Japan trip - where to go

freespirit

Hi Sputnik,

I also understand from the earlier discussion here that says CTC service is bad but the tour is good.

Their Apr package is out and for 7 days central cost S$1888 (SQ) with daily departure until 9 apr.
It will also cover 90% of the meals.

So if anyone knows of any better package than this, please let me know ok.

askabride

Hi Sputnik,
I'm also interested in Namho pkg and have checked them out liaoz. Both Namho and CTC have reasonable px but namho ones seem cheaper leh...but itinery seemed similar:p
So have you already booked with Namho?
So your coll who went with Namho last time has got all good comments on them? Food/accomodation/services of tourist guide and driver? Care to share more? Thx!

sputnik

Hi askabride,

Yeah, i was checking out the different 5 days packages for Japan (more than 5 days is beyond our budget. The 7 days packages jump by a large amount compared to the 5 days one, altho it is only 2 more days, but maybe it is due to domestic flight?) and Nam Ho seems the most reasonable in terms of places covered and accomodation wise.

I have made a tentative booking with Nam Ho for early Apr, and most probably will extend for another 2 days. My colleague who went last Sept on the same tour (she paid $999 which was the same promotion then) said that the tour was pretty good, and the accomodation and food was also good. She compared with another colleague who went to Japan on ANA tour at around the same time (thik also for 5 days) which was much more expensive and seems that the Nam Ho one was better. Also, I called Nam Ho a few times to check on their tour, and they are rather helpful, not like some travel agencies who never pick up the phone (was kept waiting by Ken-Air for abt 10 mins before I gave up!).

askabride

Hi Sputnik,
How did you make a tentative booking? You'll still need to put a deposit with them right? But where else is the flexibility for such tentative booking?
Thx

sputnik

Hi askabride,

Basically u can just call them and give them your name and how many seats you need. Becos for tour group, when they have sufficient people then they can confirm the tour is on. So now just need to give them your name and no need to put deposit yet.

zuzu

Im planning a trip with hubby to Japan in mid-April. Still have cherry blossom then right?

Will most probably book from Chan brother, 7D tour, cost abt $2288. But the trip doesnt include Mt Fuji. Also I would like to visit Sanrio Puroland (Hello Kitty house is there). Anyone know if i can book a local tour to these 2 places if I extend say another day on my own? Or can I go on my own to these 2 places in 1 day?

zuzu

Puroland is in Tokyo (Tama City). Mt Fuji near Tokyo??

43335.gif

a2002

I think by mid-April, cherry blossom no more already. End-March is safe to catch the blossom. However, the blossom is so precious that it only last a few days and it varies from year to year. Last year, cherry blossom was late, so it was in mid-April. Usual is end-Mar to early April.

zuzu

huh so short? i thought it lasts for the whole of spring. it's too late to plan for end March trip already....

freespirit

Hi zuzu,

You can still make it for early apr tour. I have booked 7D central Tokyo tour with CTC for $1888 (SQ) which will includes Mt Fuji. However I am not so sure about the Hello Kitty store.

They have daily departure till 9 Apr, so you still probably can catch cherry blossom.

zuzu

hi freespirit

then ctc is cheaper. but i have to book from chan brother cos i have a cash voucher to utilise. the chan brother package include most of the meals, except first and last day where only one meal is provided. no mt Fuji but got another mt. itinary can be found on the website actually. and travel on nippon airway, not SQ.

am planning to fly early april instead now. hope to catch the cherry blossom.

zuzu

actually im also waiting for the NATA fair on 19 March before I booked. Sure got vacancies then one right?

babbit

I think u guys can still catch the cherry blossom in April. Just came back from Japan last week. Still in winter, can still see snow at Kyoto and Hakone.

blueberry_gal

Except for Mt. Fuji and Disneyland, personally i find that there is nothing much in Tokyo. It is really a very very expensive city, apart from London.

Try spending more days in Kansai area (more attractions, historic temples and shrines, castles etc...)and should you need to get souvenirs, buy when you are in Kansai. Things in Tokyo are 20-40% more expensive. From Kobe, travel down to Himeji if time allows.

cathy

Jus want to share it her for those who intend to compare prices during the Natas fair.

