JP - Chan Kai Yau

Hi Catherine

Thanks for ur feedback, am also having Mr Chan as my solemnizer. Could u pls forward me his pic? Thanks in advance

Yeap Catherine, indeed Mr Chan is a nice old man. I attended my frds who were solemnised by Mr Chan, he made the effort to explain the things in both eng and chinese.

I booked him for my solemnisation this dec.

I had my solemnisation with Mr Chan on 26 May 2006... no worries, he's a very responsible man who turned up 15 minutes before the ceremony. he spoke really clearly in both english and mandarin & even asked my photographer whether he needed my hubby & me to kiss again in case he didn't get the shot

hi the silentgal - no worries. i only met mr chan 3-4 weeks before my ceremony & he was the one who called me up to arrange the date. i was also a bit worried like you but mr chan assured me that there was ample time. in fact he was the one who had to tell me to efile during our meeting haha.

Hello everybody,

My ROM solemnisation is on yesterday afternoon with Mr Chan Kai Yau.

My hubby fetched him from Wheelock Place to our ROM venue at Tampines, 15 minutes before 12pm.

I am very thankful to Mr Chan for his patience. He waited for my father-in-law who was struck in the expressway due to heavy traffic.

At that point of time, my hubby and I are very anxious and panicked that my father-in-law cannot make it on time.

Despite being late for 5 minutes, we finally completed our ROM solemnisation smoothly in mandarin.

He even allowed us to have a mini walk-in as what I requested before we proceed.

Mr Chan Kai Yau did a very good job in mandarin despite no resource of a microphone. (Felt sorry about it though).

My hubby and I feel very blessed to have him as our JP. And we will definitely recommend him to our friends and relatives in future.

With Mr Chan's blessing, I have upgraded to a "MRS". Thank you Mr Chan Kai Yau for the patience, the speech and everything.

I've booked Mr chan as my Jp as well. Glad to hear so many positive comments abt him... I've no worries liao.

hi kalis,

i was wondering how many mths do we need to book JP? I also veyr KS, scare tht i cant book Mr Chan... how many mths in advance did u book him ah? thks

Hi happyface,

I called him (*thinking*), hmm.... on 15th of May. Last mth. For yr reference, my AD is on 5th of Nov this year. (Ard 6 mths B4)

When's yrs?

I managed to book Mr Chan too!

Was worried I can't get him when I tried calling him for 2 days but didn't manage to speak to him. I had to leave a message.

But guess what? He returned my call today and agreed to be my JP! Yippee!

Now i know why i can't get him on Monday...he's at Lynette's ROM! ;)

With so many positive comments about him, I'm realli excited to meet him in person!

Hi Kalis,

Kinda started...coz m sourcing for banquet venues now...will probably drop by Hyatt on 1st July for their bridal show.

As for gowns, not yet...coz still can't decide if i wanna get it done in Singapore or JB. Coz saw a fren's bridal shoot in JB, the gowns pretty nice and the location's authentic...

So how's everything at your end? 5 more mths rite?
;)

hi kalis,

thanks for ur info... my AD is on 2 Jun 07, solemnise on the same day... hmm, then i think i'll call him at year end so as not to be too ks..

Hi Conxie,

Me everything done at the moment. Will be busy again in Aug. Taking my PS, printing of invitation cards & Efiling lor...

Btw, if u dun mind the hassle to go in n fro to JB, n u think the gowns & photos not bad then i suggest u go ahead. Cos Singapore BS it abit costy compared to JB. Can vomit blood to top up for the extra photos lor. For S$2k, u can get a very good package in JB liao. Here, may have to fork out 5k - 6k more if u decide to take extra pics. Anyway, source more b4 u decide anything. Good luck!

Hi Happyface,

U can actually try calling Mr Chan in advance lor... No harm booking him 1st. At least, u will get him to be yr JP mah. no worries abt KS lar, we'll understand cos we r ks too...

Call him lar...

Hi Happyface,

Hmm, me free at the moment leh. Waiting for mynext gown fitting in Aug. PS will be 1 week aft the fitting. August will be a bz mth for me...
Printing of invitation cards & do E- filing too.

