consumption about the same, in fact a bit lesser than yours. You had 36 bottles for 24 table and mine is 46 bottles for 33 tables. So that works out to be about 1.5 bottles per table.

Only $128 for 5 pax... your poor fren.

sheryce

cel: yes I'm going to ask for 1 less table because mine is near the christmas season, I'm expecting a few last min absentees.
Sorry to hear that you make a loss.. But at least you enjoyed the day and your guest enjoyed the meal.
I'm very worried for mine too, praying hard that I wont suffer losses. Already spend alot for the other wedding stuff

Cloudy: yes I was very shocked when my friend told me that. And somemore the couple is in their 30s, I'm sure they are not so old that they don't know the market average. She suffer losses for her banquet too even when she held her's in a restaurant. Her table is around $850. Which mean most ppl gave less than that.

aquilastarz

Hi Cloud,
Does the 46 bottles prepared, include the free bottle red wine per table provided by MM??

Hi cel,
Mind if we asked how much % is your loss?

Mine AD will be next Year May 2012 at Vanda ballroom.
So i'm still in the preparation stage of planning budgets for Loss & expenses, number of tables & bottles of wines we should purchase.

where do you girls get your wine from??
Any good lobangs on this?

lyn_sg

Starz: Yes, I was given 33 bottles of free red wine by MM. I bought another 15 bottles.

I bought from Carrefour and ask them to deliver.

sheryce

Starz, I think carrefour has quite a good range for wine and when they have promos the prices are quite good. I remember I paid $16 for Penfolds wine during one of the promo and the same wine cost $26 now!

My AD is this Dec at Vanda ballroom and I budget a 4k loss, which means I'm prepared to loss the deposit.

I met up with Wendy 2 weeks ago to discuss on the AD banquet arrangement. All went well, she was very nice to accomodate most of my requests. I hope everything will go well on that day!

lyn_sg

I also bought the wine during promo. It's $32 or more for original price but promo was about $26 per bottle. They can store till u want them to deliver to hotel.

Starz: Dont worry too much about losses. I budgeted for a loss but end up have surplus. Instead, u should spend more time on budgeting for other aspects of your wedding. There's a lot of expensees that i never thought of and never budget in. So end up exceed budget. The other thing that you should worry is not committing too many tables to cut losses cause there'll sure be absentees. Make sure to send out save-the-date in advance. Then followed by invitation not too close to wedding date and get RSVP with closing date 2 weeks in advance. This will leave u 1 week to contact those who never RSVP so can arrange seating and inform hotel. Seating planning will take quite a bit of effort.

Sheryce: Yar, Wendy is good. Some of my last min request, she also can accomodate.

aquilastarz

Thanks sheryce & Cloudy for the advises!!

My coordinator is Sen.
Hopefully everything will be just fine for my day too.

do you girls buy the wine in advance when you see that there is a promo?
Does carrefour allow a certain number % of bottle returnable if unconsumed??

i'm having headache over videography right now. 7months to the wedding & yet i've not booked videographer

Care to share which videographer did you girls engaged? And what are their charges??

toons77

Dear all, just finished my banquet at Marina Ballroom...for all those who were still wondering whether you chose the right venue or still considering, think no further...MM is indeed the venue and be rest assured that you will be in good hands...

My wedding was really well taken care of and the most assuring word that you wish to hear "Don't worry sir, your wedding is going to be great, leave it in our hands". Once you have this assurance, you know that you are going to enjoy your night... Of course, you need very good coordinator and helpers which make things even much simpler...

Last min absentees are better than no-show (don't even arrive on the actual day and never inform you of their absence)...I used only 01 spare but I think the no-show can be reduced to not using my spare table...this is something beyond our control cos many people are not responsible enough to tell you that they come...my suggeestion is try to use all your tables (including confirmed and reserved) ie you expect 380 guests, confirmed 36 tables and reserve 02 tables..don't worry if any extra people come but worry if you have no-shows or late cancellation of your seat...if people can be so irresponsible by not informing that they come or bring extra people...my answer to them is TOO BAD...factor in 10% of last minute changes...

