M Hotel Singapore

galnextdoor

Peko, Antonia & Ashlady, have sent u the pics

Ashlady, yr AD at banquet suite rite? How many tables u having? Sorry I may have forgotten if u have mentioned before.

The one in the pics is only 18 tables. So the space is veri spacious.

ashlady

hi galnextdoor,

hey thanks!
The deco is interesting! Shall ask zul nearer the date..heh. How come they only have 18 tables? I thought min is 25? heh...

I'm prob be looking at 30 + 2 reserved. I've seen the set-up for that. It's ok & not squeezy like the chairs are back-to-back. Even the tables at the side of the stage are still able to see the screen, guests just have to tilt their heads a bit la but they wont be blocked.

galnextdoor

Ashlady, I dunno why they allow 18 tables leh...Glad to hear that 30+2 is okie. The one u seen the march-in also wide enough hor? Think I always have this fear that the march-in too narrow then I may trip over and fall...clumsy me

Jen & applerain, you've got mail

ashlady

hi galnextdoor,
heh, no worries..the march-in is not that narrow. I was also worried about the number of tables & the space available. But it seemed to be ok to me

yongee86

good morning!

galnextdoor, i got the pics already. thanks.

bear, you got PM! for printing, you can choose hotstamping or normal printing. when we reached there, it was crowded so we wait quite awhile before someone attend to us. The salesperson tried to get us to opt for hotstamping which is more expensive but we chose normal printing. So service no longer that 'warm'. Next to us, there is another couple which the sales person agree to help them rush the printing less than 5 days. For mine, the salesperson insist she is unable to rush it out for us within a week, insist it must be 10 working days. so it is either we got a pretty lousy salesperson or coz we didn't opt for something more expensive.

Since we were already there and didn't want to waste time on hunting a cheaper printer, so we just chose this printer. If we have the luxury of time, i will hunt for some other printer which is much cheaper. There are some whose package is $100 for 300 inserts. This shop is $100 for 200 inserts.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning!

Antonia, thanks! will go check my mail.. wah the service seems terrible! how can they say they can't rush out the printing when they promised the other couple in front of u that they could! *tsk tsk tsk* u mean we can look for our own printers? hrmmm u gals heard of any cheaper printers or not? can PM if u got contacts? aft reading what Antonia wrote, i am kinda wary abt the quality of service that i will get from them! cos i won't wanna spend a bomb on printing wedding invites cos ppl will throw the card away!

What's the difference btw hot stamping and normal printing?

junior22

thanks galnextdoor,i received your mail.

hi Antonia,can check with you is the printer you enage recommended by M hotel?

yongee86

yeah, it is TGIF!

bear, yup, you can find your own printers. one thing to note is that you will need to bring a copy of the wedding card as the printers may not know the dimension since they are not the appointed printers by M hotel.

hotstamping is printing which u can feel the 'mark' of font on the paper. It looks more classy which comes with a price. Normal printing is the usual printing u get from any printer, like those u use at home.

jen, yes, i used the printer recommended by m hotel. aaron was telling us that their rates are market rate and the only advantage is that they are reliable. so it is purely up to you to find your own printer or use their recommendations.

man_tou_bear

Gd morning Antonia! its not only fri, it a LOOONG wkend! heehee...

Hrmmm did u source for ur own printers then? may be i shd go and get the cards first. then go and take a look around... Zul did say we can go down to take a sample of the card. better do it soon then...

Thanks for the explanation on the diff btw hot and normal stamping.. can gold wordings be done by normal stamping?

lu_meihua

hi Bear! so sorry for the late reply! I was pretty busy these few weeks thus no chance to login. so paiseh...hope I am not too late...

well, as for the cake, when i cut cake at the reception, my night-coordinator (i.e. one of xiongdi) gathered friends around. actually because reception quite small, when we stood at the cake area for photo-taking, most of guests already gathered liao. and also the Banquet Manager also helped to gather guests around.

then after cutting, i handed the knife over to the waiter/waitress to cut the cake into desired size and they served to the guests. some guests stood and eat while some guests took the cake into the ballroom (door was opened right after we cut the cake) and sit down to enjoy. the waiter/waitress also served the cakes into the ballroom. they walked around with cakes in their trays and asked around who want second helping. some guests came forward to the cake-area and helped themselves.

and yes, I continued with the cocktail, till reception counter closed. it was like abt 20-30 mins after we cut cake cos we dun want to let the guests who came early (for the reception and the cake-cutting ceremony) to wait too long.

