there is 1 kebaya tailor shop at arab street
toko aljunid
arab street number 95
good reviews and i am doing mine there

hope these helps

There are 2 at Katong, one is opposite the katong mall, that is very expensive

nevermyne

I had mine done at TOKO aljunied at Arab St too. Rather reasonable i guess. About $290. If u wanna custom make - i.e. from scratch, best give her about 6 mths or else u'll have to choose off the rack embroidery.

rachely

Thank you for your help, infact i have found the a couple of shop in Katong areas & order mine already. But, wa, it's very ex oh..... seems like Arab street more value for $$...a bit too late for me..haiz.

I got mine from BeBe Ruma along Katong (shop house) cost me about 350...My top is red (one tone with some embriodery) and bottom quite nice, blink blink type. It under tourism board or something & she said their price reasonable...But still, very ex. Heart ache.

Thanks for all your help.:)

keypers

hi nevermyne,
I dun think need 6 months
because mine is about 3 months also everything from scratch :p

Hi mr & Mrs: I bought my prenankan jewelleries from them Bebe Ruma. It costed my mom $1.5k and in less than 1 month, the bracelet broke! The kebaya they wanted to quote me was $1k I freaked out ... ... Their service is the very typical prenankan and you need to pay for lip service. I think they over charge quite a bit after doing research

The Toko aljunied charged me for $230 for kebaya only :p

rachely

so sad......urggghh...i wish you gals has see my post earlier...so sad....They trying to promote a three tier pin to me make of swaroski crystal...cost 100 bucks, but i didn't take coz my whole set of kebaya already frighten me out. :-(

Does this Toko shop sell accessories for kebaya as well? Can you roughly describe your kebaya to me? i a bit regret still as mine is actually a lucheon & the red color top with black bottom seems a bit too much for lunch....

nevermyne

wow mr & mrs u got a good deal.. i'm very upset now actually coz my sisters in law always go to her to make.. must tell them to boycott her liao ! :p

anyway.. 6 mths was estimate la.. she told me she needed that length of time.. or maybe because when i went to her, it was b4 CNY.. and she had lots of orders ?? oh well.. what's done is done yeah ? hehe

nevermyne

mr & mrs.. ur kebaya drama abit nevermind ! it's good !! u're the bride !! MUST be more dramatic.

I wanted to get a black one with red flowers.. but my FMIL won't agree.. so better not.. didn't get red either coz my evening gown is red already.. so settled for dark fushia.

if u want to see a pix of mine, email me [email protected]

rachely

oh nevermyne, you are so sweet....i just kept worry tot, plus already make full payment, so no turning back. What makes you think it's a good deal?

I was a bit pai-sei when they ask me abt my budget at first, & i pretend i donno a single thiggy(in fact, i really don noe how much it cost)!

hislove

If only I seen this post earlier..
I bought my kebaya for abt $250 (top & bottom plus a simple pin & a camisole)
It's from Kim Choo oppo Katong Mall. The embroidery is beautiful & the pieces are limited or only 1 colour 1 piece.
My kebaya skirt fits beautifully.
Initially, I wanted to tailor made, but the kebaya fits so nicely, so I jus bought it.
I don't noe if u ladies still want to consider purchasing new kebayas, but KIm Choo is not bad.

If interested to see my kebaya, just let me noe ur email, I'll send u a pict.
It's red skirt & orange top. Very festive. hehe..

hislove

Btw.. Kim Choo got accessories & shoes at reasonable prices. Can consider going there to see if interested.

Btw.. I've been told to travel up to Malacca if u want ur mums, grandmas & mum-in-law to actually tailor make there. Cheaper. Somemore can get the exclusive accesories. Their handiwork oso much better.

keypers

hi there :p

mine kebaya is in the making
mine is red kebaya, chilli red with peony and high embriodiery.
There are 3 types i think - low, medium and high.
I wanted a black kebaya but my parents screamed! I am already having a white and black gown and magneta evening gown, and now another black? they cannot accept :p

As for the sarong, I will wait for the kebaya to be ready first.

Oh neverymne, yours is during CNY period, maybe that explains it.

Mr & Miss: I think you can go down take a look. I am very sad my intan gold my mom bought from me from that katong shop is broken! It is barely a month and when she opened the box to take a peak at it again, she was shocked. Now trying to find somewhere to fix it. That was supposedly to be my wedding gold from my parents

Ladies when are your ADs?
Do you gals have msn? if so can add me at [email protected]

Can't really check much this site during work :p

nevermyne

Hi Jess,

actually I've done some research.. not really much point going up to Malacca, the prices there have gone up too (think they realise sg is a good market).. Last time maybe so, but nowarays, Sg quality is in fact slightly better.

rachely

Mine is chillie red too. Actually i want other color which resemble more for a lucheon attire...light & bright color of kebaya which always appeal to me. But they, as well as my hubby suggested that the red one looks for formal & more for marriage.

