M Hotel Singapore

Yippee. I really very happy to be able to opt for M Hotel. Cos the only problem I had with them was the ambience of the halls. Now I am reassured that it actually looks quite decent, i also quite happy. hee hee. now is to decide btw function room and banquet.

Hi Nicole

Of course.. Banquet has nicer ambience than Function room, high ceiling and also have a private room for you. Beside the while 10 floor is for you..

I choose Function room bcos banquet it is taken up on my date..Since it is taken up, we choose function room is cheaper abit.. Bcos of our flat renovation.. we went broke liao..
Ha Ha..

Hi Zoeanne
Heehee, yeah Banquet is really nicer plus can have one more night of hotel stay. But price also more by $100/table. heehee. Have to try and convince my hubby and maybe get free flow beer from Fiona for that. Otherwise I think he won't agree. as for U shape walkin, he say heck lah. we walk the way we want to. he already planning to walk in like some rock star, Point finger here and there at audience. haha.

Lucky I finish my flat reno liao. Realise a lot of pple budget constraint because of that. I got my flat last April so finish reno. Only paying the monthly reno loan instalment. also slowly buy the furniture already so not so big amt upfront. cos i cannot stay there yet until after AD.

Hi Nicole,
That's good. Me same situation as you, got my flat last April too and have renovated and stayed there already. Now only waiting for AD...kekeke

Hi Zoeanne,
My hubby said even if take M-Hotel, we will take Function room, cos same building but price difference is too much...kekeke

Hi Serene n Nicole

My hubby think alike. He said take Function room than Banquet.. $100++ more, we have 25 tables .. thats mean it is $2500-3000 more.. I feel he is right la.. Since we have a budget and trying to save. We rather spend this $3000 to top up for our honeymoon.. cos we love to travel alot..N not taking any housing loan ...

Anyway, i realise something.. If our wedding super nice or super bad, your guests will remember.. but just normal, no body will remember .. Only the wedding couple themselves will remember forever..Therefore, to me, if Hubby and I are satisfied, we go ahead..

For me, I am ok.. Function Room look quite decent to me, the deco seem ok..The location is convenient ..I got my 2 night stays when I sign up at the fair..every deal seem good.. I SIGN lor..I got very worried at 1st, after been to the actual set up, I think it looks ok..More relax..

For March in, it is your own choice.. No need to follow the hotel la.. Some couple even ride a trishaw in... Hubby got a friend who played violin and march in himself while the wife play on the piano on the stage..
It is so much different...
Its up to individual creativity liao..

Hi Serene
You good lah. can stay together liao. Me cannot. Where you staying? why same time so coincidental we get flat. my new flat near stadium area.

Hi Zoeanne,
yah lah. think my husband will also think the same way. I not so much think of people's reaction but my own reaction to the ballroom and the luxury of the outside changing room and 2 night bridal suite lah. heehee. Sigh... may be able to convince hubby tho cos dinner I in charge of budget. he in charge of honeymoon only.

Yeah. the only negative point for Banquet suite was U shape walk in (which we can ignore), no free flow beer (negotiate with Fiona) and higher price (but still quite reasonable compared with other hotels). My Hubby may go mad with all his crazy ideas. He originally said he wanted afro hairstyle. I dunno where to hide my face.

hi nicole

Ha Ha.. Be glad that he is enthusiatics in thinking ideas to be fun and keep your wedding memorable.. Ha hA..Isn't it nice to share ideas and have fun too? But Afro hairstyle abit funny la.Ha ha...

Ya, we also not thinking about other ppl's reaction. As long as we like, can liao..
Hubby and I in charge of things together.. I do the research and he give recommendations and comments lor.. Hee hee

For Banquet, there is no free flow la. But function room have..Like what you said, compared to other hotel, its quite reasonable for such a price at banquet already..Try bargain for 2 nights, cos i got it.. Hope Fiona can give you..

So think about it lor.. Most important is that, its ur wedding and you remember it forever

YEah!!!!

hi nicole,

my parents/PIL and grandparents are quite open minded. Besides, I am not the only one practicing this cos my cousins, even my brother also staying together b4 the AD. Me in Jurong West.

Hey Zoeanne!

Thanks a lot, i received your pics!
n yah.. it look nicer than those fiona sent.. it look so cosy n kinda romantic.. do we get to choose the knid of flowers we want with the florist directly? which florist is it hah?

banquet room only $100+ more than function room meh? i tot it's $768? dat's $200 more leh..
O.. u gals talking abt wkday hah.. sorry i sotong..

Is there a change of price in M-hotel wedding? i think i saw different pricing in the latest female brides.. $530+++ & $560+++ (wkday), $630+++ & $660+++ (wkend)..
Hmm?

Hi Highness

Its 100+++ for weekday.. ya. $700 over for weekend..

Hey, dun let Fiona know i took those pics.. Hee hEe ... secret...She did not even know i am snapping around..

