Marina Mandarin Singapore

jadyling

Starz: I've signed the dinner packaged with my coordinator last mth. She say she will invite me to the wedding show for free. So maybe u can check with yours. =)

MM BTBs, anyone here who signed up for wedding lunch? I'm shortlisting MM as one of the venue and I'm wondering if they are flexible with the perks? Coz their lunch package only includes 1 barrel beer. No wine and no corkage waiver for wines. No food tasting too.

Hi jade.. Are u entitled to the wedding show perks? Heard that MM have come up with a new payment scheme of 50% before AD.. Has it started yet?

taurusgal

Ya jade do u get the Wedding show perk since u aredy signed up last mth?
Huh 50% payment before AD?? That's a lot. Another thing I look out for is if they can tak initial deposit 5k then balance after the wedding thats the best.
Actually to me maybe based on individual perception the grand ballroom ceiling is low esp compare w other hotels. Chandeliers not bad though but I dun really lik the layout ie the short walkway too. Recently went have a peep when a wedding was going on... Sigh

jadyling

valentine and Jaslyn:
My coordinator say my perks is the same as the show. But i yet to verify..
i just paid deposit of $4k and the rest is upon check out after the AD dinner.

jadyling

Free flow beer 7-11pm
Free wine per table
Free corkage for hard liqour n wine
2 Night bridal suite stay
80% invitation card (Can increase if needed)
30% carpark coupon

Hmm.. not sure if i missed out anything..
Coordinator is Fiona. =)

blurr_85

hi jade.. did they give you 2 night bridal suit stay in exchange for the day room?

In addition, the invitation card can be increased to 90%??

liquidzza

hi caiqun, i was offered the same perks as jade.
yes, the 2 night stay is given if u give up helpers' day room. and they already increase invites from 70% to 80% which i feel is enough. (if you invite some couples/family u dont need more than that i think) furthermore, you need to pay for your own printing for the inserts.

jade, my coordinator is wendy. i will be meeting her nxt week but she didnt mention to invite me to the wedding show leh=( shd i ask her?hehe....

valentine, initially i shortlisted hyatt and mandarin orchard's imperial ballroom too.went to all three of them and here's my views.

hyatt's ballroom looks old and i think there's 2 other ballroom on the same level (which i dont want), and their perks are not attractive.unless u take their new theme at The Gallery, they have good perks and looks nice but 1288++ (works out to be 1515nett), its out of my budget. htb likes the gallery's simple and modern concept out of these 3.

Mandarin orchard ballroom looks good after renovation, but their lobby links to the gallery shopping and its crowded and noisy esp wkend. then guest have to go up to level 5 reception floor then take another lift to ballroom (i find it confusing/ not exclusive).although i thought imperial ballroom looks unique with the tiers but i have a headache thinking whos gonna sit at the top tier furthest away and like sit at door. if put 22 tables it looks cramp.18-22 tables limit is really not much leeway if ur guest list grow.

finally, me n htb decided on MM vanda ballroom as we have abt 22-25 tables.initially,i also wanted ballroom pillarless with high ceiling.i would have to say vanda's ballroom looks low and without chandeliers, maybe no grand feeling. but their reception area at foyer gives a nice ambience so i decided to compromise.their perks are all thrown in without bargaining so i guess overall im satisfied.

Hi liquidzza.. The hotels u shortlisted is same as mine. Mandarin orchard imperial ballroom is a nono as it is not good to let the elderly going up and down the stairs.
Hyatt gallery is cosy but it can only fit 24-26 max. The perks and service is good but it is quite plain deco and they dun allow u to add flora deco and backdrops ur own.
Im considering MM now but i only have around 34-37 tables. Are they strict in their minimum for 40tables? MM perks are good and they quite flexible as well..

Hi valentine. when I went viewing, the coordinator is willing to reduce to min. 35 tables for Sunday wedding dinner. I would say MM is more generous than strict.

jadyling

caiqun:
I still got day helper room just that we din extend to overnight stay. =)

liquidzza:
Tell them u wonder wad wine will they be using.. ask if food tasting will they provide? If nope, u check if during wedding show can you come and take a look? =)

blurr_85

hmm.. seemed like diff individual haf diff perks.. i've checked with wendy but she told me that one could get a 2 night stay if forgo helpers room..

in addition.. she said if forgo food tasting then they will deduct the cost of one table from overall package.. sort of like a discount..

btw.. if u booked now then would u still entitled to u the free pearl earrings and necklace as well as lucky draw??

yenming

Can someone help to send me the 2012 standard package for a weekend wedding for 25-30tables. I checked the web, it was not listed. Also, I would like to know which banquet mgr to contact and how's his/her service... my email address is [email protected]
Many thanks.

liquidzza

caiqun, yes, wendy told me the same as you. 2night stay if we forgo helpers room, and the deduction of one table if we skip food tasting. about the pearl set i didnt ask too. but the other gals who book recently didnt mention about it. (and if i read it correctly, you need to use UOB to pay to get the pearl set) I will be using Manhattan for the cash rebate.

valentine, since lynnie says can, maybe you shd meet one of the coordinator to check with her. Sunday and the not so hot dates might be ok! better do a reservation on the dates you want 1st soon! i wanted mine in 11.11.12 and 30.12.12, but its already taken by other brides in Apr! thats y u change mine to 14.10.12. no choice liao!faster faster!!!

