u got mail too!
long time no see..
u take care yah?

Hi Mei,
my kebaya from KIm Choo.
Mr & mrs said the places correctly..
Gd job mr & mrs!

Do check the shops out & let us noe yah?

Crystal,
i love the pink kebaya top!
Too bad, I bought mine liao..

rachely

why dont you post it here Jess?? Yours sound very pretty too. :) Phew, I guess my memory has improved a bit ...haahaaa

hislove

Hi mr & mrs, crystal,
I got post my kebaya pict here before.
In the archive i think
But this new one is taken at my PS by my FH.
Got the whole look. hehe..
pai seh to post here..

rachely

hmm, yah you did leh :p but post again lah since it's taken by professional, will be nicer.

Can crop away your hubby part & head ah :)

keypers

hey gals
dun forget our date!
it is coming pretty soon!
yeappy!

what have you gals been up too
I am waiting for my kebaya
and also went for my gown second fitting
kakaka

hislove

I'll post when I get the PS photos k?
It's not as well-taken now coz they're taken by my fiancee, not a professional.
Wait a while more k?
Few weeks more..
Promise!!
Hopefully, I can take the rejected photos at the selection. hehe..

keypers

hey gals!
can you help me take a look at earring
I am having a hard time to choose
keke
can email me I give you link keke

aisuhime

I'm new to this thread...
Jess invite me in here from other thread...
Please excuse my ignorance for our culture...

I'm a 1/2 (I always tot I'm a 1/4, turns out i'm wrong... LOL) peranakan... But traditions kinda lost since my granddad died... so still figuring my legacy (my FH calls it)...

Oh, wanna ask something. Is it strange if I'm wearing a modern design kebaya (my sarong is tradtional type, but my top french lace no embriodery), and my FH wears only his white shirt and black pants in PS?

Coz initially I tot wanting to wear kebaya when I come back home for tea ceremony... Since Hubby eurasian, tot he stick to the usual suit. Now our photographer says PH can use always...

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls! I'm back from Malacca and I finally made the sarong kebaya!! Yay! So happy... went to this place called Nirvana Collections and Alice is a really really nice lady. She helped me pick out this gorgeous orange-pink top. Don't have any photos yet but I'll post once I see it end June ok?
Bottom will be silk pink/white. Can't wait!

All in all, I paid RM600 = S$272 for both the top and bottom and the workmanship looks good so I think it's really worth it. Then I made my way to another shop to make my peranakan potong beaded shoes (the small beaded type) and that cost me RM550 which I thought was alright.

If anyone wants a rough pricing and where to go to make the kebayas and shoes, let me know. I reccee quite a few streets in malacca

Hey aisuhime, I also thought I was 1/4 but in the end, i'm 1/2. I also half-past-six nonya. But I will be wearing my kebaya for the tea ceremony in my parent's house. Just like you intend to. And of course, it would be waste not to use for PS

lyons

<font color="119911">oh ya, does anyone know where I can find nice coloured varieties of silk bottoms for the kebaya? The kebaya maker told me if can find the colour I want in singapore, it's better but if not then she will make one for me.</font>

hislove

Hi Bride,
wah.. went m'cca?
fun hor?
gd for u!
As for silk bottoms, I think one of the glas her got one.. either Secret or Bear.
U pm them?

Hi aisuhme,
welcome!
I wore my kebaya for my PS oso..
I think the modern feel is nice oso..
Don't have to worry..
Must reflect ur taste oso

keypers

hi bride:

I thought that malacca price will be cheaper than singapore price but they are comparable leh???

Show us your kebaya man!!! I am so curious!! :p

As for silk bottoms I know toko Aljunid and bebe rumah also has it. :p

lovely_33

Hi Bride,

I got mine at Rumah BeBe. She got alot of variety. You can bring your kebaya there and she can match for you. I did the same thing. Got both my bottom and top from different place.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi crystal and secret, thanks! I'll go see if rumah bebe has.

hey secret, sorry but it won't be ready until end june. how much will it cost for silk bottoms? They're charging RM200 for one. If singapore cheaper, I'll just get my top from malacca and the bottom I will match in singapore. Scared cannot find matching bottoms leh...</font>

keypers

bride:

I find that bebe rumah is very expensive! They quoted me 1k for a kebaya! which i refuse to make it there.

You may want to try toko aljunid at arab street no 95 i think.

I didn't ask how much silk bottoms are because I prefer the tradition cotton ones hehe :p

Good luck check it out there!

keypers

hey Mr &amp; Mrs, Jess and Nevermyme:

Don't forget our date tomorrow!!!
Mr &amp; Mrs We still dun have your contact leh! :p
Tomorrow at 7pm right?? at esplanade

cool bananas!

lyons

<font color="119911">hi secret, I went to rumah bebe yesterday and their kebayas are quite alrightly priced I thought. Not as cheap as Malacca but might save the hassle for those who don't want to drive all the way up. They showed me nice kebayas for S$400 (I paid S$200 for mine in malacca). They have more expensive ones of course

The silk bottoms I was looking for are also nice! Some have gold glitters somemore! For S$80 only... I thought that's cheap... but silk not the top quality type la. The helpers are quite friendly and helpful. I told them my budget and they brought out those within my budget. Nice people. I'm definitely going there to get my bottoms and kerosang.