I've booked 7D5N with tradewinds by SQ for $1838 after discount. Will be visiting Mt Fuji, Disneyland, Universal studio.... going to Osaka, Kyoto, Toyohashi, Hakone and Tokyo

cutiechar

just to share abit..I was there in Jan this year and its real cold..I still can see the snow on the ground..
I went Mt Fuji and it was covered with snow..so nice!I was quite lucky tat time as I managed to went up to fifth station, 2022m high.so quite nice scenery and cold!if you travel in Tokyo or in the expressway, Mt Fuji can be seen easily, its like the moon...
overall, i would prefer the rural area than Tokyo coz Tokyo is something like orchard and the main thing is that we can see the Japanese in the streets..so cool! I oso went to Rainbow bridge where the "Long vacation" series is filmed..
Try Lake Kawaguchi if there is a chance..so beautiful! I spend a night there and my room is facing Mt Fuji. btw the disneyland is fun and so cute.
btw, I booked with Chan brother for abt $1700 for 5 days with ANA and most meals are covered.

haf fun to those who are going there soon!

cathy

For those who has been to japan, can share with me do they accept VISA for credit cards? Was told that most of the shops accept MASTERCARD instead. Thanks!

fizz

Hi all, I will be going to japan with hubby in early april. he is planning the trip and according to him, we are going to tokyo, kyoto, osaka, and maybe kobe too. And Hakanoe as well. It's a 10 days trip and we managed to get the hotel at mostly less than 10000 yen per nite at most place. Just want to check if it's too expensive. Managed to put together a 10 day package at around SGD1600 perperson including airfare, accomodation, and JRpass..excluding meals. How about those who have been to Japan b4, is this a good deal that he has put together?

pepsi

May I know if you all have ever tried the hotspring at Japan? Heard that those who go for the hotspring must be naked?!! I think i will have to forgo the hotspring if this is really the case. Or anyone managed to sneak in with swimming costume?

folic

Hi Pepsi,

yes, you will need to be naked. Depending on the hotel, there are some that have family pool, which means you can go in with your hubby/bf/frens privately but it is rare.

The usual process is this- You will go into a changing room section where you will find baskets for your clothes. You will likely be given a small towel, like those "good morning' white color type. After you change, you can use that small towel to cover your front and go to the shower area, where you sit on stools and shower/wash yourself. Then you can go into the hotspring to soak. Usually, there is a hot pool, which you go in first and then the cold pool.

It takes a while to get used to. After a while, you will be use to it, cos even the old ladies with sagging breasts are doing it and everyone just goes around minding their own business.

If you are staying in a hote/ryokan with hotspring, then there woudl be fewer people. The Japanese usually go out for sightseeing and then come back to the hotel around 5plus to enjoy the hotspring before dinner.So, if you go to the hotel one at about 4+, there are usually nobody there

Try it once... it is very therapeutic! I don't think they allow swimming costumes and you will probably attract a lot more stares if you wear one.

folic

pepsi

Hi folic,
thks for your detailed explanation. really appreciate it....hai...still some reservations about this though = )

zuzu

hi pepsi

just came back from my japan trip. not sure abt the hotel hotspring cos i did not go to the hotel's. but the one that i went to in Hakone have 2 types: one is fully naked (call Utopia), the other side can wear swimsuit and is unisez (call Yunnesan).

sputnik

Just got back from Japan last Thurs, really enjoyed the trip. Cherry blossoms were in bloom when I got there, very pretty. When I left, they were starting to fall. Tour guide says that they only bloom for 10 days.

Hot spring was fun and very relaxing, was quite lucky when I went, had the whole hot spring to myself. Don't think so much about being naked when you go, just sit back and relax. Anyway you can being a small towel in, so just use it to cover your front. Think the other ladies in my tour group was quite shy, so I ended up being the only one who went. When I told them I had the whole place to myself during breakfast the next day, thik they regret not trying!

Now is strawberries season in Japan, so pls try the strawberries when you are there. There are so perfect and taste yummy. Oh yes, if you are in the city, do go to their department stores' food basement (something like what we have at Takashimaya). They are very generous in giving out samples, so you can try the different kinds of food they are selling!! Along the roads, they also give out samples (collected lots of tissue packets and even alcoholic drinks)

Din really buy much in Japan, everything is so pretty but expensive. Me and hubby spent $3K, which includes the 5D3N tour package plus 2 days extension on our own.

pepsi

Hi Sputnik,
really "xian mu ni" for being able to see Cherry blossoms. Is it very cold in spring? I am going to Hokkaido end May, think it is also spring then.

sputnik

Hi Pepsi,

Nope, was not very cold when I was there, except for the 5th Station at Mt Fuji, it was really cold then. One of the days I was there it was drizzling, so was a bit colder, but for the rest of the days when I was in Tokyo, can walk around wearing a thin cardigan.