Thanks for informing that the accessories sold by that shop is not good...heehee. I will maybe ask my MIA to get for me from Indo, might be cheaper...trying to save as much cost as i can.

My AD is coming 24th June. Don't use a msn..But have to thank to this forum that i learn alot of thing

nevermyne

TOKO has some kerosangs (these are the brooches) but it's all gold-based. so if you gals want silver then not good a choice. BTW.. shops like "Paris Bijoux" carry beautiful Swarovski kerosangs which cost about 80+ to 120+ but they are really beautiful and the designs are rather modern - good investment if you are going to wear kebayas more than just one occasion.

As for shoes, you can go to a shop at Tanjong Katong Mall (??) - the old "Yokoso" - where they tailor make the shoes, OR if u're not very particular about being "Paranakan" there are lovely shoes that can go with the kebayas on sale in departmental stores too ! (that's what I did)

rachely

Is this Tanjong Katong Mall you refering to at Paya Lebar or Katong? I also confuse b/w these 2. Paris Bijoux is a stall in some departmental stall right?

nevermyne

mr & mrs, it's the one at paya lebar.

Yes Paris Bijoux is a stall. They have several outlets islandwide as well. Wider range there.

keypers

i agree with nevermyne, go up to malacca not worth the time.
In singapore is only about 200 -300 plus... ...

Mr & Mrs: I think she is mentioning the tanjong katong mall is the one opposite laya lebya mrt (oops my spelling :p)

Paris Bijoux is a jewellery brand at most department shops.

However, when it comes to keosang, I am thinking whether should I go for the intan gold ones ... ...
whether should i invest or not because i got the jewellieries :p

nevermyne: Can you share with me your design? the kebaya u made

rachely

B/w 'Secret', did you went back to the shop to exchange for a new piece? it's broken even when you use it before your wedding right?

keypers

mr & mrs: where can exchange one?!?!?!??! the service so horrible, so hard to satisfy alot of pushing, if I bring it down, what will they say man
my mom was fumming mad because she said to me not worth for such gold!!!! I was like I want a part of my pernankan items!!! :p now my mom is going to try fix it .... ...
haven even use, not even 1 month with me

rachely

haahaa, secret, i know how you felt...also hard for me actually, need to close & refresh again, but really interesting to talk about it..

i agree they are pushy....i regreted i should have be more firm & insist i think abt it first. But i think you should really try to go back & tell them, afterall they claim they are registered under singapore tourism board! How can they sell their thing in such cheapo quality!? Futhermore you paid 1.5K, not small sum oh.... I will definitely go back if i am in your position. :p I will check my Kebaya later in very detail, just in case.

keypers

nevermyne: I have added you! :p
i think it is very hard to get it exchange
we had to buy tiny things the food items just for their lip service
i am so happy i found toko aljunid :p I refuse to make from them, imagine 1k!

keypers

whiteveil,
I am sorry I do not know where is kim choo
opposite katong mall is bebe ruma

there is another peranakan store but it is something francis?

lovely_33

I wore Sarong Kebaya for my wedding as evening gown as well. Glad that so many of you here doing the same. Its very nice. I wish to sell away my kebaya (though not bear to part)cos dun want to keep so many things as will be relocating with my hubby for his postings. Interested parties can email me [email protected]. Top and skirt able to alter.

rachely

I just went to try on my kebaya today. So happy! Even happier than trying on my gown...I think the lady boss did a fabulous job on altering my kebaya. I love the top & bottom although still a little bit worry it might be too serious for a luncheon.

By the way, Kim Choo is beside Bebe Ruma & infront of the Vhive store mall... It's the shop selling kueh & dumpling

I also bought my krosang today! So happy. Seiyu got a 30% discount on Paris Bijoux & my krosang only cost abt 80bucks after the discount...Happy.

The discount is until 24 April & I heard from the sales lady there will be another round of store wide 20% this coming 27-29. Perhaps any gal want to get your accessories can go there & take a look.

Thanks to Nevermyne for sharing that can get the krosang over at Paris Bijoux. :) Now i have one item less to worry abt.

keypers

mr & mrs: Cool!!! got picture care to show how it look like? I am so curious :p

I found another pernankan shop at the roxy square 2 today! Quite disappointing because in that shop I found more intan gold!!!!!!!!! sigh ..............

I am thinking whether to get intan kerosang or not what do you think?

mr & mrs does the kerosang at paris bijoux look like peranakan style ones or just costumn jewellery?

rachely

I will try to take a pic of the complete set of my kebaya by next week as i will be getting back the top by coming Sat.