How abt u??

hi karon,

recently, i looking for AD VG & PG. So far, think hv decided which one to engage, pending signing the contract only. Then nothing much... browsing thru magazines cos only get to visit my BS in sep for gown selection.
hmm, where u having ur wedding ah? which bs u signed up with... care to share? must be excited for ur PS hor.. hv u decided on the places for ur outdoor shoot?

Hi Hi happyface,

Mine wedding at HIPV on 5th Nov this yr n BS is Santiago wedding. U?

Btw, care to share the PG u engaged is how much?
Mine PG on AD is oni $700, with 400pcs of photos return with albums. ALL photos in CD-Rom to be return to me.
If u r interested, i dun mind to find out the price of VG + PG for u. As he's my coll's fren.

haven't decide where to go for my outdoor PS yet but shortlist in mind.

i'm having my wedding dinner in 2007.

Can i have Mr CHan's fotos and contact no. pls?

I believe he's good since there are so many positive comments on him!

Hi Ah BeLLe,

Mr Chan's contact is 62356143. You can only contact him via this number. He doesn't have a mobile phone. You can leave a message, he will call you back.
I've attached a photo of Mr Chan solemnizing my ROM this month 18th. = )
382483.jpg

Hi Lynnette!

Thanx for the fast reply. Is he able to solemnize in mandarine? Juz a thot though.

We want our solemnization to be done DURING our wedding dinner, is that possible?

Hey Ah Belle,

Let me answer this. Yes he can do it in Chinese. I had my ROM by JP Chan in mandarin and it was perfect! He made all my elderly guests understands what is going on and everyone was impressed by his ablility to speak perfect English and mandarin.

Chinese vows more lomantic too. Heh... and yes it's possible to do it during wedding dinner.

Hi Gelaine!

Great, i believe chinese vows will be more meaningful to the PILs...

So will he stay throughout the dinner? and how much ang bao should we bao?

Hey AhBelle,

Whether he will stay back throughout dinner you will have to discuss with him lor.
I did attend weddings where my friend did her solemization during dinner. But one point to consider is that, this may drag the entire event by 1/2 hr or so wth all the preparations, causing the dinner to end late too. So do take this into consideration lor...

As for Ang bao... give a comfortable amount lor. ROM recommend $28 i think. We gave more and bought him a pen, coz we felt we should lor.

hi karon

My BS is Thomson Wedding Design, banquet at Conrad. For PG, he charges me $680. Package is similar to yours except mine is only 300pics.
Can you send me ur PG website or link so tht i can see his work? Thanks

Hi happyface,

Will send u the link later... cos i've to ask my coll leh. Saw once only, forget his website address liao.

Hi Compassrose,

I guess how much Ang Bao depends on how comfortable you are. Doesnt really matter if the JP is more popular.
It's just a form of appreciation. But recommended by ROM is $28-$48.

Thanks Gelaine! I will work along that range... Just to confirm, for e-filing we need Mr Chan license number and meet him at a later date to collect the consent form?

Hi compassrose,

Yup that should be no problem though in the past, JP Chan used to meet couples b4 efiling. But apparently lately, couples had been efiling first before meeting JP Chan. HEh... so no worries. Go ahead!

Can someone tell me whether JP Chan is a pastor? I tried calling him today and it seems that he works in a church. If so, will he be willing to solemnise wedding for non-Christian? My FH & I are both buddhist.

Mr. Chan does works in a church but he solenmise weddings for couples regardless of religion. Both me and hubby are buddhist and he also did it for us.

To get Mr. Chan's license no, just give him a call and he will tell u over the phone. I have his number but not too nice to reveal the license number without his consent.

Thanks Ladies!

Think I better get it from him soon. As I intend to do the solemization out of ROM. From my understanding, for solemization out of ROM, we need not file exactly 3 months before since they is no restriction in term of time slot & rooms etc. But we wanted to play safe. Cuz we were dissapointed when we could not secure our hotel booking.

I try to call Mr Chan but he is nt in the church. Me KS, scared dont can book him in time ma. My ROM will be in Nov 06. Do you all face any problem looking for him?

Corpose_bride, leave the message and he will call back. I had left a message this morning, and he had called back in the afternoon.

Yeah, he has agreed to solemnise my wedding.