Japan trip - where to go

Hi Ginger,

For travelling in Tokyo, I would suggest using their subway and JR-East Yamanote line. However, you would find most of the places you are going accessible by subway which is usually cheaper too. Some places are more accessible by the JR line.

Where would you be staying? I may be able to give you more appropriate suggestion I know your area of stay.

For the map of their subway lines, pleas click on this link:

http://www.tokyometro.jp/network/pdf/rosen_eng.pdf

It would be good if you can get hold of a guide book which will tell you which line and subway stations are close to your place of visit.

Print out the articles of the places from this online guide,

http://www.japan-guide.com/

It'll show you the line to take and station to alight.

Day 1: Ok.

Day 2: You may like to inlcude an additional place of visit in case you still have time after Asakusa. I would suggest Ameyoko at JR Ueno station. Else if you finish Sensoji Shrine early, it may be good to explore more of Asakusa which I didn't do.

Day 3: Include shopping and sight-seeing in Harajuku's Omotesando, sometimes refered to as Tokyo's Champs-Elysees. It is a broad avenue that starts just outside of Harajuku Station and in front of the entrance of Meiji Shrine.

Harajuku's main attraction is the Takeshita Street, a narrow and busy pedestrian street featuring various small stores.

Day 4: Ok.

Day 5: Should be ok.

For me, I bought the tickets on the daily basis from the vending machines. Hope my message helps.

ginger

Hi Chin Leng

Many many thanks for your reply, advice and recommendations
. I really appreciate it.

I have visited www.japan-guide.com and printed out the nec stuff. I also have the copy of the Tokyo Metro Guide ready.

I shall buy tickets on a daily basis from the vending machines as suggested. The tickets are called Passnet right?

I am staying at Royal Park Hotel at Shiodome, E19 on the Japan Metro Guide. Looks like i can also visit Ginza Plaza which is pretty near.

Ginger

ginger

Hi Chin Leng

I just visited the japan guide and read about Ameyoko at JR Ueno station. Definitely an interesting place to explore.

Many thanks.

Hi Ginger,

Now that I know where you are staying, you may want to consider visiting Odaiba on your first day since it is so near your hotel.

You can take the Yurikamome line at Shiodome station and alight at Daiba station. Take a look at the Yurikamome line map at

http://www.yurikamome.co.jp/english/index.php

View the the Rainbow bridge during the afternoon, evening and night. It'll give you a different look.

Odaiba is a very modern place with newly built buildings and architecture. You can shop till you drop if at the Decks Tokyo Beach Complex. It houses many restaurants and trendy shops.

If possible, you may want to walk to Palette Town. You'll recognise the big Ferris Wheel which is built next to it. Inside Palette Town, there is an Itallian Renaissance shopping mall.

If you are a fan of Totoro, you may want to go one level down and you'll find a Totoro speciality shop. It has this huge Totoro soft toy that costs about S$1000! It also has this Cat-bus that children can play inside.

However, I'm a bit ambivalent about visiting Odaiba on the first day. You'll probably feel you are still in Singapore.

Odaiba is actually more appreciated after visiting other parts of Tokyo. You'll notice the significant difference of Odaiba compared to most places of Tokyo.

However, looking at your schedule, Odaiba seems to be the best place to visit on your first day.

If you like Muji, you may want to visit the 3 storey Muji store at Ginza Itchome (Y19) station. You can travel from Shiodome (E19) and tranfer at Tsukishima (E16) to Tsukishima (Y21) of Yurakucho line. Most shops and shopping centres closes at 8 PM but this Muji store close at 9 PM, if I remember correctly.

Passnets are like stored value cards, I think. I don't know if you can get a refund on the remaining value if you can't finish using the card before you leave Japan. So it may be a good idea to just buy the 1000 denomination. Take note that passnet can only be used on subway lines operated by Toei and Tokyo Metro. You can't use passnet on the Yurikamome line when you go Odaiba since it is not operated by the Toei nor Tokyo Metro.

For me, I bought regular tickets from the vending machines daily. I also didn't buy unlimited travel day passes. When I was there, my total travel to-and-fro fare each day was less than the cheapest priced day passes.

When you are trasferring lines, look for the transfer gate/exit usually marked by orange marking.