I think the krosang i bought does look like a nonya accessories more than a malay one. I will also try to take a pic of it....(camera spoiled one yr ago...haven repair it...haahaa) it's 22k gold plated & with the swaroski crystal. The shape a bit like half a butterfly profile, very elaborated & nice.

Roxy sq also got 1? Alrite. You can really find stuff Secret. Down the street, Katong Shopping Centre also got 2. both at basement & 1 nearer to escalator close on Sunday.

B/w, Secret, when you need your kebaya? Bebe ruma can get it done in less than 2 weeks.

keypers

mr & mrs: Wow, bele ruma can get it done less than 2 weeks? the last time they told me they need 3 months!!!!! I wanted the phoneix and dragon one at that point of time.

I have already done mine over at toku aljunid in which I have changed the design to Peonies flower instead :p
I am trying to get it done before my PS date which is on June

Cool man! I am going to take a look at katong shopping center! :p haven't gone there for quite some time :p

How is your wedding preparation coming along?

rachely

Oh i forget to emphasise that mine it's alteration of top & bottom is mtm. I bought the sarong abt 60bucks & they charged 65 for the tailor. Ok lah, as long as they do a good job, i guess i got nothing much to complain. heehee

But i am sure yours is more elaborate since they need to do from scratch right?

Hey! mine also in June! what a coincident! 24th of June for me, how about you? We are like taking the Sg/Jb train, slowly slowly trying to accomplish more thinggy. our new house is also on going at the same time. very exciting & tiring

How about yourself? b/w how you settle your bridesmaid or sis dress? wearing the same or just same color?

hislove

Hi whiteveil,
Kim Choo is at 60 Joo Chiat Place. Oppo Katong Mall.
I think some of the gals said correctly.. It's the one that sells kueh & dumplings.
I was quite surprised to find that place.. I was lured by the dumpling smell then was really grateful that I found my kebaya there.. hehe..

Hi Nevermyne & secret,
Malacca is only ok if u intend to enjoy a short getaway wif ur mother, mother-law, grandma etc.. hehe.. Shop & eat!
I oso think it's a bit troublesome jus to go up purposely for the kebaya. Wat if can't find.. hehe.. But to do so as part of holidays is fine.

R all u gals in this forum Peranakan?

keypers

mr & mrs: the one they quoted me was 1k, which is start from the scratch, but with toko aljunid it is also from the scratch but I don't think it is elaborated
simple lar.

Your wedding is on 24 june or is it the photoshoot? mine is the photoshoot only :p wedding on nov.

For me, I romed on 2005 dec, got our flat on 2006, and now trying to get this AD done, so it is spaced out alittle :p

I am still thinking about my sisters dressing man, what colour to choose? I might let them have retro as a theme!

Mr & Mrs: You don't have msn huh? so hard to chat through here :p

Jess: I am a peranakan but my hubby is not, how ever I still making my hubby wear luo chuan, an outfit for the males in peranakan setting :p
embroidered with the same flowers as me kakaka :p

hislove

Hi Secret,
Ur hubby willing to wear the luo chuan? hehe..
My FH refused!!!!
So I believed ur whole family gonna be decked out in perankan finery on ur wedding day hor?
Will be absolutely unique!
I'm not really pure perankan. My grandma is, but she married my grandpa who's taiwan chinese. Then my dad married a local chinese.. so I'm quite chinese altho' people said I don't look like one.. haha.. confusing!
So to surprise my grandma, I will wear my kebaya during the tea ceremony. I knew she will be in her kebaya oso.

Hi Bear,
ur kerbaya is gorgeous.. mine now pale in comparison to urs. haha..
It's expensive but hey.. it's beautiful & u can wear beyond ur wedding.. so who cares.. hehe..

keypers

yo jess:

Yeah, my hubby is willing to wear luo chuan
not sure whether my whole family is willing or not because dad refuse to wear pernakan style, he wants to wear batik.

I LOOK like MALAY! my mom is super fair, dad is dark, but mom isnt peranakan. but I want this culture going .. ...
Didn't want to wear CS or kwa for tea ceremony so planning that tea ceremony i will wear kebaya and the closure of the dinner to finish off with the whole kebaya as a family.

Hi bear,
wow 1.2k, I wouldn't want to spend on it, because it is not even 1 day of wearing :p but they are pretty
the sarong is made of silk :p

Jess your kebaya is it ready? got pic to share?

got msn can add me also :p

man_tou_bear

Hi gals.. thanks for ur compliments..

Jess, no lah dun think that way leh... i guess as long as u look the best on ur AD can liao.. no pt comparing cos it nv ends... i do wear my kerbaya as a jacket when i go for dinner..
so it is not a one off suit.

