Maldives

ryo

Yo Vivien,

kekkee.... because my 1st trip there, me n my wife found that we're under-dress. Most of the Ang Mo dress nicely, during Dinner especially. So on our 2nd trip there, we dress nicely especially for dinner. Hahaha... then can feel the mood ma.. candle light dinner... romantic..Haa

Weather in Maldives is very unpredictable, sometimes u might encounter storm, passing shower, raining for a few days etc. Really depends on luck I would say. Just a rule of thumb loh, go for more days, and spread the risk of encountering days of rain.

I would actually recommend to just go with Bed n breakfast. Look at the buffet food 1st, if you like it, anytime you can upgrade to half board or full board. If you are not a big eater, choose BB can liao, and it might just save you money as well(Sometime I just share 1 main course n sides with my wife, just nice for us as most come in big portion).

However, there are some resort that comes with full-board or all inclusive only, depends on how/who you book the package. Then no choice you can only choose full board or more.

I think it's better for you to book ASAP, cos Oct is a shoulder season, and often, resort are fully booked soon(difficult to booked direct cos most are block/reserve by agent).

Any preferred resort you're looking at?

pcw

Hi Wu, you lucky fellow, got private fashion show haha... I was telling my wife "huh, aren't we going to be naked most of the time, still need to buy new clothing" haha... sorry, out of topic already. Anyway, thanks for the tips, i only intend to bring shorts/t-shirts, think better bring along something nicer and also book spa early :) Oh we intend to bring a few water bottles to play safe in case water is not provided ;-) fill them up during breakfast, lunch and dinner SUBTLY haha... the things we do Singapore proud in overseas :p

Hi Vivien, the last hotel i only book for last day-use (6 hours) at Male. We checked out at 12pm from the resort and probably reach airport at 1+pm, the SQ flight back to Singapore is at 11pm, so i have more than 10hours to spare, so thought we probably need a place to put our luggage while we explore Male, maybe buy sovenirs for friends and family, but heard it's expensive there, so may just bring some sand back for them haha..., also to freshen up before checking out to go airport. I can't imagine carrying the luggage and wander around for so many hours and no place to shower after walking a few hours :) Initially i want to check out late at Kuredu (the resort i will be staying) but they told me there's only one seaplane out of the island per day before 1pm, thus if i miss that, i will have to wait till next day, not sure if it's true, will find out when i am there.

ryo

Yo PCW bro...

errrr... Naked is technically not allowed...but if your villa is secluded... why not? kekekeke.. for a better Tan.
Try some quarter pants and shirt for dinner. Hee..N dun forget ur sunglasses hor! kekeke...

Water is more expensive than gold in Maldives(around USD5++ per 1.25ltr)..Tap water are salty due to the desalinisation process... that's why I give up eating cup noodles(tasted weird and too salty loh). Hahahaha....
So if ur luggage is allowed, bring some mineral water there. U can write to Kuredu, ask them whether bottled water is provide in room or not. As most resort would provide "cheapo" bottled water everyday, limited to around 1-2 bottle per day...really not enuff loh. And Coke will cost you about USD4++ per 325ml can. faint.

I think now hor, most resort actually stick strictly to the 12pm checkout policy liao.... really bad. Most resort I asked will charge a half day rates for late checkout loh...
Sianx... I used to check out at 4pm when in Hilton Maldives, and around 2pm for Mirihi.

Anyway... good luck if you can really ask for late check out. Hmmm.....I think Kuredu shld have more seaplane transfer per day la.. such a big resort. For Hilton, the seaplance came in/out non stop leh... and I believe Kuredu occupancy shld be larger than Hilton.
Eh... can find out more from tripadvisor.com... see the comments there to dig out more info!

vivien_lim

i have no idea which resort yet...
but just thinking of 10 k for H-M is killing us man... our dinner +photo+ others already almost 100k..
Fainting soon..

pcw

Hey bro, i don't need to ask for late check out, i have already booked the day use room at Male, moreover i want to explore Male, so don't mind checking out at 12pm from Kuredu (though i heard it's nothing much).