how u want to plan it?? i can give suggestions. what u have in ur mind?

lu_meihua

hi highness, ya lah. help here as and when i can cos' i WAS also a mhotel bride mah...haha...

u collect wedding favour ah? I got the wedding photoframe (like a bell shape). i got extra (think 1 or 2). u want?

man_tou_bear

Hi Mei,

thanks for ur tips! well i m looking to cut my cake abt 7.45-8pm.. think dinner will start abt 830 lor.. u think the timing ok? u mean u kept the doors to the room closed until u cut the cake? for my case doesn't it mean i have to keep it close for abt 45 mins, if cocktails start at 7? is it too long a wait?

So the hotel staff will cut the cake there? won't it be too messy? i was thinking to get a cake that feeds 200 pax, u think that is ok? my total no. of guests is abt 250 (hopefully).

Hey gals, a fren went for a wedding at M Hotel and her feedback was terrible. She said the ee foo noodles tasted horrible though the abalone with spinach was gd. she also said everything was very slow. Dinner started at 9pm and only finished at 11pm... and the waiter serving her table took so long to fill up the glasses that another guest from the same table got up to fill the glasses himself! luckily the banquet mgr noticed and stopped the guy and pour a glass for him.. My fren did say that she noticed that the banquet mgr kept a close eye on everything though.

She also said the function rm's deco was very blah... and also the wedding invites were ugly... haizzz the more she said the more i dun look forward to my dinner... how?

lu_meihua

hi bear, ya. i try to keep guests at the reception area first till i cut cake. think i cut at abt 7.30/7.35 (cannot rem) when there is almost a reasonable number for crowd. dun want too few people and also dun want too crowded.

immediately after we cut, we open the doors liao. u plan to cut cake at the reception area or inside ballroom??

i think cut cake at 7.45pm is ok. or u cut ealier like 7.30pm (if got enuff guests around) so that if u cut liao, time will be abt 7.45pm. then serve guests cake, and guests eat, abt 8pm liao. then guests wait a while more (to let cake digest), then abt 8.30pm u can serve dinner liao. just nice. but only a rough guide. be flexible on that day. see the crowd first.

the hotel staff helped me to cut my cake (2 tier) at the reception area and served guests on the spot. hmm...so far not messy leh cos' some guests stood around at reception to eat (and help themselves for 2nd helping), while some guests took their cake and go into the ballroom and look for their table (guess they also leg suan for standing so long). so make the reception less crowded liao by then. so not messy. unless u have a very BIG reception table for sign-in, else should be ok. just position the tables and cake-take in a good location that allows people to walk with ease.

my cake (2-tier) is supposed to serve 100+ but end up can serve 250pax and some can even have 2nd/3rd helping. just let the waiter/waitress know beforehand how much to cut. cut in reasonable size. not too small else guests see it as stingy. not too big else waste if guests only eat a bit. actually we did not inform the waiter/waitress beforehand how to cut or how many to serve. we leave it to them. to be safe, perhaps u can ask ur helper to let them know before they cut the cake.

OH and yes! REM TO ASK THEM TO SET ASIDE THE WEDDING CAKE FOR U TWO TO EAT. This we did tell them (told them twice in fact) to set aside the cake for me and hubby cos' we also wanna eat mah. haha.....

dun worrie bear. each person has their own expectations. just leave these to the helpers/banquet manager that night and enjoy urself that night. dun let these bother u. everything will be just fine!

man_tou_bear

Hi Mei!

so sorry din reply u! :p

Ya the whole idea of the cake i borrow from u one.. heehee..u got ur cake at Pines? hrmm i m looking at them too. wah 2 tiered can serve 250+? how many inches was ur cake? may be can give me so i know whether i m over ordering or underordering..

Thanks for all ur tips.. i have jotted them down for easy references... how did u inform the waiter how big a size to cut? i scared cut too big piece then not enough, too small piece then would appear too stingy.. haizzz....

Ya i will rem to ask them to put some a side for us heehee.. i m gg to get a mixture of different flavours for different layer so must make sure they leave a slice per layer for me! heehee..

