Japan trip - where to go

jergens

WOW chin leng!
that was an excellent write-up!
you should write for lonely planet!!

thank you thank you!!!
do u mind my asking what kind of accommodation you stayed in? i'm looking for one that's not too pricey (below S$150 per night for 2 pax) and near the train stations. Ryokans are fine.

Thanks again Chin Leng!

Hi Jergens,

Thanks for the compliments and glad you like it.

Actually, I did not stay in a Ryokan. I was staying in Sunshine City Prince Hotel at Ikebukuro as I was traveling with my wife, baby and in-laws. Also, I still need Internet access as I had to check back on work every morning.

We booked the trip when there was a promotion for Tokyo F&E tour at $888 pax for 5 days 3 nights. We extended 2 nights and had to upgrade our rooms as the promo rooms are fully booked on the date we were going. It became about $1500 pax which was inclusive of round trip ANA airfare to Tokyo Narita airport, airport limousine bus transfer to-and-fro airport, 5 nights of twin room accomodation, 2 breafast vouchers each (for the extended days), airport taxes and GST. In the end, I don't even know if it was a promo price anymore.

The airport limousine bus stops at the doorstep of the hotel and the nearest subway station was Hiagshi Ikebukuro (about 5 mins walk) and JR station was Ikebukuro (about 15 mins walk).

jergens

what a small world, i also intend to stay in ikebukuro, but i dun want to spend too much on accommodation esp when i'm out most of the day.

Thanks Chin Leng, guess i will have to do more research before i depart!

sakurasan

Hi Jergens

I spent 10 days in Tokyo in early April. My itinerary included Nikko, Kamakura and Hakone. Could let you more details if you're interested!

sakurasan

Hi chin leng

Wow! That must have been plenty of walking with the baby! I did the same itinerary as yours but couldn't make it to Tsujiki Market despite our best efforts - couldn't wake up early enough! Kept delaying the visit until it was too late
Did you eat plenty of sushi there?

My fave place in Tokyo area is still Kamakura..it's beautiful esp during the cherry blossom season. Far better than either Nikko or Hakone.

tsubame

Hi Jergens, wah, u read back the postings one har? House Ikebukuro is popular, so peak season like now they say always full booked. BTW, they provide free internet connection.
And the toilets all TOTO system! I so miss the toilet when I come back.
And yes, it is very accessible and convenient. But Chang Tee around there too, maybe a bit inner. You can try Kimi Ryokan. Since you went back to my postings, you should have the link to Welcome Inn link.

I used very much the same resources as Chin Leng. For Disney, I HIGHLY recommend DisneySea. You can skip DisneyLand.

For the tickets to the themeparks, including for Studio Ghibli, you can get at the machine in Lawson, a store like 7/11. There's one in Ikebukuro station on the way to Hotel Ikebukuro. I got my tickets there.
You can get anytime b4 you go as long as tickets are still available. So u actually no need to book now so much in advance but can flexi when u are there.

I was in Tokyo for 10D, went all the places I had listed in earlier posting, and more. I went to Osaka Universal Studio on last day b4 departure cos finished Tokyo, and as husband no interest in scenery so strike off Nikko. And we managed to go Tsujiki too.

Tokyo JR and subway is very convenient once you figure out where you wanna go. We basically wake up at 9am, go out at 10am. So avoid morning rush hour plus when reach destination normally stores are opened already. Very relaxed 10D for all that we have covered so many places.

tsubame

BTW, if you intend to travel beyond Tokyo, the JR pass is definitely cheaper. Trust me, the impromptu trip to Osaka Universal is very painful. Lucky I enjoyed myself.
U had better check if Kyoto covered by JR East pass (will be cheaper) or else u will have to get the JR pass. I'm definitely getting a pass next time I'm going.

And heard from friend who had stayed there their summer can be worse than Singapore. Considering your condition... BTW, if u managed to get House Ikebukuro, asked them for a ground level room. Their stairs are very steep.

And as u say, with your condition most likely most themepark rides will be out of question. But Disney is very mild and DisneySea boast wonderful "sceneries" so maybe just go there enjoy the sights and of cos, the lotsa shows available.
Just avoid the weekends, else the Q can kill u, esp. in the summer heat.

pepsi

Hi, I will be going to disneysea and universal studio in 2 weeks time. May I know which are the "die die must try rides" and which are the ones which must "queue very long but not worth trying type"?
Thks!

jergens

hi cat!

yes yes! i read every single posting in this thread, including all the archives!!

I think i will cut down my trip to 8 days.
I went to look at the kyoto photos etc, really dun interest me leh. The scenery / shrines / temples / gardens all seem quite boring to me (personal preference only, dun be offended ok?)