But not sure abt the weather in Hokkaido, thik it is quite far from Tokyo?

Heard that Hokkaido is nice, do update us on your trip when u get back. And do try the hot spring!!

pepsi

Hi Sputnik, zuzu,
Thks for your inputs. Hmm will try to go for the hot spring...quite stupid hor, if go all the way to japan & never try the hot spring.
Yep will update u all about hokkaido when i m back...but i am joining package tour so may not be as exciting or interesting as DIY kind.

zuzu

hi pepsi

i joined a package tour too n extended one day myself. tho packaged, i find the overall trip very very enjoyable. one good thing abt being in a tour grp is u wont miss out the main attractions, n can really relax. so enjoy.

sancai_shi

I'm planning for a Japan trip this yr. Since I alady miss the cherry blossom, which is a better mth to go? Sep the Autumn season?

Still deciding to go for F&E or join tour gp with own extensions. Hubby & me hv never been to Japan so any advice for me?

I shd go Kyoto rite? My fren told me is very nice.

lollipop

Sancai,

Autumn is the best season in Japan, I heard. We went during late Oct and the maple leaves were starting to turn red already. It was a beautiful sight.

Go to Kyoto. There are many maple and sakura trees there. If you are lucky, you'll get to see the geishas too

mini

Sancai,

the best time to see red leaves in kyoto is during first two wks of nov. think mid nov is the best if i m not wrong. but have to depend on the weather. if u r going to kyoto, can go to nearby osaka, nara, kobe etc.

sarahtan

As far as I know - the only tour package that cover Sanrio Puroland is the 7D Honshu by ANA First choice holiday.

Hope this helps (for the Hello kitty fans especially!)

However, there isn't any that covers the Harmonyland (the outdoor park). Anyone who know of any tour package that goes to this park, let me know please. Thanks.

fizz

Hi Sancai_shi

My husband and I jus came bac fm Japan...we did it F&E...jus a pt to note if u r goin F&E...dun bring too much tinks wif u...jus a piece of luggage will do...as taxis r very expensive in Japan...u'll spend a fair bit of yr time lugging yr stuff to subways and train stations...some of which may not hv escalators...oso...if u r planning to travel fm one area to another often...such as tokyo to kyoto to osaka, etc ...u may find it more economical to buy a JR pass to travel by the shinkansen (bullet train)...jus need to do yr sums...and yes...the strawberries r so sweet now...

sancai_shi

Thanks for yr valuable feedback. Now still deciding to go autumn or wait another yr .... still prefer cherry blossoms than maple leaves.

lollipop,
U went wiz tour gp or F&E? What is Geishas?

Fizz,
Can share wiz me how many days u went? What places did u go & how much u spent in total?

lollipop

Sancai,

We went with SA Tours. At tt time, our Japanese language was so-so only.

I will refer to geishas as entertainers. They perform various cultural arts at banquets and other events. They wear this really thick make-up, their faces are white. They wear their finest kimonos, and they adorn their hair with pretty accessories.

73810.jpg

The one I took photo with, she wore this red kimono, and she was sooo polite when I asked to take a photo with her. Very pretty.. see if I can get tt picture to be scanned..

If you wanna see the sakura, you should be there around March to April. It's warmer than Autumn though.

fizz

Hi Sancai_shi

We went to Tokyo, Hakone, Kyoto, Nara, Osaka, Himeji, Kobe , Osaka and back to Tokyo, in tat order within 10 days...may sound quite packed for some pple...but we found it alrite...

Nara, Himeji and Kobe were day trips...all within less than an hour's shinkansen ride from the main cities...Tokyo was full of life...Hakone was a beautiful resort area and we were staying in a hotel facing the lake...and dun forget onsen (hotspring) there...Nara was a small town where deers roam freely (my husband got butt by a hornless deer :eek:p)...Himeji was jus to view the Himeji Castle which was beautiful...Kobe was a port town with an European favour...we wanted to try Kobe beef...Kyoto was where I went geisha chasing...too cheapo to buy a tix and watch the performance...felt like paparazi...osaka was mainly shopping and food...

