Maldives

starstar,

nope, not joining her. i jus got the email so replied her asking for some details first. quite keen leh..but must ask the old man first. hee...but if really decide to do it, must tone up manz...

Hi Wu,
I occupied on Sat. Sun going to Botanic Garden for the SOS concert cum picnic. Will bring Kiki and Pestro if we din go out before that. There are a lot of dogs there too.

Hi haru, T&P,
I think I oso got that mail, but I just deleted it away.

blue ginger,

think she got our contacts frm the thread discussing abt nude PS. cos i was toying wif the idea of doing tat for my wedding PS and was asking for PG contacts.

hi T&P,
i wish!! i would say yes immediately if it was Monica,hhah..but i did let her know that I mite consider letting her do my maternity PS. Yes, its Fen!! so how? u plan to do it??

hey starstar,
nope, nt gona tell hubby. will surprise him if i do end up going ahead with it.

Yoz Wu & Joy
Sooooo lovey dovey here ah...

Hey Adel
Never saw the square durian leh..i only know their durian like wrap up soooo nice..duno for wat..ultimately still have to unwrap and peel open wat...

Hey T&P
ur old man so bad ah...my old man will sleep until my side of the bed..then i just kick him back to his side..nowsaday he seldom liao..

hey bvbride
i briefly scan thru the ST forums lar..agreed that now the standards of living is SOOOO high..i dun even know if I can afford a kid o not..the tot of paying the $$ to see gynea b4 birth is already 1 big sum..if the 9 mth is a smooth one..then no so bad..if in between the 9 mth ganna hospitalisation or wat..cham lor..

oh one more thing..toking about dog..i remember something..
My colleague's 2mth old bb is being taken care by her aunt..then the bb pee and wet the mattress..my colleague actually bought those plastic protective cover to put on top of the mattress..but the auntie, old fashion one lar..say no need..let the pee soak thru the mattress..then next time the bb will know to come here to pee..and we goes like "U THINK THE BB IS A DOG AH"...

yo Zhuzhu,haru

Kekeke......Muahahah....the auntie shld be a dog owner.... Next time can order the baby go pee pee n he'll know where to go is it? Hahahah...
so funny u!

yo Adel,

kiki and pestro are both border collie is it?
Hmmmm....botanic garden got Gar-gar(ticks) or not har? The last time both Ryo n Pepper ganna hor, take me around 1mth to get ride of them! 2 generation of ticks leh!
I just hate the parking at the BOtanic garden...now must pay some more. :P

ZhuZhu,
The auntie must be too much into Dog liao!
kekekeke

Yap! kinki nad pestro are collie.
Hmm... Is it true that botanic garden have a lot of ticks? Y so many ppl like to walk their dogs there?
Parking lot? Can park opposite botanic garden. Dampsey road (not sure of the spelling). Free parking, but have to walk loh! Anyway, inside botanic garden oso need to walk, hence no diff.

Yo Adel,

No sure got or not lah, but we really scare to go thru this again, and we have to force ourselves to put toxic on them to kill the ticks......
Furthermore, I think now is so call ticks season.
REally depends on luck one, and the dogs immune system condition at that time, your doggie don't hv ticks but some other dog might just have, and they breed really fast.
Just make sure when you got home try to brush/comb your doggies, and look for any possible ticks infection. Don't worry lah, so far we brought them out anywhere, the chances of ganna not really high, around 3 yrs ganna twice. East coast is the worst area to pick up a whole family of ticks. :P

hi all... TGIF~~~~~~~~ my fav day of the week =)

Zhuzhu: yeah lor i agree with u le. alot of articles in the ST these days on the cost of raising children in singapore. the gynae and confinement lady etc all cost $$. sometimes i wonder how much savings one should prepare before hvg baby. i not young like most of u here so am still confused whether to hv or not to hv one

Starstar: since u are seriously planning now - any idea how much to set aside for BB?