So i will just shop / eat / walk within tokyo for that 8 days. Plus since i'm preggie, i figured i'd have to tour tokyo really slowly.

i thot the peak period in japan is not summer? I thot their peak season was the cherry blossom. Anyway house ikebukuro already told me "full house" but i think i shall be thick skin and continue trying.

I may / may not visit disney sea. I went to the website, like nothing much leh .... i can't sit the rides for sure, and they dun seem to have many shows going on.

so what time did u go back to the hotel each night? I also intend to avoid the morning peak period, but approx what time is it good to travel back to Ikebukuro?

Thanks for your into to Kimi Ryokan. I checked them out already ... they dun have a pte toilet unlike the annex suites at House Ikebukuro. That's why my second choice is House Chang Tee, at least they have attached bathroom.
House chang tee seems not bad also, only prob is the distance lah.

Thanks again Cat!

sakurasan

Hi Jergens

:p Why dun you PM me the stuff you're interested in knowing? This thread is a wealth of information!

I think Tokyo trains have special carriages for pregnant women. :p

jergens

hi sakurasan,

actually i dun know what i want!
i only know the planning is driving me nuts (my command of the chinese language is very poor) and i have never really been fond of japan to begin with.

info such as the train carriages for pregnant women are very useful! Do u know if they can bring a companion? Or is it strictly preg women only?

oh yah, the other thing i want to know is affordable accommodation near train stations and food outlets for less than S$150 per night for 2 pax. Ryokans ok as long as they have attached bathrooms. Any recommendations?

Thank you!!!

tsubame

Hi Jergens, we normally go back after 7pm, still a bit cramped but not too bad. There are Ladies-Only carriages, dun think they let guys in. We end up back at Ikebukuro usually in time to get food from the department store's basement at bargain prices.
Have a few days finish early and go back by 5pm. Lucky stayed Ikebukuro so still got places to look around when return early.

Plenty to shop, walk, eat in Tokyo. Take your time.

Hi Sakurasan,

Tsukiji fish market was totally chaos. We set off at 5.45 am and the sky was already very bright, like morning 8.00 am. We reached there about 6.30 am and most of the auctions are already over. But the fish market was still very busy with all the moving vehicles. You really have to be daring to cross the road.

We had Sushi in one of the shop nearby. Some of the sushi was better than others.

Tsukiji was deliberately left to the last day of the trip as we had to catch our return flight the same day afternoon.

If I've an opportunity to go Tokyo again, would definitely like to visit Nikko, Hakone and Kamakura!

Hi Cat,

Didn't know that I could get the tickets from Lawson at Ikebukuro station. All the websites I visited about Studio Ghibli advised to get the tickets way in advance as the tickets are usually sold out.

Sigh.... Miyazaki san... I'll to visit you again in future.

Will definitely consider DisneySea too!

Hi Pepsi,

Sorry, can't advice you much about the rides as I didn't go both Disney and Universal Studio.

Hi Jergens,

I would strongly recommend at least visiting the Imperial Palace, Sensoji Shrine at Asakusa and the Meiji Shrine at Harajuku.

These places are big and beautiful and they have a zen like serenity (except Sensoji shrine) about them. If your trip is involves only the shopping district, you may feel like you are still in Singapore. That's how I felt on my first day.

At the Kaminarimon (Thunder Gate) of Sensoji Shrine, there is a shopping street of over 200 meters, called Nakamise, is worth a visit too for the various Japanese tibits and the carnival feel of it.

Sigh... all these talk of Tokyo, makes me feel like hopping onto a plane and go there now!

sakurasan

Hi Chin Leng

Wow, 5.45am! I definitely find it difficult to wake up at that time! Esp when the sleep is so good and the tatami blanket so comfortable. It was a real shame to miss the market.

I liked Sensoji Temple esp the shopping at Nakamise Street. This is my 2nd visit to the temple and I think I'll go back again shld I visit Tokyo next time. Kamakura has plenty of shops along the likes of Nakamise Street. Hakone was a real disappointment. Everyone tells me that its beautiful but I think it was the wrong time to go for us...coz the trees were still bare and there was hardly any scenery. Boring..boring..boring.

The entire trip for me was abt seeing cherry blossoms.

cakey

Towards the southern part after Yokohama there's a station Kamakura. There's a lot of Jap shrines and temples there quite nice (nicer one usually needs afew dollars of entrance fees). Can spent half a day strolling there.
Then further down from there there's an island Enoshima (same train station name). It's connected to the main island by a bridge. The sunset at the bridge is nice. The waves is huge too at times. Had a nice time strolling and eatting desert at a restaurant there while viewing the sunset

jergens

hello chin leng, thank you! yeah, i will make a trip to see the palace and some shrines ard tokyo, otherwise it'd really be like staying in S'pore!

sakurasan, thank you for your email! take your time, my flight to tokyo is not even confirmed yet!
(I never knew getting free tickets fr my frequent flyer account can be so troublesome!)