In the end, my hubby bought a baju lek chuan
Haha he's not a peranakan but thought it might be nice to get one to match me for the photoshoot. Cheap too! $150 for a reversible top! Two looks for the price of one

keypers

Yo bride:

As long as you are happy with them :p
I got my prenankan jewellery from them spent about 1.5k and yet I got horrible attitude.
One of my bracelet broke not even a month buying it and without even wearing it.
I am not quite happy with them thou :p

My kebaya is done at toko aljunid and my hubby luk chuan is done there too

Best of luck!

aisuhime

Morning ladies

Thanks for the support jess... but after much tot I think I should go to change it more traditional... somehow i felt uneasy and not comfy after leaving my bridal shop even though I have full confidence in my designer... hahaha and i'm very "touched" by mr &amp; mrs' red kebaya... its so nice!!

My FH keep saying... its your legacy... even if traditions dies out in the family, u should do it proper and be proud of your legacy... so later i go back to my bridal shop to change it... but as for his suit... he wanna do a vintage style suit that would fit that peranakan high profile era...

wow, bride $150 for the baju lek chuan is really cheap!! but your FH very good sport
myFH die die also dun wanna wear a batik material... he claims he look like ah pek in it...

aisuhime

btw, please educate me... coz i doubt i'm even a half-past-six!!

a baju lok chuan is the batik top or the cina top?

man_tou_bear

Wear ur kerbaya as many times as u can.. it's a very unique outfit! i wore mine to my PS, tea ceremony and to send my guests off... a lot of ppl wanted to tak photos with me in the kerbaya as u seldom see young ppl deck out in the whole works!

Oh yes, those of u that won't be making ur sarong into a skirt, do rem to get the belt..
it adds a more authenic touch to it..

aisuhime

Bear, then u must have got the superstar of the night treatment!! well, afterall u should be... it's your night!! i hope when its my turn i would be a superstar of my night... LOL

hislove

Hey ladies,
for the meeting tonight, 7pm at the Eng Tea place at esplanade..
It's CANCELLED!
Different ones of us got programs
Tis msg sent on behalf of secret.. hehe..
We'll decide again another day to meet up to chat k?

lyons

<font color="119911">Hi secret, oh dear... really ah? Like that then their sales service really bad. Were you served by the boss herself? Or the other older lady and guy? The lady boss a bit tao but the other 2 were really friendly.

Hi aisuhime, my FH's lok chuan is not batik. It's one of the silk variations. That's why I feel it's really worth it. It's "reversible" too! For 2 looks. One side is bright red with black underside to the cuffs and the other is black with red underside to the cuffs. I see got chance take photo and post here. So not necessarily must be batik (i agree very old man
), can be thai silk or cotton also.</font>

keypers

bride:
yeah, it is the 2 older folks. My dad had to buy something just to pay lip service hehe :p

Aisuhime:, oh lok chuan is made from any material no need silk. My hubby made the lok chuan suit with pants and top for $150 and he get it embriodery for $50 dollars at Toko Aljunid to match my outfit :p

aisuhime

bear your kebaya so pretty... hot fuschia!! sexy...

Thanks bride &amp; secret for explaining... heehee but still dun get it... i tot the usual batik top that goes with usual black pants is call lok chuan... geez my nyonya understanding so lousy... *shame shame*

actually bear, most of you ladies are lucky to be superstar for the wedding night. I've been to weddings (twice!) where the groom was the superstar then the poor bride being overshadow... In one of the case, becoz the groom very good looking, though the bride is very pretty too (maybe makeup unrealistic?), but she seems to be overpowered by the groom's shine. And they spent a fortune on her gowns. Vera Wang leh!! In the end, most people seems to notice the groom more than her... Poor thing...

I'm very worried I might end up like that. Coz FH better looking than me.. LOL

whiteveil

hi all, does francis have any OTR kebayas for sale? my bro's wedding in dec and i hope to wear a kebaya but not willing to spend as much as Bear as it is not my wedding.

whiteveil

Btw, anyone has the address and contact no for Kim Choo's? Trying to explore other shops but must have good workmanship like francis's....

lyons

<font color="119911">hi bear, hopefully by the end of June cos photoshoot is in early Jul... will post it here when I get it
Hope it will turn out nice.

Hey aisuhime, that's wierd... ALL the weddings I've been to and heard from, the bride always get all the attention one. The groom is usually overshadowed. Don't worry, I think most of the time the bride's clothings are more elaborate than the groom</font>

whiteveil

Hi Jess

thanks for your replies. Do you know their kebaya's price range? how abt their quality? how much are yours btw?

man_tou_bear

Aisuhime, thks... ya like wat bride said, 99% of the time, the bride is the center of attraction. i think u have to be urself.. some brides go OTT with the gown, make up and flowers that they cannot carry the whole look off hence they look awkward and all. I guess being radiant and not tired is one key pointer to look out for. A lot of brides starve themselves only to look haggard and tired. Being confident and happy outshine the most expensive gowns.

Bride: looking forward to see ur kerbaya...

Whiteveil, Francis OTR are still very ex.. abt $700.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi bear, I also looking forward to see the kebaya
Gan cheong already. 1 mth to photoshoot and i haven't even see all my gowns!</font>

aisuhime

oh yah wanna ask you ladies, beside kim choo's and arab st, where else got sell sarong nice materials to make the sarong part?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi aisuhime, I like rumah bebe's materials. Pricing not too bad I feel, it's next to kim choo.</font>

man_tou_bear

Yups Whiteveil, i supposed u can consider Francis as the branded kerbaya maker.. my mum's kerbaya, made by him, was 1.6K. i m sure other makers are equally as gd.. just that that time i have no info abt kerbaya makers so i just chose francis.

Yups bride, rem to let me see it!

hislove

Whiteveil,
sorry for late reply.
I was away on work trip.
Kim Choo's range varies..
I bought mine for a total of $300 plus