Maldives

and..oh yah...my AD photos are out...do PM me so i can send u the link to the pics...or try asking Mish (not sure she still has the URL not)

Yo Fanfan,

Wah say, you're like gone for ages leh! 7 nites is it? Is it too short for you?

Haizzzzz.........you're just gone for just 1 week, and the GST already gonna go up to 7%....hmmmmm....
So....does it make sense to book from Maldives based travel agent rather than local ones?

Yo Zhuzhu,

got ur baby stuff yet? Stroller etc..?
Haiz...every forum I go too are all shooting the Govt.
Big purchases? nah.... my biggest purchase is the house, car(in fact I don't consider purchase, shld be rent from govt or rather leasing instead), follow by MAldives!!!
Yeh...better go Maldives b4 GST up!!! Kekekekek...

anw, just hope that the GST up, corporate tax lower will help to keep jobs in Singapore... but GST helping the poor? Hmmmm...totally not convincing at all! :P

So u getting anything b4 the raise in GST%?

hi starstar,

I just bought 2 dresses from VS, I think shld reach either end next week or by the 27th this mth. Will let u know then.
But have bought sleepwears and lingeries from them before and no problem, except maybe the undies abit loose, shld have gotten XS. Sleepwears are nice..but sometimes, the material may not be worth the price. But if you are looking for those sexy ones, I think the prices are ok cos not cheap to buy in Sg anyway and not much variety. Look thru their size charts, shld help. Say if you are a local M size, shld wear a S size. If local S, then XS. Somewhere there lah.
I'm thinking if I shld buy this pair of shoes..u see nice? http://www2.victoriassecret.com/commerce/application/prodDisplay/?namespace=productDisplay&origin=onlineProductDisplay.jsp&event=display&prnbr=XF-190442&page=1&cgname=OSSHUEVSZZZ&rfnbr=2838

If you wanna buy something, someone in Sgmotherhood forum is organizing a spree. very worth it as there is a disc less $75 for $250 purchase. So she worked out the cost to be Your purchase x 1.65 (exchange rate) x 10% discount and free shipping, direct from VS. Worth it!!
I just got my payment advice from Vpost for my 2 dresses and it costs 10.79 plus base charge $9.99, so also quite cheap lah..

Fanfan,
Send to me too..wanna see... =)[email protected]

Bvbrides,

Are your pics ready? Wanna see leh...

T&p
thanks for the info..do let me know abt the dresses. Cos if I buy, most prob it's dresses. :p NICE!!! The shoes reminds me of belly dancing....haha... those stuffs that dangles around u when u belly dance...:P

Bvbride
pics pics.....

fanfan
thanks...can send to [email protected]

so u'll be heading to phuket after maldvies right? or isit HK?

WU
yup..GST is going up soon... knew it beforehand liao cos heard some rumours about it going up after the election. I'm kinda of expected it...keke...:p

<font color="0077aa">hi ladies, need a helping hand.. trying to plan for my honeymoon next month.. can recommend some nice resorts for me? this is kinda last min so appreciate all the help i can get. =)</font>

Wu
My bb stuff ah..haven't started buying yet..maybe wait till post x'mas sales lor..or else see any kind soul wans to buy for me lor..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Sure got lots of ppl buys you stuff during ur baby's 1mth celebration mah!

Joy or Zenn will also buy you BB present if you buy any Insurance policy from them....kekekeke

Kidding lah! :P
If u invite us, off course we'll go and buy your BB present mah! KEkeke...

Yo Starstar,

Nah... it's a 5 yrs cyclic thingy, after every election! Kekeke.... anw, for me, I just don't spent loh! Putting all my money in investment/stocks/shares, plus some for my Maldives trip lah!
anw, guys seldom buy much things one lah. Already got my Camera, quite happy liao! :P
If I wanna buy more, I rather go HK buy, so much cheaper than SGP, then those money save can use for part of the expense over there!

