M Hotel Singapore

Hi Manuka

Haiz.. They just dun understand that we are spending so much on dinner...Abit of perks would not cost them much lor..

Me too.. Did not see Diana at all..

I saw the 2 places already. I still like the banquet suite much better. Thankfully my hubby not free to accompany me tonite. somemore he had a date with ex-girlfriend so I said wah lau! go out with her more important lah. Like that you just have to trust my decision ah. so he agreed.
heehee. went down with 2 friends who also agreed I should take banquet suite. so tomorrow must go and negotiate with Fiona already.

I never met Diana but she was the 1st person i spoke to. I met another girl called Jane there who was in the banquet suite. very nice, even bring me around and explain decor to me.

Hi Nicole

Of course Banquet is definitely nicer than function room. I like Banquet too...But too bad for me

Ha HA. A good chance for u to make decision and choose banquet.. Hee Hee....

Hi Nicole

U can try.. But i think banquet got no free flow.. But 2 nite stay, bargain for it. I love the bridal suite. We are paying so much.. Try asking for 2 nites.. Good luck..

Hi Zoeanne,

R u going to hv additional night stay, how much did they ask u to pay?
I'll need to pay $360++ for it.
But my coordiantor say she will confirm w me next yr.

Hi Nicole,
Can try negotiate with them, i managed to get another 20 litre of beer
Abit regret not getting another nite stay for bridal suite

Hi Lynn

I got 2 nites for bridal suite. No need to pay extra.. Try asking it ...not worth to pay extra unless u really need the room..

Hi zoeanne,
Wah.... so good - 2nites? my request for 2 nites got rejected~~ ~~hehe

Hi Nicole,
Same as Evangel, I got another 20l of beer (so total 50l) but didn't manage to get the 2nd nite...

Hi Lynn,
yes, they quote me $360+++ for additional nite stay at bridal suite.... expensive hor?

Yes, i got it when i sign at the fair. Maybe bcos of the fair, they gave me one more night.

It is abit ex for additional nite stay lor..

I have not got my card printed.still early for me.. Is it very ex? how much did they quote u for it?

Manuka,

Can the supplier collect the cards from hotel for printing?
Or do we have to bring the cards personally to the printing supplier?

How long does the supplier takes to print?

Hi Evangel, Zoenne,

I didn't use TDragon but the quote they gave me is for inserts is $100 for 1st 200pcs and subsequent is $0.20 per pc and need to buy gold string @ $5 per roll (can tie 160pcs)....If I am not wrong, if u use TDragon, no need to collect the invitation cards as they will collect from M Hotel direct....

I use a printer recommended by a colleague... Print inserts is 200pcs @ $80+5% GST plus gold string FOC. The printer says need to take 1 week....

Hi Manuka,
Can you let me have the contact and address of this printer supplier? Thanks

have you had your food tasting?

anyone have the pics for new wedding favours? Can send the pics please.....

Sorry I haven't been posting for a few days. Have to make confession. I was hooked on watching meteor garden. heehee. now I realise the draw of the series. sigh..

Went to M Hotel last night. Fiona not very willing to offer much perks only managed to :
1. 1 free barrel of 20l beer
2. 25% parking
3. 10 persons tasting (only if book 25 tables)
4. 1 more nite stay (only if book 30 tables)

Seeing how I only have abt 21 tables, I will not be getting item 3 and 4. so a bit disappointed. My Hubby not very happy abt my choice of banquet suite now cos we pay more no free flow beer, not on weekend. sigh...

Hi Nicole,

Initally I also have the same worries as you. After thinking of it. Will the guests drink that much when they have to work on the very next day?

Moreover, I have 28 tables....

I will also be getting red wine.
Red wine will be on cosignment. Pay only when it the bottle is open.

Hi Nicole

Fiona die die not willing to offer you more? only 4 tables leh.. Talk to her again?
Like what Evangel said, if on weekday, or next day is a working day, I think people will not drink alot of beer la.

why not ask when they have any wedding fairs again and sign up with them? Maybe u can get whatever you wan..?

Your hubby is thinking of changing to another hotel or function room at M hotel?

Hi Zoenne,

May i know who is yr coordinator & how many tables did u book?

My coordinator is Diana & i book the Function Rm.

Now my hubby & me feel cheated cos we sign 1 day b4 the wedding show & she told us tat the only benefit/perk is a pair of terry bear which she gave it to us without attending the show. But now you mentioned tat if we sign at the show we will have an additional night, i am quite upset.