May be i will tell Zul abt my fren's feedback lor.. see wat he will do... keeping my fingers crossed that the food will improve.

lu_meihua

hi bear, a..inches ah...i dun rem leh. forget liao. the invoice not with me now. but i rem i told wei chan that i plan to serve cake for 100 pax (budget mah) but end up can serve all. think cos' wei chan has a specific measurement for each slice of cake then he perhaps multiply by number of pax u wanna serve to come up with ur wedding cake. i guess so. anyway i also told him my budget so he work around my budget.

no leh. i no tell them what size to cut. but guess they know cos' they cut according to number of pax. if u feel unsafe, then u let them know cut in reasonable size to serve ALL. guess they know what to do. = )

what flavour is ur cake??? mine was brownie and cheesecake. brownie was yummy!

yongee86

ello...

just to update my experience with printer. they delivered 2 days before agreed date which I thought was quite good. instead of fri, i got my printed inserts on wed. it is very tiring to stick the inserts to the cards. now i regret a little bit and should have opt for hot stamping on the cards itself. in this way, you don't have to waste time sticking/ tying the inserts to the cards. something that you may want to consider when deciding on printing of your cards?

man_tou_bear

Mei, can help me find out how many inches? cos the lady there Ly Keow, said that i needed a 3 tier wedding cake. Me thinking of lychee martini, brownie and the lemon zest! heehee.. she also said that her cakes come in one standard size, 14", 9" and 5" for each tier...

Antonia, i also went to T Dragon that day.. pretty ex compared to another quote. Once we made it clear that we were just asking for quote, the lady immed cool off and started to be like very distracted. Have to say i dun quite like M Hotel's cards! out of the 2 the red one is slightly nice only.. haizz....

yongee86

bear, you getting 3 tier cake? wow... dun feed your guests too full or they won't finish most of the food for the banquet leh... but wedding cake is so tempting...

so i'm not the only one who finds t dragon bad service huh? look around for cheaper quotes if you have time. some people even go to JB to print coz it is cheaper. yup, m hotel cards are boring. i kinda of regret taking both white and red. should have took all red, more classic. nevermind, I already mailed most of them out.

chantal, you can obtain the card from your coordinator. i don't have any soft copy of the card.

man_tou_bear

Hi Antonia,

Ya i asked Pine Gardens abt how big a cake i need to feed my guests. the idea is to give them a small snack before dinner, esp chinese dinners tend to start late. if got extras then i will ask them to keep for my parents to bring back lor.. heehee...

I found another 2 quotes cheaper than them liao. now waiting to see what hb says lor... ya me thinking of taking all red cos the white one CMI.

Chantal, I also got no soft copy of the card. u can either ask ur coordinator or go to T Dragon to take a look.

cottonie

Hi there, I am interested in M Hotel for my wedding banquet next year. Anyone had their weddings @ M Hotel recently? Would like to know if their food, service, ballroom decor is good? How is their ballroom setting/decor? Modern and Chic? Enough flowers?

galnextdoor

Hi Sharon,

Welcomed to M-hotel thread!
My AD at M-hotel is next year so can't comment yet. But so far seems like all BTB of M-hotel are attracted to the modern feel of the hotel itself and the juccuzi bridal suite. My FH and I have seen a few of the actual wedding setting and think it's nice
before we finally decided to signed up with M-hotel. Think it's better for u to go down to take a look yrself to see if u like. When is yr AD?

kkwr, you've got mail.
My coordinator says that they have a few floral designs. For each design, couples can choose their preferred flower other than rose. Another floral design we've seen is rose with bubble glass and tea-light.

kkwr

Hi galnextdoor,

Thanks for the pictures. We have yet to decide on the floral designs, will check with the coordinator nearer the wedding date. Who is your coordinator?

garfield_glad

Hi galnextdoor

Can share the photo with me too? Thanks!!
Also considering if shld get the Function Room package too, coz think that the room looks too long and narrow but overall M Hotel is quite nice, esp the suite and Zul seems very professional and to the point

I wanted to go down to a wedding held in function room this Sat, but I would be in bkk..

galnextdoor

hyn & glad, you've got mail

These are taken at the 10th floor banquet suite.
I know some floral designs can be applied both for function rm and banquet suite. But the one in the pic I not sure...

Glad, I be in BKK this Wed nite! Coming back on sunday flight...hee...maybe will bump into u
Shopping for wedding stuff?

kkwr, my coordinator Zul oso.

garfield_glad

Hi galnextdoor

Haha...I will be taking the Sunday flight too...shoppg for clothes and massage! Not really for wedding. Just want a break!

dorcas

I'm having my wedding at M Hotel in Dec this yr. Not sure when Zul will inform me on the startup of all these plannings. I will be having it at the function room and know that there are some themes. Can you share it with me? [email protected]