Maldives

ryo

Yo starstar,

Straits time life is it? anw, I don't have newspaper....kekekek.... weekend then go my FIL see!

Hmmm....so quiet recently hor....Fanfan is leaving tonight to Maldives also right?
That's all liao loh, no more trips from the folks here, likely the next one to go is bvbride right?

happytea

hi folks! seems like most of you are bk from Maldives already.

We will be there for our honeymoon in this Dec for 4 nights. so wanted to ask you ppl here for advices or warnings or suggestion..

anyone brought foodstuff? Should we bring USD or just charge the expenses to the credit cards? Must we book the spa before we reach?

hmm.... what else har....?

zhuzhu

hi Happytea
welcome to this thread...

For me..i bought mineral waters, chips, noodles
Also bought some USD..just in case u need to buy souvenirs in Male..at the resort..just charge to ur room..then use credit card lor..

my spa sessions i booked on the 1st day of arrival..if u are worried, can try to book b4 u leave for Maldives lor..

By the way, u staying at which resort?

starmed

Wu n mish
yup..it's angsana on Velavaru. It's opening special that's valid till 19 dec 06. u guys can see the advert in LIFe section of straits times yesterday.

Wu
yup..fanfan's leaving tonight...
gosh..how i wish I'm some luggage of hers...keke... miss the sand n sea.

happy tea
welsome! yup..zhuzhu's idea is good. cos for me, we only change some USD n charge the rest to credit card. Spa wise also book upon arrival... guess it'll depends on which resort u stay..ie. if the resort is crowded or not...

mish

happy tea,

which resort are u staying?

advice got one impt one..

bring lots of SUN BLOCK! If not will be seriously burnt... my hub thinks that it is ok... and he put at some places.. didnt put at some.. in the end turn like lobster!

And yes - book spa session if u wanna go. I wanted spa.. and need to book like 3 days in advance.. the japs and the koreans go there for spas.. and they dont seem to wanna leave the spas.

I paid all in cash. Coz i cheapo.... that time exchange rate low ma... i scared will go up. so i change first. But i think CC safer!But must bring some.. in case u need. maybe 200usd? some 1s for tips.

Food - i brought the same as zhu zhu... But it depends on which resort u are staying.. the one i stayed. got enuff water. the water there cost like 6usd for 1. so quite ex. Chip... lots pls! If u snack kind. we only brought 1 packet.

Star star,

oh? i going to go see see. But maldives is not one of my have to go list in the next 2 years.. coz got lots of other place to fulfill. heee.

starmed

mish
haha...u same as me...maldives I'll definitely go back again but not so soon...
where u planning to head to? I'm planning either hawaii or SA. :p

lph

starstar,
china or eva will transit at taipei. these 2 airlines are cheaper than UA, ANA & Northwest.

ryo

Hi Folks,

Hmmm... looks like confirm. Angsana bought over Velavaru. I think Velavaru(beside vilu reef) used to be the sister resort of Vilu reef and Olhuveli resort.

I found something interesting, Angsana seems to just paint over the beach villa, refurb abit only...as the room looks very much the same as the previous Velavaru! Not sure about other villas though.

http://www.angsana.com/velavaru/index.php?content=t_roomssuites

Mish, Starstar, I also wanna to try other places leh, but in deep me, I just can't forget about Maldives.... probably I do more Snorkelling and diving....

Yo Mish,

Sun-burn meh? Both me and Karen Tan like mad, sometimes no lotion, sometime put no. 2....nice tan leh? Weird.....Oct Sun stronger than July one is it? Kekkeke....:p

Hi Happytea,

Congrats on ur upcoming trips! Can consider bringing more tip bits as suggested by Mish, for my I Kiasu, brought items like chips, Cheezal, chicken in a biscuit etc... Can bring some "Ping pong" Biscuit to feed the fishes also! Kekekek...
Maybe some cup soup by Ekin, 3 in 1 coffee, Canned tuna for biscuit spread.... I brough Mash potata there also, with some small package butter for taste/smoothness etc....