I wish you a good and enjoyable trip in Japan. Please remember to share with us your Tokyo experience!

ginger

Dear Chin Leng

Many thanks once again.
U definitely helped a lot more in my planning for my trip.

I will definitely share my Tokyo experience.

Ginger

celyw

Dear Chin Leng,

Thnx for your info on Tsukiji fish market, I think I will include it in my Tokyo trip since we cannot find such market in Singapore definitely will be an interesting sight besides its fishy smell. :p

By the way, I understand you stayed in Ikebukuro too during your trip to tokyo recently. May I know how you transfer from airport to your hotel in ikebukuro?? Still trying to find out the mode of transport available thou some of the ladies and mini had given me very good information.

Hi Celine,

I took the Airport Limosine service which stops at the doorstep of my place of stay. This makes it a natural choice of my mode of transport from airport to Ikebukuro.

Hi Bubble,

While I was in Tokyo, I did more window-shopping and hardly any buying. I've got a feeling stuffs are not cheaper than Singapore due to the exchange rate. I also didn't buy anything in Muiji but they do have more selection than here.

I guess in Tokyo, you would only buy the things that you like but can't it find here.

ginger

Hi Chin Leng

I am back from Tokyo. It was a very tiring yet enjoyable trip. I visited the old and new Tokyo basically covered all the big towns during my 5D4N trip.

Here's what I covered:
1st day (arrived in the evening)
- Shiodome = Tokyo Tower and Shiodome Shio Site
- Odaiba = Rainbow Bridge & Fuji TV HQ
- Shimashi = Tokyo's first train station

2nd day
- Asakusa = Kaminarimon, Sensoji Shrine
- Ueno = Ameyoko (ate at the famouse Eel restaurant, Izu-ei in Ueno)
- Akihabara = Electric City
- Ginza

3rd day
- Marunouchi = Imperial Palace, Tokyo Station & Marunouchi Building
- Ikebukuro = Sunshine City, Theme Park, Toyota and Auto Salon Amlux Tokyo
- Korakuen = Tokyo Dome City
- Shinjuku = Tokyo Metropolitan Government and kabukicho
- Shibuya = Shibuya Centre Town
- Ebisu = Yebisu Garden Place
- Roppongi

4th day
- Disneysea (Tanned a lot there as we were there from 9am to 9pm)
- Odaiba for dinner

5th day (leaving at noon)
- Shiodome for breakfast

I did not go to the fish market on my last day cos I was too tired to wake up at 4am.

Tokyo is very much like Singapore unless we explore outside of it.

Things are quite expensive. I focused more on sight seeing and observing the Japanese.

It was an eye opener.
Thanks for your recommendations.

Ginger

Hi Ginger,

Welcome back! Wow! You really visited many places within your 5D4N trip. I had 6D5N and didn't go Tokyo Disney and visited mush less places comparatively! * Envious *

How did you find the subway system? Manageable? Would definitely like to hear your views on the places you visited. Which are the good to visit places?

ginger

Hi Chin Leng

I found the train system a little confusing. I was always referring to the English and Japanese train maps. My hubby was helping me each time we were on the train. I guess guys are better in that.

I was impressed with
(1) Odaiba (Went there twice). There was a beach and it was quite cooling to sit there admiring the rainbow bridge at night.

(2) Shiodome. The buildings are very new and Shiodome was generally quieter than other towns. There was a great difference when i visited Ginza not far from Shiodome.

(3)Ginza was an older town and I saw many women in kimonos and evening gowns watching some plays.

(4) Korakuen = Tokyo Dome City. There were a shopping centre with an amusepark and a Baseball Stadium. The roller coaster was very impressive but there were too many people queueing for it. The place was pleasant. It was totally different from the bustling places in Shinjuku and Shibuya.

(5)Ikebukuro = Sunshine City & Theme Park. Sunshine City is a 60-storey building with amusement facilities. I went to Amusement Park Namco Nanja Town which was quite fun. There were also a Sunshine International Aquarium and A Viewing Gallery which we did not go (Entrance fees needed and were quite expensive)

(6)Disneysea. I enjoyed myself best at Disneysea and even went over to Disneyland just to take some pictures at the entrance.

