JP - Chan Kai Yau

cherryapple

Oh, Mr Chan called me. He agreed to my solemnise my wedding too. But he is almost fully booked. Me still sourcing the venue and he say once I found the place to solemnise then let him know. He so funny, he ask me do I know the meaning behind 11th Nov. He say it the end of World War I... I ask him whether it a good date. He say consider a good date cos it when the peace comes in.... Anyone having their ROM on the 11th Nov?

hots

Hi happyface,

Asked my coll to check with his fren (PG) for the website address. Will let u know once i got it.

62356143, its not his home ba. Its office no.

happyface

hi karons,

thanks in advance! I've just called mr chan and he agrees...yeah!!!
he sound friendly and humourous... he still joke with me... =)

hots

Hi happyface,

Relieved liao rite? At least one thing settled. He didnt say u KS? kekeke, jus kidding!!

happyface

hi karon, nope he din say i'm ks... hahah.. really feel relieve... actually i found tht i'm not the only one ks lah, heard fr others they also book many mths way b4 the day... =)

hi soon-to-be, mine is 2 Jun 07... surprise??

soontobe

happyface, congraz! You are not KS lar, actually I tink a lot of couples like to way advance book the popular JP, especially for popular dates somemore.

I would have done mine too last Dec if my FH had not kept saying i gan cheong.

hots

happyface,

haha, many couples booked in advance earlier than u hor?

Ya, still owe u the link, but this discussion board dun allow me to post the link leh.
Give me yr email address, i'll email u instead.

lywong

Did any1 had your solemnization at the stage of the hotel after the 1st march-in? Care to share your experience and if Mr Chan actually approve of such planning? My march-in is quite long, and I'm quite afraid he doesnt approve of that.

So should I invite him to the stage first, then wait for me to march to the stage, or only invite him after i reach the stage??

Thanks all for your advise.

hots

Hi Yan06,

Mine solemisation will be in the dinner as well. I told Mr Chan that solemisation will start at 8.30pm, he will reaching my hotel at 8.15pm.

He will be waiting for us at the stage. Such arrangement is possible if u discuss with him in advance. Just dun drag his timing as i believed he will have to rush to another solemisation aft yrs?

lywong

Hi Karon,

8pm is already quite late, dun think someone will have solemnization after me right? If yes, then that solemnization will be after 9pm, which is quite impossible?

Anyway, thanks for your certainty. I will be meeting him in Aug and will discuss with him about the arrangement. At least now I know he's open to such idea of solemnizing on the stage..

hots

Hi Yan06,

Ya, maybe there's no solemistaion after us by that timing. Didn't think of that, keke...

Anyway, its safer to check with him lor. I'm meeting him in Aug too. When's yr AD?

aufeme

Hey girls, great choice of jp if you are having Mr Chan! My friends cried when he was explaining all the details of marriage. He's great!

lywong

Hi Karon,
yups, will check with him when we meet up..
My AD is 15 Oct.
When's yours? Have you done your efiling yet?

happyface

hi aufeme, ur fren cried? u mean during the solemnsation itself or during the meet up he had with the couples?
maybe wat he said was very touching i guess...

yukikodawasan

Hi Aufeme,

I'm also engaging JP Chan to be my solemniser. Did JP Chan said something out his own will that touches everybody's hearts. I'm wondering what did he say. By the way, did u have a mandarin solemnisation?

gelaine

Hi Shannon,

Yes... He can do both English and Mandarin solemnization on the day.
Dun worry. Maybe u should read through the entire thread to know more about JP Chan. You'll not regret!

Oink,
I had mine in mandarin and everyone commented it was so touching. Even my friend who is usually not very emotional also said she almost cried.
He's very very good. Chinese vows more touching actually. So go for it gal!

aufeme

Hey girls,

My friends cried when he was doing the solemnisation. They all said that the way he said it was very touching. I cried too! I had mine in English but he's good in both languages. Surely won't regret having him as your JP. It was a magical day for me!

All the best, brides to be! Smile and just relax on that day!

happyface

from the way u gals mentioned, i can imagine the touching scene... cos for me while attending my frens' wedding.. during the march in, i've tht kind of "undescrible feelings" already...cant imagine if i attend Mr Chan's soleminsation session, the more if i'm the bride.. =)

yelody

I've also gotten Mr Chan to soleminse my wedding.

have already e-file. Do I need to fax him anything to confirm?

confused.

aufeme

Hi yelody,

No need to fax him but you have to print out to keep. It will state when you have to go down to ROM to collect your documents. Collect the documents and give Mr Chan a call to let him know you have collected already. Remember to bring the whole envelope of documents on that day. All the best!

yelody

Thanks aufeme!

what about the solemniser's Consent form?
Do I need to let him sign before the Appt for VD/SD?

thanks again

smurfying

Hi ladies, I've arranged for Mr Chan as my JP many months back...din noe he is so popular then. My AD is another 2mth+, do i contact him or wait for him to call me again for the efiling procedures?

lywong

Hi tansy,

You are from the GHA forum too? hehe..
I called Mr Chan last week, and he said he will meet me up sometime in Aug, ask me to call back again in Aug.
I think you need to call him for a meetup instead of he calling you...My AD is also in Oct..

smurfying

Hi Yan06, erm i'm not fr GHA. I'm active in Oct brides and sophia tho

Heez...oso think it's more polite for me to call him up instead. Thanks yah!