Same question from me, Which resort u going??

haru

hi happytea,
if ur luggage is not too heavy, you mite wana bring along a book or two or just some magazines for you to read while u bask in the sun..kekeke...

ya Wu,
i think u are rite, after Fanfan its just happytea. the rest of us either just returned or in the midst of planning a trip elsewhere. but strangely i find myself coming back to this thread all the time..hahahah...

starstar,
hows ur planning for ur hawaii trip? i have not made any progress w my japan trip at all. have nt booked flights and have not even planned my itenary and accomodation. having a bit of challenge coz it seems like i have to try to book for different places in one city.so now looking at F&E packages to hopefully save me some hassle and hopefully some $$ too!hahaah...

ryo

Yo Haru,

Hahahaha......you must admit lah, still miss Maldives right?
Although I've been to quite a number of country, still my heart keep urging me to go back next year? Hmmmm......

haru

Wu,
hahah..yup yup, everytime i see pix in mags etc of the clear water and lush sand..gosh, makes me just wana go again!!!

mish

Star star,

Where is ur next destination??

Haru, Come back here to chat with all the oldies ma... heee.

Wu,

U 2 thick skin... so not so easy to get burn. wahahahhaah

starmed

mish
I'm planning to go Hawaii or SA. Not confirm which one yet..but confirm travelling in April.

how abt u?

LPH
china n eva flies to taiwan?! great! then I might as well kill 2 birds wif one stone then...stopover at taiwan. See how lah... need to check the flight schedule first.
thanks for the info! sure it helps!

haru
my planning still not firmed up. Currently only decided to go for a week or so trip and stay a few nights on the main island-Oahu and island hopping to Maui then stay a few more nights. Iiternary not firmed up cos also depends on hubby. He currently too busy to vet thru...keke... just asked me to research more on hawaii n SA then he'll decide. :p Me ma chiam his secretary liao...haha...
u? it's rather tedious cs it'll involve domestic flight too...from Oahu to Maui. Alot of things to look up.

haha..i'm like u...always ended here...think the people here are more fun loving n proactive?! keke...

starmed

btw anyone of u got any web sites I can go to for hotel reservations? Cos I realise asiarooms dun have hotels in hawaii...

happytea

hi all, thanks for all the info!

i guess i got to make a trip to the supermkt food section before i depart... suntan lotion ah, whats the diff to a sun block? can it really block the sun?? any nude beach there? i am harbouring the idea to get a good one-tone body! :p

Mish, you were saying u saw dolphins right? that was during the speed boat trip?

We will be putting up at Full Moon, a mixture of beachfront cottage and the water bungalow.

ryo

Yo Mish,

Oh... I know why We don't hv sun-burn liao. We wore diver suit during sun tan! :p
Aiya, usually light color skin ppl will get sun burn easily... but I got rather fair skin..kekkeke...hahah..but not till the extend of lobster red lah! :p

Oh Happytea,
Sun-tan and sun block all the same lah, jst different no. The no. indicates the protection level(in Minutes), and guaranteed protection up till that timing. Thus after that timing, re-apply the sun-tan lotion.... Usually, sun-tan oil with lowest no. i.e. no. 2 or 0 will give you dark colour tone!
I think can bring some after-sun lotion, you'll feel better after applying after each sun-tan session.
anw Nudity not allowed in Maldives, but can still do it in your own villa, just ask your partner to "see water" for you! That's what we did over there!
Enjoy!!!

kazataza

hi guys!
Greetings from Anantara!

Not as lucky as Adi and Mish..got an odd number room
requested to change room...hope that there's room available soon..

we were lucky to see a dolphin (i think) when we were on the speedboat to the resort..saw a baby shark outside the water villa as well..

the sky is super dark now...think gonna have a storm soon...still exploring the island...

okay..gtg and grab a bite for lunch...cya

haru

starstar,
i've been trying to find out more about places to stay in. now am tryin to work if its better to take train transfers from tokyo to hokkaido rather than domestic flight coz its cheaper. just that it takes a much longer time..have to transfer more than once! quite tricky to plan..

hey fanfan,
u mean odd number room not soo good? well, enjoy ur time there!!!!!

zhuzhu

Hey Haru
I even take dosmetic flight from Tokyo to Osaka..cos I dun wan to lug my luggage up the stairs at the train station..so decide to take a flight instead..

mish

Star star,

Where is SA? South africa? hmm. I also wanna go New york. Or should i say.. my hub wanna go new york. I wanna go japan. So we will go both ba. One year one.

