JP - Chan Kai Yau

ahBlur, you should ring him up and confirming your ROM date with him and seek his advice when will be the most appropriate time to meet up. I'm shocked also he said he's meeting me on next coming Monday wor.

He's meeting me at Borders Orchard where the fountain is at. I hope i don't get to the wrong place...keke..anyone met him there as well?

Bitchy_Bride, how is your solemnization? Where are you holding at? How is Mr Chan?

I very worried now after reading the comments here. My ROM venue will be at Carlton Hotel. Do you all think he will know this place?

I got Mr Chan as our JP too. He was great and everything went on smoothly. He also gave us a choice whether to solemnise in English or Mandarin. I would say he's a pro...wearing jacket and tie and came in just a few minutes earlier and started the ceremony on time. As soon as everything was done, documents checked (angpao passed to him) and he's off (to the next venue I think). A good humorous old man.

Shilin,
think he always meet couple there... so no problem... as i read the thread think it will be better to have someone to fetch him there.. so there will not have any reason for him to go missing... and miss the road..

Hi, I agree to Ken. He is very pro. He did ask me to solemnise in Chinese or in English.

The worst thing is, I was late for 5 min... and I was so freaking worry. I had to run to the lift and get really for IC. I have to change my heels i the cab too. My FH called me to say that Mr Chan is rushing to another place at 11am and my solemnisation supposed to start at 1030am sharp, but I was late for 5 mins. Luckily he wasnt angry with me and even joke with me... We even took a grp pic with him too. Heng man... I can say it my fault for been late due to the late calcuation of the make up.

Don't worry. Always have a back up plan for hiccups. = ) Mr Chan is very professional. Don't worry and smile more on your ROM or big day. = )

Hi ahBlur,

My hubby and I look forward to our TOP, collect keys so that we can start our renovation and furnishing. = ) Btw, today I went to my sister's new house at 986C. = ) If I don't remember wrongly, you ballot that area too? = )

Hi Shilin

my ROM is on 26 DEC 2006 but the lady who picked up the call say that usually Mr chan oni meet up for the consent form nearer to the date..
So nice he meeting u so fast.
Hmmm think i better call him up first.

lynnette,
Yeah! my unit is at 987B... How you find the place? hahah.... i haven call Mr Chan... Actually really difficult to contact him... How i wish i can don't give him angbao... I buy him a phone instead... haha...

aiyo ahBlur, you so cute. Buy him HP..keke
Call him in the morning around 9am. I've got him twice when i call at 9am.

I've just met Mr Chan just now.
There 2 other couples before and after me are meeting him as well. I wonder are they one of the forumers here?

He's fine and doesn't look stern. He's serious but he did cracked jokes wor... i'm surprise.

furnana, call him to arrange a meet up with him. Yours is 1 day before me ya. When you going to the ROM to verify the documents?

Hi Furnana

My rom on 26 Dec as well!

What time is yours?

I haven't met up with him yet as well. not sure if he will call me or if I will have to call him. think nearer to date of verification then call him.

finally got him... on his hme no.. will be meeting him on 27 Nov, 6pm @ Borders... There is a cafe there right? So will he be ordering any drinks?

great ahBlur, u finally got him. Don't need order drinks. At first i thought of asking him leh. But then b4 the couple din. Then we busy talking and forgotten. Then after that he switched to another couple le. keke..
I think the cafe's staff already know Mr Chan liao man. They din even give us/him the menu. Hahaha...

I jus finished my solenmisation with Mr Chan on the 5th of Nov. Hm, overall its a good experience with him...

Meeting him, dun have to buy drinks but ask him will be good lar...
He's quite bz recently with couples. I think he stay ard wheelock place cos i saw him walking hm aft meeting us at Borders.

er gals, he asked me to meet him at the fountain facing Boulevard? Is that the entrance at the back of Wheelock?

oh.. thanks so much Karon..

btw have u met up with Mr Chan already? Wonder where exactly to wait for him. He said at that entrance, but don't know is inside Borders or outside haha, since I never seen him before :x

Hi mitzi, it's outside, where you see the fountain.

If you are coming from wisma and crossing the road to wheelock, after crossed the road, turn to the left and continue to walk till you see the fountain, you'll see him there (if he's there already

Hi mitzi,

I've already done my solenmisation with mr Chan on the 5th Nov...

He will be standing beside the fountain, waiting for u if he reach 1st. (usually he won't be late!)
So dun make him wait, or else he will ask u, what happened?? Hehe, quite stern wor.

Hi, girls...

