Maldives

zhuzhu

starstar
no lar..the 3D cakes are too X...so difficult to cut..i just ordered the no.1 figure cake..i think if i ordered the 3D cake, I don't think they had enuff time to redo another one for me..

ryo

Yo luvz17,

added you to multiply liao
Dun dream..... once you've the budget just go b4 the rates keep going up... go go go. Hee.

Sun taning will never be the same in Maldives.

Maldives will disappear for sure, n that's inevitablle for sure now. Sad but true... let's hope the human's start cutting down on the CO2 emission... else... Haizz..but if Maldives is gone.. the rest of the world will be hit as well in a way.I think 4 you... if you're tight on budget n you're thinking of going, can probably can start with some value resort(not budget) 1st. Go to tripadvisor website to look at all the comments(using the map from www.mal-dives.com.

... why dun u go this year then?
I've check with www.mal-dives.com, lots of the resort are still available!... including my favourite.. Mirihi.

this year...actually I wanted to revisit Mirihi, but wife wanna try other resort... we'll be going to W retreat & Spa, hopefully I can bring back some nice photos for you to see.

In the meantime, if u want to go this year let me know...can check for u the rates n availability with them... I've got their MSN.

haru

starstar,
i'm leaving in 2 weeks time!hubby says now that we have booked e holiday, he has no motivation to work,hahahah...

hey mummies,
happy mothers day!! hope you all had a beautiful time celebrating.=>

zhuzhu

I can't believe it...that shop just called me up and asked me to make 50% of the payment for the cakes!! goodness...

kazataza

zhuzhu,

u mean after so long they're asking u to pay?!?!?
that's quite ridiculous!

luvz17

i can understand your excitement....2 years ago, i went through the same thing as u....day + night only think of maldives..the clear blue sea....u will not be disappointed!!!

zhuzhu

fanfan & haru
ya man..they said since they had delivered the cakes n i had accepted..celebrated and ate it..i should pay 50% for the cakes..and the so call mgr even said, if i don't pay..that means i am trying to eat "ba wang cang"...super duper pissed..where got ppl like that tok to their ex-customer one...

they seriously want their reputation to sweep the floor leh...

haru

zhuzhu,
i think u should just ignore them completely. they offered it FOC so they should just stick to their word.

starmed

zhuzhu
???duh??!! they still asked u to pay when they made a blunder??? GOSH!! u got feedback to the manager? think there's this emal address or number to call right to give feedabcks? Think I saw on their webby.

haru
so u leaving end may har? me also going for BKK trip end may... =) keke..can meet at airport if same day...keke...=)

zhuzhu

starstar
the one who called me and said all these nasty stuffs is the so call manager lor...i don't think feedback got any use..cos this is like some family biz..not like those franchise shop...

still waiting to see if they going to call o not

starmed

zhuzhu
hmmm...like that..ya..think u just sit on it...see if they call to chase ya again. dun pay them...=)

haru
I'm leaving on 30th...keke...think can't see ya at airport liao... =) when u coming back?

bvbride

hihi ladies

really missed coming in here to chat but nowadays time is not on my side :p

Starstar: you good looking prince starting to have more of your look perhaps

Zhuzhu: whats the outcome? lousy service stil got the cheek to ask u to make payment?? gosh...

Haru: hey MTB - hope the morning sickness hasnt been too hard on you... i remember u feeling nauseas only yeah no major merlioning hor?? enjoy your bb moon ok
its gog to be a really sweet time for u hubby and bb

btw - any clean and not too old pools to recommend for bb swimming? i like those in clubs but we are not members so cannot go in right? any club pools around our area that allows non member to go w a fee? like Safra etc??

T and P: Thx mummy for supporting me
now i dun feel like such a freaky mummy. u bz too huuhh..didnt make your appearence as freq as before :p

Yo ladies i brought my little one to the Henderson Waves (ie the long bridge thingy that stretches from Telok Blangah to Kent Ridge)
CLimb like one "commando" cos a small stretch of the way up got no pathway for stollers.I put the small one in my hotsling and went huffing and puffing away...hahah..so unfit lor..