I think the "only one plane out everyday from Kuredu" is the agent trying to smoke me lah but it's ok, don't want to argue, will find out myself when i am there, then next time when i am going, i will know what to do.

No lah, i mean bring empty water bottle or the huge handphone water bottle, then fill them up at the restaurant during meal time haha.... bring water filed bottle very heavy lah haha...

pcw

Hi Vivien, your family clan very big ah, 100K!! I believe most of the 100K going to your dinner.. we more stingy, we cut our guest list a few times to less than 33 tables and also got a bridal package with no hidden cost, so we can manage and know this is all we want to spend. The same goes to our HM, we just wanted to spend around S$3k each with all in, meaning our air ticket, accomodation and makan, then spending money around S$500 each... we consider a few countries for HM but alot has hidden cost and chances for us to spend more (SHOPPING)... so we decided on Maldives after getting all the costing and knowing we won't spend much there except SPA since she don't swim :) and as for sovenirs, i am seriously considering scooping sand and fill into nice tiny bottle and give away HAHA.... i am kidding... since Wu says water is more valuable than Gold, then maybe i get my friends some Maldives water :p

pcw

Hi Vivien, missed out one of your posts. October weather should be good i think since it's semi peak season then. If i based on the resort i am staying, i pay around US$2777 for seven nights, full board and during october you will have to pay around US$3336 full board.

Whether full board (breakfast, lunch & dinner provided) or half board (Breakfast & dinner only) or no board (fasting), it depends on the couple and also your program i guess... For me and my wife, we need to stuff ourselves so that we wouldn't be grouchy, so we decided to go for fullboard. Also, to save money and to manage our budget, i am assuming if we order ala-carte, we might end up paying alot more. Anyway, we will take this trip as an experience so next time if we are going again, we will know what suits us. So if you are thinking of doing alot of activities during the afternoon and will not need lunch, then go for the half board or eat late breakfast and early dinner :)

if you are firm on Maldives, would be a good idea to book early, don't be like me, procastinate and only booked this week and my honeymoon is three weeks away. I am blessed to still be able to get our ideal water villa within our budget (maybe because of low season too) as my preferred resort was Veligandu and they were fully booked. So to avoid disappointment, book early but once you booked, the wait can be torturing, i only have to torture myself for three weeks, so if you book now, you will be torturing yourself for three months haha...

ryo

Yo PCW bro.... really kidding ah... no sand nor coral can be taken out from Maldives hor..kekeke. anw... mistakenly take can, cos everytime I go diving there, alot of sand still stuck inside my dive boots, flipper etc..but dun think can fill up a bottle. HAaA..

Eh serious, Maldives weather is unpredictable, regardless of season. Some folks from tripadvisor ganna consecutive 3-4 days rain during their so call super peak season.. I personally encounter lots of passing showers n a really horrible storm whereby seaplane cannot take off( I think almost a typhoon liao). Anw.. we can do nothing about it really on the weather, got TV watch DVD liao loh.
Singapore's weather getting weird as well, as it suppose to be very hot during June n now so rainy... sad but true as our Earth is really sick liao. Better go Maldives soon, dun wait till all coral start to die, n sea level starting to rise..... Haizzz...

You are very lucky to have secure a water villa, as most of the time, Kuredu will be fully booked by mostly Europeans, esp UK folks. Even for low season, nowsaday with weak US dollars, most that I'd ask during April-May period are fully booked.

My current resort is my 2rd choice..... but still happy to had secure a stay lah.

hmmmm.. who did you contacted at www.mal-dives.com(AKA IMPEX)? Eenaz?

pcw

Haha... really kidding lah, i read about no shell, no coral, etc but not so sure about no sand, anyway, i talk only, no action type and i really respect the environment too, never ask for plastic bag from Seng Siong, NTUC or 7eleven ok haha...