<font color="0077aa">hi wu, thanks..

do you mean f&amp;e package? i dun mind.. i went on hilton site and apparently, it is fully booked during the period i want to go.. and i tried to book sq online.. think flight full.. now waiting to see if agents got tickets..

about 4 or 5 days... budget capped at S$4k per pax including spending money .. if we take club med its S$3k per pax for 4days based on the website.. is the budget realistic?

thanks for the website.. its very useful.. any reco of "over water" suites/resorts?</font>

hahaha Wu
so fast help ur wifey pyscho me to buy bb insurance policy har..dat must wait till bb come to this world 1st mar..now still too early for dat..

pandalic
your budget for club med is realistic enough since club med usu full board one. For over water villas, guess all the over water villas in Maldives are great, no matter which resort u go, it's nice! Club med have that too. Since it's so last min, think it's better to book from agents than DIY thru web sites as this period is the HOT period in Maldives.
have fun planning.

Wu
haha... yup..guys are usu like that...
your camera is not cheap leh also...

pandalic
u can try this website, www.mal-dives.com
it features all the resorts and the different budgets. Of course, it'll be most ex to travel in this period as it's peak. Just bear in mind the rates quoted is in USD and some resorts u'll need to travel by sea plane and thus a nite stay in the capital. So must factor in if u decided to book wif thru the web site. U can also use it as a place for reference so u can book wif the agency in singapore.

just sent u all the link to the AD photos

Here's a review on the Anantara resort:-

Villas:
Both the beach &amp; water villas are spacious. However, the scenery depends on the location of the villas.
For water villas, the even number rooms are sunset facing with views of the open ocean. For the odd number villa, it's sunrise facing, and some of them maybe facing directly at the island that's under construction.
Rooms are made up twice a day. However, the room maybe made up at quite late at night, arnd 9-10pm at times. 2 litres (4 x 500ml) of water is provided at each room make-up.
Cleanliness of the villas may also be improved as we sighted some young croakcroches in the villas.

Food:
Breakfast is at Fushi Cafe. The variety of food is reasonable. However, not much changes over my 5nights stay at the resort. Taste wise, personally i think it's average.

Lunch is only available at Aqua Bar and Fushi Grill. The latter only serves buffet which is around USD40 per pax.
The former is more economical for meals (e.g. USD22 for a pizza enuff for 2), though variety for food is rather limited as well.

For dinner, the Italian restaurant is open as well. We only had our dinner there once for our honeymoon dinner. The ambience is good, food is not bad, but the wine that comes together with the dinner is not that great.

They've another Thai restaurant, which we have to take a speedboat out. We didnt try it as our next stop is Phuket (so no Thai food for us)

Room service takes arnd 30-45 mins to come and food that are available at the restaurant cost USD2 more.

Activities
Activites are organised seperately by the Water Sports Centre and Anantara Resort.

We tried 2 activities during our stay:

Sunset Fishing (USD30/pax) == organised by Water Sports Centre

The trip is rather enjoyable if u dun find fishing a bore. No food and drinks are provided. So bring along water if you need them (don't end up like me having a sore throat in the end)

Full day discovery tour (USD105/pax)
This trip needs min 6 to go. Please please please confirm and re-confirm that the day you booked is set to go. The person who helped us to book initally confirmed with us it's a confirmed trip.
But on that day itself, when we were on the dhoni (thinking it's for the full day), we then realised that it's the morning snorkelling trip instead. It was only upon our insistence that they arrange a full day trip for us the following day with only 4 pax (including us).

But on the whole, the full day tour is very worthwhile. It started off with a visit to one of the island, followed by bringing us to a desserted island. While the staff prepare our lunch, we get to snorkel, swim and explore the island. The lunch was fabulous. 4 of us couldnt finish the food at all. We were lucky to be able to see dolphins, but no luck for Manta Ray though.

Tip: Do bring a mosquito repellant. There's lotsa mosquitos at the eating area

If you want to snorkel around the resort, you can try the deeper waters in front of the sunset beach villas/pool, the water outside the spa area, and the waters in between the spa and the water villa of the next island.
If you can swim well or kayak, can try to swim/kayak to the island opp the sunrise water villa (behind the small islet), then swim and snorkel to the deeper water there. You will be able to see fishes there as well.

Our package includes non-motorised water sports like kayaks, windsurf and sailing.

Theres an infinity pool at the resort and a great place to view the sunset. At night, the pool will be lighted up with small lights like the little stars in the sky. Great place to have a drink and chill out at night as well.