Will join a big group of Sept 07 mummies for coffee later at VIVO! first time siah...so shy :p
my boy is a screamer now so hopefully he doesnt act up...he loves to scream when other bbies sometimes! Absolute terror network siah.. hahha :D

Chat more another time

Later

hey pple,

have been darn bz, can barely stop for a breather these days. Made a 2 days trip to KL last week and survived my first nite without Jarrett! All I can say is.....travelling as a breastfeeding mummy is a PAIN! Both figuratively speaking and literally. Well, it's a training trip for my longer trip next month. I dunno how i'm gg to survive 13days on the road. Keep my fingers cross and hope I wun return home a dry cow! Am getting excited abt my italy trip, can go check out the italian hunks ya..since I'm not gg with HB, kekeke..but at the same time worried how I'm gg to cope missing my baby and the breastfeeding part. Lots of time on the road, think I'll have to master the skills of expressing in the coach/flight/train.
Haru, if u are reading this, be prepared that your boobs will no longer be personal assets once you start breastfeeding.
Just last friday my Mum actually poke my boob when i was bfing jarrett! Argh.........hello...personal space!

Bvbride,
ya lor darn bz. My hb also interested to try the bridge walk leh but when i read it's 2km...err..well..i'm gg to try putting it off! hahah..we drove past telok blangah just last sun and saw lots of pple gg on the walk.
Hey...maybe one of these days I shld meet up with u n u show me how to use the sling. I hopeless lah..i tried putting jarrett in the hip position, cannot leh..he looked like he's gg fall out. dunno if it's cos my sling doesn't fit me well tats why so much prob using it.
Re co. sleeping, my baby also sleeping with us in the same room, not in the same bed thou, cos bed too small and we r too big..hahaha..
Think we'll keep him with us for at least a yr. initial plan was to let him sleep in his room at 6th mth, but now 5th mth liao, hb says he still want baby to sleep with us. I prefer it too, easier to check on him. jus the other day, he had his blanket over his head! Shudders...gg to buy him another sleepbag.

Wu,
I have a contact for PT Maid. she stays in ur area and only accept west jobs i think. Have not tried her, it's a contact given to me by my office PT maid. if keen, leave me a msg or PM me.

Zhuzhu,
if he calls again. Tell him you'll call CASE and write to ST. and tell the whole world abt their customer service. Terrible man...if I'm u, i wld have been screaming at him. U wan i can scream at him for u..i am very fierce one..

hahaha..ok..this is one cranky morning..i better log off...bringing my baby out for a baby date!

zhuzhu

t&P
I like the idea of u screaming at him on my behalf..

bvbride
now Markus oso like to scream..go outside and eat he will goes "ohhhhh ahhhh"

today bring the whole family includig my ILs for a family photo shooot at Foto-u...man..its really tiring to make the little one laugh..i kinda pity the fotographer oso..had to make faces and take pic at the same times..

haru

bvbride,
safra pools should b generally better than public pools, but human traffic is also high. its best to find a pool that you are comfortable with. downside of public pools is that they do not have heated showers.

i have been wanting to try e bridge too! but i am wondering if it will be too long for me to complete..is it very steep?

starstar,
i'm returning on 29th, we'll miss each other!!

T&P,
hahah, my hubby now thinks my boobies will belong to baby and him next time.but i have stood my ground and said its M.I.N.E.

zhuzhu,
sounds fun!!! it will be a nice memory for the whole family.

i'm goin to go for another swim today since I prob wont have time to do so the next few days before leaving for bali. my aunt from NZ is arriving e nite before too.

haru

hi T&P,
heheh, i remembered my sunblock on sat. but yesterday i was soo tired after reachin e pool (coz our car couldnt start, battery prob) and we were stuck at east coast carpark all afternoon. finally bro in law came to rescue us. heheh..so by e time i reach pool, about 5pm. i just plonked on deck chair and napped. Zzzz..... it was really hot but i was just too tired! gota say my tan lines getting more obvious already.even with sunblock. i'll make sure i'll put it everytime i swim. =>

bvbride

hey ladies

T and P and Haru
Bridge is kinda long man...Im refering to the Henderson Wave aka tallest bridge in Spore....blahblah
Haru: i see some preggy ladies very garang - walking along w hubby!! i admire their energy. but hor some stretches before or after the bridge can be abit unstable cos of the small stones on the path which can be sort of slippery if one is not careful. U can give it a go but pls wear good shoes and hold hubby's hand ok

got one 6/7mth preg lady actually walked down the slippery slope! my gosh!!!! and it was getting so dark at that time!