Btw, this is still relevant to the Maldives topic cos dun want to overspend on one trip and then in the end not enough to feed BB next time!! kekeke!!!

it's friday!!! weekend's here again!

bvbride
gynae side...if i opt for KK or SGH it's ok cos my hubby's working in govt mah..so got subsidised rate..we pay 15% of the total bill(be it consultations or hospital fee)... if I go private like Thomson or MT Alvernia...we'll have to pay for everything...from other's past exp who have given birth(ie colleagues), the bill they paid when they go private is ard $3k... they reminded me that we can use Medisave to pay a portion of the bills... so if i go govt, i may even need not pay a single cent cos 15% of the bill think my medisave can cover liao...

for the BB, we plan to set up a savings account for him/her when he/she's born... set aside say $50 a week for the bb(to be used for his/her education next time)... the usual stuffs like diapers etc.. will definitely add up the cost.. but it's within our limits.

well, it may seem all too 'xiong' but if we think carefully, it's just 'xian ku hou tian'.. it's the initial part of the growing up that's difficult, when your kids grow up, u'll know the joy of parenting... guess all kids, fiancial wise, just need to be more prudent...can't spend as and when we like... but end of the day as the years goes by, our salary also increased one right? ;p

For me, guess we can save up as I'm not planning to have any maid... I plan to do everything myself...well, maybe my mum can help me out during confienment period..
else, it'll be me n my bb...
so as long i have worked it out wif my hubby, in terms of responsibility when the bb arrival n do our sums correctly, I'm pretty sure it'll go well.

look on the bright side..
it's not all's doom when u have a bb... still can go for trips..well maybe not maldives..but a short getaway for few years...
our $$ dun stay stagnant one...
right?
just have enough savings for rainy days can liao..
(my fiancial planner says it's abt 6X your gross)

To me, I rather now 'xin ku'...rather than old then 'xin ku'...duun wish to have a young kid when my hubby n me already in our 40s...
least the elder one must be in sec school... this is one advice from my frens n colleagues who are in their 40s n kids still in primary school... keep telling us to start young..

hope i didn't bore u guys wif my thoughts n views... u can call me optimistic but life is already so sucky why make it even worse by viewing it by being such a pessimist? Like my encik in the army always say "There's always the light at the end of the tunnel... whether u can n want reach it it's up to u"

since u plan for a trip to maldives... just work your sums... I'm sure u can go for the trip one...
be positive in everything!

yo all
anyone going for the AHM? always go one leh me..but this year, abit sianz... cos it's so crowded every year..

next weekend got RSAF open house at paya lebar...anyone interested? er..dogs not allowed in..sorry wu n adel. :p I maybe going to help out manning some booth...
let me know if u guys are going..

haru
let us know of the outcome of your discussion in weekend..
interesting leh..
hey..it'll be a good birthday present for your hubby...

bvbride
oh ya..soomething to add on...having a bb it takes BOTH side to work it out...both your hubby n u must come to a common understanding... eg.less trips overseas or less shopping. Both parties must be willing to make some scarifices for the bb.. and do it whole heartedly..
Like that whatever problems encountered, it'll be settled.. must encouraged each other n bring up your bb..
The growing up process is a wonder..
Just be positive in outlook n there's no perfect solution in life.. nothing's perfect.. so gonna take things easy.

hi Starstar

thx for taking the time to type such a long reply
really appreciate it. hearing your perspective on things really helps. will ponder further on my own
Good luck with baby making and keep us posted here

cheers!!!!

hi T&P,
i postphoned my appt with Fen coz i can't make it to meet her tis WE. so wil meet her on tues. Keep you posted on outcome.=>

hey starstar and bvbride,
haha, ya i think so too. if i do go ahead with it, maybe even as a christmas pressie!hahah....we'll see how it all goes.

i think you are rite, there are bound to be challenges esp during the initial phase. its not just the emotional and physical challenge, but also financially as it is afterall another person in the family. but like u said, it will all work and things will fall into place naturally..think hubby and i most likely to start to plan seriously sometime next year. dun keep looking at ur bank account coz honestly somehow you will never think its enough. as long as u feel its rite and both husband and wife have desire to be parents, just do it. well, at least thats my thinking lah...