Will update more if i can recall any more stuff =)

<font color="0077aa">hi, thanks for the help.. plans aborted coz no more airtickets for the period i want to travel.. 2 agents confirmed that.. it would have been an ideal hm at maldives.. sighz.. </font>

hey fanfan,
eagerly awaiting for your pix, i just PM you.=D

hey everyone,
work has been driving me quite crazy lately..so whenever i am free, make use of time to plan a little for my japan winter trip next feb. think i shld be making bookings by end of this mth liao. will just book flight first and sort out accomodation lata.

hey zhuzhu,
ya, dun worry..am sure ur loved ones will be more than happy to bless ur little baby with all the goodies he or she needs!!!

hihi!!!

Whoa!!! Fanfan - so on - full report from u so soon!! i was so zonked out when i arrive back in SIN.
btw did u get the friendly chef from Egypt for your island discovery? both husb and i tot that he was great and tipped him more.hee hee... he lead us snorkelling (voluntarily) and he was most helpful :D

Wu/Starstar/Haru and the rest: i stayd 1N at Relax Inn plus 4N at Ananatara. Pretty ok for me liao cos im qt easily contented??!?!!! moreover the longer i stay the sadder i wil be when i leave!!! (not to forget more $$$) I was so sad that when the speedboat drove away, i shed afew tears - yet again! my Gosh ..dunno what is wrong with me le...aiyoh... old already hence more sentimental i guess heheheee...im half Maldivian already - the beauty of the island realy captured me

Wu: this time round I still get the sea sick - swaying sensation...even till now..how?? any cure??when i shower I also get the swaying sensation although im not feeling pukey....funni hor?? hahahha~~ U must be laughing lor...kekekke...

thatz all for now - bz with work siah....so will report again as and when i get the time

pictures? hmmm....next week prob cos no time to upload very the sorrry!!!!!!!!!!!! but qt similar to Mish's la....kekekek

Hi Pandalic

Dun worry - can go Maldives for 2nd honeymoon - like most of us here. if u love the sand sand and sea u MUST go! see Wu and I went twice liao hahaha :D

Fanfan, Thank you very much on ur review.....oh yes... this really bring back memory man!! Haizz... it's really bad, I really want to go back but on another hand really want to safe more money for future! Hmm......

Yo Zhuzhu,

HAhaha...kekek...hubby helping wife mah. You take good care of urself for now, hubby start doing housework liao not? :P
Next year really lots of piggy BB, couple of my friends, collegue also preggie...it's like a BB boom man!

Hi pandalic,

Go some other time, like the shoulder period, ie. OCT or April, cheaper still while still can enjoy more sunshine!
Hmmm....unless you take Malaysia Airline or SriLankan Airline? SQ always fully pack when going there but plenty of space when back!

Yo bvbride!

Wow...u're back!! Must be rather tired eh?
Haiz... I already a MAldivian liao. Missing my hometown liao loh! :P
Agree with you, the longer you stay there, the more tears you shed. For me, my tears is circling around my eyes also!
Oh no no....sea sick again har? Hahaha....ya, I just fell off my chair. Lucky u never say you step on Coral again! :P
Hmmm....but how long is the speedboat ride har? I think must be the Maldivian Syndrome that everyone, including me who had been to Maldives wld suffer when we're back, telling us to go back again soon! Kekekek....

Oh yeah..3rd time is coming real soon...kekeke...kidding lah! :P

hi Wu,
its really baby boom..i see mummies-to-be all around me!!

u really very attached to the island eh..maybe u shld save up to buy an island there and set up a small B&amp;B!!

Long time not on thread. hee! Hee!

Alex going to Australia? Which part? Lovely country.

I'm just back from honeymoon. Self-driving in USA is fun, but I still miss the sun, sea and the beaches in maldives.

bvbride
keke..I know what u mean... grown to be attached to the island...
sigh..it's always sad to leave a paradise.

fanfan
can't see leh..the link not working one.

adel
how's your honeymoon in US? U have any nice pics? u went to the west coast or east?

Yo Haru,

When's ur turn? Kekeke...
You not attached to Hilton meh? Keke....must be he same as me lah!
Unless I have a couple of million USD, else, don't think I'll be able to buy any island from the Maldivian Govt, Hmmm...... I wish I wish..!
Eh Haru...you still taking photos with ur 350D?