To view sakuras...u need to check out the bloom time for diff parts of Japan...I tink early April wld b best...

jergens

hello everyone,

I'd like to get some advise from those of you here who have travelled to Tokyo & its surrounds.

I intend to travel F&E to Japan for 10days in the last 2 weeks of July. I know its going to be hot and humid like in S'pore, but no choice coz that's the only time i can go.
Besides, i am now pregnant and i dun want to spend $ buying winter clothes.

Back to the topic, can any of you pls help with the following queries?

1) What's there to see / do in Tokyo other than shopping and disneyland?

2) What's there to see in disneysea? Since i am pregnant, i won't be able to go on most of the rides.

Is disneysea comparable to the disneylands in USA?

3) Any single day-tours to recommend?
I read so much abt Kyoto Hokkaido etc but i have no idea where they are. My hub and i intend to stay in the same hotel in Tokyo throughout the 10days, since i won't be able to help him with the luggage etc. DUn think i can do the strenuous activities like trekking or even try the hot springs (heard its no good for baby).

4) Is 10 days for Tokyo & day-trips too long? Should i shorten my stay?
I dun intend to rush from one place to another.

5) Getting to / fro Narita Airport
Anyone has the website to the limousine bus service?

Thank you everyone!! Thanks so much!!

jergens

oops, one more query:

6) How is the weather at night in July? Will i be needing a sweater?
How bout at Mt Fuji (or the other day-trip recommendations?)
I will be wearing mainly capri and yoga pants.

Thank you again!

zuzu

hi jergens

im trying to help as much i could.

1. other than shopping and disneyland, you should go to Hakone for mt fuji and hotspring. day trip can be easily arranged with the local tour grp form your hotel. Also u can go visit tokyo tower or roppongi hill to see the night view of tokyo. other than that can visit some temple like asasuka temple, meiji shrine. Other than Tokyo, I propose you visit Kyoto too, very nice place. (You should watch Jacelyn Tay in this week's Xiu Chu Zhen Wo, think she will be introducing Kyoto)

2. Didnt go Disneysea, heard it was quite boring.

3. Kyoto is on the west of Tokyo, very near Osaka. It was the capital of Japan before Tokyo came abt. Hokkaido is very northen of Japan, too out for you to travel there if you want to concentrate on central Japan.
You can book day tour at most hotel I think. or go to the website I recommended before to check :

www.japan-guide.com

4. 10 days alone in Tokyo may be too long, you should move around a little. Joining a tour grp might help but then it may be too hectic for u since u are pregnant.

5. Take a Airport Limouine (a bus actually) from the hotel is easy to arrange. Cost abt 3000 yen per pax (approx S$48). bt 2 hrs from Tokyo.

jergens

hi zuzu

thank you!!! you have been great help!

Regarding Kyoto:
-how far is it fr tokyo? i presume we'll need to get onto the jap rail to get there right?
- what is there to see in Kyoto?

Thanks again!

zuzu

hi jergen

Kyoto is not near Tokyo. I just thought it's a place you should go. I went with tour grp and travel by couch most of the time, cant remember how long it takes cos stopped at a few places in between. You can go by bullet train but im not sure how long the journey, u can refer to the link below.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2018.html

as for places to visit in Kyoto, you can refer to the link below. Personally I really like Kiyomizu temple cos of the scenary and the 2 long lows of shops below it. Beautiful.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2158.html

pepsi

I also think u should go to kyoto since 10 days is to long to stay in just Tokyo. Kyoto is a place with that is both tradition and modern...its a dainty place, cannot describe, just relaxing and a bit "zen" kind of place. There are many temples there. I went there twice, in May and Nov, esp nice in Nov with autumn leaves.

jergens

thanks for your contributions!
any idea how much it will cost me to get to / fro Kyoto on a bullet train?

I presume you're both referring to it as a day-trip right?

I read fr earlier posts that the Japan rail pass costs S$500+, so expensive!

jergens

angelia: i read from earlier postings that you stayed in Grand House Chang Tee. Is this place far away fr the train station, approx how many minutes walk? How about food joints, any places available within walking distance?

jergens

Hi Cat / Tsubane:

I read that you stayed in House Ikebukuro; did you have any difficulties booking it?
I sent them an email to book (2+ mths in advance) but they are already fully booked!

i wonder if its true ....

my friend also stayed at this place and she says its very good coz its just 3mins walk to train station and alot of food places all within walking distance.

thank you!

jergens

angelia / tsubane:
my first choice of accommodation is house ikebukuro. If its not available, then no choice i will stay at Chang Tee house.