Hey thanks for all these information, at least i can set my wife's expectation later, else she later blame me if it happens to rain everyday :)

I am served by Nazla.

ryo

Good bro... hahaha.... I still take plastic bag though, for picking up my 2 doggie poo... kekeke. Still cannot do without the plastic bag.
Aiya.. since ur wife dun swim, the Water villa will be a very good hiding place just to relax lah.. so dun worry so much. Pray that we all have nice weather there as well...
Okok.. Nazla is a fine and efficient lady as well. I communicate with them thru MSN as well... to settle some issue.

Eh bro.. remember to print your voucher hor! kekekek...

Hi Vivien,

Eh...... u quietly book for Maldives, and give your hubby a surprise la! kekeke.... I would say hor... even 10K is still really worth the visit to Maldives. The superb sand quality, sea... the atmosphere worth much more than that. Only 1 thing I dun like about maldives is still the service wise...It's likely that you might repeat yourself a few times or simply wait for a long time, but hey... in Maldives, we all are suppose to relax n slow down, slow down our pace..

pcw

hey bro, better not lah, later surprise become squabble, good to discuss first lah

hey Vivien, if it helps, just show him the link to some of the resorts, he may be like us, just fall for the place :)

yes you are right, she's efficient and settled everything within a day. Thanks for the reminder on the voucher. We will have fantastic weather in July, i trust God :)

have a good weekend all...

ryo

hahaha... vivien... just kidding ok. This will only happen in a movie or show ba. Hmmm.... it's be a sweet surprise isn't it? kekekek....
Oh yes... Dun think anyone will regret choosing n going to Maldives for a HM. As wat PCW said, ask ur hubby to come here.. talk to us more.. or simply just show him Maldives pics.. link etc.. No people can say no to the power of Maldives...

Yo PCW, Dun forget to inform MINDEF about the trip also...kekeke... if you're a Sporean n still serving as NSmen la. Now the fine is no more those 50 bucks liao hor.. I heard la..

Yes.. we'll all have good weather from now till.... all the way...haa..

Have a wonderful weekend as well. All the best in your prep for your AD.

vivien_lim

hi all... thanks for your ideas...
actually my hubby love the place, he went before, (10++years ago)thats why he wanna bring me there...
But last time is his dad bring him there.
now we have to do research ourselves for our trip..

pcw

Thanks for the reminder Wu! Yes still left with 3 or 4 in-camp to go, so will do it online later

Hi Vivien, very nice of him to bring you back down memory lane he shared with his family...

If you guys do not have specific date to travel in October, then maybe can determine base on the cheaper rate. I decide my travelling date based on the period that has the lowest fare (which is S$2034 for two). I only book accomodation after i have confirmed air ticket.

lavendar_lover

haru
no lah...not so fast yet... but planning to start trying after sep. =) btw, I'm going to maldives!!! =) It was unexpected seriously. Going alone cos this trip is a prize. U gals know of the Shape's mind n body makeover? Ya..I'm one of the lucky 2. came as a surprise. Just wan to learn how to destress myself better n also more ex I can do to get back my previous form.

Going to stay in the One and Only Reethi Rai for 6 nights. =) total surprise n I'm excited.

t&p n bvbride
ya..kids this stage very cute... must cherish. =)

t&p
shipping wise.. u mean to buyer is it? I'm only doing local business at the moment. =) it's all written on my webby.

ryo

Yo Starstar,

My wife's former collegue also ganna the Shape's Maldives package leh!!! Reethi Rah!!! O&O!
from 10th July to 17th July right? Lucky you eh!!!
So you'll be going with the other lucky gal right, which is my wife's pre collegue? Hee... wat a small world!!!

We'll be there at W resort & Spa from 5th ~ 14th... actually thinking of visit/island HOPP to O&O.. but it's really too far... from 1 Atoll to another! Kekekeke......

So which Villa you'll be staying? top of the end one?? Hopefully they'll give u the best villa!

Your transfer to O&O will be by luxury yacht/cruiser leh!! so shiok!! kekekeke..