T and P: U can try driving up to the bridge and then walk across - not too bad la but if u try to walk the way up like me i guess more siong la...
alot of strollers and kids cos new mah so alot of visitors lor - despite the HEAT!
Oh re: Hotsling - u will soon get used to it. the padding must be behind his knees, seam aligned w his spine.
Use your arm to support him - u will be fine w practise
will try to post a clearer hotsling pix when i get the chance

Zhuzhu: i saw your pix liao - the studio at Joo Chiat right? alot of bbies took their pix there man. Little Markus got such stylo hair
$100 one hour??
btw the 5 grain rice still got qt a chewy texture after grinding le..not sure if my boy can digest :p?? but its sure is healthy

Oh i went for another siong2 walk last Mon during the PH - i walked from my place at Telok Blangah to somewhere near Villa Bali cos there is a new pathway there. Had dinner at this Kopi tiam there and came back home. Kieran totally didnt want us to eat dinner cos he kept making alot of noise and kept wanting us to carry him!
what a tiring day! now not feeing well...got the flu...tsktsk...

haru

morning!

bvbride,
thanks for your tip and feedback. hubby just got me a pair of nike shoes last nite.hee..so i mite wear it to walk the bridge when we have the time. wil try to bring along some water too!

take care oh..drink some manuka honey tea!! i always take that when i feel a lil under e weather..

kazataza

i frequent the Mt Fabre SAFRA pools and weekends (daytime) is a no-no for me...cos the pools are super damn crowded with families and kids...

just on Mon, i drove there hoping to do a quick swim at around 5pm+...guess what? there's literally no place to swim...ended up driving back home....but went yesterday evening and it was ok...so if u wish to avoid crowds, can go off-peak timings (but might not be good for BB, cos water turns cold at night)

zhuzhu
so your case settled liao?

talking abt the bridge....my sis went on last sun and told me it's super crowded...i went Vivo and sun and spotted "suspects" who had went up to the bridge as well....last night, i was waiting for bus at that area, saw many people walking towards the bridge as well...

think i'll wait till the fad dies down then visit it...heeheehe

luvz17

Wu,

thanks for adding me. Have seen all the real, nice photos taken... *drool drool*
haha, anyway, we have decided to go next yr May. We can't go this yr as we will be getting our house keys soon and busy preparing for our wedding in Dec. In fact, I did enquire for your co's photo services. But you all have been booked...haha...

haru

hi Fanfan,
hmm..maybe i should do that too. wait for a while before going to do the climb.=> really dun enjoy crowds now. thats why i love going to parks and stuff instead of the air-con malls nowadays.

hey mummies,
anyone used the belly band before? any reviews?? i think its the one from Maternity Exchange.

Wow Wu,
looks like ur biz is booming!good for you!

zhuzhu

fanfan
the case gone with the wind already..they never called back..n i can't be bothered

bvbride
yup..thats the foto_u studio..it cost me $210(i think) for 2 hrs session..with 1 makeup for me..

Now i already duno wat to cook for my boy..he is getting fussy..i starting to give up liao

Wu
Got think of taking pics for BB o not??

ryo

Greetings ladies...

Me n Alex are in perth now...been here for the pass 11 days.. last day of our oversea prewedding shoot for 2 couples
really tiring work indeed. Total distance travelled is 2500km. Faint.
Weather is pretty good initially and now is turing bad here... we're returing tomorrow finally....phew.

Yo T&P,

Yes please... kindly pass me the contact of the PT maid.
PM the contact or send to my email:- [email protected]. Thanks Thanks!
My wife will thank you for sure....hee

Yo luvz17,

yaya.... no wonder I find ur nick so familiar...paisay.. this whole year we're pretty tied up..
anw....You will definitely enjoy Maldives for sure. Ask these ladies here n you'll know! kekekek......
anw. most pic I've did some basic enhancement la... but the real thing is much better!

Yo Haru,

Biz is pretty good for us new comer but not earning alot loh... because we charge quite low in fact for all the digital enhancement done. It's really time consuming work.
anw... hope that we can continue... really tiring year for us. Anyway... Depixel is 1 year old liao! kekekee.....

