M Hotel Singapore

anastasia

Rainbow, I think you have to ask the M hotel coordinator for the 2007 package cos what's being posted on the web currently is the 2006 package only.

Hi Huan, for desserts, do they still have the mango pudding? I guess I've got to choose chilled dessert like the sea coconut that you mentioned cos my wedding cake will be served together with the dessert. Chilled, light dessert seems to go better with it.

man_tou_bear

Ashlady the garoupa was yummy for my food tasting.. the abalone was gd too... no complaints..

Elynn i took yam paste.. i hate it too but my inlaws and my family love this dessert... bleah...

Anastasia, i m serving my cake before the dinner cos i think the dinner will start late so will serve the cake as snack.. got this idea from Mei, one of the previous M Hotel brides.

huan

Hi bear,
the udon is nice... except dat coz it's normally used for soup so it's abit soft n tends to breaks off easily. but it's unique n taste good!

Hi ashlady,
the garoupa in teochew style taste good too. except dat my hb's godfather requested them to take out the beancurd coz traditional teochew style does not has beancurd in it.the abalone is ok too. the spinach is not dat "siap", mushrooms r big. only ting is coz it's baby abalone so it's rather small! but the abalone is easy to bite and able to chew. some abalone i ate from other wedding dinners cant b chewed thoroughly (or shd it b tis way?) and i had to swallow the whole ting!
nope. had not decide on the deco yet. coz aaron wasnt there dat day... guess we'll discuss tis with him on another day...

Hi elynn,
nope. it's not in my package n i dun really like yam paste. my colleague who had her wedding last yr told me dat their yam paste wasnt dat good. it's orange colour i heard. bear can fill u with more details abt the yam paste. :p

Hi anatasia,
mango pudding wasnt in the list... but u can ask the coordinators if u can have dat. yeah... personally i prefer chilled n light desserts too

mei's idea abt the cake serving personally i tink is quite good. coz after the dinner, most guests perhaps will b too full n they might not eat the cake. anyway, personal opinion only...

anastasia

Hi Bear & Huan,

My wedding is on Friday(though cost is the same as weekend), so I'm worried that not all people may be able to arrive that early for the cake cutting during the cocktail session after work. I thought of printing the cake cutting timing on the cards before, but then, guests may not exactly follow the timing as usual.

My mom also has the perception that kids usually eat cakes in a very messy manner. So even though originally well dressed, kids may in the end turn out to be in a mess after eating the cake. :p

ashlady

hi Huan,
wow...ur hb's godfather is very learned abt food!heh..anyhow, I love beancurds. hee..think i prefer abalones that can be easily chewed. Soft and tender is good i think! I'm getting yam paste...but in orange color?! a bit off lei...nvm. Shall try it anyhow...heh. My food tasting is next wk!

huan

hi ashlady,
ya... guess he's someone who likes food... to me, all taste ok! haha!
i supposed they might put in the colour coz it's auspicious colour rather than the normal yam paste colour? anyway, just try it out during food tasting n if dun like just change loh...
btw, the beancurds are in very small n slim strips!

rainbow79

Hi ladies, is the stage at the ballroom at 10th floor stable as I read that the stage at the function room at 2nd floor is not stable.

ashlady

Hi rainbow,
I'm taking the 10th floor ballroom. The stage looks stable to me lei since it is a proper stage & not a make-shift one.

stacy

Hi all M hotels BTB / brides -

I went to view both the function + the ballroom last week. Agree that the ballroom is very exclusive and grand. But price is rather on steep side (if u compare with hotels at orchard road area). So we are considering btw the function room or the banquet suite.

Wonder if u gals take up which room and roughly, do u think how much guest will give if u invite them for dinner at M-hotel?

Pls help.

