Kebaya tailor shop to recommend?

whiteveil

can i summarize the kebaya shops here?

1) Francis (forgot shop's name)
2) Kim Choo
3) Rumah Bebe
4) Toko Aljunid

please add on to the list if i miss out any....thanks.

cutienottikitty

I'm also kind of peranakan..only 1/8.. and my FH is 1/4 ... so i also decided on a kebaya..mine is MTM and i get to choose the material... this lady very friendly... and workmanship is very good... and not very ex..mine i think cost around S$330...a red top with red sarong... can go to my multiply to have a look.. my multiply ID is cutiehellokitty

And if u wnt to MTM ur kebaya, u can go to blk 1 joo chiat road #03-1025 joo chiat complex..it's a shop call Neng Amy Traders... look for Yeni..

Oh ..her shop also sell ready made kebaya...I will say i'm very pleased with her service till now... going for my 2nd fitting this sunday..cos lost some weight..so got to alter.. :p

whiteveil

nope....im not in a hurry. will look for one prob sep only
cos bro's wedding in dec only. anyway i will be buying, not mtm. so sep is still v early for me. how abt u?

hislove

Hi whiteveil,
oh i see..
well.. just shop around then.. hehe..
i got mine some months back liao..
wore it for my PS in May.
very happy with it..

hislove

Hi whiteveil,
when i get the softcopies of my PS photos, I'll share k?
i tink will only be in Aug.. sob.. hehe..

lovebytemi

Hi Sweeties,
Just wondering how long does it take to make a kebaya. I really want one for my wedding as my fiance is peranakan and I thought it would be nice for me to have kebaya as an evening wear or tea dress. His mom will be happy and I'll score brownie points! heeh

lyons

<font color="119911">hi kymmie, I did mine in malacca. Went up on 1st June and will be collecting it on 30th June so mine takes about 1 month. I'm not sure if you do in singapore they will take how long.

If you want to buy off-the-rack, then it's immediate. Alteration should take less than 1 week. If you want made-to-measure, rumah bebe told me it'll take at least 3 weeks cos they need to sew the intricate designs. Depending on your design, of course. The more complicated, the longer it'll take.

I suggest you go down to the shops to ask. Think if you read the previous posts, there are quite a few places you can go to get your kebaya.</font>

cutienottikitty

Hi Jess

Ya, i got mine at a real bargain cos i was prepared to pay 1k for it..so was quite surprise when she told me the price... real peranakan cloth ..i will say very good quality too...

as for the time to make one..i will say abt a mth... mine was not in a hurry..so it took abt 2 mths...and if u dun need MTM, the shop that i recommend actually sell some OTR...

lyons

<font color="119911">collecting my kebaya tomorrow! Then sunday I'll go rumah bebe and get the silk skirt THEN i'll post here for you all to see

lyons

<font color="119911">As promised, here's my kebaya everyone!
Comments please! The shoes and kerosang are my fav! Shoes and kebaya were made in malacca, silk bottom and kerosang bought from rumah bebe</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi jess, thanks for the nice comments
I love the shoes! I think it's like orangey-pink plus salmon-pink type of colour. Not too sure also. I wanted to avoid the green bottom but the lady at rumah bebe says that's the best colour combi liao. Dunno if she's just trying to sell me the silk bottom

BTW, there's one thing I don't like about rumah bebe is that the boss, bebe seet saw us and she didn't even smile or say hi and she just went upstairs. I thought it's quite rude, considering that we bought a total of $800 worth or stuff including my mum's whole set of kebaya! Maybe we're too small time customer for her

it's such a shame cos the kebayas are gorgeous! And the other ladies are nice but the boss very dao</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">oh ya, do you think the top is a bit too long for me? Should I shorten it?</font>

hislove

hi bride,
now u say it..
yah.. the top look abit long.
could it be coz the sarong skirt abit short?
hmm..
i'm not sure oso.. hehe..
why don't u bring to rumah bebe to ask for professional advice?
i like ur silk sarong skirt.. thot it match well
maybe the boss jus bad day.. haha..

lyons

<font color="119911">i hope it's because the sarong skirt is short :p If not how to alter the length of the top? You like the silk skirt? I don't quite like green but the assistant insisted it matches the top. Maybe I prefer matching matching one

aisuhime

MY!! Bride!! Your kebaya is so lovely!! I love your top... so vibrant!! Yah looks like lime green goes well with it... Sorry your kerosang abit small to see the details, but i'm sure it must be very nice since you love it...

I think your sarong abit short actually... yoru top looks ok. Or is it the de-perception of the angle of the photo was taken?

I went material shopping with my designer 2 weeks ago at arab street. I'm having one made from scratch, so I cant wait

lyons

<font color="119911">hi aisuhime, Thanks!
I like it too. Initially I didn't really like it but now the more I look at it, the more I like it
I see can take a picture of the kerosang and show you all. Rumah Bebe's kerosang is nice! About $100 only with swaroski somemore

Ya hor... my FH took from an angle actually cos there was no space to backup. So he took from top down. Maybe that's why hor. I hope you're right

you're finally getting your kebaya done
Do share the photo of it with us when it's done

hislove

i got my PS softcopies back already.
Can share..
so if want to see, gve me ur email add.
I'll send u the link.
cheers..

lyons

<font color="119911">hi Jess, got your email! Your Pics are so nice! The song very romantic also
And you're sooooo slim! Envious...</font>

hislove

thanks bride,
i replied u at the Oct thread.. hehe..
like i said earlier.. hehe..
the graphic artist photoshopped my fats away... haha..
ur pictures will turn out beautiful too..
must share oso k?

hislove

hi nevermyne,
the shoes were given by my future MIL.
she thot it'll look great wif my kebaya.
she was right! hehe.. she bought them in M'cca
thanks for ur compliments!
btw.. wat abt u? gone for ur PS already?

aliko

Hi Ladies....

I will be marrying into a Peranekan family from Malacca and I will be wearing Kebaya for my tea ceremony....I had mine done at arab street and waiting for 1st fitting....

Appreciate if you can share your lovely PS with me.....my email @ [email protected]

faithss

I finally found this thread talking about kebaya. Initially I thought I was an alien planning to wear kebaya for tea ceremony, but seems like there are many of you with peranakan blood-line like me.

Those kebaya on thread are really beautiful and thanks for the recommendations and sources to get those beautiful kebaya...

Now the question is, what do our FH wear to match our lovely kebaya?? Where do you make his attire? and how much does it cost you?

hislove

hi aini,
u got mail

hi linda,
my FH just wore a casual shirt.. hehe.. more like those hawaian styled batik like shirt..
u can get ur FH to wera those traditional top.. forgot the name tho..
can find that top at where u make ur kebaya oso..
we bought his shirt from Kim Choo together wf my kebaya

lyons

<font color="119911">hi jess, think that top is called baju lok-chuan or something. My FH wore a red, reversible to black one.</font>

hislove

hi secret! *wave*
been really bz.. my wedding is like 38 days to come.. hehe..
then can't go on msn at work.. boring.. hehe..
wat abt u?

hi bride,
ya.. correct lok-chuan.. remember ur photos liao..
still remember ur very glam black "fur-like" shawl u wore at beach shot rite? hua hin..

hislove

hi nevermyne,
how're u?
i'm 19 days away from my wedding..
getting excited.. but super stress also.. haha..
coz juggling work and last min wedding prep..