Eh... take more pics ok!
N post it in our Maldives forum n also the facebook Maldives Goer page ok!

kazataza

Starstar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

u lucky gal!!!
i saw the contest..but too lazy to do the write up and sign up on it...

actually, what u write huh? next time must ask from you the format then i agar know what they want so i can be the next lucky one!

can pack me in your luggage?!?!?

ryo

Hi Meiting

I Booked with Relax inn, this will be my 2nd time stay there. Another I stay in some motel in the city centre.... too far liao. Relax inn is just 5mins walk from the Jetty.
You can booked/reserve online.

Anw...dun expect much on those hotel in Male but at least they are cheaper than the Airport hotel(Hulhulhe Hotel).

http://www.relaxmaldives.com/hotelrelaxinn/index.htm

lavendar_lover

Wu
small world indeed!! =)how u know it's lux yacht?? villa wise I only know it's beach villa. The lady from SPH inform me that both of us will be under one villa but diff rooms. I checked out the O&O webby and found the grand beach villa got 2 rooms/beds one... dun know lah.. I also very suay bian one.

Pics I will try to take as much as possible hopefully can find time cos if not wrong, we have a prog to follow one. So it's not really total free n easy. The crew's leaving on 15th, so guess 16th n 17th is time for ourselves to explore. =) Guess it's a nice bootcamp to attend. :p

fanfan
I also never write much. Got word limit one mah. Use MsWord to type out. Just a summary of my health n mental wishes. I didn't expect I can get it. Just try n see see cos it'll be good if I've got a pro to help me wif my ex n diet so I can be better in health both physical n mental.

haru
thanks...real lucky I guess.

pcw

Hi Meiting, i booked the Kam hotel for my one night stay at US$124 with breakfast. And for day-use (6 hours), i booked the Central hotel at US$77. From picture, the room and restaurant at Kam hotel looks better, so that's why i booked the one night stay with them, also they are near to jetty, couple of minutes walk from jetty according to the website. Will let you know which is better when i am back. 14 more days to go woohoo! :p

lavendar_lover

PCW
hi just looking thru this thread. was from teh former maldives thread. Looking thru the past post n found that u are leaving on the 9th n coming back on the 17th? keke.. i'm coming back on 17th too. may bump into one another at airport. =) I'm leaving on 10th. =)

Wu
keke.. yo..been doing your 'job' har? keke... good! :p I'm sooo excited abt my trip dude. It'll be better if hubby comes along. keke.. till now, I still can't believe my luck. :p

pcw

Hi Lavendar Lover, i been reading both Maldives threads so of course i know you are the lucky lady who won the Maldives trip, you are indeed blessed. by the way are you taking the 16July flight reaching Singapore 17July or taking 17July flight reaching Singapore 18July? I am taking the 16July flight, so are we the same flight date?

ryo

Yo Starstar....ya small world. Other lucky lady use to work together with my wife.
When u see her u ask her loh...kekeke....

Off course I know it's a luxury cruiser la... kekeke... I read alot on Reethi Rah mah... Service is top notch!!
Rates also Top notch! :p

It's actually one of my 3 top choices to visit this year though, beside W hotel & huvafenfushi. Since Huvafen is fully booked for my category, I chooses W-hotel, because it's a small island. Reethi Rah is hugh in comparison, just nice for you to do Ex....kekeke....

Anw... take are, n have fun ok!! Please kindly do a detail review on the resort when u're back... Mdm!! hee.... ur sgt ordering u...kekeke

ryo

Eh.. starstar... didn't I told u below a person's luck will come sooner or later? kekeke... when I told u I ganna toto n big sweep... n u say no luck... see wat had happened!
Hee.....

Eh... remember, my promise to u still stand... if I ever ganna again...off course 1st prize la.. whole gang's trip to Maldives will be on me... hee.

So is your hubby going? Aiya... ask him to fly u there on our RSAF chopper loh! kekeke.....

pcw

Hi Wu, nine more days to your trip!

