M Hotel Singapore

darbebe

Hi Antonia,

congratulations to you. Now you can have a load off your mind. Glad that things are smooth during the dinner.

I have afew questions for you. Can you help?

- do you have any rehearsal for the march in before the dinner?
- do you prepare the wordings for the stage? M hotel does not provide this.

thanks in advance.

my wedding is nearing in another 3 months...heehee..
Collected my wedding cards not too long ago, so currently is just searching for printers.

yongee86

hi darbebe,

i did not rehearse for the march in but my helpers did a 'dry run' with the banquet manager on what to do eg what music for first march in, what to do for photo montage, etc.

i did not have any wordings on the stage. there was a white screen on the stage whereby your photo montage will be played on the screen. So no point putting any wordings on the stage.

Btw, i had the bubbles effect for my march in as m hotel now has a new bubble gun machine. the effect was quite good.

darbebe

hi jen,

sorry ah, my desc very bad. hehe..i meant the wordings on the stage whereby ppl normally will put up the bride and groom's name.

hi antonia,
ya, i was told by my coordinator that they dont provide this service. I dont intend to do but just worried that it will look weird. But glad that you have do without and are still fine.

Am I right to say that there's no theme available from M hotel? starting to get gan cheong liao

thanks thanks

junior22

Hi darbebe

har,me jst want to be veri sure of your meaning,cos what u mean was my concern too,got to no they no longer have that but i wanna to have so duno how,or where can i get.

yongee86

darbebe, m hotel has a few themes i think. What i can remember is rose theme and candles theme. i opt for candles theme as it is closer to my wedding theme. Closer to your actual date, you will meet up with your coordinator to discuss about theme, invitation cards, table arrangment, table gifts, etc. during then, your coordinator will run through all these with you. So don't worry too much for now.

ashlady

hi there!
I've finally seen the M hotel cards..hmmm, like only got 2 choices lei..either the red or cream one. Which one do u guys choose?

darbebe

hi antonia

thanks. will they show you pics of different themes?

hi ashlady,
i chose the red colour wedding card. i think red got a more 'xi qi' feeling.

ashlady

hi DarBebe,
Is it the red card got the word "our wedding" on it? i saw it in the attachment & i thought it's very weird coz of the layout. It doesnt look so weird on the cream color one though...hmm.
Where are u going to get ur cards printed?

huan

i havent got the cards yet!! coz my mum says it's fine to send invitations during the 2nd seventh month...
anyway, both PIL and parents had told me to go for the cream ones...
anyway, do u all know dat u can get some red n some cream ones? my colleague did dat last yr

darbebe

hi ashlady,

yaya, the card has the words 'our wedding' on it.
I hav already send my cards for printing at Kai Lian Printing Service.It was recommended by my FIL.

the price seems reasonable at 30/40 cents per insert with hotstamping(if i rem correctly). Im printing about 220 inserts.

huan

hi mei,
i'm having second thots in having 8 treasure soup... coz my PIL prefer sharks fins... anyway, since u said it's good, i shall give it a try on my food tasting... i'm considering changing oso coz most of the ingredients in the 8 treasure soup r not popular with the guests or children, such as sea cucumber, fish lips etc... even i dun take dat myself!!
anyway, i've managed to find a contact to get the "no sharks fins" cards. anyone who needs it can email me n i'll pass u the contact

man_tou_bear

My food tasting tonite! heh.. kinda excited... Mei & Huan i m also not having the sharksfin soup. having 8 treasure soup.. i dun care wat the guests feel cos its my wedding.. heehee.. now looking for the no sharksfin card thingy too...

Huan i changed a lot of dishes, but must pay the difference. changed the pacific clams to abalone, the ee fu noodles to fried udon cos my fren said it was yummy, change desserts to yam paste. also change one of the cold dish from octopus (eee so freaky) to some scallop thingy.. must top up lor.. hopefully the food is gd! will update tmr!

Getting my cards tonite. i prefer the red one.. more 'loud' heh... hope to get it printed before the 7th mth cos my MIL is panaroid abt sending the cards on the 7th mths, even the 2nd 7th mth.. Huan u so gd.. ur mum dun mind... haizzz...

man_tou_bear

Honeybaby, PMed u liao.