But how's the procedures like?

cherryapple

Me also just call him to change the timing which is fine with him, but he say he will call me to pass me the letter of consent. So when will he call me? And also I didnt leave down my no. but leave dw on his voice mail. Will he rem to call me? Abit worried leh... and also if I do the efiling, do I need the letter of consent? Lastly, do you all feel he seem like in a rush when he call u and also abit fierce, or was it just me. Can anyone tell me the steps of efiling and what I need to do on that day of my ROM. Blur like sotong leh...help!

yvonneoh

I would like to have JP Chan to be my JP in Jan 2007.

Wanna what is the procedure? I have listed out the procedure below, please let me know am i right in my planning? thanks

1) Book Solenmisation Venue (done)
2) Call JP to book him for time slot
3) Get the consent form from JP - for efiling
3) efiling - 3 mth b4 the AD
4) Go down to ROM to verfy the documents
5) Bring the all documents on AD
6) JP will then post the documents to ROM.

Welcome any feedback [email protected]

yvonneoh

and also, wanna do i need to arrage for an emcee for the solemnistion? or the JP will handle it?? like welcome the bride and groom to stage.. send the guest off??

vscent

Hihi... I reserved Mr Chan months (think May) back and our date is 25-Oct-06. He did mention to me that I have to give him a call around Aug. Our Venue has fixed, except for the timing on that day. Should we proceed on the efile in the ROM first? Or we should wait till after meeting Mr Chang then proceed on the efile?

Btw, where does Mr Chan meet the couple at? Does he drive? And during the meet up, what are the discussion like? As we would like to prepare before meeting him on Aug. Can anyone guide us and share the experience?

jarenlynn

Hi Vscent,

I think by the time you efile, you will have to indicate the venue, the time, and the JP license number.

Therefore, it is better for you to confirm the time early. You can choose to meet him before or after efiling. As long as he sign the consent form.

My hubby and I met Mr Chan at Wheelock Place, outside borders, at the fountain area.

I think he doesn't drive as he stay around Orchard area. On my ROM, my hubby went to fetch him at Wheelock Place, same venue as where we first met him for signing the consent form.

During our meet up, Mr Chan shared with us experiences on how to manage a family, children, etc. He asked about us and our occupations etc.
Just some casual talking so that he can get to know us better.

He's a nice man. I also recommend him to my friend who's going to ROM this November.
He helped me solemnize in mandarin, and I feel that most of my guests who are my relatives can relate better.

All the best to you.

tinkybell

I am getting Mr. Chan as my JP this coming October too.

Just called up his place and wanted to make arrangement to meet up with him this Saturday for a short discussion and even signing of the consent form, but too bad he is not at home and the lady who answered informed that he will call me.

Although my ROM is in 2 months time, i would very much want to settle everything out asap, and I am not sure when Mr. Chan will call.

My FH would be overseas for training for the first 3 weeks of September and I would be left alone, I am really wori of the last minute work.

Any Advice??

From the comments of Mr. Chan at this thread, I am very comfortable of getting him as my JP, so many good comments and feedback about him. keke

vscent

Hi Lynnette,

I have called JP Chan and will meeting him this coming sat at Border Wheelock Place, outside borders near the fountain too.

Oh no.. i forgot to ask him should I print out the consent form for him or he will prepare for us?.. hmmm.. Too happy and forgot to ask him clearly... ops... =P

jarenlynn

Hi Fiona,
You can call him to book him, just in case your date is a hot day, everybody book him and his slot are fully taken.

Hi Vscent,
Just in case you feel insecure, you can print one (my hb and I are so KS, we printed 2 that time). But Mr Chan will provide one on the spot. = ) No worries about that. He's a nice man. Just relax ok. Hee.

Congrats to both of you in advance.

jarenlynn

Hi tinkybell,

Have you manage to contact Mr Chan yet? I think it is better for both your hubby and yourself to get the consent form signed before your hubby go overseas. Till then, even your hubby is overseas, you can efile yourself. = )

The most important thing is to "book" Mr Chan for your ROM on that time slot.

All the best.

compassrose

Normally, how many days or weeks before should we meet up with Mr. Chan to get the consent form? (When is the latest?) Thanks!

cherryapple

I have booked Mr chan and was wondering whether I should meet up with him 1st before I do my efile, cos we need to get the letter of consent and his license no. Is it too early to meet him, my ROM is in Nov. Please advice.

jarenlynn

You can meet Mr Chan more than 3 months before your ROM if he is available.

I saw him 4 months before ROM. So, it's fine to meet him now. = ) No worries.

You may call him for his license number before you efile. =)

yukikodawasan

Fiona,that's his home telephone.There is no other contact no. You can either leave a message for him or call back later. Most probably, he's out for solemnisation.

Good luck.