My Hubby thinking of changing to function room, I think tho he never say it out loud. but i still don't really like it cos I find it so cramped.

I don't think Fiona willing to offer more cos when I said I pay so much more than function room and i don't get much, she say I give you a lot already. huh? plus she say you get a better room mah. sigh... pay more + less perks = better room. a bit pricey lor her better room. what for I pay more then? i initially thot i book more ex room she more willing to negotiate on perks but doesn't look like it lor. In the end, I getting the same benefits or worse than Function Room. very disappointed.

Hi Lynn

Mine is Fiona and I booked Min 20 tables first.
I am also booking function room.

That day at the fair, they told me I got teddy Bears only too. Then i wan them to add one more night and bargain..My friends also there to help me talk , taking other hotels as examples. Cos they are very experience and married already.

And Fiona at 1st refuse. I do not wan to talk much until she lead us to the Bridal suite. I told her i like the suite very very much.. I think after awhile, she told me she can offer me one more night at the suite if I sign up today at the fair. So in the end, we signed up with them...This is how I got to after much bargaining.

I heard Diana is sort of "die die" refused to budge kind..I am not sure if you can get one more night.

Try to talk to Diana again..saying you learn that some of your friends able to get 2 nights and why can't you?But maybe u dun quote Fiona's name? I wonder if this may do her harm later... got scolding from Diana...

Tell me how again after u speak to her??

Hi Nicole

Do you mind telling me what perks she offer u in the package? I think I am lucky to sign during the fair.. But just dun understand why they refuse to budge upon bargaining..

I got my worries too that the function room is too cramp too if i have more than 25 tables. If u have 20. It shd be fine.. Cos i went to see the actual, it is ok with 20, But after 20, i see my friends to have left behind of the room. This is something i regret for. But no choice, bcos of the budget we have.. we stick to this lor..

If u really have the concerns. why not try other hotels like Amara? Heard the rooms are not bad and they are reducing their price. I have seen the ambience there and seem very nice..

hi nicole,

sorry for KPOing. Actually that's what happened to me too. Wanted to take the banquet suite cos prefer it but the perks is WORST than the ones you can get for the Function Room. According to Fiona, she said it's because it's a special Zen Package and stuff. So in the end my hubby quite put off but also someone has booked for our date too.

No ill intention here just trying to share what I felt.

Hi Lynn

I saw your above posting as Diana will confirm with u next yr for your 2nd nite.
She have not totally reject you right?
Try asking from her again n again.. I hope you can get it...Tell her you only sign up 1 day b4 the fair and u also specifically ask if u sign on the fair, any difference ?.. She said only a teddy bear.. Then now it is not. So unfair..
Say you would need it vey much and you are paying so much....If you have more tables, it is even better for you to argue..

Try to see if u argue your way out and get it..
I support u

I do not know what to say and feel that I may cause everyone felt unfair about the 2nd nite stay. Maybe i was just plain lucky to have able to bargain for that.

Maybe all the coordinators who offer 2nd nite stay there during the fair got reprimanded by the bosses and lead to all the them now die die refuse to budge when we bargain for more.

To me, most important is your wedding as it is once in a lifetime where we shd be happy...
For those who signed or about to sign, try to see if can bargain again..If not, choosing other hotels with better perks or rooms, maybe another good choice ...

Sorry to have cause such unhappiness and unfair here..I hope that all girls here get what they wanted...

Thanx for your feedback
I'm not so concerned abt the 2nd nite stay. But I'm just a bit put off by the unwillingness to negotiate much or offer any more stuff. As you can tell, all I am getting is 20l beer and 5% more parking. And I pay $100 more each table and she still says I getting a lot? I mean, I not maths idiot lor. She is collecting doubly from me cos of the better room. I already paying more for the room. How can I also be getting less stuff for the room. I already paying more for that! and I already give up on weekend date some more.

I know what you mean Zoeanne. I don't want to regret taking Function Room cos it just doesn't look grand enough for me. I hope I don't hurt anyone's feelings but it really gives me the feeling they chucking tables into their spare rooms. Plus I don't want my friends or relatives to be sitting at tail end like the "cold palace". Once in a lifetime mah. cannot have regrets one.

BTW, my co-ordinator is Fiona, not Diana.