Ur coordinator will tell u how much each dish cost. but for some dishes like the noodle dish, u dun need to top up cos they are the same pricing.. just like the fish cooked in teochew, thai, fried style, u dun have to top up lor.

minniemouse7780

Hihi anyone, i have signed up with M hotel last year. My wedding is in Nov. Realised that many people has done a lot of things and i'm the only one who is still dilly dally.

Can anyone tell me what's the items to take care of? Such as invites, food tasting, cakes, etc?

ashlady

hi Bear!
Enjoy your food tasting, k! Heh..mine is in July...pretty excited abt it but a bit apprehensive about the parents meeting each other. keke :p

hi blueberry99,
You dont have to worry about the hotel invites or food tasting coz ur hotel coordinator will inform you nearer the date. Prob abt 3 months before Nov.

huan

hi bear,
the udon nice? i'm tinking whether to get dat or not. how isit? wat other ingredients r there? mayb u can email me coz i cant access tis website during office hr. i can email u the contact for the no shark fins card.
i hope i can get the 8 treasure soup too but my PIl doesnt seem to like the idea of not having sharks fins. gotta respect their decision if they dun wan dat... though it's my wedding lah... but i dun like the idea of guests leaving most of the food untouched... coz rather wasteful :p

man_tou_bear

Gd morning brides-to-be!

Okok here is the low down on the food tasting!
1) Cold dish - i had this Japanese clam thingy cos i din want the jap octopus. but it tasted too tough so i think i will go back to octopus though i think they look gross. the jelly fish was not shredded thin enough so kinda hard to chew. It also needs a lil more sauce. the rest of the cold dish is yummy!

2) 8 Treasure Soup - only 1 comment: its superduper NICE!! REALLY.. thick, sweet and savoury.. lotsa ingredient.. only pity is i can't identify the abalone. shredded into small pieces.

3) Abalone with Chinese spinach (puay leng cai) - again this was superb. veggies not tough, abalone big and sweet. my FIL said it was a bit tough but i found it just nice.

4) Garoupa steamed with superior soya sauce - no complaints.. this fish was so fresh i think they caught it the moment before they cooked it.

5) Roast chicken with garlic and fragant - another winner. crispy skin yet inside was so soft and sweet...

6) Poach 'live' prawns with chinese wine and herbs - this is a disapptment.. the seasoning was just nice however the prawns were slightly undercooked. so we din eat all of it.

7) Fried udon in black pepper sauce - this a also gd.. by then we were reaching our max capacity but we still managed to finish ALL the udon.. it was that gd..

8) Yam paste - also very gd.. used with fresh coconut cream and not canned coconut milk.. nice.

overall we were pretty happy with the food esp aft we heard the negative comments. the service staff was also frenly, changing our plates aft every dish. we checked for for our AD, the plates will be changed aft every dish and it is one server to one table. gd ratio!

Blueberry, may be u can start deciding wat u wanna do first.. heehee..

Ashlady, ya it was pretty awkward last nite too despite my parents meeting my inlaws many times before this...

Huan, okok i will mail u later.. well i still prefer not to kill sharks than making my inlaws happy.. sorry.. heehee.. i believe u shd stand up for wat u want, but then again its just me.

ashlady

hi bear!
wah..sounds so good! I was also wondering abt the ratio of staff to table....it's good that they have 1 per table
I forgot...are u having it at the banquet suite or function room? :p What wedding flavours are u having?

For fish, i'm deciding between soon hock & garoupa. Any ideas which is nicer when steamed?