Darn, guess what, i actually dreamt last night (or this morning) that i was in maldives already haha... too bad it only lasted 5mins before a sms woke me up :)

kazataza

starstar,

think next time i must try to take part in the draw...your win really inspired me

always thot this type of things bluff people one...heehee

wonder when will be my nxt trip to Maldives

haru

starstar,
i told my hubby about it and he gave me those puppy eyes and asked "if you won it, you will happily go without me????" hahhaaha....

so u are going in july for the trip? take lots of pix!!

lavendar_lover

Wu
yes sgt... :p ok lah..I'll review the resort when I'm back. =)

fanfan
ya..I also tot bluff people.. I send in to try only. last year I took part too but didn't make it for the interview round. last year was to Bali I rem correctly.

haru
haha..my hubby was like "wah..u good lor... me here stuck at home. " Looking very 'sad'. anyway, he was happy I won it. Cos he told me even if we go back to Maldives, dun think we can afford to stay in such lux resort. keke.. so least I can quit requesting him to bring me to such resorts. keke...

I'll take as much pics as possible. no worries.

lavendar_lover

PCW
=) thanks. ya..I'm real lucky I guess. I'm taking the 17th night flight back so reach sing in morning 18th. Guess it's a diff flight liao.

Wu
haha.. ok..I'll rem abt the toto thing u promised. =) ya..rem u told me abt the luck thingy.. total surprise win I must say.

no lah.. he can't take leave n also I dun think a chopper can last that far...keke... btw he dun fly chopper lah. ;p

u guys enjoy the trip!!! =)

pcw

Hi Meiting, yes when i booked, i did specify to include the airport transfer to and from hotel on motorboat.

ryo

Yo Starstar,

Hmm... I always thot ur hubby fly chopper.... C130 har? kekeke...

Yo PCW.... ya ya.. counting down counting down.... reserving some spa session today as well. Scare go there no more liao. Haaa...

Yo Meiting,

if u book from IMPEX, ask them to have someone meet you there at the airport. They'll carry your luggage and pay for the transfer(at least for my last trip). If they wanna to charge you say for the motorboat trip like USD10-20, forget it.... go take the public transfer.
From the Airport, the jetty is just 1-2mins walk away n the dhoni will to and fro every 10mins or so..... only cost USD1 per pax per trip. dhoni is slow... but stable.

Err.. folks, dun forget to tip those folks who are meeting you at the airport. Tip will bring service.... else...hee. Just like for making up room in the resort, try to tip say USD1-2 per day...I always sees a different when tipping. My room gets cleaner n sometimes deco with flowers on the bed.
Meiting, PCW, dun forget to tell IMPEX tat you're on HM.... got freebies from Resort hor..

Same for morning transfer to the resort, please ask IMPEX to arrange someone to bring you for the transfer.. seaplane transfer (Think for speedboat transfer also), need to transfer back to the hulhulhe airport island. Try to ask for 1st light transfer so that you can reach your resort the earliest to enjoy a longer day there. Most of the time the resort will still provide breakfast for you.

BTW, most of the time when you folks reach Male airport, it's difficult to find the person who suppose to fetch u... go to the counter where they serve the resort that you're going...can be rather messy because there are like 20 over counters around with small wordings of the resort.

When you found the person, please ask for his HP no... so to make sure they'll come again the next morning to help you with the resort transfer. If they are late, ask the KAM/Relax inn hotel staff to contact them.

this will smoothen all your transfer process....

pcw

Thanks Wu! very helpful information. According to Nazla, someone will be there to receive me and take me to the transfer and advise me on next morning timing. Then next morning they will meet me again in the airport to bring me to the seaplane transfer.

Yes informed her we are honeymooners right from the beginning. Saw it reflected on the confirmation email too.

ryo

Yo PCW,

that's good... for my last trip, someone did came to meet us at the airport after we approach the counter that serves Miriho resort. They have to call the person.... Faint. then the next day, he didn't turn up, luckily we had his HP, then we ask Relax inn to call him, guess wat, he is still sleeping, Faint... again.