How do you order wine or ensure that your wine is more than enough?? I believe most of you have the same package which include free flow of beer and bottles of wine per table...only asked your wine to be served at the start of dish 01 instead of reception...when alcoholic people look for drinks, whatever is available, they will start...since you are able to start your beer since reception, make full use of it...trust me, never mix 02 alcohols (beer and wine), the effect can make a person drunk very fast...so many people will not be able to drink too much wine...I only opened 07 of the 24 extra bottles of wine that I bought...the startegy worked really well cos by the time when I was doing my table shots, most of the drinkers are already in ra-ra land...also request that the banquet manager updates your coordinator for every 10 bottles of wine open so that you can keep track of the usage and decide whether to open your extras or stop when necessary

One of the good place for wine I would really recommend is Euro Link Wine and Spirit (Blk 85A Lorong 4 Toa Payoh, #01-324), look for Susan. She is one of the most friendly and patient person I came across. Though their wines are limited,the prices are quite reasonable...the best is there is no minimum that needs to be consumed (ie you can return whatever balance bottles in good condition) and there is free delivery. Some of the companies do require you to have minimum bottles consumed (ie 50% return or every 03 bottles, can only return 01 bottle etc) so this shop is fully flexible...try Spanish wines (if you have not heard of them), try to believe it and the taste can be even better than established Australian or French wines..ask Susan for recommendations. I paid mine for only $15nett per bottle and was really pleased of her recommendations

For table planning, those table with baby chair or if you are slotting in Muslim or Vegetqarian within a chinese table, try and stretch with 11 people seating since each table can serve 10 chinese adults...if really got no choice, got to put in 11 pax,ask for bigger table top (like those for VIP table) so that it will not be too squeezy..

Be aware of food that needs to serve individual portion like cod fish or abalone (10 pax,10 fish or abalone) cos you will definitely need to pay for additional pax...my advise is that if you have food that can be commonly shared (without individual portioning), you can still squeeze in 11 pax in 01 table without paying for the additional portion (ie a big fish against 10 cod fish pieces)

A must have dish - Mango Sago with Ice-cream that will never go wrong...almost all gave me the thumbs up and I heard most of them finished the whole bowl even though most of them were quite full after 09 course...for the rest of the dishes, not sure how to comment cos there were mix feedback but I was not too bothered as opinions are always subjective, you can never please all...

Our theme Sweet Blossoms really matched the atmosphere and we were really pleased of the effect...

I will personally send an appreciation note to all involved especially our coordinator, Sen who was able to ensure that everything went so smoothly...

Lastly, for those going to be married soon, my only advise is Keep Cool and just remember is your BIGGEST DAY...no point to fret or get worried on small matters, think of BIG Picture which is you must be HAPPY...there will be a lot of shits that will come your way no matter how much you plan but what happen will happen...it is beyond your control...just don't ruin your BIG Day...last reminder, get a very reliable coordinator who will run the show for you, so that you can be busy entertaining your guests instead of worrying of everything

Hope the above info helps and enjoy and stretch those cheek muscles cos you never had to SMILE so much in your life

lyn_sg

Starz: I bought in advance when there's promo. No return policies i think. I never ask cause not intending to return since expected only a few bottles left and can use it for other events/dinners. You can check with the wine sales people but they are usually not in at night so go in the day time.

My videographer is Vocare. Highly recommended. I think they are good value for money. The rate is between 2-3k i think depending on which VG. Their service is excellent and they are a bunch of very friendly people. Can explore if interested. PM me if u need more infor.

aquilastarz

@youneverknowwhatyougonnaget
Congratz on the smooth Wedding~!! Good to hear more & more postive reviews for MM.
And glad to know that you are also having the same coordinator as me, which is Sen and she has done such a good job for your wedding :D
For those 11pax per table situation (add in muslim/vege into a table of 10), does MM provide bigger tables if we can confirmed with them eg: 2~3days in advance?

And thanks for the recommendation on the wine shop too!
They allowed us to do wine tasting before making purchases right?

Not only are my company colleagues good drinkers, whole gang of my SO & my schoolmates are good drinkers too. And i have yet to include my Dad's friends + Colleagues.
I've have recently attended another friend wedding with this bunch of schoolmates friends.
Our 2 tables alone finished *at least* 6~8bottles of wine, 1 black label, 1 XO & uncountable glasses of beer.