Yo Adel,

How's ur wedding and ur HM? Yes please share ur pics with us! Are all ur pics in your Multiply?

So when u going back to Maldives? I next year jio u go lah! Can dive together also mah! Haiz... working hard to earn money to go. I'm still in Office, so does my wife....somewhere out there working...
Okie...got to complete my work, and try to go home early!

Talk to u folks tomorrow!

hey Wu,
I shld be asking u that rite?hhehehe...i am attached to maldives, not just hilton. but of coz hilton sorta e benchmark for me already!kekek

well, not actively taking. sometimes see something nice at home, just take some shots. i took some pix on posted it on our blog just for fun..hahahah..nothing fancy of coz.

starstar,
I went to the west. It is beautiful and the ppl we met were great.

Wu,
Planing next year, have to work harder to save for the trip. Photos not up yet. Still have a couples of things to do urgently. I MISSSSS... diving. So which island are you planning to go this time?

Hi y'all~ its Friday again :D

Wu: the seasick better now. guess its sorta of nice reminder of Maldives for me. I took afew shots of Anantara with my cranky HP just so that i can view the pics whenever i want - obsession or what ? hahaha..
this time i very "clever" i borrowed someone's booties ..hehehe...the mask and snorkle provided are very new so really had fun learning snorkeling on my own.im really chicken cos i dare not go across those deeper patches. one thing abt the lagoon there is that there are a few deeper water area (darker blue in colour) so must wear lifevest for me la. cannot track water one.. hehehe...

Speedboat is approx 40-45mins from airport.

Oh one more thing. in case u are gog and transiting at Male town ie Relax inn or other inns hor..u can actually buy some groceries in Male town itself - sooo much more convenient le
really cheap and they hv some some of the more common snacks there like Pringles (better than those Spore ones that comes in skinny bottles - theirs is the original fatter bottle kind) - only 20Rufiya (dun questn my spelling - dunno how to spell). So we grabbed that and some packet Milo, one carton of fruit juice and a few plastic bottles of Coke!!! so no need to pay US8 for coke in resort! hahahha :D

Heard got some minor unrest in Male town cos of some political stuff..but thank god we didnt see any unrest or strikes.

Now really want to snorkel more to get rid of my fear of deep deep waters. u think it is easy to go Perhentian from singapore? guess the water there is closest to the Maldivian water that we love so much.

Good morning!

<font color="ff6000">starstar &amp; haru</font>, yalor v fast rite! due in jan n now counting down heee

<font color="aa00aa">zhuzhu</font>, u are due in mar? i always tot u are jan too leh. aiyo how blur am i! haha

Yo Haru,

You benchmark Hilton liao ah? Siao liao lah...the next level you'll have only a handful of choice liao lah! Kekke....Huvafen?
Oh...not getting better lens to take pics lah! For me, I'm thinking of getting a faster lens just purely to take Ryo N pepper, cos they just can't stay still....Haiz...
Yoz..u shld bring it out take some nice scenery mah, practice for ur next trip, i.e Japan or Maldives!

Yo Adel,

Hmmm....really don't know leh. I low budget type so likely 4 stars resort or lower loh. Maybe Mirihi again island hop Hilton or maybe another Atoll, Vilu resort or Veligandu resort.
REally no idea yet. Have to see whether I got enough cash or not....so far bank quite empty leh! kekekek...:P

Yo bvbride,

Hahahah.....okie lah like that. I think you're slowly tune to a Maldivian life, which cannot do w/o a boat!

Actually hor, you shld slowly try snorkelling w/o life vest. Slowly lah. Life vest, esp those not fitting ones always push up towards our neck, and I really find it troublesome loh!
We shld be quite Bouyant in the sea than in a swimming pool. It's difficult to trap water with a flipper isn't it? What you can do is just relax and stay horizontal either facing down snorkelling and enjoying the snorkel or lying back, just to take a rest. You can try in ur next trip, just ask someone who can swim to be by ur side or simply hold hands and snorkel together! Try it!

Eh..you go shopping in Male on ur first day or last?
Yah...ppl are getting more educated in Maldives and they're question the govt, esp the president on things like democracy, teenage hook on drugs, and GST increase to 7% (ops... last one is in SGP, not Male) :P Protest getting common liao.