Can i know why u choose Mr chan but not other? Sorry for asking this.. but i looking for a JP too. THanks

hi karen, ya, i know he's usually punctual hehe, so i arranged to meet him later in the evening as i have to rush down from work. Heard he's quite stern, so rather worried as my FH rather cheeky type, must warn him not to crack stupid jokes in front of Mr Chan :X

Hey junior, you can refer to all the reviews of Mr Chan in this thread

Hi ahBlur,

You are so cute leh. Wanna buy Mr Chan a HP. = ) So you stay near my sister's new home. Hers is 986C. = )

I find this area is very good for recreation. That area got stadium for jogging, got swimming pool, even look like Wild Wild Wet at Pasir Ris for the price of $2 on weekend. Why not? = )

Please do not worry that Mr Chan's appearance. He may look stern, but he is definitely ok. He will crack jokes one u know. During my friend's recent ROM, he even say "The photographer haven't capture the kissing scene, can kiss longer?" Everybody laughed.

think i know where is the place liao... thanks ladies... hope i can reach there early as 30mins...

Lynnette,
If not very difficult to find him plus if last minute cannot make it then how (something happen at home?)

Was wondering if Mr Chan do meet couple on sunday? Coz till now, Mr Chan haven't call me to met up. BTW having my ROM on Dec 10. Then weekday, both me n bf busy working till late.

Any one know if Mr Chan's tel nos a pte nos? Coz receive 2 miss call from a pte nos while i was in a meeting this evening. Wondering if it him.

Popy,
think you got to call him at his hme no.. sometimes difficult to get thru got to try alot of times... 62356143... if he is not around, Mrs Chan will be of great helps too...

think you got to take leave... cos don't think he will meet people on weekend.. he might be busy...

wah, ahblur and furnana... means i will be seeing u ladies la... i m meeting him at 6.30pm on 27nov at the same place... he meets everyone there... so ladies, please say hi ya... hahaha

Thankx ah blur

hm... wondering did Mr Chan comes to this forum. Coz after i posted it, i receive his call on sat. asking me to meet him.

hm.. actualli can c u gals on 27 nov as well coz he ask me to meet him. But later he change his mind and change the day to 30 nov.

carowl- I have check with him abt meeting on wkendz. He say weekend he is busy cannot meet couple. Thus i have to meet him on weekdayz.

poppy,
yeah lor... actually i want to meet him on friday but he say he will be rushing for solemnisation... don't think he will come to the forum.. probably his kids or grand children... hahaha... best is he got hp so easy to contact him...

now is like confirm timing with him, then must really made it... if cannot then must inform him early... can't wait for last minute... sometimes if really got urgent matters to attend... really difficult to tell..

furnana,

but tot you confirmed meeting him at 7pm?
i think he wont be calling since the time and date had already been confirmed...
i called him to ask for an appt!!! cos mine is on 08dec but he still hasnt called me till i called him last week... so i better call to confirm with him in case my htb scold me for not organizing well... haiz... hahaaa

Baby so it u hah

finally found the person having the cermony @ 8pm... Mr. Chan said ok leh..
Mine is @ Gallery hotel, where yours then???
Are we near to each other??

Dun worry, i will start @ 7pm Sharp.. maybe earlier..
I will start the march-in 3 to 5 mins early so is about 6.55 like that

zhuoen tat y i was thinking should i call him again to fix n appt to meet to sign the consent from..

but the lady assured me that Mr. Chan will call me in DEC since mine is on DEC leh... haizzz

hey furnana,

dun worry.. mr chan will call u ard 2 week b4 ur ROM..
he oso called me 2 weeks b4 my ROM.. haha.. n im having my ROM tomolo.. will let u gals noe my exp wif Mr Chan.. ;)

v nervous nw.. n worried.. dunno will haf any problems...

hey gals..
juz came back frm my ROM programs..

i muz say Mr Chan he is v on time.. my parents were abit late but he is stil v ok wif it.
he's a humourous man.. tryin to make the atmosphere nt so tight up.. hehe.. overall..
we enjoyed our ROM v much.. n Mr Chan is gd!!

Hey Furnana.. thanks!!
all the best to ur ROM too!!

Can i just meet Mr Chan alone to get the consent form? Will he mind? I'm afraid that he might think that we are not sincere. Cos if meet weekdays, my HTB will not be free.

Anyone meet Mr Chan alone?

What does Mr Chan talk or ask about during the meetup ah? Feel rather stressful if turn out nothing to say haha.. :D

I met Mr. Chan last month. To share with u, he told my husband and I the route to a lifetime marriage is bound to have ups and downs. Most importantly, issues have to be resolved before sun rises again.

He told my husband, sometimes, he has to make the first move. watever the problem is, once the light is off at night, u cant see the color of the face. make love and cuddle to sleep. dun bear grudges. lol when we laughed the moment we heard him saying 'make love', he replied "nothing wrongs with it. both of u are husband and wife.."

lol he's jovial.

hee.. he's very true in a way leh Agnes..

I believe in that way too but FH doesn't. Always make me angry and leave me to sleep it off.. >.<