Hi Nicole
Yes, of course banquet is more grand..If you have the $$, choose banquet suite of course. For me, we have a budget and chosen Function Room. If $ permit, I would have chosen Banquet..
For me, since i got such budget, i have no choice but to carefully arrange who sit at the back and make sure everyone see me and try to mingle around with them without letting them feel neglected..

I understand the feeling of being pay more and get even lesser and no change in the perks at all..

Hi Zoeanne,

Thanks for yr reply.
Diana will only confirm the price with us next yr & if we hv 25 tables then will give us Complimentary food tasting for 10 persons.
Maybe I'll ask my hubby to talk to her.

Hi Lynn

Since u sign already, u try to argue or bargain lor..M hotel more n more like 4 season hotel.. refuse to budge on anything..
Anyway, good luck to u and hope u get what u need..

Hi Gals..

We went to the wedding show and signed the function room 3 days later, my wedding planner is Fiona.

Dun be too upset abt the additional perks. Lynn, we shd have the same perks given, I din get wat Zoeanne is having too, i din even get the bears! Me n FH find that Fiona is a very nice lady, easy to approach gal.. To us, service is very impt, cos is our big day, we want reputable n good service provider, no jokers to ruin our event. M-hotel is known of their good services provided, no doubt abt that (though strict on their perks given).. even event management company n lots of coporates got good comments abt them. N now they got a new GM n 2 new Catering Managers leading, i'm even more ensure of the service provided. Diana is their Leading Wedding planner, there've been good comments abt her in the previous threads.

Main ballroom of hotels usually cost much higher than other ballrooms.. Pan Pac Pacific ballroom cost much higher than their Ocean Ballroom promotion.

Gals, dun let the beginning of ur wedding planning spoilt ur wedding mood. Discuss with ur partners and work out everything.. u got to be comfortable what u'd b having.. we'll never have enough planning for our weddings, imperfection is perfect.. Have Fun planning..

Sorry ya.. a bit lor soh.. ;P

Hi Zoeanne,
We will try & ask Diana first then let u know how she reply us.Thks.

Hi Highness,
We only find tat so unfair for us & other couples(who hv sign for Zen Package).
But maybe our case, we didnt bargain much.
& Thks for yr reply

hi everyone...

oh, abt the perks, somethings it really boils down to each person nego skills. (not only in hotel, BS, photographer etc also) I also din get much things extra, as my nego skills not strong enough to "squeeze" anything out from my coordinator, Diana! :P but nevertheless, it is a good event, dun let such bad vibes spoilt it all! CHEERS!

manuka - saw that you r using Hi-Tech.
Can you give the directions on how to go there?
Did you print the hotel map on the inserts too? any additional cost? Thanks

I do not know what to say.. like MTDT and Highness said, their service is good and food are nice. For me, to put in your shoes, I also can understand the feeling of unfairness..Please do not let the unhappiness got over our preparation and happy occassion. I feel quite bad to tell the girls actually..

Diana leaving? I have not seen her b4..

Manuka....hai...Got a shock this morn too!!

I have yet to feedback on the food tasting and she was suppose to call me 3 wks back. So Disappointing on svc!!!

Hi Mooee...
She is my 2nd cordinator... going on to the 3rd one... *sigh*
maybe its becos she is leaving, that's why a bit bo chap la....
was telling my FH maybe before we can see the 3rd cordinator, change to 4th one le! hahahaha

yup...

Just check my email and saw the news too...
Anna seow is taking over at the interim.

Was quite surprise leh.. just talk to her abt 3 weeks back. She was quite fast in comfirming my food tasting date leh. will be going on the 12 Oct. Mooee - think u better call her before she leaves.

manuka - nope, not driving...do u have directions by public transport?
wondering shd I go to Tdragon - expensive but convenient...

MTDT,
where u staying? No sure how to go by public transport... think there is a bus there either from Bishan/AMK MRT... u want to call them and ask?

Hiaz.. the turn over rate for this industry is so high.. i think this happen at almost every hotels.. think the job is 7 days a week, n very long hours.. but shd b quite high pay too.. ;P

Hi Zoeanne,
Did u go to view the wedding goin on at M on the mooncake festival, few days ago? if not worng, urs on next yr mooncake festival rite?

Hello girls,

I've just had my wedding dinner on Tuesday at M hotel and I can say that i've received good service but of course there is still some hiccups that happened on that day but overall is very good.