For meat, I'm deciding between the roast chicken & Pi Pa duck...any comments? heh...

huan

hi bear,
seems like i might wanna change the ee fu mian to udon!!
guess we have diff stands... my parents actually dun mind abt not having sharks fins for the dinner. but they feel dat since my PIL r paying for some tables, i ought to respect their decision. anyway, it's nice of them to accept 8 treasure soup for food tasting. if they find it nice, they might wanna opt for it too.
keeping my fingers crossed...

aslady,
i was oso deciding between chicken n duck at dat time. the argument aaron gave me was dat at least chicken u can ensure everybody takes but some ppl dun take ducks. heard dat their pipa duck oso not bad

for dessert, i dun wanna change from the menu. had opt for white fungus with lily bud. coz i find dat cooling n light. c how it taste lah! coz for yam paste, i had it for my 2 frens' wedding dinner n i find it a bit too heavy for after meals.

the prawns i had tasted before last yr. i find it ok leh... guess u can just make a small remark asking them to make sure it's not undercooked during the AD.

wah!! now the ratio of waiters per table is 1:1? good!!!
all in all, it's just my personal opinion

ashlady

hi Huan,
What wedding flavours are u having?

My mum says duck is more ex..haha...but my FH prefers chicken.

Will udon be out of place since the menu is chinese..but udon is a jap kind of noodle..the plus point is that it's very unqiue to have udon.

huan

hi ashlady,
i've no idea wat wedding favours they have. aaron refused to tell me leh.. he said there'll b a surprise for me.... wonder how true :p
mayb u can try out the duck. if like it then use it for ur dinner. if dun like u can change to chicken coz the chicken is quite standardized for the taste

i've asked aaron to change to udon... i find it unique too... coz dun wan the menu to b too normal leh... anyway, gotta c how it tastes oso.

man_tou_bear

Ashlady, u might wanna comfirm the ratio again.. cos i did hear that previously was 1 server to 2 tables. check with ur coordinator will be better.. we were quite pleased with the server that nite.. very patient and polite.. oh ya one thing, the utensils and crockery weren't very clean.. may be cos they were using this really fanciful plate... just take note lor...

Both soon hock and garoupa are ok to steam.. soon hock is freshwater while garoupa is seawater.. think this one ask ur mum or MIL would be better. Din try the duck so cannot comment.. may be u try the duck and see how lor.. but i agree with Huan that not everyone takes duck.. but then again chicken machiam very common!! headache hor?

Huan, ya the udon is fried black pepper style so i still think it fits into a chinese menu.. anyway almost every dinner u have ee foo noodles, machiam very boring.. i like peppery stuff too...

I m not a yam paste fan.. in fact i only took one lick at the yam paste.. i hate it.. but both my parents and PILs love yam paste so just give in lah... i m not teochew enough to like yam paste. thanks for the sharksfin email..

I am taking the bears for my favour but hope to get another design if possible.

ashlady

hi Huan & Bear,
Decided to go for roast chicken since it has good review

As for fish, apparently garoupa is better for teochew steamed style...so going for garoupa. I still cant convince my FH to go for udon...hee....he doesnt like it..haha..so going for the ee fu noodle *yawn*
Keke

huan

hi bear & ashlady,
will b going for food tasting tis coming sunday. Hope my FIL can b convinced to take te 8 treasure soup... i'm oso choosing garoup with teochew style!! ate once in a teochew restaurant n find it real nice! hopefully tis will b as nice..
ashlady, u can still go for the duck during food tasting. if dun like it then change to chicken loh... coz the chicken is very safe...

tink in the end, the menu for wedding dinner will end up the same though different restaurants / hotels!!

anastasia

Hi Bear,

How unclean were the crockery? That's bad.

Btw for those who have gone for the food tasting, do the salad prawns, assorted maki, roast suckling pig, terayaki chicken and phoenix prawn rolls taste good?

man_tou_bear

Gd morning,

Ashlady, i m a chicken fan so its an easy choice for me.. heehee... not sure abt the fish but both fish are yummy types.. either choices shd be ok right? how come ur FH doesn't wanna try Udon? u know it looked like those Chinese mee sua, except its the thicker version.. yummy!! i m drooling at the mere thought of it. heehee...

Huan, i tot u said u gg for food tasting nearer ur date? i did hear that the sharksfin's soup was watery.. not sure if its a one off event or not.. i agree.. all wedding banquets have the same food just that diff ambience!