Thank you both again!!

whisker

Instead of Hakone, head on to Lake Kawaguchi. We stayed in Mifujien (ryokan). View from the room and onsen was really breathtaking! Mt Fuji looks so near & yet so far. Sigh.... http://www.mifujien.co.jp/home/home.htm

On your way back to Tokyo, drop by Gotemba Premium Outlets. You can even see Mt Fuji from afar! There are simply too many things to buy!! My Japanese colleagues were very amused with us. Heehee....
http://www.premiumoutlets.co.jp/gotemba/

Personally, I think Tokyo DisneyLand is good except the language barrier. The finale was a sight. I especially dig the fireworks. It was better than our NDP's. Also, if budget allows, do stay in Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay (one of Disney's official hotel). The rooms are so luxurious! But their room service ends at 12am.

I miss Japan!

tomidia

Hi pple

Me and my friend is going to Japan at the end of May. Will be going for the ANA 5D Tokyo Special and extend 1 more day on ourselves.

Day 1: Departure from SIN

Day 2: Hakone Tour/ Owakudani Boiling Valley/ Lake Kawaguchi

Day 3: Mt Fuji/ Tokyo Tower/ Asakusa Temple/ Pass by Imperial Palace/ Ginza

Day 4: Tokyo Disneyland

Day 5: F & E (will be staying at Narita Garden Hotel)

Day 6: F & E till departure

Anywhere that I MUST visit for Day 5 & 6? Welcome all advise. Thanks!

fritt

Hi Tomidia, the garden hotel narita is very far from Tokyo City, which is about 1hr 30 mins if you take subway. So in fact, you have only 1 day to explore. I suggest you take the subway to Shinjuku and Shibuya on Day 4. Shinjuku and Shibuya is only 7 mins (by subway) apart. Shinjuku and Shibuya is good for ladies to do some shopping. If not, looking at the beautiful ladies also worth the trip.

On Day 5, you can explore Narita City which is something new I just read while checking where your hotel is. So perhaps you can update us what do they have there after you come back.

zarah

Hi all!! just wondering.. since there are so many must-go places in Japan.. how about the must-try food in Japan? that would be nice too right?
hehe.. I've tried this snack called "xue mei niang" <- suppose to be a japanese name but also chinese characters beside.. in the Shin-Yokohama train station mall few years back.. anyone tried that before?? It is a kind of soft layered cake with real strawberries (there's grape, orange and maybe more now?).. with a layer of glutinous skin "bing pi" on the outside.. and till now, I really missed it!!!!!!!

celyw

I just booked my airtickets (redeem SQ points) to tokyo in Aug. Intend to stay 7 days F&amp;E now looking for cheap accomodation anybody got any recommendation?

celyw

I tried booking House Ikebukuro but they are really fully booked.
so i booked Chang tee instead per nite is 9000 Yen and if paying by credit card still must pay extra 5% total 9450 Yen.

Anyone have other cheaper accomodation near stations to recommend??

sputnik

I stayed at Toyoko Inn (Kabuki Cho) which is abt 10 - 15 mins walk from Shinjuku station when I was in Japan in Apr 04. It cost abt 9000 yen per nite for a double room. The room was pretty nice and quite big (for Japan standards) with attached bathroom. A simple breakfast is also provided. This hotel is part of a chain and this particular hotel was opened recently and is considered as a budget hotel for business travellers.

If you need the website, let me know, as I have it at home. If not, can just go to yahoo and do a serach for this hotel.

celyw

Thank you very much Sputnik.

I will try to search for this hotel in the website 1st. May I know is this hotel very centralised in the sense we are able to go to places easily and are there many shopping and food plcs surrounding this hotel??

Btw, anybody can advise me the cheapest way from Narita Airport to our accomodation?? Thank you.

mini

Celine,

the cheapest way from narita airport to tokyo area is to take Keisei express train. cost ard 1000yen n journey ard an hr. but then Keisei train only stop at Keisei Ueno station. if want to go shinjuku to other places in tokyo have to take JR train within tokyo. can walk from keisei Ueno station to JR Ueno station(nearby). from JR Ueno station it is easily access to places like shinjuku, shibuya etc etc.

celyw

hi mini, i did check out the keisei express train but the website mentioned reserved and unreserved seats so I am worry if i reach the airport then buy tickets will it be difficult to get? And besides the 1000yen also have to pay 920yen for express ticket too...WHY must we buy this express ticket? so total must pay 1920yen per pax for ticket from narita to keisei ueno station only.