Ok, my co-ordinator is Diana and I'm surprised to learn that she is leaving ?? cos i knew that she has been promoted from "senior catering manager" to "assistant director of catering" ! and this happened only within a years time from when i signed the contract with her. I can say that she can be quite firm when u ask her for 2nd nite stay but as to other request like increase of car passes, invitations and food tasting, 1 additional helpers room she actually give it to us and my package already comes with free flow of beer for the banquet suite.

On 28/9/04 (Tuedsay) which is my wedding, i still remembered that when i was preparing for my 1st and 2nd march-in, Diana and the banquet manager (Jason) were the one who stood by the door to open for our march-ins. I told her that i was very very nervous and it was sort of relieved to see someone familiar to open the door for me and tell me to stay cool and walk slowly ha..ha.. not forgetting that it was already 8.45pm for my 1st march-in and abt 9.20pm for 2nd march-in and Diana is still "working" at this hour which i am quite surprised.

Throughout the dinner, Jason has served us very well right up to the end of the dinner when he brought the food to our suite which was already quite late but of course i did heard some remarks fm our friends that some waiters did rush them to clear the dishes but i think it all happened cos we've started the dinner late and not forgetting that next day is still a working day for all our guests.

Now my wedding is over, i really must say that I HAVE NO REGRETS CHOOSING M HOTEL (BANQUET SUITE) as i felt that the price i paid and the service i get is worth it and i think most of the guests are quite impressed with the modern look of the hotel too which i am proud of it. Although quite frankly some of the friends and colleagues did not know that M hotel is a 4 star hotel (never seen the new look of the hotel) as such some red packet that i getis only s$60 which cannot cover for 1 person cost but I can still cover the whole dinner expense and still earn few thousand bucks (lucky for me cos my hubby business associates and bosses and our close friends hv given us quite big amount of red packet) ha..ha.... thank god and we are now planning for our honeymoon.

As for those extra pecks that some girls did not get it, i would say that to forget abt it if you hv signed the contract cos i believed the co-ordinators have already tried their best as they are also working for the hotel only but for those not signed yet, you can still bargain for more before it's too late huh

So all the best to u girls and i'm sure u too will enjoy the whole process like me. I really miss my wedding and now looking forward to see the video ha..ha...

If you hv anything to check with me regards to the dinner please feel free to ask me ok i wud be happy to share with all of you ya

Congrats Drew!
I remembered someone getting married at M on mooncake festival.. n dat's u!

dat's the thing i wanna do from now till my AD: tell my frds, M is a 4*! haha.. dun wanna loogi on my angpows.. ;P

Hi highness

Yes, mine is on next week mooncake festival. Never been there to see that day, but went to see another day at the function room..

Hi Drew
So happy for you on your wedding and glad to listen that their service are good..

I just received a call from my M hotel's coordinator..I am rather disappointed that I receive such warning call from her and told me to stop discussing about my 2 nite stay which lead to many girls call up to requested for that..
( My fault??)

In the 1st place, i already feel bad that I might cause some unhappiness here..but I know that the girls here will understand that this is not i wanted to see too..

They have gone to this thread and learn about me disclosing my 2 nite stay, and call my mobile. To me, At first, I thought every girls here get about the same or getting 2 nites is an average perks everyone has. If i know it cos unjustice and unhappiness, i would not have said so...I just hope to share..

To me now, it seem that an eye is looking at what i have post about them...They know who m I and I felt a threat.. Meaning, next time i cannot share things here anymore? Or I can only say happy things here.. All displeasure writing here meaning that will be straight to M hotel? Might as well say that, posting this forum here is the same as writing a feedback to them straight.How to face them next time or receive a good service from them next time, knowing that I "innocently" create a trouble for them??

I apologise to my coordinator as I know i must had cause her to have got a huge scolding from the management. I know she has already help me alot.. Really Thanks to my coordinator.

If M hotel is looking at this thread now. PLEASE DO NOT BLAME MY COORDINATOR...!! I REALLY APPRECIATE HER HELP AND HER SERVICE TO ME.. I do not wish because of this , I received a bad service from now onwards and do not wish to have my relationship turn bad with my coordinator.I know she also do not wish to make such a call to me..

If that is your M hotel policy which now changes to "Not Giving 2ND Nite", it is not my fault and not my coordinator fault...My coordinator is just doing her job...I do not wish she get another scolding from the management. I DO NOT BLAME HER CALLING ME..

This warning call really make me feel awful after putting down the phone..