(7) Asakusa = Kaminarimon & Sensoji Shrine. It was an eye opener to visit the old Tokyo.

(8) Roppongi. A place for foreigners and clubbing. You will see people taking their dogs out for walks near the residential areas (You won't get to see this in crowded places in Shinjuku and Shibuya).

(9) Yebisu Garden Place. A pleasant place for couples. I liked the atmosphere there.

I was not impressed with
(1)Shinjuku and Shibuya cos these places were very crowded. I spent about 20 minutes only in each area.

(2)Even Ameyoko was very crowded too. I was more at peace when i visited Odaiba and Shiodome.

(3)Akihabara = Electric City. Boring shopping centre where I saw many Chinese Nationals tourists. I also realised most of the staff there are Chinese Nationals.

Overall, it was a good trip. If I have the chance to go again, i would want to go during April and venture further than Tokyo, eg, Yokohama and Osaka.

Ginnie

pompompom

Hi Ginger,

How much did u spent in all for your 5 day 4 nites trip in Tokyo? Is the transport very expensive? U have covered a lot of places for your trips. Did u travel mostly by their trains or did u walk a lot?

Rachel

ginger

Hi Rachel

I spent $500 for my trip focusing on sight seeing only.

The minimum fare for the subway is 130 Yen. That works out to be $2 plus each stop. I should have bought the single-day train ticket on my 3rd day but we forgot about it. We could have saved a lot if we used the single day train ticket.

All the places which I covered were near the train stations. As I covered many places in a day, I walked a lot and my legs ached.

Ginger

pompompom

Hi Ginger,

Thanks for your info. I intend to plan a 6 day 4 nite trip to Tokyo during the National Day holidays. U mentioned that u should buy the single-ticket train ticket on your 3rd day. How much is that ticket and where can u purchase it? Is it the same as the JR pass where u can buy it from our local tour agents?

Is it possible to visit Mt. Fuji in 1 day? Most tour packages include 1nite stay at the hot spring hotels. From wat I read, it's about 1.5 hours of train trip from Tokyo city. The JNTO guide did not mention whether it was a bullet train or normal train guide.. If it's a bullet train trip, would it be better if I purchase the JR pass for that day then?

1 more thing, is it better to purchase the disneysea passport thru local tour agents here or purchasing it in the theme park itself?

Rachel

fritt

Hi Rachel, it's better to purchase the disneysea passport at the theme park for flexibility. Coz in case the day you plan for rains, you can visit the theme park next day instead. Some more, there is no special discount if you purchase thru local agents, it could even be more expensive.

ginger

Hi Rachel

I recommend you visit http://www.japanrail.com for more information on the train system.

Are you talking about the train ticket to the disneyland and sea? I bought the disney passport at the theme park. Like what Fritt said, there is more flexibility. We even went to Disneyland (before the entrance) to take pictures.

Ginger

celyw

Hi ginger, you covered so many plcs during your recent trip thats very impressive. Btw, may i know where you stay during your trip? And how did you get to your hotel from Narita airport please advise especially the cost. Thank you.

Hi Rachel, I am going to Tokyo 9D/7N during the National day holidays too. I din plan to go Mt. Fuji but going to Hakone to see Mt. Fuji from far instead.

ginger

Hi Nemo

I am not sure whether the electrical items selling at Akihabara are cheaper. I did notice many Chinese Nationals buying them.

I cant help u on this. Sorry.

Hi Celine

I bought the Limo Bus ticket at Narita Airport. Just tell the staff (turn left after u check out) which hotel u are staying and they will advise you the timing available. After which, you proceed to wait for the bus outside the airport.

The ticket costs 3000 yen (about S$45). I stayed at Royal Park Hotel at Shiodome and the journey took about 1.5 hours.

Ginger

pompompom

Hi Celine,

I gave up on going to Mt. Fuji and Hakone as I heard that there is a 80% chance that the view would be blocked by clouds.

Rachel

celyw

hi rachel,

from the info i gather coz japan tends to be very hot in aug thus the view will be mostly clear. You heard the info from which website??

btw, whr are you staying in tokyo and what is your mode of transport from narita airport to your hotel??