Yo Zhuzhu,

Oh yes.. perhaps in the near future! kekeke....Actually babies are really fun to take as they'll have the most natural pose,smile, laugh as compare to adults. However.. they move alot n that makes it rather diffult to take. Alex aka Dante might be better in taking babies photo... see his multiply site, he take some impressive photo of his daughter.

Cheers... n talk to u all folks when back.

zhuzhu

Wu
haha..i agreed taking bb pics are very difficult..i think must build up your stamina 1st..I see my photographer..doing all the monkey faces and jump here n there ..very siong leh

T&P
did u tuck Jarrett's blanket underneath the mattress o not? actually most bb i know dun like blanket..mine if I put a blanket over him..the next min..u will see him lift his legs out of the blanket..so now I let him wear long pants to sleep..except for these couple of weeks cos it was simply too hot

Haru,
Tanlines r nothing..but think abt pigmentation! I got one small dot one my face due to pregnancy..darn sian..

Zhuzhu,
I never tot of tucking the blanket beneath the mattress. Will try soon but doubt it'll work. My son is a super kicker! He loves to lift up his legs and slam down on the matt the min. we place him on his bed.

Wu,
Will email you the contacts tomorrow cos it's in the office.

bvbride,
think of selling away my hotsling and baby bjorn. Jarrett's getting too heavy n will soon outgrow the bjorn.

Any carrier recommendation? Beco or Pikkolo? or Ergo??

bvbride

Hey everyone

Hope u all had a fantastic weekend

T and P : Aiyoh so sayang le...you havnt really started using the Hotsling! give your Hotsling another chance

BB Bjorn cannot be used liao meh? just went for the Sept 07 gathering last weekend and almost all mummies are using some sort of bb carrier. they are useful if u are venturing out w bb alone
alot of Sept mummies crazy over the Becco cos they felt that the back support is good. SOme like the Ergo cos of the same reason
Happy Shopping ! If u sell on SMH sure alot of pple grab from u one! your Bjorn must be pretty new! Bjorn can be used till 12kg no??

THe gathering was fun and met so many bbies and mummies. Cannot remember all their names but its an eye opener for pple like me who hasnt attended any of these gatherings before :p
its like a bb carrier party and we attracted alot of pple's attention cos all of us just congregated outside Gloria Jeans at Vivo!

Haru: i was a hardcore user of the Bella Band - great investment! very useful cos you can convert most of your bottoms to maternity bottoms

Zhuzhu: I know how u felt - i cooked some 5grain porridge w veg stock and Kieran flatly refused to eat! his mouth just refuse to open lor
so heartpain..in the end guess who ate it :p

zhuzhu

T&P
should ask me on the carrier thingy mar.. I got the Ergo..think its good leh..at least now I carry bb and go nearby for shopping i dun feel the strain..costhe weight is on ur hip..not ur shoulders..

got once i carry bb out on a bjorn..wah i just step out of the hse..took the lift down..i almost wanted to go back home liao..

At least with Ergo.. I can carry him for abt 45mins to 1 hr..not so bad lar..

bvbride
I upgrade Markus to eating rice now..i think i can forget abt cookin porridge..he had been eating porridge since 6mths old..think he is sick of it..

starmed

zhuzhu
just curious...when can our kid take rice? like your kid after 1 year old? Markus teeth most out liao is it? Cos I keep thinking if rice, they'll need to chew..but no teeth how to chew? hmmm...

bvbride
thanks..=) sure hope to relax n hopefully get some nice clothes for bb n myself. Heard they r cheap there.

keke.. i also use sling but not hot sling... =) some other brands... the bb carrier also got use but not often cos kinda of heavy on the shoulders... :p Bella brand?? Is it form the Bella beauty salon?

t&p
?? y u r selling away? U dun plan to have a 2nd kid? ;p

haha...my kiddo also kicks alot! He can one min be sleeping at this end of cot then next time u see him, he's at the other end... Think he's a flipper n roller too.

Wu
wah...envy...been to Perth so long!! Guess the weather is cooling right? I LOVE aussie in autumn n spring time. Winter only during daytime...night abit cold... =)

ladies..guess what? I went grocery shop to day at the Tampines GIANT. Really BIG BIG place!!! Feels as if I'm in m'sia Giant. keke... think it's a nice place to shop for grocery. spoilt for choice....

zhuzhu

starstar
makrus only had 4 teeth out..another 2 teeth still on the way...for now u can only give bb porridge lar..easier to eat..i give him rice cos he very fussy on porridge..then when we eat outside..give him a few grains of rice..he eat until like very shiok..so dat why must upgrade him liao..

