JP - Chan Kai Yau

happytea

wow what a big pic of him here! hahaha so thats how Mr Chan look like... thks Tots!

by the way, ask you all, will Mr chan bring along any nametab like "Deputy ROM" to be placed on the table? or the table is all to our own decor? cos i saw a pic of another JP, he got such a nametab on the table!

Popie, my fh and i went searching for wedding bands yesterday, wow kinda ex leh, i dunno how come i read that ppl bought theirs at ard $600 per pair. so actually was looking for those ard $700 or $800 for a pair. and those sales ppl, diff shop said diff thing abt white gold and platinum. we found something that we like at SooKee and Goldheart but all will cost ard $1500 for a pair. any advice out there??

chng

Hi HappyTea,

So far I have not seen any nametab from him, for mine n my friend...so it's up to u to decor the table...

Share something with u...at first i thot i can settle for the bands at not more than $500...so went shopping ard the entire orchard, almost every jewellery shop. Then i understand the theory of...every cent u pay counts. U want a nice design that will catch yr eyes, it always cost bout 1k and above, unless u r "heng" to find something cheap and good. I also took a very long time to b4 deciding on which to buy....

Good luck on yr ring searching....

suetan

Thanx tots for the foto, I am oso gonna be solemnise by MR Chan.

Happytea> It too me 6 mths to finally settle for my wedding bands, scary rite kekkeke! We bought ours at sookee, brilliant rose series, its call the infinity rings. 1 of their signature rings. After dist its abt $1.5 k plus for white gold. Initially budget abt $1 k at the most but I really like it so my FH gave it. Wanted to custom make at fairy's inc but its abt $2k plus a pair for something similar so after looking for 6 mths I went back to the sookee one which is the very 1st pair we set our eyes on

popie

happytea,

for my hubby n i, we bought our rings at less than $500 per pair. bought it from SK Jewellery. Its jus a simple white gold ring. if u wana get rings at under $500 i must say that the cutting n design is really not comparable to those which are more than $1000 per pair. but i would suggest u dun buy too ex. else everytime u wash the bowl or do anything or make a slight knock in ur ring, ur heart will pain once. alot of my freinds end up taking out n putting back their rings all the time. i find it quite dangerous. make it easy to loose ur ring. but of course its up to individual. shop around n discuss with ur FH lor. he also need to feel comfy wearing the ring.

cheerss

Hi popie

Thanks so much for sharing Mr Chan's photos here... I feel so happy that he has confirmed to solemnise my ROM (^.^)V

Oh yes on the wedding band, i truly agree with Popie that wedding band need not spend too much on it. If buy too expensive one, you would be too "under pressure" to wear it cos scare wear and tear, scratches..etc.. Some couples are like that, end up they seldom wear it which defits the purpose.

I would rather go for simple ring for now, but new, better ring, say on 10 years anniversary or something, as a representation of love that grows stronger

So my personal advice is to get a reasonably priced ring. For now, save the money for house reno, honeymoon or photoshoot which are equally important in wedding preparation.

Last but no least, wedding is a process but marriage is a journey. It is marriage that we must uphold.

Just my 2cents worth of comments to share.

popie

cheerss,

totally agree with u. exactly wat hubby n i thinks.

the photo of mr chan is uploaded by tots, not me. =)

happytea

You guys are so great, thanks for sharing leh

Ya hor, the nicer ones are usually more ex, so must weigh the difference, but those shops i went, the rings are mostly priced at $700plus for one ring, i only saw a few which are below $600plus before discount. What other shops can i go?

then what about whitegold and platinum? anyone got advice on this?

popie

sky, u might wana scroll up n chk out the recent postings. we were jus sharing with happytea wat it was like to be solemnised by mr chan. he may sound quite stern, but he is actually a very nice old man.

cheerss

yes Mr Chan is a super nice gentleman. When you talk to him in person, you will realise he is not stern at all. ON the other hand, i find him very fatherly, sincere and friendly.

I am so glad that a nice gentleman like him is going to solenmnise my ROM. :)

HappyTea,
About wedding band,i suggest you go see various jewel shops to have an idea what they offer and compare. The price for band can vary a lot depending on various factors like material, brand, workmanship, diamond, design etc. You must see with your own eyes to decide if the ring is THE RING you desire. Also get your bf to go with you so that you both can see/have a better idea what ring you both mutually prefer.

There is a lot of debate on WG and Platinum. Both have pros and cons. For the same design in platinum, you have to pay almost double the price of WG. So you decide whether it is worth it or not loh

happytea

Hi Cheerss, thks for your advice, yalor, we must priortise what we want liao, $$/design/comfort?