Hi Ginger,

Thanks for the summary of your Tokyo trip. Wow! You really been to many places during your trip there! * Envious *

I would hope to visit Tokyo again too, and like you, would like to visit outside Tokyo.

Hi Celine,

To my knowledge, the most affordable mode of transport from Narita aiport to Tokyo would be either by rail or by airport limosine bus service.

You can find out more about travelling by rail at this page of www.japan-guide.com. It gives you the price and approximate time of travel of the various rail services.

Alternatively, you may like to check out this page http://www.limousinebus.co.jp/e/ for info on airport limosine bus service.

The choice of transport would depend on cost and if the rail station or the bus service stops near your location of stay.

For me, during my trip, we took airport limosine bus service as it stops right at the doorstop of our place of stay.

celyw

Hi chinleng,

I managed to find out a cheaper mode of transport from sakurasan in another thread.

Thank you very much for your info. I am so excited now coz left 2 more weeks before I go Tokyo.

Hi Celine,

That's great! Would you be able to share with us the mode of transport too? Would definitely be helpful to anyone who is planning to visit Japan in future.

Have a great trip in Japan!

sunflowerz

Hi Celine.I jus came back frm Tokyo not long.went in late june went about 2 weeks.I suggest that you take train..from narita to tokyo.its 1000 yen.
The whole journey take abt an hr.However if u purchase JR pass u can consider taking narita express.Seats more comfy.Some of their subways do not have escalator so take note.I was half dead when i carry my suitcase from B2 to level 1.I think it best to bring a sunscreen.The sun in Tokyo is blazing hot when i was came back.
In case u want to take taxi.Starting fare 660 yen every increase of 150 yen per min or 30 secs.

celyw

Hi Everybody,

I just came back from Tokyo this MORNING! *phew* so tiring
yawn.gif
but very happy coz went there shop till we really DROP!

Their transportation is not a problem at all as long as you study their transport map clearly its actually piece of cake so for those who like to venture on your own DUN WORRY OK!

I took the keisei normal train 1000yen from narita to my hotel incl transfer is 1190yen per pax. But when going back we took limo bus (3000yen per pax) coz really too many luggage already.

Everything there is great! Delicious food, nice and wide range of cosmetics and clothes and lots of fun!

I am planning to go back there next year already. haha....

littlegirl

I m planning to go to Japan in Dec. Actually is it easy to do F&E, or shld I stick w/ tour pkg?

Also, hw much savings is there betwn gng F&E then we purchase those day tours vs tour pkg? Cos I heard frm some ppl saying F&E - u can get alot of ur own time, can plan ur schedule; bt if u get tour pkg, u mayb able to go to plcs which u may nt b able to go to.

I also wanna go to tat wat tower, is tat Tokyo Tower?

I m planning to go ard 23 Dec, cos my AD is on 19 Dec, then prob rtn on 1 or 2 Jan.

Pls advice.

*PS - btw, there's a Chan Bros Travel fair & also SA Tours Travel fair.

celyw

Hi Ah ger,

from what i have calculated gng F&E might not be cheaper than tour pkg in fact if you really want to save cost shud take tour pkg afterall accomodation, meals and transportation are including n the agency usually enjoy bulk discount.

But I prefer F&E is mainly becoz we can plan our time and go to those plcs we interested to visit whereas tour pkg usually have a schedule n sometimes bring you to those so called duty free or localities shops which I hate.

There are pro n con if tour pkg you dun have to do your own planning all in-charge by the tour guide but timing wise also depend on them. F&E got to do intensive research else you will be clueless where to go or what to visit and getting around might be tedious if you dun like Japan complicated transportation BUT once you able to overcome these problems you can really tour japan thoroughly rather skim thru with tour pkg....you get what i mean??

mini

Ah ger,
if u want to go to many parts of japan it is good to follow tour gp as should be cheaper. they can get bulk discount n u can stay in good hotels for almost all the night. somemore japan is cold during end dec period follow tour gp is not too bad. what u can do is book a tour package but extend a few days to explore tokyo. then u can go to tokyo tower n some interesting places within tokyo.

a few yrs ago i went to japan with tour gp (forgot SAtour or chan bro) n overall i find the trip quite ok. they bring us to those sight-seeing places which i find them rather special.

littlegirl

hi Celine & Mini

Thk u gals for the info.
Yeah, after much consideration, I think hb & I will just stl w/ a tour pkg, then we will xtend a few days in Tokyo b4 heading back. The itinerary tat we r looking into is most likely the 7D Central Jpn w/ Disneyland/Sea & Universal Studio.

