Japan trip - where to go

zenn

Hi Ah ger,

Its a how many days package and any idea roughly how much would it cost for whole trip? Helpin a gf to find out as she is doing her budgeting...

sakurasan

Hi Lilacz

It all depends on how much of Tokyo you would want to cover. I think either this thread or another Japan thread would postings on itineraries for Tokyo.

I spent 9 days in Tokyo in April - I visited almost all the tourist attractions in Tokyo itself (except Tsukiji fish market and Disneyland) and I also took day trips to Kamakura (highly recommended), Hakone and Nikko (also recommended). Without the day trips, I think 5 days should be sufficient to cover most of Tokyo.

littlegirl

hi Zenn

Mine is a 7D5N, cos night dept flight considered a night le.

Depends where u go. Dec price is usually abt $100 - 150 more than UP. Then diff agencies diff pricing. Ananda's is strictly helping ANA to sell the pkg, nt just taking their carrier & design their itinerary. The norm price was $1848 +++, extn subject to availability & confirmation.

However I will b doing an extn of another 5 nights in Tokyo myself then we will c wat we can do there. Will just do our own exploring.

zenn

Hi ah ger,

Thanks for your info. So how much would you est per person for the whole trip (include extention, food n accomodation)?

ppgroom

are the tour packages include fully guided tour? quite concerned cos i have no sense of direction keke... pls advise.

littlegirl

Hi Zenn

We set aside $6k for both. C if we can really manage it or nt. Our pkg is ard $3.7k, w/ 90% meals then w/ tour guide.

Oh yes, u hv to set aside approx $7 a day for the tour leader + guide + driver. For the 7 days = $42 x 2 (ur hb) = $84.

Then ur own extn is another $$ lor.

Me also no sense of direction, so I went to Jpn Embassy to collect more info on Tokyo, then moving ard in Jpn & etc. Frm there u can get a clearer pic.

They r located @ 16 Nassim Road, right @ the back of the old DFS @ Tanglin. Their opening hrs r frm 8.30 - 12.30pm, then 1.30 - 4pm. I think.

littlegirl

Zenn:
I set aside $6k & may nt really spend $6k or may even exceed. My trip is 7D5N, then the other 5N on extn lor. Initialy part already provided 7788, the nx few days maybe wun lor.

1 thing, I m nt like b4, like to shop so much.

ppgroom

Hi ah ger,

you mentioned tat your package is $3.7k... is that PER PERSON??? or for both you and your husband?

what do you mean by w/90% meals?

so yours is a fully guided tour package?

so paiseh for so much qns... really hope you can advise...

littlegirl

PPgroom

Pkg $3.7k - is both lah, eac person I wun go liao, so exp.

90% meals meaning those days when u r @ theme parks they wun give u lunch lor, tats y they can state 100% meals.

Yeah, during the 7D5N is a guided tour, then we r doing our own extn. $3.7k yet to incl our extn, bt tats a separate issue.

Btw gals, if u r gng there on F&E or own extn, u can visit tis website for info - get those day passes for unlimited rides, more worth it.

www.jreast.co.jp

ppgroom

Hi Ah ger,

MANY THANKS!!

just one more qn, for your guided trip, you need to buy entry ticket to the theme parks? i.e. not included as part of package?

littlegirl

PPgroom:
happens tat the pkg frm Ananda all already bao ka liao.

usually pkgs frm Chan or SA, they hv the normal pkg - scenic pkg, then when they r @ Osaka, if u wanna opt for Universal Studio (scenic pkg is Shinsabashi - shopping), then u pay $100 xtra. Tis one they nv earn, just tat they r helping u to buy the tics.

Feel free to ask me qns, shld I b of any help i will b more than glad to ans u.

ppgroom

so nice of you

because i'm also planning to go Japan for my honeymoon sometime in Jan 05. Japan shd be still in winter season then... (wanted to go to a cold country

but i wonder if japan's still fun in winter?

littlegirl

I think shld b fun. Every season has their fun part. Just tat u wun buy many clothings only.

Bt then again, since u know Japan is so exp, u wouldn't bear to spend the $$ on their clothings right? Unless u hv no budget lor.

Jan 05, still cold. U gng F&E or tour? Can look out for the Natas Fair on 24 - 26 Sep I think. The website www.natas.org.sg if I m nt wrong.

ppgroom

I'm gonna go on guided tour, cos I have no sense of direction... and somemore now got language problem hee hee...

Yeah, will definitely check out he NATAS Fair...

chaoahbeng

I went to japan about 3 months ago. Just basically book hotel and go wherever our feet brings us to. It was a wonderful trip for us. Dun worry about the language problem, it's not a problem for us even tho we couldn't speak japanese.

ppgroom

Hi ah ger,

my AD's in Jan 05 lor... thus plan honeymoon to be straight after AD.

Hi Ah Beng,

You're probably right... but I dun wan to have the hassle of looking for places of interest to go to when on honeymoon lor... let organisers 'bao ka liao' easier lor... not so hectic too.

littlegirl

hi hi Ah Beng
We wanted to relax, dun wanna crack our brains too much, so just follow the coach lor....... Wait till our mind relaxed liao then we start to explore ourselves during the extns.

PPgroom:
Ok, no wonder lah........

^5, Same thinking as me. Save the trouble....... after all the brain-stormings for wedding preps, it's time for relaxation.

littlegirl

PPgroom:
Ha ha same tots..........

Food arh - my pkg covers 7788 liao, except during those theme park days then lunch bo bao lor.

