Kebaya tailor shop to recommend?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi everyone, chanced upon this thread. I'm going to malacca to custom make my beaded shoes. Was wondering if anyone's been there before and if you know the beads they use are the small-cut ones? i.e. the small shiny type.

Does anyone have any recommendation as to where to go in malacca and how much?</font>

keypers

hi bride:

I am not sure about malacca because not sure if it is worth the time and the $$$. However, I know of a place in Singapore which does that
the price is about 400 bucks onwards??
not sure leh ...........
How about the other gals?
Sorry I cant help much

rachely

hmm,,, last time i went to Ruma Bebe, saw they have some shoes collection there, quite trnditional. Maybe you want to go there 1st &amp; see see, maybe will bump into something you like...

I think, maybe more economical to do it in sg rather all the way up to Malacca... But am sure you will find even nicer ones there. :)

hislove

Hi Secret,
yah.. I'm Jessica, Jess for short..
Oh no.. growing old liao... haha..
Just kidding..

Hi bride,
If u really want to go Malacca..
try Jonker Street.
U can find alot of perankan stuff there..
My future MIL bought her beaded shoes at one of the shops there.. can't remember the name
Not sure how much tho'.

But it's worth to buy these stuff if u intend to go Malacca in the 1st place.
Don't need to purposely go there coz s'pore got a few shops that sells reasonably priced beaded shoes.

keypers

yo jess! finally all are back!!! :p :p :p
where have you gone too

Where is mr &amp; mrs wedding
haven't heard for quite some time:p

rachely

hey hey, i always log on but nowadays donno what to say..heheee, how are you gals? Audio house havin 50% off leh...so CHEAP. wa rao...i bought most of my stuff already now regretted after seeing the brochure

rachely

Hi gals, how are you doing?? I went to OG today at Chinatown, saw that they got sell kebaya there as well!!! wa...theirs are so much cheaper le...even the krosang is cheap. 29.90 can get a reasonable design. (but of course not as elaborate as Paris Bijoux)

Also, apologies for the audio house sales, apparently it's more like a hoax...they don really got 50% discount on all items.

keypers

hey hey hey

I am still here not forgetting our dateo n 4th june!
i am busy with school and also training of the second "bitch" arugh!!! she is a killer now i am afraid my big one learns it!
shit!
she doesnt know where to pee or poo man!
1 week already!
faint!

nevermyne

hello janet welcome to the thread..

basically this thread is all about the kebaya &amp; if you scroll thru the archives, you'll read about what we've said about several kebaya stores around Singapore..

nevermyne

mr &amp; mrs but I think the material not as good rite ? and not MTM yeah ? hehe

sian.. i still haven't bot my kerosang hehe damn lazy to go out these days

rachely

well, yah, it's a bit rough compare to the few shops at Katong. but equally beautiful. Maybe all kebaya to me looks beautiful haahaa

hislove

yo yo yo..
kebaya at OG, chinatown.
I saw before, not too bad lah..
Maybe me and mr &amp; mrs the same kind, think all kebaya looks beautiful.. hehe..

btw.. ladies, I had my PS yesterday.. had so much fun!
feeling more like a bride to be liao.. haha..

Hi Janet,
welcome..
yah, do look thru our archives.
There are a few places in Katong and Arab street.
Feel free to ask us questions if in doubt yah?
all the best!

keypers

yo janet,
Welcome! there is some places
Some got it done at katong
some got it done at arab
you need to do some research

Jess: cool bananas!!!!! ur ps!!! we can do some sharing soon

Gals: OG got kebaya meh? they got the holes one or not?

rachely

you mean the keto lobang? I think don have leh, but their design quite colorful too, yah, you should go down &amp; see see

keypers

mr &amp; mrs: ya that keto lobang!
commerical ones hard to get those because it follows ur bust line
so it will varies
but it is 1 of the features of kebaya
keke
i think

hislove

Hi Secret,
shared wif u some stuff abt my PS over MSN wif u liao.. hehe..
I had so much fun!
Btw.. I wore my kebaya for PS.
My MUA loves it, and designed a hairstyle to match it.
I got a soft updo with a huge flower. hehe..
Very old-fashioned romantic look.. hehe..
Then my FH compliment me wif his red loud hawaian shirt.. haha..

rachely

Oh Jess, am sure you enjoy a great deal on your PS day. Heehee, reminds me of my PS day....I guess the most loved outfit during my photo shoot is my kebaya. I hope I can get my soft copy image by this Sunday...

keypers

yo gals mr &amp; mrs and jess:
Now I cant wait f
or my ps!
haha the first ps i had in 2005 was a torturing one!
Cant pose gave me horrible poses ended up taking candid hahaha

I would like to see that huge flower feel man :p

hislove

Hi mr &amp; mrs,
must show us ur photos when u get them k?
yeah yeah!!!

Hi secret,
have fun for ur new ps.
with ur concept &amp; sense of style, ur shoot gonna be really unique

rachely

Just manage to get my PS shots of my kebaya.!!!! So excited. sorry to keep you gals waiting. Enjoy &amp; do comments

485902.jpg

keypers

Mr &amp; Mrs: YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the outfit and ur man's outfit fit man!!!!