Apparently after some research, it seems like Ananda has similar pkg as others bt price wise is lower. I hv yet done an actual comparison betwn the itineraries, bt when I glanced thru, seems like abt the same esp if it's an ANA pkg.

Btw, u gals hv any ideas if there is any agency or online reservation that we can book for tours w/in Japn? We r thinking of exploring Hokkaido as well. Wat we need is Flight + Hotel. I tried to search bt couldn't find.

Pls lemme know if there is any info u happen to cme across.

mini

Ah ger,
u thinking of taking domestic flight to hokkaido from tokyo n explore hokkaido urself? so far i m not sure if u can book from spore. if in japan can book direct from ANA/JAL. but 1 thing the air tix is ex n only single trip. so have to pay double the price to get round trip tix. hotel in hokkaido is ex esp those onsen hotel. cost min $150 per pax per night. also how r u going to explore in hokkaido? will be heavy snowing n the transport in hokkaido is not so good compared to tokyo. bus/train frequency is rather bad. the last time when i was working in japan, i book their domestic free n easy tour package to hokkaido in end jun. the tour package includes car rental, onsen hotels n air tix. can say it was a good deal n enjoyed myself alot. but then most of the ppl there only speak japanese n with my broken japanese i had a rather tough time reading thru all the jap brochers n booking the package. even the staffs in the hotels speak mainly japanese.

actually the tour package from diff agencies to japan r rather similar becoz the overall incharge is the travel agencies in japan. some of the agencies in spore may infact liase with the same agencies in japan. when i visited japan the tour guide even told us sometimes he take tour from CTC, sometimes from satours etc etc.. I like universal studio. it is a good choice u have chosen!

odae

Hi hi...may I join this thread?

Ya..I've enquired abt signing up Tokyo pkg & self explore Hokkaido with SA tour. Advices given by them is unwise 'cos it'll be very costly (same as mini's advice) unlike the reverse.

Agree that Universal studio is very nice, but the Q is really terrible...

littlegirl

mini

yeah tat is wat I meant, I wanna fly Tokyo - Hokkaido - Tokyo. Dun they hv anything to do during winter? Nothing special?

Hmm........... nvm lor, if dun hv the most I will xtend my stay in Tokyo only.

Universal stduio - pack arh - then if I go in Dec then no need to play liao lor? Cos our purpose is to go Universal Studio & disneyland. Wonder wats there @ Disneysea leh.

Odae:
When do u intend to travel? ur Tokyo pkg is hw many days one? Then hw u gng up to Hokkaido? Bk thru SA also? Hw much is tat w/ flt & hotel provided?

odae

Ah ger,

I'll trvl there mid Nov and had signed up with SA last wkend during their fair. It's 7days Hokkaido/Tokyo pkg but the emphasis is on Hokkaido and oni had abt 1 full day in Tokyo. Thus, we'll be doing an ext in Tokyo b4 flying back to Sin. Haf u book anything as yet?

mini

Ah ger,
hokkaido has nothing much in winter coz it is freezing cold n heavy snowing. everywhere is white. the mountains are covered with snow n lake freezes. feel that not worth to go there. if wnat to go hokkaido during winter best to go during 5-11feb period as the annual sapporo snow festival will be held. can see beautiful ice scruptures. i been there n was so cold at -7deg! best to go hokkaido during may-oct period.

think depends on when u go to universal studio. oh no! when u go japan most likely u go coincide with their long new yr hols. then sure v crowded everywhere. their hols will start end of dec n end in early jan. if u go disney/universal studio on a normal wkday it will not be too crowded. i went there during a wkday in jul 2yrs ago n there was not much crowd. heard from my fren there is nothing much at disneysea compared to disneyland n tats y i din bother to go disneysea.

saw from ytr streats chan brothers has 1 universal studio/tokyo package seem not bad. mayb u can find out more from them.

littlegirl

odae

I hv nt booked anything yet. I dun want to focus just Hokkaido. I tok to Chan Bro's staff just nw then I told her where I wanna cover. Guess I will give Hokkaido a miss cos if I wanna travel frm Tokyo - Hokkaido - Tokyo, the fare is ard Yen60k, no pt.