bvbride n haru
haha..tot i bore u guys wif my tots n views..
well..all the best in bb making...
sure i
ll let u guys know if there's news form the stork..

hey everyone,
hope you all had a good weekend. i had a really nice and relaxing weekend. it was really a nice day for me and hubby yesterday as we have not had time with each the for a while due to hubby's work. yesterday hubby was supposed to go to 2 work meetings but he brot me along, or rather I was his "ah-mad" for the day and we managed to spend quite some time together in between his meetings and it was really nice..really enjoyed it. guess its a lil like absence makes the heart fonder. after so long of not being able to spend some couple time, that few hours meant so much more....
kao_kiss2.gif

oh, by the way hubby and i stumbled across this small optical shop at queensway yesterday and we tot the frames all looked really nice. kinda like designer designs. we just went in to try on a few frames since we were thinking of making a new one by e end of e year anyway and to our surprise the frames are very reasonable!!! the owner is a nice guy and he recommended what was suitable for our face, etc rather than pushin us all the expensive range. i actually really liked the expensive range coz it looked soooo chic, but he recommended me a cheaper yet more suitable range to me. very honest. comes highly recommended if any of you is planning to make new glasses.

Helloz people,

Been missing for a couple of dayz as usual on biz trip...looks like the thread is getting very educational. I like! haha...one thread get all sorts of info:

1. Maldives,
2. Photography
3. Pets and doggies
4. Parenting & BBs
5. Nude photography?? :P
6. Surprise birthday ideas....

Hmmm will be interesting to see more new topics popping out.

Blue Ginger,
I am also excited to see how my PS turns out. Never taken professional pics like that before. Later look like sh** when my wife look gorgeous, then die. Spoil the pic how?? stressed....

Will post my PS if wifey ok with it. But still 3 more weeks to go before heading back to SG....counting down.

Oh just to reaffirm our haven MALDIVES as the ultimate honeymoon spot again. Was at Prague for the weekend and it was one of the "shortlisted" honeymoon city for us earlier. It is a beautiful city but guess for a romantic romantic private honeymoon, certainly not recommended. Must pay over $250 per night for a 4star hotel but still very basic room amenities. Food is good but lots and lots of tourists lor. Lots of nice ancient buildings but walk till super tired.

So in conclusion, Maldives still remains on top of my Honeymoon destination list! :]

hi peeeps

good Monday Morning!!
just did some cleaning yesterday and boy was i tired after that. husb and i got very used to using the Magic mop for our house. its so much better than the vacuum and house is equally clean after that minus the noise and hvg to lug the big vacuum around.. if the robot vacuum becomes cheaper next time i will sure buy!!
imagine husb and i not home and the vacuum makes its rounds on its own, sucking up dirt and stuff!!
Starstar - since u are a clean freak bet u have heard of this machine

Haru: i totally agree with what u said on the bank account bit - no matter how i look at it, its never enough (not that i hv alot anyway....)
i guess its all mind over matter. did u all read abt the two families who had soooo many children in the papers yesterday?? my goodness!!!! how to support a family of >10 on a $3200/mth salary? i think not even enough for myself man..hahahha :D
ANWs - glad u managed to spend quality couple time with husb. after almost a year of marriage am glad that husb and i are still very much in the "honeymoon" phase. =)

Adi W: thanks for your affirmation! Prague!! lucky u! hvnt been to Europe at all and dun it will be on top of my agenda kekekeke...when i travel i so dun want to see other tourists even if im one myself!! kekkke...so nice of u to visit us here so regularly despite being overseas

cheers!!!

how's weekend?

haru
so any outcome of the dicussions?
great to know u n your hubby managed to spent some time together...
agree wif you on the absence made the heart grown fonder...
totally true!

bvbride
yup..heard bef...but think it's ex...n not sure if the standard of cleaning will be the same as mine...:p end of the day it's still machine... dun really trust it...

guess parenting is mind over matter..
be positive!

adiW
wah!! prague...heard it's a nice place... like bvbride, just dun have any urge to go europe for tour.... if really wanna go europe, think I'll choose Greece or France. Greece for the sights n France, food n the normandy beach!! haha..