Kind of flowers? I dun know.. can ask Fiona.
I went to feel the flowers to check it they are real .. Ha Ha.. so funny of me... Its real..
Hee Hee...

U can ask.. I dun remember which florist , i think a girl in this thread mentioned b4.. forget who liao..

girl, u book function or banquet??

ZaoAn..

hi Zoeanne,
I booked function.. cos max is 34 tables, 2 more tables than banquet.. initially was looking @ 30-35 tables.. but we booked the min tables only.. juz in case some frds/relatives lost contact within this year.. haha..
but i actually prefer the recept area of function rather than banquet.. got the glass window over look the road..

Hi eve

ok. I send you later.. U PM me without leaving me your email. I cannot send to you lor.. Ha Ha..

HI Gd morning Highness
Oh, so you book function too.. Same as me la.
I also book a minimum tables of 20 1st.. Do not dare to gurantee so many. Maybe we have 25 only.
One thing, at the reception area, over looking the road, it is not much decorated, but seem ok. Some girls here mentioned b4 the chairs and tables outside the function did not removed. I saw on the actual setup, they are not there already...

Besides, I dun think there are much deco besides at the reception table and the stairway..Anyway only about half an hour to 1 hr for the cocktail reception, I do not care if there is deco anot
Hee hee..As long as the deco inside the function room look presentable and their service must be good...

yah yah.. service very important.. n food muz got standard..
but i realize in ur pic.. there are drapes on the stage.. is only for couples not using projector? if not, it'll block the screen leh..

Hi Highness

There is a movable automatic Drop screen .. If we have montage, the screen will drop in front of the drapes during the montage. After the montage, it is automatically drawn back. So during the montage, the drapes might be block for that moment.

U understand? I sound blur...
I have photo montage too...Thats why i also ask Fiona about this...

HI zoeanne,
no worry, i will not breathe a word abt your photos to Fiona.
I also think I book minimum table. but will I have less negotiating power then?
actually i quite liked the seats outside. guests can sit and chat mah

OIC.. yah yah.. understand..
the flowers in ur pics is red rose.. in fiona's pics is yellow colour.. the deco of the VIP chairs oso different.. wonder it's the couple got their own florist to do up or M's florist? so there's different deco?

Haha.. yah.. i dun mind the seats oso..

Hi Nicole

Less bargaining power? I also book minimum tables. No need to tell them how many you have as long as u hit 20. Who care.. Imagine we are paying so much to them. They ought to treat us better..

Ya they can sit but too many seem messy.. U can ask them to restore the seats back if you like..

One thing i realise is that, there are no specific tables for putting your wedding albums for guest to see. That day, I saw the couple album there on thr reception desk. Then guests are signing their guests book and viewing the albums, while other guests are at the reception too finding their table numbers. It all in a huge mess all at one table lor.

But this can be arrange. Take note of this point and ask M hotel to set up another table to viewing albums..

has anyone gone for food tasting with M Hotel? Any comments about the dishes?

My coordinator Fiona has asked us, but we are thinking not to go, cos still must pay 50% and there are only fixed dates (all weekdays).

Thanx for all your tips, Zoeanne! WIll try and remember by that time.

What is this 50% that Mission must pay? I thot we just pay the deposit first, the rest wait till wedding dinner finish then they collect?

Hi Nicole,

When I signed contract with M Hotel, it is stated that food tasting is provided at 50% discount. Which means, if I want food tasting before the actual dinner, I have to pay half (50%). It works out to be about over $300.

Yes, I have also similiarly paid deposit upon confirmation and the rest to be paid 1 day after wedding dinner.

Hi Mission
Huh? wasn't food tasting provided for you? My quote has free for 6 persons. I was thinking should I ask for 10 but then also dunno who to invite to taste. My husband side only got his mother and brother (and dunno whether they will go or not). well, no harm asking for more also. better than nothing. heehee.

Hi Misson
My food tasting is provided and I asked for 10 people. There is no paying for 50% leh..

Nicole, I intend to call my AH YI and Xiong Di to go for the food tasting cos that day, they might be busy helping us over the dinner and could have not eat properly. So as a reward to them, we bring them for food tasting too.. Thats why i ask for 10..

Never thought of asking both side parents to go. Afriad they might insist we change here and there and there is extra course..Ha Ha...

wah! Zoeanne, you so clever! great idea. cos I thinking quite awkward also. his mother and my parents not on like fantastic terms. if I invite friends at least more fun. If I book Function room, can only ask for these kind of perks lor.

Ya lor..

I tot its a great time to reward them with a great meal.. They sure enjoy..without parents around, less troubles... Hee Hee..

Try to ask for perks if you can for function room..

hi zoeanne! thanks for your pix, they look nice indeed! now i'm just worried i haf too many tables and it will be squeezy... haf 34 tables so far

I already planning menu for M Hotel. heehee. Do you guys think i should change then sharksfin soup to fish maw. I think usually sharksfin very little and fish maw more tasty. but cheaper leh.

then maybe I can change to more expensive fish too. heehee. exchange.