I heard frm my frens there are some places w/ reasonable price for Bento sets. As I hv nt even smell my HM yet, so I din take note of wat they said. Closer to date then i will ask them again lor. They said price is ard the same like $10+/- for a Bento set leh.

lafleur

i have been to japan a few times and loved it! yeah, if you wanna save on your meals, you can always buy bento sets from those 7-11 stores, the cashier will heat up the bento for ya. the selections were great and taste wise, quite tasty but don't eat it too often. dun forget to try the Onsen aka Hot springs!

bon voyage!

lafleur

hi gals, no problem, glad that i can help. it is just that i get all excited when i hear japan coz i always had wonderful experiences there! another thing, you can always get food like bento sets, pastries, sushi rolls(if you are lucky) at a good discount after 6pm, only at the supermarket! if at the bus or train station, you can also try getting those hot food like potato croquette, pogo sticks at those vending machines, you will be surprise how good they taste! they are like 50 to 100 yen, very cheap!

ppgroom

Hi lafleur,

i'm a guy

yeah, it'll be my first time in japan, so it really is an exciting yet anxious feeling kekeke... so where did you change your YENs? any good ones to recommend? another thread says that the one at The Arcade or the one at SunTec (opposite Watson). wonder how true??

mapleleaves

so nice to find thi thread...

hi ahger.. actually me same AD as you.. was the same as you.. in a dilemma initially, as to which agency to sign up with.. in the end i sigend up with Chan Bros.. also dunno why hehhee.. we missed the ananda travel fair..
so we went to the SA and Chan Fair the wk after... in the end still signed up with Chan cos the Takayama seems interesting.. but seems like my package more ex as you.. i'll be departing on the 22nd Dec!

littlegirl

ahblur:
No leh, the day we went for the Chan Bro's big fair was the same as Ananda, they had it @ Baraclava.

Takayama - well,nvm lah, it's ok lor. Stay there also c the mountain only, nothing else. $ contraint also, then no pt bcos of tat only we pay like $300 more. So it's ok lor.

I hv nt heard if it's a cfm dep liao boh, hopefully it is

U same AD as me - so qiao. U having any dinner? Ware? Who's ur BS? Got pics to show? Me having my PS 2mr.

lafleur

hi PPgroom, sorry about that!

i always go to the money changer at Lucky Plaza, across from OSIMS, 1st floor, if i can remember correctly. they gave good rates before but now i am not too sure. you can try that place if you are in that area.

littlegirl

another $$-changer u can go & search ard is Chinatown. there is tis standalone booth beside the escalator near the old Tai Wah Cinema there? I also dunno hw to tell u the exact location. The rates are quite gd.

Otherwise ur neighbouring areas shld b ok too.....

I can't change yet as I m nt sure if my trip has been cfm. Skali change liao can't go then I waste my $$. It will b gd to change $$ during off-peak season, ie non-sch hols cos as the date draws nearer to Oct/ Nov/ Dec, rates sure drop.

ppgroom

ah ger,

you're right... shd change only when nearer to departure date, now i just scouting ard first hehe.

Thanks for the tons of info!!

mapleleaves

hi ah ger!

apologies for my late reply.. yup.. me same AD as you.. but me having lunch instead of dinner...
so during the day time will be more rush hehe..

so you suggest that we shoudl change our money now since it's offpeak?

littlegirl

hi ahblur

I feel tat so long as ur trip's dep date is cfm, u can change ur currency to avoid any changes. Maybe dun change 2 much, bit by bit, so tat u know whether did they dip or up?

Tats hw I feel lah - tat peak period their currency xchange wil go up, hence we need to use more $$ to xchange for theirs. Holiday season mah - who doesn't wanna earn more?

ppgroom

Just wondering if this package which i saw at NATAS really at its discounted price already? And also whether the places are really nice? Here's the itinerary. It's a 7D Scenic Delight package:

Day 1: S'pore to Tokyo (1 day wasted as expected)

Day 2: Tokyo to Osaka
Go to temple, some shopping street etc, then evening take domestic flight to Osaka

Day 3: Osaka to Kyoto to Lake Biwa
Visit some castle thingie, to a major shopping belt, more temples and overnight stay at Lake Biwa

Day 4: Lake Biwa to Takayama
Visit town with traditional houses, visit Matsuri underground Museum.

Day 5: Takayama to Mt Fuji
Visit a fresh market, then to a Ramen House, then to a winery to sample Jap wines, then to a Wasabi Farm then go for a hot spring bath and overnight stay at Mt Fuji. (it states that there'll be a Nabe dinner, anyone knows what's a Nabe dinner??)

Day 6: Mt Fuji to Tokyo
To Disneyland (whole day)

Day 7: Tokyo to S'pore (another day wasted)

All these cost S$1929 per person (inclusive of airport tax). Is it worth it?

littlegirl

PPGroom:

Sorry to reply late.

Frm wat I rem, yes tis is the special price. @ Osaka if u wanna go USJ, must +$100 more. I think the pkg I got frm Chan tat time was slightly higher. Each person comes up to abt $2.2k.

I dun think $1929 is incl all the taxes cos the tax is abt $80, so if tis is a nett price, which means th pkg is $1840 per pax which is cheap.

Did u book it?

ppgroom

Hi ah ger and ah blur,

my package does not include Universal Studio. Only DisneyLand.

and my price of $1929 is confirm include airport taxes cos i already booked and paid deposit liao. my package is $1848 without airport tax.

my tentative departure date is 16 Jan (Sat), you leh ah blur?

ppgroom

also, i think yours slightly more ex is cos yours is during peak season, especially since your date hits X'mas...

ublur

hi pple,

can i join in here? I will be going to japan in Nov, free and easy.. had jus bought my air ticket and train pass.. Yet to book the hotels or Inn yet.. now stil doing research on where to go in japan..

mapleleaves

hi PPgroom,

yeah mine is chan bros, without the universal studio as well.. i signed up during their own travel fair held at suntec then...
but so sad to know the price has dropped so much... wonder if mine has dropped hahah.. :p