The good thing abt the chang tee house is that they accept credit card reservations. So i thot maybe i will continue to check with house ikebukuro until the day before my departure. if its avail, then at most just forfeit one night's room rates penalty at chang tee house.

Heard from my friend that house ikebukuro is better coz its clean and more convenient, tho she has never stayed at chang tee house before.
so angelia, i'm counting on you for more info on chang tee house!

thank you!

Hi Jergens,

It really depends on your preference. 10 days may be sufficient to stay at Tokyo with a short excursion out of Tokyo.

<center>
91419.jpg
</center>

<center>
91420.jpg
</center>

<center>
91421.jpg
</center>

My intended F&amp;E itienery was as follows:

Day 1: Odaiba
Day 2: Imperial Palace, Yasukuni Shrine and Ginza
Day 3: Sensoji Shrine at Asakusa, Akihabara
Day 4: Meiji Shrine at Harajuku, Harajuku, Shibuya and Shinjuku
Day 5: Nikko
Day 6: Tsukiji Fish Market in the morning.

Comments:
Odaiba highlights: Tokyo bay, Tokyo rainbow bridge, Fuji Television broadcast centre observatory, Decks Tokyo Beach complex (shopping), Palette Town (Itallian Renaissance shopping mall) etc.

Ginza: Sony Building, Muji Yurakucho Store, Toy Park.

Akihabara: To me, not really interesting as it is only a shopping area for electronic goods. The items are not really cheaper due to the current exchange rate.

Harajuku, Shibuya and Shinjuku: Each of these places can take a day by itself.

Harajuku: Singapore's Herren is loosely based on Harajuku. However, Harajuku shops along Omote Sando are much classier, trendier, sharper shop deco &amp; designs and exudes more youthful attitude. The shops along the side street is better, in my opinion. I only managed to walk along Meiji Dori towards Shibuya.

Shibuya: If you've watched the movie "Lost in Translation", this is where you'll find the giant Dino walking advertisement featured in the movie.

Shinjuku: Takashimaya Times Square (10 floors of shopping), Takashimaya Times Square Annex (9 floors of Kinokuniya) and Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office. However, take note that Takashimaya and the Government office is on different side (East vs West) of Shinjuku.

Nikko: Require about 3 hours of travelling. Didn't manage to go due to time constraint. However, the view and scenery supposely splendid.

Tsukiji fish market: One of the world's largest fish market. Supposedly whatever in the sea, can be found here. However, would suggest that you skip this place as it is dangerous for pregnant women as the floors are slippery wet and the scooters, trucks are busy speeding around. Really not recommended for pregnant ladies.

All the palace, temples and shrine mentioned above are definitely worth a visit.

There are many ways of travelling in Tokyo. Mainly by JR East or the subways. I prefer the subways as they are less crowded during non-peak hours and the stations are usually closer to where we visit. However, expect to walk a lot as the transfer can be far and some of the stations need to climb many flights of steps. Remember to keep left if you are stationery on the escalators.

JR East was quite crowded most of the time, espeically JR Shinjuku station, totally chaotic.

For planning of subway travel route, I rellied heavily on the map available at:

http://www.tokyometro.jp/network/pdf/rosen_eng.pdf

Better to print a copy for your trip as this is big and clear. Try to get a copy with the Japanese wordings as well coz the stations will not have English words when you buy the tickets.

Personally, I would skip Disney Japan as Disney is not really a product of Japan. I would suggest Studio Ghibli Museum if you are fan of Totoro, Kiki delivery's service, Laputa, Princess Mononoke etc. You'll need to book the tickets from the Singapore JTB offices two weeks prior to your visit.

Tip:
1. Peak hours for subways and JR: 7-9am, 5-8pm.
2. If you've problem ordering food in restaurants, try speaking in Mandarin as you may find Chinese service staff there.
3. Try to avoid taxi as it is costly.
4. Usually, only big departmental stores accept credit card.
5. Bright lights at night are beatiful for Ginza, Shibuya and Shinjuku.

For references:
1. www.japan-guide.com
2. www.jnto.go.jp
3. www.nausicaa.net/miyazaki/museum/warren.html (Stuido Ghibli Museum info)
4. www.limousinebus.co.jp/e/ (Airport Limousine Bus)