Anybody got any experience on this?? please help. Thank you.

mini

celine
checked yahoo japan site n the cost of ride is only 1000yen. it is just a normal train n there is no reserved/unreserved seats. think the one u mentioned is anr kind of express train n the travelling time is slightly shorter. tried coping the japanese words here but too bad it cannot be read. if any problem can seek help at the airport.

celyw

hi mini,

you can read the jap words in yahoo japan ar? i went in but dun understand anything at all. :p

but i checked the transportation japan website that the only train from narita airport to Ueno station is the Keisei line and this is the train i refer to that need to pay another 920Yen for express ticket too...

mini

celine,

i can read some jap words. infact i always go to this site to search for train timing when i was staying in japan. here is the link to site on keisei train from narita airport to keisei. just take note of the first route. the name of the train is stated. think you should be able to understand since mostly are chinese words(kanji).

Click here.

sputnik

Hi Celine,

The hotel is about 10 - 15 mins walk from Shinjuku station, so it is very near the shopping area around Shinjuku station. There are many shopping centers and shops around there

celyw

Hi Chin Leng,

do you think its worth while to visit the Tsukiji Fish Market??

Can we dun go so early like wat you did maybe during noon time for a sushi lunch??

def

Celine ,

The keisei has two kind . Take the express and not the limited express . It so much cheaper .

Tsukiji is recommended . Must eat their Sashimi ...very fresh .

My husband just went there in April . He mention Ueno has guite a lot to see .

I went Tokyo last year with Hokkaido( beautiful winter ) .

celyw

Hi def,

Thank you so much for telling me this info on Keisei. By the way, even if we dun reserved in advance we will have no problem buying tickets then right? You got any idea how much cheaper is the express line??

Ok, I think i will plan to visit Tsukiji to try their infamous sushi and sashimi. The only problem is i scare the market smells so fishy i will throw out food rather take in food. :p

mini

Celine,

The Keisei express cost 1000yen(journey 74min) n then limited express should cost 1920yen(journey an hr). for express train dun have to reserve seats in advance. it is just a normal train similar to our MRT. since u board at narita airport there will sure be seats since it is the first 1 or 2stations. Terminal 1 is the first station n terminal 2 is 2nd station.

if u want to see the selling of fish n walk ard the market then best to go Tsukiji fish market in the early morning. dun have to go so early if want to eat sushi n sashimi only. fyi the sushi there are very ex. 1set of sushi with 7pieces or so cost 2000-3000yen. then the queue v long for some of the more famous shops. but the sushi is very fresh. I been there once and queue for sushsi from 10-1130am. the shops r small n ppl take their own sweet time to eat.

mini

so far have tried sushi at different places within Japan. all their sushi n sashimi are fresh
even those 100yen sushi too. i am going to japan again in mid June for a wk. Going there for business. but dun think will have much time to shop/eat ard.

do eat the Beard PaPa cream puff in Japan. it is yummy n cheaper than Spore. So far i know Shibuya sells. i like the Tendon at Tenya. do look out for those "Fast Food" chain shop selling Tendon. they r cheap n delicious.

celyw

mini, you are really great give me such informative details! Thank you thank you.

wow the sushi at tsukiji so expensive I will also take my own sweet time to savour the food too! :p

why the express ltd journey longer then the normal one?? so funny and even more ex. anyway i will make sure i take the normal one. Can easily find the ticket counters right?

please go there to try out more good food and shopping so that we can benefit from your information.

popie

hi, jus want to find out more about going to japan. i have been watching japan hour and have been very attracted by their hot spring resorts or rest house. i am not too sure wat u call them. they all look so authentic n cosy. any idea which are the more popular hot spring places to go to? are these places expensive? say for about a week, about how much would it cost?

Hi Celine,

It really depends if you like to see different types of seafood being sold in a market. It has stalls selling octopus, giant tuna, shellfish and tanks of live fishes you don't recognise. Tsukiji Market is best known as one of the world's largest fish markets.
However, it is a wet market afterall so expect wet floors with puddles of water.

I went to Tsukiji Fish Market early as I've an afternoon flight to catch. Also, the guide book I have advises to reach the fish market before 8.00 AM. It also says that most Sushi restaurants would be closed by noon.

ginger

Hi Everyone

I am planning my trip to Tokyo next week and have shortlisted some places to go. Seeking yr advice if i am too ambitious to go to all these places.

Day 1 (arrive at 3pm) - Explore around area near hotel
Day 2 - Sensoji Shrine at Asakusa
Day 3 - Meiji Shrine at Harajuku
Day 4 - Tsukiji Fish Market, Imperial Palace + East Garden
Day 5 (leaving in the evening) - Rikugien

I also need advice on the train service and tickets. Which is the most affordable?

Many thanks.
Ginger