How much you paid again?!?!?!?!

rachely

hey hey, secret you online too ah...heeheee my guy wore a batik, all the way DHL from Indo....:)

Oh by the way, I found a shop at Tanglin Mall sell batik shirts for guys. They are gorgeous!!

I think my kebaya cost ard 350....can't remember exactly already. What you think?

keypers

mr &amp; mrs: I like the feel of both of u!!!!!!
the colour matches
but it gave me abit matured feel abit more for 30 +++ years old
but it has elegance air. nice!
The kerosang is pretty too! I need to get 1 soon, ps is around the corner but nothing much done!!!!

kebaya is $350 with sarong or without? if with sarong still okie, without, abit exp.

rachely

okie lah, he is 30+ hahaaa, blame it on him.

yes, 305 is with sarong oh &amp; thanks for your compliments Secret. Can get your krosang soon as sales is round the corner. heehee

keypers

mr &amp; mrs: yeah!!! it match him! I looked at him it is nice, both felt as if there is some kind of status
pretty!

yeah waiting for my kebaya fitting
I am not sure might will look nice or not
hahahaha

hislove

Hi mr &amp; mrs,
love ur red kebaya.
so festive. hehe..

btw, gals, if want to see the PS style of my kebaya, can pm me k?
My Fh took a picture for me
I'll send u a pict.. but don't laugh hor? hehe..

lyons

<font color="119911">hi jess, I'd love to see your kebaya!

are you the same jess who went to Italy recently?

hislove

Hi Secret,
will send that picture to ur msn email k?

Hi bride,
nope.. i didn't go to Italy. hehe..
Wat's ur email?
I forward u my kebaya pict.

lovely_33

I have a set of kebaya that I wish to sell off. Only used twice. Once for photo taking and the other as evening gown for my actual day.

Kebaya is pink in colour with mandarin ducks embrodiary. Tailor from a tailor from Katong shopping centre. I am sure peranakans will know that for festive they like to wear kebayas embrodiaries with animals instead of flowers. It matched with a green silk sarong from Bebee in Katong.

Interested parties can pm me for the pic.

esther_c

hey mr&amp;mrs,nice kebaya !
where did u do it?

me new to this thread....stumble upon it.....interested to do for tea ceremony....

advice?

man_tou_bear

Heya! sorry i MIA for a bit... busy with stuff...

I like ur kerbaya Mr &amp; Mrs!! i think the colour suits the occasion! i also like ur kerosang too! how much did u pay for it? i need to get one myself cos during my wedding, i borrowed my granny's.

Jess i wanna see too!! mail me at [email protected]

How's everybody's preps? I know Secrets is super duper stressed... rem guys, weddings are meant to be happy! i cannot emphasize that enough. 90% of ur frens won't rem the wedding favours, the food or ur gowns 3 mths aft ur wedding, so don't sweat the small stuff.. be happy ya?

I try to pop in as and when possible...

keypers

yo bear!
ya i am super busy
with school work that i cant take it hahaha :p
last week always busy like crazy
and I am perfectionist worst hahah
thanks for ur advice

rachely

Thanks Mei &amp; Bear!! I paid 80+ for my krosang . You gals make me so happy, heehee,

Anyway, Mei, I got mine from Bebe Ruma at Katong pricy as inform by the gals here. But their kebaya are good stuff. You can also try :

1. Arab Street
2. Katong Shopping Centre Basement
3. Tanglin shopping centre (the one beside ManU building)
4. OG at chinatown (cheap &amp; if not particular in quality, can buy their krosang)
5. Ruma Bebe &amp; neighbor*Kim Choo at Katong (opposite VHive)(Beside Ruma Bebe got another Nyonya shop*Kim Choo selling rice dumpling at ground floor &amp; kebaya upstairs.sorry, might be wrong name, pls correct if wrong)

I get to know these few areas after stumble into this forum &amp; met the gals here. Wide variety of choices. :)

rachely

Secret, you working at the same time as well??? Nowadays, I kept making mistake on work...can't concentrate...heeheee

lovely_33

Hi Mr and Mrs,

That's what my grandmother-in-law says. My hubby side is a peranakan. That's why I wear a Kebaya as my evening dress.

Actually, it is also mixed with flowers lar. But they will have embrodiaries like goldfish, flamingo and etc.

Your kebaya very nice also. Agree that Bebe stuff are quite ex but if you get to see her in person, she can give you alot of suggestion. She was the one that matches the silk sarong to me. Sharing with you mine (which I intend to sell)

486582.jpg

rachely

Hi Crystal,

Cool! Yours is pretty!!! Very vibrant &amp; cheerful color! Did she match that for ya? Nice!

You get both top &amp; bottom from Bebe? How much you paid for yours? I think you should keep leh as it brings back nice memories &amp; it's beautiful. Love the top with many colors that suits a afternoon affairs..

lovely_33

Hi Mr and Mrs,

Yeap. Bebe matched the bottom for me. The top was from a tailor from Katong Shopping centre. Mus say that he is good in top especially the design. He only MTM. But do not have much variety on the bottom. That's why went to Bebe for help. She very nice. The bottom was tailored into a skirt for easy wearing.

How about yours ?

Well, me put on weight after wedding lor and moving house soon. That's why intend to sell.

I paid close to $850 for the whole set. The bottom is the ex part.

Ya agree that the colours suit for afternoon event too. I used it at night, the lighting makes the colour more vibrant.