Secret, yups the sarong is silk.
i guess i m willing to spend cos i wanna start a collection of kerbayas too. Plus my embroidery is one of the only 2 pieces in S'pore... anyway to each her own lah.. no pt breaking the bank to get it when there are other things to pay right?

Anyway gals, there are certain things to look out for in a kerbaya. The embroidery or sulam when viewed inside out, should be exactly the same as what u view from the correct way, ie both sides of the sulam shd be identical. another thing to make the kerbaya more authentic is the presence of 2 rows of 'holes' called ketok lobang that run down the middle btw your shoulder to ur neck down to the sulam. This means that when u get fatter, there is no way to alter the kerbaya as the ketok lobang shd always be in the centre. nowadays not many ppl wanna do that cos they wanna have the option to alter it. my kerbaya had it cos my granny said without it mean fake.. :p

Lastly at the back, there should be 5 smaller embroidery. two at the shoulder blades, one in the centre and 2 just abv the hips. there is a meaning to having these 5 embroidery...
oh ya.. the higher the embroidery in front, u will perceived to be richer and more 'high class' in the past..

U might wanna bead ur kerbaya so that at nite it will look even nicer under the lights. or have certain parts of ur embroidery done in silver or gold threads. BTW, peranakans only use a few colours for wedding, that is any shades of red and pink. Blue, dark green, grey, black, dark purple are considered mourning colours.

Have u gals bought ur manik manik (beaded shoes) and ur kerosang (the pins that fasten ur kerbaya)?

keypers

Mr & Mrs: I think yellow colour can lar
Yellow = gold

Bear: Thanks I know the things to look out for! :p thanks!!! :p
I like kebaya which looks more about like the traditional look, cotton sarong
My dad likes the 70s ones with very minimal embroidery :p

Havent bought the beaded shoes yet, thinking where got nice ones? As for kerosang, I am thinking whether to invest on intan gold one, the old gold ones.
any idea where got?

rachely

very sweet kebaya man tou bear has, very nice top! sure it's worth the investment.

oh so sory gals, i don have a msn, but okie lah, what to do.

June it's my AD cum ROM. my house should be ready by 2nd week of june, so it's super fast for me.

I am thinking of getting a pair of modern shoes for my kebaya coz i don't think i will wear the shoes again....but seems like the traditional kebaya fits more with the manik manik.
what you gals think?

intan gold means 100% pure gold? that's sure another investment...heehee

hislove

Hi Secret,
what's ur msn email add? I got msn.. can add u, then i share my kebaya pict with u

Hi Bear,
Thanks so much for ur pointers.
I'm glad that my kebaya meet most of the pointers I think.. hehe..
Talking abt the colours, i went shopping for tis kebaya with my parents, my dad has the most comments. He wanted me to wear a bright red and orange one. hehe.. I love a blue one, but he kept saying wedding how can use that colour????? then take photos at night not nice.. haha..
That's my dad!
So I compromised, settle for a less bright orange kebaya & red sarong skirt. Gd daughter hor? haha..

My future MIL gave me her manik manik to wear on my AD. Then I got my silver kerosang already..

Mr & mrs,
Manik manik do look nicer with ur kebaya, but if modern shoes, must see wat kind. I got a Tangs gold sandals with flower designs on the heels. It actually go very well with my kebaya oso.

man_tou_bear

hello gals,

U are welcome.. i had my designer to thank for some of those pointers...

Mr & Mrs, i m not too sure abt yellow.. Dark rich yellow shd be ok.. but not pale ones.. i can't help u there cos my Granny passed away last Dec.

Yups i agree with Jess, kerbaya goes better with manik manik.. but i think if u kerbaya is those modern ones then it also goes well with strappy sandals..

Secrets, u prefer mua ah.. i find that very hard to tie... and i have this panaroid fear that i can't do it properly and it drops! hehee.. u would need the belt too right? I got my manik manik shoes at those pasar malam.. cos i def won't wear it again.. heehee.. as for kerosang, i would go for gold. not old gold... looks nicer and more sparkly..

Jess, heehee ur dad knows the colours too hor.. i initially didn't want that shocking pink.. that is the loudest outfit i have in my wardrobe.. but my designer kept saying must wear such colours.. and my granny agreed so i got it lor.. was rather depressed abt the colour until i tried on the bare bones top.. and it looked wonderful.. heehee..

hislove

Bear,
Yah.. my dad has a sense of style.. haha..
My mum appreciates his comments, so will bring him out shopping if he is not lazy to go. haha..
He even spotted & chose a modern mix with traditional shirt for my FH, which he feels will match with my kebaya. Surprisingly, my FH loves it genuinely (not coz my dad is his future father-in-law). hehe..

ur kerbaya is beautiful. I love pink, tho' like u I may not go for shocking pink at the 1st instance. But sometimes, our older folks know better hor? hehe..