Anw, folks, dun panic when you find no one.... just ask around those counter folks, and they seems to know one another from everywhere... it's amazing though.... soon you'll get the correct person. Haaaa......

pcw

haha... thanks Wu, we will make sure we do not panic :p

six days more to your trip and six days more to my wedding day!

ryo

Yo PCW bro.... kekeke.... my 1st time there really panic, cannot find anyone... no one at counter also... faint. Anw IMPEX should be ok la...

Yo, have a wonderful, fun, magical AD ok!
Lot's of ANG BAO and in excess... Cheers!!

haru

starstar,
talkin bout shape mag, i had a half a thought to take part in the Shape Run this year. Hubby actually encouraged me, but seriously i dun think i have confident and i am not sure how much i can physically push myself esp now that preggie, prob have to walk all e way instead. in e end, i think never mind will take part next year.

bvbride

Hey ladies

COngrats Starstar!!! u are one lucky gal man. Yes pls post your pix Sooonnnn when u are back yeah...

Haru: so how are things? 2nd trimester liao hor? any pysical changes? guess u are starting to show right? Have u broken the good news to your family?

Zhuzhu: hey there! read from your blog that u are serving Markus more rice and dishes type of food yeah...how is he taking to it?
Kieran doesnt like fish man. thought of giving him fish oil supplement as a last resort lor... what say u? btw he doesnt like avocado most of the time :p so thats out

Fanfan: Now can go Maldives again wat - lull season so "cheaper"??

T and P: Hope u are happy shopping away in Italy...
Drop a note when uare back ok

WU : whoa u booked your trip to W liao!! congrats! so whats the damage may i ask?

Have a great week everyone

haru

hi bvbride,
yup, in my 5th month now. how times flies! have been using the belly band for a while now since i can't zip/button most of my bottoms. hee...have shared the good news with our family and some of our close friends. a few of my colleagues are still unaware,haha!!gynae has confirmed that we are expecting a little princess, hubby and i are really excited about it. hubby has always like a princess (to manja to papa), so can imagine she will be daddy's little girl.=>

i think i'll be the first on this thread to have a princess eh?

Wu,
I really salute you, think you are one true blue avid maldives fan. i think you would go every 6 months if you could! anyway, would love to drool over you and starstar's photos and reviews soon oh!

ryo

Yo bvbride,

Whaa... how can a baby dun like fish. I thot all baby like fish, especially when last time most kids grew up eating "Ma Yao Yu". your little Kieran dun like "Ma Yao Yu"??

hee... me n my wife call it an investment, when we go Maldives. Becos everytime she comes back, her business sales will be exceptionally good hee....
the 8 nites stay(seaplane transfer) with breakfast plus SQ flight, and 3 Spa session will cost us 12k for both of us. Will not probably eat alot this time round... I'm getting fat liao, have to cut cut cut.

Yo Haru,

Ya Ya.... I'm very lazy to walk...so Maldives or beach resort is good for me. If I can I go every month loh..hee. No la, probably next year will go another place. got spare cash then go Maldives. Now researching NZ self drive trip plus island HOPP to Bora Bora.... most likely DEC 09 perhaps...... err... but if got kids then maybe have to cancel liao....Opss......shiii.......hahaha

haru

hi Wu,
wow, 12K! but hey, its an experience and i am sure it will be worth every cent.

NZ is nice, i love it there. aunt lives there so its easy for me to plan a trip there. just need to book air tix, haha...

ryo

Hi Haru,

ok lah... anw last year I never travel anywhere. We are beach bum, lazy to walk kekeeke... especially me.
Hopefully W hotel is as wat it promise... whatever, whenever policy will bring us some good experience. 1 thing good that I've just found out is.... free icecream and soft drinks are free all around the island in small container.... I think I'll grow fat again. :p

yayaya.... remember u told us about it....kekeke.. where did ur Aunt stay?
north or south island?

I wanna to self drive there leh..... is it easy to drive there, just like Australia?