Good afternoon everyone
Monday blues? I'm so tired today that I overslept AGAIn and reach office at abt 945pm =p

Finally, I'd just booked my Tigerair tickets to Phuket in Nov
Yipee! But didnt use my Tigerair voucher..still thinking whether i shld redeem it for a trip to Bangkok in Mar next year..

me no contributions on bb talk..but definetly will want to have one =) both future hubby and i love kids..so most prob 2-3 yrs later as agreed

Haru
how much did u pay for the Ananda spa huh? want to check out the rates and see whether i shld go not =p
Did u try the Aspara spa at Fullerton? Is it nice?

fan fan
u mean 0945am isit? ;p haha..really blur..

u booked your hotel in phuket? I'm also planning to go phuket in oct..
whihc hotel u looking at? Most prob we are going wif Central Karon village.

hi all....
i jus came back from phuket yesterday. still dreaming about my resort. i saw the entrance of central karon village on the way to patong but didnt get to see the hotel. I think its quite a distance from the main road (or maybe theres another entrance). I wished im still there...

Aleenta is expensive...how much u paid for the accomodation?

Access Pool Resort is quite small and not many guests when I was there. Complimentary cookies when we checked in and they deliver it using a sampan in the pool. sometimes we have the pool all to ourselves and during b'fast, the service is superb coz there are more staff than guests

I even had a surprise from the hotel...a birthday cake and cake from them. location was not bad too as theres a 7-11 and a cafe outside. hotel provides complimentary shuttle to phuket town n karon beach. but we walked back from karon beach to the resort.

I wished to go back again...great service and quiet resort.

LPH,
me staying at Ocean View Loft..they quoted me the price of THB9450++ per night..so abt SGD400 per night.

Access Pool sounds nice..maybe i can consider going there next time..is it near the Old Phuket there?

show us pics leh...heeheee

ya...i pass by old phuket when walking back to the hotel from beach. but cant see anything, only a long stretch of road. whats nice about old phuket?

how many nights u staying?

i'm staying @ Aleenta for 3nights..it's at the north of Phuket Airport..nearer to James Bond island, Khao Lak that side..

Old Phuket nothing much...just that got the Kam Massage place i was telling u...
the last 2 time i went there, i stayed at the small resort facing the Karon beach..it's Baan Karonburi..juz next door to Old Phuket

LPH,
the resort looks really nice and quiet..
so the lap pool in front of your room is the one they row the sampan as well? will your privacy get intruded?

is the main swimming pool near the rooms?

think your photographer must be a guy lah..it's like that one lah..the partner usually dun like to take photos one unless he's into photography...heehee

fanfan, u very free also huh? response so fast.

i stayed at the main pool...so its not very small and can swim to the wet bar. i think if a lot of ppl order room service then it'll be quite cramp in the pool. the sampan is always 'parked' at the pool.

LPH,

dun like that say me lah..where got very free...kekeke...monday mah..so relax abit...
whats the price range for the room service there like?

Yo LPH,

Happy Birthday to you har!!! 2 days late lah!

Err....20+++ right? Kekekkee... :P

It's actually a "water villa" that u stay in isn't it?...kekekeke... probably they got inspired by those in Soneva Gili whereby room service are being delieverd by Sampan.

Nice pics and nice place as well! How much you spend altogether then?

rm svc is quite cheap...but cant really remember. anyway, so cheap to eat outside n more variety. so most of the time eating in other area.

thanks wu. 'water villa' but instead of jumping into the sea, i jumped into the pool lo

spent total of abt $500 per pax, all inclusive. nothin to buy in phuket...all imitations in patong area.

hey bvbride,
ya! what a coincidence eh? just as we were all on the topic of family planning..hahaha..guess family lifestyle also plays a part.

hi fanfan,
e andana spa was $128+ per pax. but i think u can try to look out for credit card offers. I did not try e spa at Fullerton, but e Aspara spa at Goodwood Park is really nice and the rooms are huge. abit tho..=P

hi starstar,
wah...all of u gg for holidays again already??...think i'll have to stick to hotel stays for now.