All these drinkers are making my planning for wine & hard liqour purchase quite hard to estimate.
Therefore i'm So glad to hear that there is a shop that allow us to return possible All(in good condition) unconsumed bottles.
Because i should be buying around (tables x2) of red wines or even more (Not Including those from MM) And not include hard liqour.

toons77

@ Starz:
As their prices are quite reasonable, no trying out of their wines but they are still reasonable to let you buy at their discounted prices. I did not even try and just went with their recommendations and many of my frens also told me to go with Spannish wines...reply was quite positive of the wines but not sure if they meant the hotel wine (which was JAcobs Creek) or my bottles of wine (which I only used 07).

If your guests can really drink that much (02 bottles per table), they can really drink. But my suggestion is also to start with beer (and then start wines only at start of dinner course) cos the mixture of liquor can really down the best drinkers especailly when you have beer and wine. Tested and believed....Btw, the wine that MM provide is quite good (I hope it will be the same wine that you will get).

I did not bring any hard liquor (as nowadays hardly got hardcore drinkers) and have got already casualties by the time I finish my photography session (around 7th dish).

You can speak to Sen and request for big tables. I even have a 10 adults and 02 baby chairs and the big tables were still very comfortable for a total of 12pax.

@ Sharon:
You can give them your burnt CDs but you will also need to pass them the original CDs which the songs are in the burnt CD as there might be surprise checks by the authorities.

The good side is that they also have a list of hotel's songs for you to choose. Not very updated but it is all the favorite wedding songs.

I used my own thru my wedding montages (I have 02) as this was already covered by our videography company.

shazsharon

Thanks youneverknowwhatyougonnaget.
I dropped by eurolink over the wkend to check out their wines. Susan was very pleasant to talk to and their prices were quite reasonable. BTW, MM quoted me S$65++ for additional bottle of house wine, i can get 3 bottles of the same wine at Eurolink -_-"

We met up with our coordinator over the weekend to do some finalising. Gd news, there is a new red&black theme.

curlyger

Hi princessie,

I think 2013 package will only be available next year. This is when I last checked with the Sales Manager early nov

princessie

thanks curlyger.

btw... what are the types of perks which MM will throw in during the package discussion, or we have to bargain very hard to get additional perks? I'm more concerned with wine, and things like decor too. any advise from MM brides?

aquilastarz

@youneverknowwhatyougonnaget Thanks for the advises!

But did you get to choose your background music or will they play from the burnt CDs we have provided to them?? (Not refering to march in songs)
i recalled that i ever enquire with Sen about this matter (but quite some time back) & was told that hotel will randomly play songs from the hotel songlist & we can't request for specific songs

Does the hotel ever enquire or check in any way regarding the copyrights of the songs used for photomontage or express highlight??

@princessie MM are quite open & up front with the additional perks which they can throw in with their standard package.
They are quite easy to talk to.

lyn_sg

Starz: Hope you found your VG.

YOu can choose your background music by compiling one CD yourself. If you choose to play the songs from the hotel song list, you cannot select certain songs only. They will play by groups of songs.

No. They did not check but informed us that there may be spot check regarding copyrights.

aquilastarz

@cloudy Thanks for the PM & your reviews! Its very useful

I have yet to book any VG, cuz i am currently tied down with my new flat renov & work. Super busy right now.

Trying to rush & complete the renov works before my wedding.
But i'll try to shortlist some & meet for discussion in december.

If there isn't original CD,
but instead those songs are mp3s downloaded from internet & burn into a CD. Will the hotel to play the CD?

styleinyou

Had just finished my dinner with MM and was not very satisfied with their service...

Pls be aware of the following and re-assure from your co-ordinator prior to your wedding:-

1) Ang Pao Box provided
2) Any Bento set for the couple as you be real hungry upon return of your room
3) Any special request as they will have to be reminded and reminded again
4) Wine. How to be served? Some of my guest only managed to grab a glass of wine after 30mins of request. Hence, I left over 36 bottles of wine due to this I guess. I had cater for 2 bottles for each table.

lyn_sg

After reading Siy's post, just like to remind other MM brides that it may be a good idea to get more than 2 ang bao boxes from MM. For us, there's not enough space. One of the boxes was tore as the guest tried to squeeze the red packets in. So having 2 extras to standby (if you have more than 30 tables) will be good in case this happen to you too.