Tks!

lu_meihua

hi hi,yummy. 8 treasure soup. anyone has spare seat? i miss the 8 treasure soup also. dun have enuff of it during my AD.

hi Bear, so decided to have cake prior wedding dinner? logistics plan liao? got change gown during cocktail and first march-in boh??

hi Huan, congrats to manage to change the sharks fin to 8 treasure soup. = ) i also had the "no sharks fin" card for my AD but lost the contact. can you email it to me for my future-keeping? Thanks. [email protected]

man_tou_bear

Hello!!

Mei, wat logistics? i spoken to my coordinator abt the cake. he said no probs lor.. heehee.. no i will just wear my WG to cut the cake... cos i like my WG very much, must give it more exposure time heehee...

Anastasia, i tot Fri dinner ppl will be on time? at least those working? cos i know a lot of ppl will come straight from work hence they will be quite hungry... heehee...

Huan so u will take the udon?

lu_meihua

hi Bear, so how does it flow? WG then come down recep then cut cake then hang around then ballroom doors open then guests sit down then u start first march-in? simi flavour of the cake u took ah? i cant rem if u mention before. - )

yap yap. mine AD was a Fri and it's a location near to mine and HB colls. so majority of the guests came for cocktail. latecomers were actually those friends who work further. some guests (i think) wait till after 7pm after ERP charge then come in. ERP is after 7pm no charge right?

man_tou_bear

Gd morning!

Mei, ya basically that is wat will happen lor... heehee... favours? i think lychee martini, the brownie and citrus drops.. yummy! slurp...

Huan okok, u got ur cards yet?

anastasia

Bear, my hubby working at robinson road, so his colleagues should be able to make it on time. Problem is I'm not that sure about the relatives. Nevertheless i agree with you if ultimately one were to choose to cut the cake before the wedding dinner, she should be wearing the WG cos it's supposed to be the most grand of all dresses.

I got my cake from pine garden, 5 tier tumbler cake(2 layers lychee martini, 2 layers orange zest and 1 layer cheese cake) I must say the lychee martini is fantastic! having all layers as lychee is boring; moreover my hubby and mom like orange zest, thus the allocation of the flavours. Cheese cake(ikea cheese cake) is nice too, but more appropriate for youngsters. Based on allocation of tables, and that the cake is cut from top to bottom, cheese is chosen for the last layer, so that the top most will be targetted at those relatives who are quite old, while the last few layers for our colleagues.

man_tou_bear

Hi Anastasia,

Wow 5 tier? u have how many guests? i got mine from Pine Garden too, just 3 tiers. more than enough to feed 250 guests. heehee... ya agree the lychee martini very yummy.. i like the citrus drops too... i m not a cheesecake person hence din choose it... i think the hotel staff will just cut and distribute but i will request for them to keep one slice per favour for me.. heehee...

man_tou_bear

Pine garden charges $450 for a 3 tier cake without acrylic stand. With acrylic stand it will be $500. and yes all 3 tiers can be eaten.. its like those cakes in the wedding mags.. heehee..

can choose ur own design some more.. how u want it too look to suit ur theme.

bridewannabe

I will be holding my banquet on the 30th of Oct 2006. Need to check with you, will the hotel coordinator call you up for food tasting or do i have to call them to arrange? Im planning to call them up if they don't call me by Mid Aug. Another thing, it is ok to get the Hotel staff to be my MC?

man_tou_bear

Starstar, erm depends on u.. some of us getting married abt the same time as u already had our food tasting.. cos we are trying to avoid the 7th mths. u can call them and they will give u a couple of dates that u can choose from...

U can ask the hotel staff if they wanna be ur MC. no harm trying...