Fan fan,

How you like it there? the sea is beautiful hor?

WOW u saw baby shark? Not as lucky as you! i didnt see any shark.

WU,

Ohhh.. no la. i didnt turn as red as lobster. Just my hub's leg turn really pink! His shin area. He didnt put sun block on that area. Coz didnt expect. I worse.. I got sun burn on my head!!!! Unbelievable. hee.

zenn

Good morning!

It's been long time since I last login. Hope everyone is fine!

zhuzhu, wow u still so active here ya :p

kazataza

hi everyone!
good morning! woke up early - arnd 5am their time (but its 8am SG time) and now waiting for the breakfast to start at the restaurant..

finally found some consolation @ our even number (non-sunset + facing island construction) villa..
our balcony is not facing directly at the construction..but the open sea/inlet between the 2 islands opposite..
and we saw a fantastic sunrise!!!!
for once, i'm able to wake up in time to see a sunrise...heeheee
and, we saw the baby shark again...hahaha..

going for sunset fishing this evening..hope it will be fun =) yippe!

okay..gtg and check out the breakfast...only us and some japanese are awake and walking arnd..guess its the time zone difference =)

u guys have a good weekend tml

ryo

Yo Mish,

NY? I heard the name I scare liao....that 21hrs flight really kills me. My backside almost broken apart! Kekekek..... unless it's business class and above lah, I wouldn't mind! :p

Wha liao....sun burn on your head? Amazing! How can it be? Normally it shld be at the shoulder first mah! hmmmm..... but also possible. Sometimes my Ryo got slight sun burn also....got fur also can burnt too! :p

Hi Zenn,

Long time never hear from u? How are you doing lately? Feeling okie? Hope you're doing well in everything! So...when u start ur maternity leave?
Year end closing eh...my wifey has been very busy recently!

Yo Fanfan,

Hahhaha....for me the same. The only time I can get up see sunshine is none other than in Maldives only!! It's amazing isn't it?

Enjoy eh!

zenn

Hi wu,
I am fine. Now in 3rd trimester liao. I already close shop for this yr. Now preparing for next financial. Ya spoke to ur wife online. HOw much shortfall now?

Hi Mish,
You going NY? Went last yr. Miss it meh hee

bvbride

Hi Y'all~Greetings from Anantara!!!

guess where i am? HAHHA~ - some last min arrangement. i think i saw fanfan sitting on a swing during breakkie

now waiting for island discovery to set off

weather abit of a downer cos its always threatening to rain over here..sigh...but got BEAUTIFUL sunset facing water villa ti cheer me up
the interior is very luxe and its huge! its a real suite.

FOod is Fantastic...breakfast - excellent

the only down side i can think of is the weather and general lack of marine life around our villa
i saw the baby black tip around our villa too!!

gues will def bump into fanfan later

am so excited abt the excursion

chat more if i manage to get the terminal later...

CHEERS!!!

ryo

Yo Zenn,

Glad to hear that you're doing great!! Wah say, so fast close shop liao ah? You already pass MDC or even better

Yo bvbride,

WoW....you buay sui lah! Reach there then tell us....... why so sudden? Tell us more! Okie, me next time go, come back then tell u! :p
Muahahahaha......
Yo take more pics okie and enjoy! Lucky you!

zhuzhu

Bvbride
since when u plan to go maldives one...how come I dun remember u mentioning dat???

Zenn
Ya lor..on and off I will pop by here to chat

ryo

Zhuzhu,

bvbride got say b4, she's planning for quite some time liao....initially it's Komandoo mah, then she said maybe next year, then later she hook on Anantara liao and also check the price for year end also.....
Still, it's a surprise to us as well! So sudden!

Next time we'll do the same also!!! Muahahahha!!

mish

BVBRIDE!!! warrua... all siao siao one.... suddenly go without warning... we plan till like siao... she go like.. within few mins decision... tsk tsk

EnJOY ur trip1!!!! heee

haru

omigosh bvbride!
you quick as lightning leh!! how come suddenly you at maldives????? for a moment i still tot maybe you joking..hahah...so how long u gona be there for?