Regarding post banquet meal, you can order room service (1 main and 1 drink each FOC). They come with a plate of fruits and a 500g cake. It's too much for the 2 of us so we asked the hotel to keep the cake for us as the bar fridge in the room may not be cold enough to properly store the cake.

lyn_sg

@starz: Try to book your VG by this year. Prices usually increase at the start of a new year. All the best for your reno.

Yes, they will play. You can make an appointment with the AV manager to test out the music in your CD and also the videos/slideshows if necessary. We found this meeting useful as we can test the quality of the sound system, the clarity of the video, discuss the lighting requirements, and rehearse our march in with the music to have a feel of the pace that we need to walk.

Hope these sharings will be useful to you and future MM brides. All the best!

styleinyou

ya MM Ang Pao Box is actually their Gift Box which is made of soft card board and its really small. mine was not enough and caused my guests to pass me personally since they were unable to squeeze in. cause me to have some trouble getting someone to safe keep whenever I got some in my hands.

as for post banquet meal, they forgot to inform that I be able to order via room service. For mine, no fruits nor cake. Be sure to request on the very day if you do not have.

All the best

toons77

@ Siy
Sorry to hear about your situation.

I did have 03 and-pow box standby for my wedding. 01 for each side (bridegroom and bride) and then my coordinator had one spare with him (which the banquet manager passed to him) when the banquet manager saw that the 02 boxes were getting quite full. We did use 03 eventually for 37 tables but it will also vary. I think may need to standby 02 for each side cos you are not sure how many ang pows will you collect. For me, anyone who pass me the angpow, I will drop it inside the box or pass to my coordinator to drop in the box. I do not want to hold any just in case I will be rob during my wedding.

As for the meals, it will be the responsibility of the Guest Relations Manager to remind you of the meals that has been specially arranged when you check-in. But of course, you can always check with the reception should you be hungry or pre-arrange your meals upon check-in. My banquet manager was very kind to remind us after we sign off the bill that we can still order our food when we are upstairs.

My wine was fully utilised (all the bottles that the hotel has provided with 07 extras) and was more afraid that they we will not have enough wines. I saw them serving by trays of wine (like free-flow) once my first dish started and before my 2nd march-in, already 20 bottles were used. Luckily, mine was a working day the next day and many did not want to srink more or else surely drink like fish-tank. Tell your banquet manager to update your coordinator whenever 10 bottles of wine has been used so that you know whether your stock is reasonally moving.

Put all your tasks to your main coordinator so that he can ensure that the operations on that day will be "swee swee" including checking of wines and service level.

You can actually feedback all the above to your manager in charge and see what they can provide in return.

sheryce

Hi Siy, who is your coordinator? I think your coordinator is not doing his/her job. She is supposed to let you know that we can order room service after the banquet. Imagine 2 tired and hungry ppl without food on their wedding night? Goodness, how irresponsible of the wedding coordinator.
Actually I don't suggest using the hotel's ang bao box, the quality is worst than a shoebox. It is kinda flimsy and small. I suggest you all get ready your own angbao box and get 1 or 2 from hotel for just in case. And the ang bao box only come in ivory colour, if you have a colour theme it might be a little tricky.

I'm less than 1 month away from my AD, super stressed!

hamhambijou

Hi all! I'm a 2012 MM BTB! Just confirmed our package via email and will be going down to sign the contract and pay deposit next Sat.