Merydith, best check with ur coordinator...

anastasia

My wedding cake costs $630 (+another $50 for acrylic stand), catering for about 28 tables. But tumbler cakes are with narrower diameter and taller height, so it's just about the right amount(average but not mouth size) for 280 people, as recommended by pine garden.

ashlady

Hi! I've finally went for the food tasting! Yes, the roast chicken is delicious!
Didnt managed to get my cards though ;(
Just a question, how did u guys get the printing done? Normal printing/hotstamping, with or without inserts?

everafter

mmm..i really wonder izit the same roast chicken that u all are talking abt leh..

i atteneded a fren's wedding last mth, but the roast chicken is nothing fantastic leh..jus like those at chicken rice stalls

lu_meihua

yum yum, talking abt wedding cakes.
mine also from pine garden - cheesecake and brownie. 3 tiers too. budgetted for 100 pax but end up can serve 25 tables. of course, size per slice matters.

ashlady

hi honeybaby,
Cakes are not compulsory...i'm not having cake. But it's lovely to have, i think..hee...would love to have one if i got budget for it

hi huan,
Where are u intending to print the dinner invites?

anastasia

Hi Honeybaby,

Wedding cakes are not compulsory. I only had mine cos my mom ordered the traditional cakes (u know xi bing) and we happen to try their lychee martini and we fell in love with it. If you are on tight budget and yet want to have a cake too, perhaps can consider having a one/two layer cake to be served to couple and guests at the VIP table only . So far, Pine garden provides lovely designed wedding cakes at rather reasonable prices compared to places like the patissier, cheryl shuen or canele.

man_tou_bear

Yup i agree with Ashlady and Anastasia.. i only had the wedding cake becos i wanted my wedding to be slightly diff... heehee.. not compulsory... in return i trade off somethings with my hb.. i chose a cheaper pkg for the dinner and BS.. heehee...

huan

hi ashlady,
intending to print the inserts in hi-tech. recommended by my colleague.

btw gals, have u all chosen ur wedding favours? the new ones r not bad!!! cant decide which to choose!!!

anastasia

I dun think the bears are available anymore, according to the last time i checked with the coordinator. What are the new favours?

ashlady

Hi Huan
What kind of inserts are u having? Those transulcent ones or normal paper with normal printing or hotstamping? What's the price like at hi-tech?

I havent seen the new flavours lei...what are they?

huan

there're lots of hp straps variety. got bears hp strap oso. there's oso salt n pepper n it looks quite nice. other than dat, the key chains r still available.

Hi Ashlady,
tink i shd b getting those normal inserts. hotstamping r much more ex! i dunno wat is the rate but my colleague who had her wedding dinner last nov told me dat is the lowest of all she searched for so to save time n effort, i just go to the same company :p

man_tou_bear

Ya heard abt the new favours but i still want the bears.. hoping M Hotel can do something abt it lor.. keeping my fingers crossed.

I did hotstamping.. i got a quote for !50++ for 200 inserts... heehee.. so i printed 200 pieces lor...

anastasia

I still want the bears too!! (of course not disfigured bears). Apparently last time, there were brides who feedback that the guests were crazy about bears; in those banquets where two types of favours were given (alternating for each), those who didn't get the bears asked others sitting next to them if they are willing to give away theirs. Hahaha. If really no choice, i think i may get the shakers then.

ashlady

Hi Bear, where did u print your cards?

Hi Huan, thanks for the info!

Does M hotel give choc? Hee...My fiance thinks choc is a practical flavour coz ppl can eat. keke. :p

everafter

mm....hp straps?? how does it look like? any pics? i think looks weird leh...will M Hotel exchange for other things if we dun wan their wedding favours?

huan

hi everafter,
i saw in the printing threads dat is abt 80 exclusive of gst for 100 inserts. rite now, i've 32 tables.

hi jen, i dun have the contacts with me now. mayb u can email me [email protected]. shall send to u on monday.

hi ashlady,
my colleague told me to get cakes if they have coz she feels it's more practical since most wedding favours ppl wil just put aside after taking it home.

ashlady

hi Huan,
Oh..but cakes are quite old-fashioned lei..hee. Thought chocs are the in-thing now as compared to cakes. keke :p

Ur card is the cream or red one? what color of inserts & the wordings will u be using?
Is it ok if i also email u for the contact as well? thanks