Fanfan,
wah, think u can go have tea with bvbride liao. still can't believe she's there too!!!

zenn,
wow, 3rd trim already...so fast!! u must be really excited!

zhuzhu,
haha, now hear u talk about the staircase and the train station thingy make me think twice sia.well, i wil noe more when i go find out more details about e packages avail with maybe ANA or JAL.

lph

im gg on my hk trip tmr n juz realised camera spoil...only bought it for 14 mths n this is the 2nd time spoil. no warranty liao, gg to burn a hole in the pocket again.

error was card cannot be read. but card is ok on my notebook. all the camera experts here...how much does it cost to fix this prob?

im never gg to buy nikon camera again.

starmed

zenn
wah..so fast! 3rd trimester liao...the bb is coming soon.
glad all's good.

bvbride
wah!! so fast fly there liao...
u must enjoy k? think u guys gonna love it there. btw how come har? Still as planned wif folks or just two of ya?

zhuzhu
keke... rem bvbride talking abt it... but she was looking at next year then like what wu mentioned, change to this year end... then voila! there liao...
how r ya doing? your 2nd trimester reaching right?

lph
enjoy your shopping!!!

haru
wah..the planning is a killer...must consider alot of things.... :p u booking hotel thru which web site?

kazataza

yoz people!
yeah! i met bvbride..didnt know she posted here...me still blur blur when i met her...we met @ the sunset fishing trip...she and her hubby very pro leh..brought their own fishing rods and caught like more than 5 fishes...

me still stuck at the sunrise villa...hopefully the beach villa i'm staying will be at the sunset side then...but at least the room number is a nice number.. "99"...heehee

gtg...going to do some water sports now...bye!!!!!!!!!!!

haru

hi starstar,
i'm also trying to see if i can get some good hotel rates on asiarooms.com. but i think its worth exploring flight+hotel packages too. not sure if there is such packages for hawaii tho. maybe u can also try ANA.

Fanfan and bvbride,
how nice! u have company!! well, enjoy urselves ya? share with us all ur pix when u are back okie?

hey,
has anyone experience winter in japan? i read in some forum that e winter is a real harsh one. and even leather boots werent enuf for the thick snow there..i was stil thinking my normal skate shoes were good enuf..hahahah...

bvbride

hi y'all...

GOod morning.. just had Fantastically HUGE breakfast and now just logging in for abit. falling asleep now cos i ate like a pig

YEAP!!! crazy almost last min decision. i booked like two weeks before i set off and cos of that i got to take the water villa. initially wanted to save the $$ for daytime fishing (qt expansive) but reached here then they say only night fishing avail. the rod was my ah lau's idea cos he is soooooo into fishing.went twice - 2nd time was in the same group as Fanfan - the loving honeymoon couple!
actually i just hold the rod and act only la cos its my ah lau who is fishing mad not me...but i dun mind it at all!!! any activity in Maldives is fantastic! the library here is quite and sooo coool

Went out for real snorkelling for the first time yesterday - qt freaky cos i cannot really swim well but it was beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just that im too chicken to swim further from the dhoni hahhaha!!!!

plus the island discovery is SUPER value for $
imagine one day of activities all planned for u...we snorkelled, went to visit one fishing village on another island, BBQ lunch on another deserted island then hang out there for suntanning and R and R and then back!!!
the lunch was superb and the cook was GREATTTTTTT!!!! super alot of food man

ok - jap guy behind me cannot wait to use the PC

chat more later

pictures?? give me some time to org ok...i super low tech remember??hAHAHAH

Fan fan!!! GREAT to see u peeps!

Ciao~

ryo

Hahaha.....no wonder this few weeks hor, bvbride was like exceptionally happy, and excited about week ending! Hmmm.....got planning leh!

Oki... enjoy ur weekends everyone, including those in the Maldives.... :p
Kekekekeke.....

zhuzhu

Hey Haru
Unless u carry backpack only lor..its seriously no joke lugging ur luggages up and down the stairs..somemore, the stairs at some train station quite high leh..