I agree that perhaps Siy's coordinator did not do a very good job. My coordinator Christine included in my contract for pre and post dinner food/snacks for FH and me. She was also very willing to through in perks and was quite flexible when we weren't able to hit the min 35 tables for Friday dinner, in offering us suggestions as understand that they do have a certain food/beverage revenue target to hit. FH and I were quite pleased with her service and she came across as very genuinely wanting the best for us. This, along with the perks offered, was the reason we chose MM in the end

knana

@ hamtaro&bijou:

Sad to say we encountered bad experience with Christine in person plus her lousy service quality. Thus we've changed our wedding co-ordinator to Fiona instead as we really love mm's grandball room. Apparently, lots of our requests posted to her politely were rejected UNPROFESSIONALLY by Christine despite that these requests were the common wedding perks stuff request. Thank goodness, these requests were later granted by Fiona. We managed to save approx. 2k plus or more

Just to share with you on one of our bad encounter - we were on the verge of signing the contract without realizing that the initial date that we have chosen coincides with F1 2012 (Guests would have difficulties in traveling to mm due to road closure). We were never told of the consequences until Fiona advised us. Can't imagine if I have signed up with Christine and paid the deposit

Personally, i felt that its the coordinator's responsibility to advise us which are the dates to avoid since they are both very experienced wedding coordinators. FYI I've also read abt other forumers' negative feedback / comments complaining abt Christine's poor quality service too

Well... In short, the overall mm wedding package is quite attractive. Thus I have signed up with MM too. Just be more cautious on the selection of wedding coordinator. Afterall, you need to have the right "chemistry" and trust in your coordinator in order to work things out nicely for you on your big day.

Good luck

hamhambijou

@Anna: Oh no!
Hopefully no major hiccups for my wedding like that! If the coordinator is really bad, can we change halfway? It's ok so far, but am just worried for the coordination in the year ahead..

Hope your wedding prep goes smoothly!!

twinlight

Anyone has information and pictures on Marina Mandarin Vanda Ballroom wedding themes?

Also, how is the food quality? I heard from my friends that the food are quite bland and tasteless.

lollyjolly

@ Anna

I agree that Christine has very bad service! She replied my enquires unprofessionally and keep saying: 'I have 20 years experience in this trade' Making me feel very irritated. Nevertheless, we liked the ballroom very much and hence signed up with Christine. And I am keeping my finger cross and hope she don't irritate me further and give me good service.

I requested for free flow wine + free flow beer. If it cannot be done, she could have kindly reject me. But when I say my friend got it from another hotel, she replied me: How can you compare a 5 stars hotel to a 4 stars hotel!?

I mean, you could have rejected me nicely right, I am a customer and I will be spending at least $40k at your hotel. I should have requested to change my coordinator! I wonder if I can still change!

Did anyone manage to get free stay at bridal suite and free helper's room? She die die don't want to give me helper's room overnight or day use. I only manage to get 2 nights bridal suite

hamhambijou

@ lollyjolly

Strangely I've had quite a different experience with Christine. To us, she was quite professional and friendly. While we weren't able to get free-flow wine, she did provide 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table, as well as free-flow beer. Corkage for all duty-paid wine/liquor was also waived. That seems to be the max that we can negotiate at other hotels (some refuse to even waive corkage or provide free flow beer!)

Originally had 1 night at bridal suite and 1 free helper's room for day use, but we didn't need the helper's room so she upgraded it to 2 night's stay in the bridal suite instead. Also managed to up the car parking to 30% instead of 20%.

Only thing was that we did not manage to see the bridal suite during our appointment with her, as we were late, and she had back to back appointments

lollyjolly

@hamtaro&bijou

maybe its us. me and htb looks younger than our real age, perhaps thats why she find us 'good to bully. Our first appointment with her was on a friday and we were dress down. she treated us like kids. We may have asked funny questions but who doesn't? it's our first and only time getting married and who knows what to ask.

when we went down to make our deposit few weeks later in our office wear on a weekday, her attitude becomes better and started asking our occupation and more polite (maybe bcos we are signing already)

She provide the same perks as what you mention above. At first she didn't want to give me the free flow beer but later on throw in as we hesitated

oh, another issue she made me really pissed was when I asked her about the printing inserts. She replied me in a sacarstic manner:'None of the hotel in Singapore prints insert for the invite'
again, she could have replied in a nicer manner.

We didn't get to see the bridal suite too.. I wonder if its nice and big. So far, I really liked Orchard Hotel's bridal suite. Big and comfy, can cater to friends and family who wants to hang around before the banquet.

Me and htb really liked the hotel so its the hotel that won us over and not the coordinator. We can only convince ourselves that we are in good hands as she has 20 years of experience in this trade and she will do a good job to plan for our wedding.

Btw, I wonder when will they have new theme?