When is your ROM? so you bought your rings har?

happytea

one more thing, for Mr Chan's solemnsation, the vows are standard ones? i not going to write my own vows lah, but wonder if Mr Chan's vows will need the couples to say more words other than "i Do or i will"? heehee

cheerss

HappyTea,

Yup, i bot my Ring liao..It is in WG, with diamond and blue sapphire which is custom made for me.

How about you? Hvae you got Mr Chan to sign the consent form?

About the vow, i am not sure. Maybe those who has ROMed could advice. My understanding is that usually before the ROM commences, JP would ask whether the couples have any special vow or not.

suetan

Yah gals, anyone ald met Mr Chan? For those who are gonna rom soon....

Normally hw many days b4 will they ask u to verify docs at rom huh?

cheerss

i have met Mr Chan. He is very nice, fatherly man.

You need to call him to make an appointment. He will prepare a copy of consent form for u to and your partner to sign. The form is slightly different from the one on the ROM website, but it contains all the important details as required by ROM

Usually ROM will call 3 days prior to ROM date to let you know when is the verification date. For those who are going to ROM in < 3 months time, can efile liao

Happy preparing for ROM, gals!

happytea

My fh cannot get to Mr Chan today, so tmr to call him again. He is waiting for us to inform him of the venue, haha, so late hor.

My rings ah, sigh,,, see how liao lah.

popie

hey all,

wah. alot of discussions today!! hee.

when i rom with mr chan, we din specify any special vows n he din ask if we got specials vows. jus let him handle. well, u need not say more than "I DO" and "I WILL", but he is abit creative lah. not so boring one. will tease abit here n there. but i shall not spoil all the fun by telling u how he teased us lah. haha. actually i cant remember if i mentioned how he teased us in the earlier posts.

anyway, ur guests n urselves are bound to enjoy the process. he makes the whole atmosphere very light and fun. very good solemniser. those whose opinions differ, i jus hv to apologise. haha. cos i m jus totally in love with the way this solemniser helped us at our ROM. hehehehe.

happyTea, i din take very long to get my rings. but i visited all the big brands like lee hwa, soo kee, SK n Poh Heng. the feedback i got from them was that platinum rings are jus white gold rings which consist of an extra composition of precious stones. that y its more ex. its like a diamond ring to a ring without diamond. does not mean platinum, then the ring is hardier and stronger. u are onli paying for the extra composition of the precious stone they added to white gold. however, some ppl say platinum rings dun discolourise like white gold would. thats the way i interpret. so u jus double chk with jewellers n online researches k? =P hope this helps.

chng

Hi HappyTea,

I do have a everyday wear Goldheart white gold ring and I have to admit that it really discolored to yellow after wearing for sometimes, especially the part facing the palm.

For platinum, did hear from some that it will not discolor. But also went to Citigem and the saleperson so plat will also discolor. Hmmm..confused?? No sure if true though.
Anyone have wore platinum ring daily and can share if it discolor.

Suelynn, for the verification of documents, if u have done e-filing, just refer to the completed printout. There will be a few dates given to u with the time slot allocated.

suetan

Tots> I tink I shall call them after I efile cos I can only take extra leave the day b4 rom.

Tink i take time off ba, go there early in the mroning to verify the docs etc. Normally take how long huh?

happytea

Hi All, we meeting Mr Chan tmr heehee. Initially i cannot make it cos i need to rush the June accounting reports, but he told my fh that he can meet him w/o me. kinda disappointed leh, i wanted to meet him after knowing you guys experience w him, so sat i went bk to work, hope tmr will finish the work on time.

Suelynn, saw from another thread that you meeting him this wk at Borders ah? we too!
which date are you meeting him??

popie

happytea,

jia you! hope u get to meet him n experience him for yourself. hehe. think his standard meeting place is borders. we met him at borders too!!! =)

cheerss

Yes MR Chan will arrange to meet couple there cos he stay nearby there. I also met him there and we talked for 35 mins! :p

Suelynn, how was your meeting with Mr Chan? Did he share with you the story of some couples? He is really good in givng advices on marriage, he sound so fatherly. I know why he wanted to tell us those stories cos his msg is embedded in the story, so that we all can learn from his stories.