Starstar
Now me into 13wks...think going to reach 2nd trimester soon lar..

haru

hi bvbride,
hahah, u are on holiday!! so eat all you feel like! thats the beauty of being on vacation. u can enjoy to your hearts content and u dun need to feel bad about it. kekeke..

zhuzhu,
wah, hearing you talk about it makes me really think twice about taking train. but i heard their domestic flight even the cheaper ones are normally one way so its ends up quite expensive for round trip. well, will try to find out more.

starmed

zhuzhu
that's fast...
u must take care k? u went for scans? boy or gal? ;p

bvbride
enjoy yourself gal!
keke...why dun u have a CONCIEVED IN MALDIVES? :p thinking of it? ;p

bvbride

hi y'all~

hv checked out - so fast hor..haizzz....it was GREAt while it last

Starstar: conceived in Maldives? thnk not for us. where got so "jun"

Sad to leave such a beautiful place - hopefully will hv the chance to visit the new ANgsana soon

am beginning to miss the snorkelling here! guess it wil be even better at Angsana cos the reefs are more extensive there

will upload my pix as soon as i can

meanwhile the rest of u have a fantastic week ahead ok

cheers!!

ryo

Yo bvbride!

Wah....so fast?? How long you've been there? 3 nites or 4 nites only right?
We all know ur feelings lah....it's always sad to leave such a beautiful place... Haiz.

Okie...wait for ur photos then. Have a safe trip back!

zhuzhu

Yoz Haru
Cos dat time i take flight to tokyo then flew back from Osaka..so only take domestic flight from tokyo to osaka lor..but seriously i pretty impressed with their domestic flight checkin...all automated one..

Starstar
Haven't go scan yet..see my next wk checkup got result o not..bb also must be cooperative..

Bvbride
So fast come back already? Okie will wait patiently for ur pics..

haru

hi bvbride,
can't wait to see your pix!! ya, dun be too sad. now you can slowly look towards planning ur 3rd trip to maldives in the near future!! i definitely look forward to gg back to the gorgeous island again one day.

zhuzhu,
all the best!! it must be sooo exciting for your and your hubby and also ur family. work has been getting more hectic for me these few months and its really making me hesitant of having a baby within the next year as i had planned. coz i dun wana give up family time and commitment to my baby bcoz of my job. well, as they say work can wait, family comes first. so will let God lead us in our plans!

hey ya all,
have a great week ahead! i'll be working all seven days thru e week due to some events at work. so lookin forward to my christmas break!hahah...

starmed

bvbride
keke.. it's like that one... always sad when a holiday is ending...
the flight back to singapore always machiam very fast one... dun know why...

can't wait to see your great pics!!
u stay how many nites?

zhuzhu
oh..ok..
u have any preferences?

haru
yup yup... let nature take its own course.
no rush.... heard my frens say the stork always visit unexpectedly one.

zhuzhu

starstar
A gal will be sweet...but hubby likes boy...but then seriously lar..it doesn't matter..as long as the bb is healthy can liao..

Haru,
agreed that the stork always visit unexpectedly...like for my case...din expected it but the stork did pay me a visit..

starmed

haru, zhuzhu
haha...agree... so as long bb is healthy...good enough...

btw, anyone bought things online from vistoria screts before? Think bvbride n T&P did... usu u gals buy how much then it's worth the shipping cost? Also, how to know if the dress fit ya?? I'm kinda of apprehensive abt buying clothes online.

kazataza

hi folks!

Last greeting from Anantara! Had checked out at 2pm and went for a 2hr spa session @ 3pm =) the view from the spa was fantastic!

got some serious reviews and feedback to write when I'm back...heehee...with the great sea and beach here, the resort is overall still a great place to go....will provide more details after my honeymoon trips..

bvbride,
it was great meeting ya =) just that didnt get much chance to talk to ya on your last day cos I was losing my voice after the sunset fishing we went to...thot water will be provided on board so didnt bring any...so 2 hrs w/o water, my voice just gone and me fall sick liao..
and, we 2 got loving meh? thot we looked very "normal"???