LPH,
welcome back!!! i stayed at Central Karon the last time i went to phuket, quite nice and secluded.

hey fanfan,
aleenta looks beautiful!! i remember hubby sent me link of pix of Aleenta before we got married and we were thinkin of gg there for HM too..hahha..but in the end we went to mauritius. =P anywayz, e ocean view loft looks gorgeous!!!!!
kao_drool.gif

Wow.. LPH

Nice pics and resort..i tempted liao.
Can i have more details about the cost?
eh..where is this place anyway...

eh..this place no need to go by speed boat one hor...i scare liao after my Racha trip...hahaha..

Yo Alex..

I think u are like us also....all are beach resort person(or beach siao)...

U really ganna stress up by the speedboat is it? Kekeke.....

Hey bro...now I understand the fun of photography is not just only taking, composing the pics. The really fun part is the processing of pics(i.e. crop, enhancing etc....)
My wifey said I ganna "Sort tio" by u liao...
I'm doing some "enhancement" process now...anw, gonna sleep soon. Talk to u again...

imagesexla,
the resort is at karon area. no beach access. i did a last min booking and it cost B1999 per night. what i like is that there is not many people at this resort and most times its like the whole pool belongs to us only

Wu

Hmm...hehe.. ya ya..The Racha trip boat ride was terrible. So if wanna go, now better check properly. I can tahan 20mins ride .. but 40mins is terrible with choppy water.

Few years back, i went Great Barrier Reef.. that one was 1 hr ride.. I really wonder how i survived that. All i know is i never went down water. Only stay on board for 4 hrs with sour plum in my hand all the way..HAHAHAHAHAHA.... But I not bad liao, never puke. Some ang mo puke and the big fishes there feast on their puke man. kekekeke..

Hmmm..ya, the processing of photos is another fun part. How u play with the photos to enhance them lor. But after a while u sure sian one...haha..now i try to take "one shot one kill" so that i reduce processing time. But photoshop can really do wonders. Have fun bro..hehehe..

LPH
Wow..not bad leh. Cheap and good. Which villa u choose ah?
From the resort to shopping area far or not?

theres no villa there. only 2 type of room, family and the 1 i stayed at. u need to request for the room with access to the main pool coz the others have access to lap pool. which i find tat it looks like 'longkang'.

no shoppin area near this resort. but hotel provides complimentary shuttle to town area. taxi service to patong (which is abt 10 mins ride away) cost B200 per way.

For the season now, its not a waste to stay somewhere with no beach coz the sea is so rough...

Imagesxela, how u survived the trip to maldives then? I remembered when I went club med, theres this girl who wear very nice bikni n always sittng at the pool side waiting for the bf/hubby whos gone on a snorkelling trip. Then realised that this girl dont know how to swim. took the same boat to the airport with her and she vomitted upon reaching the pier. must b a big sacrifice for her to go these kinda places.

LPH,

Maldives i ok leh. No giddy at all. So u can imagine how choppy and rough the water in phuket. So much worst then Maldives.

And next time i go maldvies, to avoid sea sick, i must choose a resort that must take sea plane one....confirmed safe...sekali i get air sick and puke in plane...choy choy!!! HAHAAHAHA..

T&P
not one lah...can go holiday cos hubby got free miles lor..if not, very wasted right if dun exchange for air tics...
Those in SIA better, every year got free tics to any destination in the world.. n if travel.. got discounts somemore... knew a fren whose hubby an SIA pilot..she travels so much more than me... :p

LPH
u stayed at Access?!! that's our second choice resort...we'll go for that if we can't book central Karon... need to wait for hubby's leave approval first.
It's a new resort right? Got can rental at the resort? cos we thiking of driving while there. Btw u got any complimentary airport/hotel/airport transfer? How much u paid? pai seh...so many questions...:p

fanfan
the aleenta seems nice!!
u booked n confirmed already?

haru
u stayed at Central Karon before? U took the beach villa or the garden ones? How's it?