Anastasia, there were some stains on this fanciful base plates they used. ie a base plate then on top put the usual white dish where u eat from. mine had a soya sauce stain while my sis had some specks of dirt on her cup...

anastasia

Looks like chicken is indeed a popular choice. But my mom said that duck is more ex and more difficult to prepare, so if it is prepared well, it'll be more exquisite than the chicken dish. In the end, i compromised with my mom: food tasting try pipa duck, if not nice, then change to roast chicken straightaway.

bear, i really hope that sharkfin's soup being watery is a one off event cos my parents and in laws wanted sharksfin soup! As for the uncleanliness that you have detected on the plates and cups, did you inform the banquent manager/person-in-charge? what did they say? Did other M hotel brides face the same problem? I hope not. :p

man_tou_bear

Hi Anastasia,

Ya try the duck and tell us how lor.. i m not a duck lover cos i find their meat quite tough and a lot of fats.. heehee.. gimme a chicken anyday!! heehee... when's ur AD?

Abt the sharksfin soup i got the feedback from the same guy that mentioned the udon tasted very gd. hopefully its one off lor..
crockery wise i mentioned to the server that nite and also wrote it on the feedback form for the manager.. think its bcos the plate has grooves so harder to wash.. anyway they said it won't happen again..

ashlady

hi Anastasia,
heh..my mum also said the same thing as your mum...but that was just her suggestion. Anyway, i've got a friend who commented that the roast chicken at M is really nice when i was still choosing the hotels...& after reading Bear's vivid description, hee...When's your food tasting & your dinner?

Anyone here going to try the spa at M hotel?

huan

hi bear,
yup. i did told aaron dat i'm fine with food tasting during seventh month. but he called me up n gave me a slot so i just take loh

hmm... i tried sharks fins during my fren's wedding last nov... it taste alright to me leh... and there wasnt any unclean utensils issue. mayb jus make a note to them wil do.yup! the roasted chicken is NICE!!!!!

anastasia

My AD is in december, so still several months to go. Looks like the roasted chicken is a sure winner(sob..., will try to convince my mom again). Btw, just to confirm, the roasted chicken that everyone is giving praises for is crispy roasted chicken or thai roasted chicken?

man_tou_bear

hello.. ya i m away like Huan said... Elynn mail u when i get back.. ur AD still faraway!

Anastasia its crispy roasted chicken!! yummy!!

tata gg to bed!

huan

great news!! jus went for food tasting... everyting seems good!! none of wat is mentioned here happened...
another good news is dat my PIL had agreed to use 8 treasure soup!! (^o^)v
even my hb's godfather likes it too!!! the soup is really thick n nice... n i can even taste the scallop!!!

huan

cant really rem the exact namings of the dishes but here they are:

Cold dish:
unagi, chuka hotate, phoenix prawn roll, jelly fish

Soup:
8 treasure soup

Prawns:
Prawns in herbal soup & wine

Fish:
Garoupa in teochew style

Chicken:
Crispy roast chicken

Vege/abalone:
Baby abalone with mushrooms and seasonal veges

Noodles/rice
Fried Udon with Black Pepper (recommended by bear!)

Dessert:
White fungus with lily bud

i wanted to choose the chilled sea coconut but my MIL said old ppl might not like chilled stuff...
anyway, the dessert is nice!!! the white fungus is really soft and the dessert is very sweet. some ppl might feel it's too sweet but if the sweetness is not enuff, 1 might b able to taste the sourness of the white fungus.
wat i like is at the end of the whole banquet, the dessert left a very soothing n sweet taste for the guests

man_tou_bear

Huan sounds like u had a great food tasting.. how was the udon? nice? any regrets getting it? glad that ur inlaws liked the 8 treasure soup.. next is for me to get the no sharksfin card.. me too busy to do anything on the wedding!

Elynn, give me till next wk cos i m down with audit.. can only post short msg.. no time to check my emails either.. in fact i m still working now.

ashlady

hi Huan,
How's the garoupa in teochew style? How's the abalone dish? Have you decided on the deco? Heh...sorry so many qns..

everafter

Hi Huan,

Oh, u didnt take Yam paste? Tot its a popular dessert..personally i don't like it, but somehow during the last wedding i attend at M Hotel, my frens all stayed for the dessert leh...