Hmmm...perhentian,never been there but if I'm not wrong is somewhat similar to redang's. I don't think there're fancy resort in Perhentian than in Redang. Coach trip there will take longer time, think different bus station from those going Redang, and probably will take u say 11hrs?(Redang is already 9-10hrs).
You can try Berjaya Redang though, they got their private beach with very clear water as well, and I see dark patches on the photo, meaning coral reefs just right near the beach!
If u got bigger budget, there's a direct flight from Seletar Airport to Redang island!

keke..zhuzhu causing a confusion...
wah..so got 2 mummies to be...
time flies.

It's weekend!!!
enjoy folks!

Wu
haha..u still brooding over the increase of GST isit? ;p sigh..look on the bright side... other countries GST is more than ours.
keke...

hmmm... if I really have alot of $$$, think I won't buy an island in Maldives. I'll go for Polynesian. whahaha....*Dream* :p

just wondering... does hospital like KK or Thomson medical charge GST?

zhuzhu, zenn
does your check up for gynae include GST?

hmm indonesia GST has been 10% since i was born till now

my japanese colleague has been to perhentian, main purpose to dive. i dun think many people go there for leisure..

my tan is fading!! need to go beach
kao_frustrated.gif

but malaysia for end year is rainy/monsoon rite..
no $$$ to go other regions.. sigh..

Hihi Wu

Thx for your expert snorkelling advice. heee heee
now u make me qt gian to go try snorkelling again. diving - nah...not yet cos must be zai at simple things like snorkelling first.
actually i snorkelled wearing a fitted lifevest + booties - didnt wear flippers cos some areas shallow can walk ma hahah :D

the Berjaya looks ok for the price they are charging. from the pix the water looks ok
how much to fly there from Seletar? book thru where ah?
since u recommend one then it should be good hor...fishes aplenty?

u working qt late huuhh...Haru also bz ..tmr i working also...we hv one another for company la

Hihi Mirror

i also scared my tan fade or secarly i start to peel then no more tan liao...hence planning to go swimming pool in the mean time to tan - if i ever find the time! hahah...

hi bvbride! im waiting for your pics!! hee
hmmm i din really got any peeling that time after maldives and krabi maybe coz i use sunblock lar
but still tanned..
next time must use suntan lotion!

Yo Starstar,

I'd survived the UK 17.5% VAT so 7% is "nothing" to me... Kekekkee.... Jus that right now still cannot figure out how it can "help" the poor?? Lets open our eyes and see...
Oh yes...hospital bills does include GST as well! ??? Sick and ill still must paid for TAX? :P
Hey....maybe polynesia buy island also must pay tax hor! Hahahahah....

Yo bvbride,

No lah,it's just my own way of do snorkelling. Others might have their way.
Oh... if you're comfortable with snorkelling liao, u can do some free dive. Just lift up one of ur legs, follow by another one....down u go swiming with the fishes!

I've never been to Berjaya,only been to Laguna and 2 other smaller resort. Just looks good to me loh,and my wife's sis went b4. Not bad at all!
For package can see below website. Think return per pax return is around RM600.

http://www.berjaya-air.com/flightschedule.htm

Actually I see more sharks and turtle in Redang then in MAldives! Most fish species rather similar to Maldives, less those giant tunas. PLenty of coral fishes for sure! Baby sharks are almost guaranteed!

Oh...you'll be surprise.Diving is not that difficult. Basically just sink! Regulate breathing and remember some procedure that's all! Ask Adel...she probably dive more then me!

Yeah...really gonna be busy, at least till end of the year, likely drag till CNY! Sianx...but it's nearer till the next time I'm going MAldives, thus still not too bad eh!

talking abt the GST...i guess the govt will give more subsidies to the lower income. the high income grp wldnt b affected very much. so the grp suffering is the middle income ppl...like me

someone gg to HK soon? there is a very nice traditional bakery shop in kowloon. its a must try. selling freshly baked egg tarts n coconut tarts.

hi bvbride!
I'd been to perhentian and redang. Love both islands. Sea and beaches look like Maldives, Water temp is cooler. Sand are finest in Perhentian and Redang.
I prefer perhentian cos there are less ppl, less commericalize.
Took 24-seats coach from Larkin, JB. 12hours ride. The jetty is different from redang.
I went there diving, but snorkelling is available there. The resort there is nice as well. Built on the slope. Seaview.
Monsoon season now. Have to wait til next mar.

hi wu,
Trying to promote diving now. Maldives??? On-going promotion, is it??