Wu,
emailed u liao.

starstar,
My hubby keeps asking my son "Jarrett...when u want to have a little sis or bro??" and he bought this lunch jar from Zojirushi thou we don't need one cos he said "When u do ur confinement, we can use this"!!! Wah.......i want to run and hide man..i cannot plan for a no. 2 now lah..so difficult to manage a career and kid now, with a no. 2, i'll go mad. Maybe in another year or 2, I'll think about it.
For the hotsling, I think I might have gotten the wrong size, thats why i have so much trouble using it. And the Bjorn, I am thinking of switching to another brand which can take heavier weight so can last longer. My little jarrett already 8.2kg lor..so will outgrow very soon.

zhuzhu,
u noe anything abt the becco or the pikkolo? Maybe the ergo will b good for my hb, look more manly..

bvbride,
my bjorn and hotsling, both less than 4mths old. u noe anyone keen? mine's the bjorn active in sporty black

haru

hi everyone!
i am back from my bali trip! it was great and i felt fantastic during our trip. we were so blessed and got upgraded to a suite for our stay at e hotel. it was a great choice as the hotel is huge with a long stretch of private beach. its exclusive w privacy. just what we were hopin for. did had some prob w the dinner i had the nite before coming home and ended up puking all day on e day we were to fly back to spore. but am much better now. saw a doc aft we came home and he said it was prob e food. think i had a lil too much teppanyaki...

hey Wu,
i love perth!!!!! i've been there twice but i am always looking forward to go back again. i miss the cicerello's.....yum....

ryo

Yo starstar,

Ya... stay abit too long liao.... Perth city weather still not too bad. when travel down to Margaret River... really cold at nite. Storm came in during our last stay there.... which make it worst. Haa..
Go go go... once ur kid grew bigger... can bring together with you folks liao

Yo Haru,

Yeah.. I love perth also, especially the cool, no sweat weather. Haa. Lovely blue sky as well. Everybody there are so happy to see the bride n groom, greeting them blissful marriage,well wishes..Auntie hugging the bride la.. taking pics with the bride la.., whereby it's impossible to see that in Singapore. :p

Oh ya.. the fish n chips, Apple strudel,.... errr... really nothing much food there liao. Most are burgers, fried chicken, subway... eat until I really sick. Haa...

gingerbread_gal

Did anyone take other airlines to Maldives besides SQ?
Am wondering if we can take other airlines there besides SQ because the return flight timing for SQ from maldives is really odd.
Any advices?

In addition, does most of the accommodation in Maldives have beachfront rooms whereby upon opening the front door, the sea view is just in front of you?

ryo

Hi Jac,

I think there are Sri Lankan Airline, Malaysia airline as well. Timing wise I'm not sure, but possible need transit, in Coloumbo n perhaps in KL respectively. Yeah, SQ timing is really weird. Going still not too bad... but coming back is really pain in the neck, imagine check out at 12pm, and flight only available at near mid-nite. Faint. If Hotel dun give late check out, n if you dun book a day-use room in Male, most likely you'll have to stay at their airport(nothing much to do) for about 6 -8 hours doing nothing....

Beachfront rooms is not equals to beach villa... depends on how the resort phrase/explain it. Some might be hidden in the vegetation.... such as some beach villa in Hilton/conrad. I think Banyan tree does have the real beach front villa but off course more ex. If you want the true seaview.... go for the ocean/water villa...

Hope it helps.
Any resort you are looking at in particular? Cheers!

Wu

haru

Hi Wu,
ah...margaret river is nice...=> i would love to bring my kid to perth next time, think its great for families.

gingerbread_gal

Hi Wu,
thanks for your reply

Will check out other airlines too....really don't understand SQ's timing...its weird to reach there at night too. Because we can only afford 4days 3 night, so SQ's timing really doesn't work for us.

Oh, i thot all beachfront rooms will have direct beach front access.... the water villa looks real nice!