I wil also do extension when we last stop in Tokyo. We will b either signing up w/ Ananda or Chan. SA sounds gd bt hor we prefer Chan's itinerary leh, cos they r gng to Takayama & other agencies dun hv, something unique. Ananda like lesser things lah bt much cheaper.

Mini:
Ok, since no pt travelling, I wun go to Hokkaido le. I intend to go there like 22 or 23 Dec then will extend till ard 2 Jan then back.

We r thinking of Disneyland also. Bt then again since we r @ Tokyo le, we prob try go DisneySea & c wats there.

It's tat one lor, the 7D Scenic thing. The pkg price is excl ~S$100 Universal Studio. Tis is the popular pkg & is a new pkg.

mini

ah ger
disneyland n disneysea r just beside one another. so u can still go disneyland. oh still need to top up $100 for universal studio. kinda ex hor. but if want to go universal studio is the tour become a 8D tour? tix to universal studio cost 5600yen.

odae

May I know if the entrance fee to Disneyland or Disneysea the same as Universal studio?

How abt the 2days pass to both Disneyland & sea?

Tks!

mini

if i remember correctly the entrance tix to USJ, disneyland n sea are the same. should be 5600yen if my memory din fail me. not sure abt the 2days pass to disneyland n sea. think ard 10000yen. heard is slightly cheaper compared u buy both separately.

littlegirl

Mini:
We can choose either one, & I guess we will be there for @ least 1/2 - 1 whole day there. So if we wanna go DisneySea, guess it'll b during our extn.

Universal Studio is in Osaka. On the tour pkg, it's either to Universal Studio or Shinsaibashi (shopping). if u r gng the latter one, then no need to pay xtra, if u wanna go Universal Studio, then pay xtra ~$100 to get the passport. Infact dun think they earn anything out of it. They quoted me $100 is a rough estimation only.

then, it wun be an 8D tour, it's either/or. it will still be a D tour.

Odae:
Disneyland entrance is already incl in the pkg, unlike Universal cos some ppl may nt want to go, so they do it as an option.

gals, those who r keen, tis wkend's fair:
1) SA - Millenia Walk (Sat/Sun)
2) CTC - Chinatown Pt (Sun)
3) Ananada - Baraclava (Sun)
4) Chan - Suntec Level 4

odae

Thanx Gals!

The tour pkg I took did not incl fee to Disneyland/sea...it's on our own (O-O-O) though our last stop will be in Tokyo after Hokkaido..therefore need to do ext and find out the costs..

& agree with Ah ger that agencies did not earn anything out of the ~$100 for USJ..it's a rough gauge based on conversion of sing to yen..

mini

ah ger,
oic.. so in the end which tour agency did u book the package? feel tat not so worth to go USJ since only spend half a day there right since dun think agency will allocate 1 whole day for shopping to those who dun want to go USJ. oh yar last time i signed up with satours to japan n the tour guide say only satours allocate 1 whole day in disney to make the passport worth. the rest of the agencies is only slightly more than half a day.

tobebride,
most tour agencies have land tour package.

littlegirl

hi Mini

I just booked yest - w/ Ananda. The pkg is tailored by ANA itself & they distributed to some agencies to sell the pkg.

I find it's a worthwhile trip, bt hv nt heard of any comments/complaints, I supp it's gd & ok.

The original pkg is S$1848 +++ incl od USJ (Osaka), Disneyland/Sea (Tokyo), then to Kyoto & etc. I can't rem the exact itin cos @ hme liao. It's purely Honshu (Central) Jpn. No Hokkaido, nor Fukouka/Nagasaki (scenaric & historic).

If we bk during the fair, pay deposit by Nets/Cash/chq, we get $100 off per pax, by credit card only $50 per pax. Last dep date is 21 Dec, tats when we r gng. My AD is 19 Dec, so I will go for Hm straight after wedd to relax lor.

Ananda has no extn or deviation surcharge. Stay in 4* hotels or similar (assured wun dwngrade), then 80 - 90% meals provided.