Hi Adel

think both yourself and Wu are the diving/snorkelling experts i can consult here. just read the Redang thread - am im so Psych to go asap after Monsoon season le! my gosh...why am i so excited? must be my last trip to Maldives that kicked off this snorkelling frenzy...i suck at it but still keen to try again! hahaha

So Adel which resort is good for Redang? am looking at Bejaya now....Wu's reccomendation. Perhentian sounds great too but buay ta han the long coach ride siah..hmmm flying will cost alot more hor...hmmmm...... will chk if my ah lau can tahan the coach ride...maybe take those "hi class" VIP coach lor...

thx in advance for your advice

Wu
hey if got $$ to buy island...think the tax wise is no problem liao...like the rich n famous man....:p it'll be a case of too much $$ dun know where to spend liao...like those 11 people who bought the new Lamborgini in the motorshow....:p

Actually heard from a fren of mine who works in the Tan CHong Motors(Nissan car dealer), he told me his boss got 20 over cars parking in his house garage!! I can imagine how big his boss's place is man! So I guess taxes for these people are nothing like what LPH mentioned. well, this is life.

those who r interested in diving and wanna try it out, can go to the exhibition in suntec or was it in Expo for a try. Think it's some sports exhibition. Got rock climbing too and other activities for hands on.

enjoy the weekend folks!

Yo LPH,

Yeah...., say no to GST increase,especially after every election,something must increase. Haizz....cannot trust politician at all! :P
anw I'm gonna to see how it can help the poor by increasing GST. GST will stay forever, but the gift package will be only once.
Like to go hongkong but too much work to do lah. anw, if I go again it'll be like 3 long holiday a year...my boss wouldn't be happy. :P

Yo Adel,

Everybody must try diving, at least during out lifetime isn't it? Kekeke.....

Yo bvbride,

Redang wise, don't have to think much. The so call 5 star resort only 2 there. Laguna or Berjaya.
suggest u to take up Bed breakfast instead of Ful board. You don't wanna to queue and fight for food don't u? Kekekeke....:p

Coach ride is really very tiring,especially during the first day. but once u reach redang or perhentian, you'll feel more relax than tired.
For Redang, the coach leaves SGP around 8-9pm(if i can remember), reach Terenganu bus station ard 6am. If u book thru agent, someone will fetch u to PinkAnchorage travel agency(most likely). Then free &amp; easy until ur schedule ferry, return back to the agency, another coach will fetch u to Merang jetty, another 1hr ride. Ferry ride takes another 1hr...reach Redang around noon time.

however, for me, after my last trip to Redang on plane, I think no more coaches for me. I took airasia flight back to KL, stay 1 night, then flyback to JB, bus back to SGP. More transit but less tiring, but only slight more ex.
NExt time I'll try Berjaya air instead, no transit needed.

Actually there's no "hi-class" VIP coach to terenganu, although it's those 26 seater coach but most of them quite old, aircon breakdown quite frequent, don't expect those new Grassland type of standard lah.
suggest u take plane better lah.....

anw, do u know the room rates in redang not really fantastic? some Maldives resort can match them. Just that u spend more on makan and SQ flight lah! Kekek.......

Yo starstar,

Hahahaha.....u are right there...ppl so rich and don't even have to bother with taxes, but ironically, most ppl that evade taxes at those rich folks!!!
Haiz....poor poor middle-class like us, can't even have chance to evade taxes, cos everything is automatic submission.....kekekek:P

yeah...my friend who work as a property agent, he got one client who owns more than 100+ condos in Singapore..and the number is still rising!! :P

That's how rich some rich folks can be.... :P

most of the luxury coach (2 stoery kind) only goes to KL/Genting. n its only limited to certain brand like five stars, grssland, nice.

wld like to try redang one day but it wld b by air berjaya. but my next aim would most likely be phillipines. places like boraccay, cebu...anyone been there?