I was just looking at Four Seasons but its fully booked i think....and its a bit over budget too...

do you have any recommendations for nice water villa?

thanks again!

ryo

Hi Jac,

I think other airline fly in from Europe, such as Emirates. Dun think u can take those though...
There's another way to do.... if u dun want to waste ur 1st nite there... becos it's really too much for the resort to charge the 1st nite as 1 nite. Thus... u can stay in Male(Main capital island) for less then USD100 per nite... then check in the resort the next morning... thus... u'll have a longer 1day 1 nite.

Good 5Stars resort water villa tends to be quite ex, in the excess of USD800++ per nite min.
As for 4 stars resort.... I can recommened Mirihi.
Check out www.mirihi.com athough it's nothing hip about the resort but, I still consider this as the most cosy resort(boutique resort),water villa rooms for it's price. A little island with only 36 rooms.. u'll sure have ur privacy. I've been there only once but love it's quietness.. cheap n superb Spa... n it got 1 of the best coral house reef in Maldives..really worth the money.

U can check out my photopage on this resort n also Hilton aka conrad now... at http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos

Let me know if you need any further help

ryo

Yo Haru,

yaya.... the kids will love it there..

Haiz... me no kids yet... but how I wish I can bring my 2 doggies there. Anyway, my golden came from Australia anw... he's a Aussie.

happy_ting

hi Wu,

can u recommend some resorts that i can book with for a budget of around 3K per person (full board) for 4days3night?

is there any tour agency that specialise or have good packages for maldives?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Wu,
Thanks for suggesting Mirihi. It looks pretty nice...but seems like most of the resorts are fully booked for the time we intend to go for honeymoon...
Will have to go for a second honeymoon then

ryo

Hi Jac,

Can check out with www.mal-dives.com. They are Maldives based agent, I used them twice liao. Their rates is much cheaper as compare to Spore local agent.

When you intend to go? I always go during this time as it's much cheaper.

To check availability, you can do a online chat with the staff from www.mal-dives.com or alternatively can msn chat with them, as I got one of their staff msn.

anw... block booking is quite common in Maldives, doesn't mean that they are full... resort will always claim that they are full, becos they already allocate the rooms to all their agents. Thus getting from a agent might still have a chance and believe or not... rates is definitely cheaper to get from agent.

ryo

Hi Meiting,

For 3K per pax, during low season from mid May till July, there's plenty of choice.
such as Mirihi, olhuveli, vilu reef, bandos, clubmed....

See the clickable Maldives map on the resort below.
http://www.mal-dives.com/maldives/holidays/resorts/maldives_resort_location_map.html

Can check out www.mal-dives.com package, as they are the Maldives based agent n their rates is lower than those in Singapore.

When you intend to go?
any preference on the villa, i.e water villa or beach? N if you would like hip or quiet resort?

I'll see how can I help out.

haru

hi Wu,
talking about doggies, my hubby has been pestering me (still) when we can have a doggie. he only wants a corgi so i told him have to wait til after we move to our new place and when our kid is about 1 or 2 years old. we would very much like our kid to grow up with a pet so that they know how to treat and love animals (like us!!). but i told hubby have to make sure that doggy is going to be well taken care of, gets sufficient daily walks, etc. it is a huge commitment, like having another kid..

jia you with the family planning oh! we will be looking forward to hear some good news from you soon!

ryo

yo Haru....

you are absolutely right about having a doggie..
dun rush into one or a certain breed. Study shows that it's beneficial when a kids grow up with pets around..specifically a Dog.
Doesn't mean that a kid grow up without a dog will ill-treat animals lah... kekeke

However a corgi is generally a very "Dao" breed, ...but it's off course a very cute breed. I like their pink paws! hee.... Do more study on Corgi 1st.
Get a golden la! a certified pedigree from Aussie will be a good choice. Hee...

Kekeke... not so fast leh... hopefully we can have our 1st kid within 3 yrs. I still want to go Maldives.. go aussie... go here n there 1st

Hee..

happy_ting

hi Wu

thanks for your advice.. if book from this mal-dives.com, meaning we got to get our own air-tickets is it? what does full-board mean? does it mean all meals included? I am looking for an all-in inclusive package.. that's why i initially wanted to book club med.. but after knowing that will cost me about 3K per person, i am searching for alternatives if there are other resorts with the same budget.

With budget of 3K per person, is it possible to get a water villa? i would prefer hip style of resort.