Cheerss!

happytea

hi gals, i was late due to work and my fh had finished his conversation w him by the time i reached there.
kinda sad cos i dint managed to meet him, so we stay ard and wait for him to finished w 2 couples. i had only talked to him for a short while, he gave us some advice as a couple and also quote example of other couples, but to me seems like he is summarising his words, but cant blame him cos he had already communicate w my fh before i got there, maybe he just want to cut it short.
Sigh... my fh just couldnt understand why i am so sad.

happytea

Just to add on, Mr Chan said he can use either english and mandarin for our solemn and we can let him know on that day itself, to him language is never a problem, he was a teacher who taught every kind of subjects.
He said the whole program is all up to us, very easy to work with i feel.

popie

hey happytea,

can understand ur disappointment. cos u heard soo much abt mr chan from us n u wana experience him urself rite? heee. its ok lah. small matter. at least u get to talk abit to him.

he tell stories abt other couples ah? i dun remember him telling us that leh. hahaha. anyone care to share some of the stories he shared?

suetan

Mr chan shared with me n my Fh abt a couple whose hubby snores n she cant live with him....Abt couples who locked their orignal certs n forgot where they locked n delay the solemnisation process. Also abt a couple who brought the duplicated copy of the certs n gotta get cousin to bring the originals....

He is very nice old grandpa....

popie

wah. he told u all so much suelynn. we were instead chit chatting abt our work. wahahaha. think he kinda got interested in mine n FH's profession. wahahaha.

but i must agree with u. he is a nice old grandpa.

suetan

poppie> cos I was alone initally, so he asked abt my job n some normal things. Later when my fh joined us, he told us abt "how to stay married" kind of story, the snoring one n my fh asked him wat to note n bring down on dat day. Thats where the funny stories abt kiasu couples who locked the certs, scared to bring originals down stories sink in.

cheerss

haha, Mr Chan also told me about the snoring problem for one newly wed, another story is about a couple who could not stand the mother in law, as well as one couple that MIA for the ROM

happytea

Mr Chan told us abt a couple, when he asked the guy if he is going to take the gal as wife, he striped (not all lah) and jumped into the pool and took up the ring...

popie

happytea, the story mr chan share with u so funny leh. mr chan told u all so many funny stories. hahaha.

happytea

hihi! Eh, just want to ask ah, when Mr Chan said ours will be at 1030am, is it ok for me to ask my guests to arrive at 1030am?

Would like to know how long it will actually take FROM guests to be seated, TILL the time that he got to set off for the next session. Please advise! thks!!

popie

happytea,

for my ROM, i actually told guests to arrive at 10am. my ceremony also supposed to start at 1030am. hehe. i jus tot its not nice to make mr chan wait. cos sometimes guests might be late also. but my guests were quite punctual. in fact most arrived early. n they were waiting for mr chan instead. haha. he is quite punctual one. he walked into the function room at 1030am sharp. n we started ceremony not long after.

chng

Hi HappyTea,

Agreed with popie tat I also asked my guest to come earlier, especially when u have friends/relatives that are potential late comers. I asked my guests to come like 45 mins to 1 hours before, as it is better to let friends wait then JP.

dioscuri

Hi all, can I ask usually how long in advance will Mr Chan ask to meet with you? Coz I've arranged with him to be our JP as well, and he told us to wait until we meet him and he will tell us how to apply for ROM. I'm just concerned that we will miss the dateline for application.

chng

Hi dioscuri,

I did an online registration for my ROM. But I "booked" Mr. Chan before submitting online cos u would need his JP licence number when submiting. Then he will ask u to meet/call him about a month before yr rom date so as to let him sign the consent form.

happytea

HiHi! then how long it will actually take from guests to be seated, till the time that he got to set off for the next session?

popie

about half an hour to 45 min. depending on ur guests. if u guests the very lor sor kind then take very long lor. hehe.

happytea

thks popie, hmn... i think then its ok so long it dun ends after 15mins! really scare to make my guest wait around just for makan.

dolphin48

I just managed to get Mr Chan to be my JP. But i'm worried about the timing. As i intend to do my solemnization before my dinner and he can only come around 6.45pm. Would that be too rush? I'm worried that it will drag longer than 30 mins and it seems to be eating into my cocktail time. Any suggestions? Is it possible for everything to end in 15 - 20 mins?

happytea

hi daphne, heard that it will only last 15-20mins. will u be waiting for your guests to arrive to witness the solemn? cos they will usually be late for wedding dinner, at 645pm i think most guests wont be there yet unless u told them abt the solem at this hour. i witness a fren's, her solem eat into the dinner time instead. ie the dinner starts a bit late after the solemn ends.

hushbear

my fh just got mr chan to be our jp too... but he told my fh that after we register online then he'll prepare the consent form for us. but i thought we have to get his consent before we register online? really so confused now.... don't know to register online first, with mr chan's detail or left it out first. can someone advise? thanks!

happytea

but i think we need his license no to register online leh! we met him and got the form signed before we register online.

chng

Hi Hui,

I have registered online first b4 getting him to sign the consent form. U only need his full name and JP licence number when u file online. U can just call Mr. Chan for his licence number, this is what I did.