Hi Zoeanne,

Got yr e-mail liao, thanks

Wow... I love the candle/flower stands(Hehehe... Dont know wat is the correct name for tat.)
But really something diffrence from other Hotels.

yup zoeanne, you took many nice shots. i like the ambiance.

hope by the time i can start to make booking, the date i wan is still available

Hi Lynn

It is something different but not as grand as the banquet room. This is only function room..
Very garden like lor.. with flower stands and candle. Abit romantic with candles lit on..

Hi Nicole
I have not thought about the food until food tasting..

Hi Keiki
That is one problem lor.. Too many tables and seem too far from the stage as this function room is long.. Not round.. I also have this problem.. But thinking, just put my friends at the back.. Not relatives..My friends all do not mind..Squeezy still ok.. Not so.. Try to see if they can spread out which I need to talk to M hotel about this too..

Nicole, Keiki and eve
What are your AD?
Mine is on 18 (Custom)and 19 Sept 2005( Dinner)

Mind depend on which room I book. After seeing your pictures, I don't mind the function room decor liao. only thing i don't like is the shape. i will feel bad about putting people at the back. friends or relatives the same.

If I book function room, actual day will be 12/10/05, dinner on 13/10/05

If I book banquet, actual day will be 5/10 and dinner on 7/10.

I also feel bad la. But no choice. I got about 25 tables. so still not far back behind. Still ok lor.. All the reserve tables will be behind..and about another 3 tables.. Still ok...

: )

too bad that my contract didn't include free food tasting, cos I signed it last year and not during any promotion... Well, will have to decide the dishes based on the name of the dish. haha!

if anyone has gone for food tasting, pls let me know which dish is nice! thanks.

Not yet gone for food tasting
If I am not wrong, there is one thread on M hotel Survey dish. Though the thread is not active now, u can try and see..

I got some information from the girls there who email me. They did an research.. So far these are the dish they ordered:

CHINESE WEDDING DINNER MENU @ M Hotel

Appetizer (Jelly Fish, Roast Suckling Pig, Gyoza Dumpling & Phoenix Prawn Roll)
Braised Shark's Fin Soup with Crabmeat & Crab Roe
Braised Whole Baby Abalone with Mushroom & Seasonal Vegetables
Poached 'Live' Tiger Prawns with Chinese Wine & Herbs
Deep fried Garoupa with Thai Sauce
Pipa Duck
Stir-fried Aparagus with Dried Scallops & Golden Mushroom
Fried Fragrant Rice with Seafood
Chilled Sea Coconut with Longan

Hope this is useful to you

Hi zoeanne,

yes, i also visited that web site on the survey m hotel's dishes.
Thanks for posting the sample menu. it sounds good and i'm drooling already. haha! unfortunately, on the big day, probably cannot eat much!

Hi Zoeanne,
Refer to your earlier posts about the 4 new wedding favours... Do you have pictures of them? If have, can email to me? [email protected]
Cos I thinking of changing wedding favours...mine is chopsticks.

Hi mission

We get to eat. They will give us a small portion in the night after our dinner to eat lor..

Hi manuka
I do not have pictures for the 4 new wedding favours..Sorry
Why dun u ask your coordinators?

Thanks Zoeanne,
is your coordinator Diana? is she gd?
have liaised with her a few times...think she is a bit not so friendly, therefore, quite reluctant to approach her...

Hi Manuka

My coordinator is Fiona. Not Diana.
Fiona is ok. But i find her abit unexperience and not much solution for us..Maybe I am too worry.. She always ask me dun worry but without a solution for Hubby and Me.

All coordinators like that at M hotel?

I saw a coordinator in long perm hair, with a hairband to hold her hair up. She seem very nice and enthusiatics to talk and provide solution.. But i did not get her name..She was talking to another couple at another desk. How does Diana look like?

Mine also Fiona. Yeah. I agree she like little girl. But friendly lah. I have a feeling if I nego with her, she got no power to decide one. haha

Hi Nicole

Fiona is ok lor.. Come to power to decide, I am not sure who. But from what I know, my case was first held by the Banquet director. He pick up my call when i enquired and immediately take down my dates and reserve it. Then Fiona later took over from him i think..

I signed up at the fair and got quite good perks. What I requested reasonably for, she all give me.. Heard from other girls about Diana, saying she refuse to budge at all regarding the perks..

Try talking to Fiona.. Maybe i signed up at the fair got better deal.. But she seem nice to talk to la..U see what you can bargain for la...

Yea, I find Fiona nice to talk to lah. Anyway, for Function room I not expecting much to negotiate for.

cannot expect much for price you pay mah.

Hi Zoeanne/Nicole,
Actually, I have not seen Diana at all! So I don't even know how she look like... *sigh* The coordinator I signed up with resigned already... My previous coordinator is very good, too bad she resigned.
Some time back, I ask Diana if she could give us free food tasting since I only have 4 or 5 person doing the food tasting, she say NO to my request... *sigh* think u are right, refuse to budge to all the perks!