Lynnie.. Thanx alot for the info..
Liquidzza: ya im looking at nov and dec saturday dinner cuz need to coordinate relatives from 4 countries. Wanna faint.. Wanted 8 dec but taken liao. So hafta find another dates.
(

blurr_85

mayb we could meet up during the wedding show... hehe

yenming: the package for 2012 is already out.
Weekend: $1118 nett per table (9 course - friday, sunday, eve and day of public holidays)
$1188 nett per table for saturdays, eve of christmas and new year, christmas and new year day..

liquidzza

caiqun, im going to the wedding show!!!haa, i dont mind to meet but not sure if my htb might feel uncomfy..hes very shy one. our wendy coordinator is Wendy. whens ur AD?

anyway, my package for SUNDAY is $1168 nett in OCT2012.

i think for their packages in 2012, it is slightly cheaper ($1118) before 15september for (Fri, sun and PH). I have the quotations but im not in sg at the moment. if anyone is interested let me know.=)

jadyling

Correction:
2 bridal night = no helper room..
1 bridal night then entitled with the helpers room...

Sorry for the error.. =)

lynn25

Hi all BTB. I just had my wedding at MM on 5th June and my coordinator is also wendy. I should say everything was well organised and the banquet coordinator-Kelvin was so nice to apply hot towel on hubby when he saw that he was a little tipsy. Overall, thumbs up with good service. =)

sheryce

May I know Wendy's email add? I tried emailing her but the email got bounced back. Wanna get the wedding show tix too..

ser

Can someone send me the 2012 standard package for a weekend wedding for 30-40tables? I'm looking at having my AD in December. Not sure if there are still available weekends... -.-

My email address is [email protected]
Thanks lots!

wendy_blur

Hihi, anyone went to the wedding show? Can share with me the themes available? Would be great if there photo too? My email is [email protected]. Thanks thanks!

Btw, does anyone know if there is extension to the wedding show perks?

liquidzza

hi wendy, i went for the wedding show!
wanted to see the themes too but they only displayed 3tables. was told these three are the upgraded VIP centrepiece. think from picture, red/black looks nicest.but i was actually looking for their birdcage theme.

wendy_blur

Hi liquidzza, yesssss, I would like to see the pictures. Can you email me?
Red and black is classic, but the elders might not be able to take it. So a bit tricky there. Birdcage theme is similar to the garden theme? Should be nice too!

aquilastarz

i have also went for the wedding show & saw 3 themes.
Will MM be having more then the 3 themes that are on display??
And i also think that the wedding favours & wedding care design are kinda limited

wintumnsky

Hi stars, I think todate they only have d 3 themes.

Wad u think of d food? I was shocked at d standard. If I had gone for last yr wedding show n tried this standard, would not have signed with them.

liquidzza

ive emailed my coordinator and she said the three themes displayed are for upgrade VIP centrepiece (i do not find them nice to pay for top up at all!) they should really do something about their ballroom decor. think june florist's decor is really not up-to-date. looks old fashion and ugly.

wintumnsky, ya i dont think their food was good as well. presentation also very very plain. its my 1st time attending marina mandarin wedding show, and i have to say their display is very disappointing compared to other hotels wedding show. they nv even display anything that looks nice how to attract pple. its like they nv make effort to decorate the place and doesnt make me feel like im in a 5star hotel. gosh, if i attended this wedding show, i think i might not have sign up with them.

did u gals see the wedding tables at vanda upstairs that day? i've booked mine there, now feel their their centrepiece is somewhat lacking.the ugly paintings, and especially the guest centrepiece (only with ugly colored glass for table no and tealights).

now i feel alil regret to signed up with them just before the wedding show becoz i was worried my date will be taken (other two preferred dates are taken) and becoz their perks seem somewhat better than other 5 star hotels.

am i a bridezella in the making?

liquidzza

shanney, ive sent u photos of what my coordinator send me instead of the photos taken of the 3 themes at the wedding show. (file size is too big). and as explained earlier, the three themes displayed are UPGRADED VIP centrepiece, not nice, so not worth it.

dont understand why MM did not display their usual themes on a wedding show, so disappointing. so many of us btb would like to take a look! i didnt even see the bridal suite coz no coordinators mentioned and no notice to show that it was open to view.

heee...other MM BTB, if you would like to see the themes, please email your coordinators. they should be working for you.hahah

wintumnsky

Ya, I went up to vanda ballroom too cos I booked dere too.. I already don't expect much from d ballroom as it is wad I saw when I booked.. I rushed into booking cos most hotels were booked already n also drawn by their perks..
But like wad u say, simple n plain.. Not grand..

liquidzza

wintumnsky, whens ur ad? have you decided on your theme? mine is 14.10.12 next year. most likely take the bird cage theme and i might engage decor stylist to do up Vanda. now im more busy searching for bs n pg/vg...

aquilastarz

@wintumnsky Same sentiments as you.
The taste & dishes' presentation = Taste & Look Normal, nothing special at all. If these are the best 5dishes, then i'm seriously disappointed as well. And also All guests tables will be using plain white ceramic plate wares only.

Regarding the upgraded VIP centre pieces part... you mean we have to top up additional cash for these decor?? And they are only for VIP tables or all tables applicable??

Other then the package perks, the rest of the items are not up to expectation too. The ballroom's ceiling height is already so low.
And yet Decor is so simple. It appear like not much effort is put in to improve the design or variety.
Esp: Vanda ballroom Glass display for the guest tables.. **sigh** Think i need to email my coordinator requesting for theme photos.

Wedding gifts are so limited, i even saw eg: Highlighter, Magnets ~!! Wedding cards design are also kinda dated with only 2 available colors - white & red

aquilastarz

And.... saw that they offer this perk during the show:
Allow to deduct 1 banquet table price from the bill, if the couple forgo food tasting.

Anyone has this perk in their package?
Will they extend this perk for couples who has already sign with them??