Japan trip - where to go

jo jocelyn

I am going on a business trip from 24th Mar to 31 mar. Is there any where with nice scenery or cheap nice shopping area around Toyko/Yokohama?

hi jo,

i recommend the following shopping places in Tokyo:

- Ginza (chic but expensive)
i.e. Matsuya, Matsuzakaya etc

- Shinjuku (lots of departmental stores...wear your most comfortable shoes)
i.e. Keio, Takashimaya, Isetan (reasonable prices and you get tax rebates - so remember to bring your passport when shopping)

- Shibuya (young and hip shopping...can be weird)

- Takeya (@ Okachimachi - purple building) everything under one roof...cheap shopping (food stuffs, jap beancakes, greentea, electronic products, toys, clothes etc.)...can be very crowded 'cos frequent by locals

all these places are close to subway stations...very convenient!

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">KPO</FONT>
i c that u'r pretty familiar with Tokyo. Juz like to chk, is it easy to travel from Tokyo to Osaka with zero knowledge of Japanese?

my hubby is going on biz trip to Osaka in May, n i was thinking of utilising the Krisflyer to redeem an air-ticket to Japan (and clear my leave at the same time). problem is, can only redeem ticket to Tokyo cos the airlines dun fly to Osaka. i was thinking i fly to Tokyo then take train to Osaka, but hubby is VERY worried that i'll lose my way as he feels it's VERY difficult to move ard in Japan if u dun noe Japanese and the pple there dun really noe English.

advise needed. thank you.

hi angelia,

erhh...i'm familiar with tokyo only

i've only travelled from tokyo to osaka once (but that's quite long time ago)

you can travel from tokyo to osaka on the JR Tokaido Shinkansen line (bullet train)...if i don't remember wrongly...the journey will take 2-3hrs. i think you can enquire and purchase the JR pass from the ANA or JAL branches in Singapore. think it will cost ard S$250+ (not more than S$300) to travel from tokyo to osaka..but i'm not too sure if the prices are different now.

you can find out more details from:
http://www.japanrail.com/
http://www.tokyutravel.com/sb/travel.nsf/webjapanrail/

don't trust my words (my little bit of knowledge is probably dated)...check it out with the tour agencies or airlines.

nowadays..you probably can obtain English-versions of the maps or train routes from the hotels, train stations or travel bureus. The names of the stations are also written in english on the signboards and @ the stations these days..so less confusing for non-Jap visitors.

there are english-speaking tel. enquiry lines for the JR...so before you set off to anywhere...make sure you ask all relevant questions about the JR (schedule, which track, whether necessary to change trains etc.)...carry the tel. no. of the JR with you in case you really get lost. buy a good guide book (i.e. Frommer)..read up before you go to japan.

partygal

Hi Angelia,

You don't have to worry. Osaka and Tokyo are big cities and they have English signboards at the station. Tokyo station is a big though, but you can just ask the counter for the shinkansen and they will direct you there.

If you are making round trip between Tokyo and Osaka, perhaps you can consider buying a Japan Rail pass. The cost of the pass (not sure of the latest price but you can check with Creative Travel here which sells it), allow you unlimited rides on JR trains for 7 days. And the price is equivalent to the round trip. A very good deal and I have used it a couple of times to go around Japan, all the way from Tokyo to Fukuoka, etc.

There are many trains to Osaka everyday, so you can just reserve and hop on. Let me know if you need any more information.

jo jocelyn

Thanks for the info. Actually I will be quite near to the shopping area as I will be going to the retail stores for store visiting.

I just found from the ANA or JAL airline that they offer domestic flight for around S$200 to 5 major countries.

Angelia, when are you going to Japan? I will be going again in May and want to go further than Tokyo/Yokohama.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jo_jocelyn</FONT>
i was thinking of 1-5 May but hubby biz trip is from 6-24 May, so now also dunno how?!?!

when u going? i think i'm fine with any dates from 6-24May lor. u going for biz-trip? where? so if we meet, will be after office hours? aiya, really headache... what m i supposed to do during the day?!?!

jo jocelyn

Angelia,

My End March schedule is now firm. I am going their to train Japan Merchants on new system setup. Will be going again maybe in the second week of April. And another trip in May.

May might be within the first or second week. In the afternoon, you can go shopping around Tokyo. I just speak to my Japanese ppl, it seems to be easy going shopping there.

My office is in the heart of Tokyo (branded Merchandise) and near to my company hotel - New Otani. At nite, all you can go is drink and eat or entertainment. Shopping only available in the day. Also they got Disney Land.

jo jocelyn

Mandy,

I was just about to email you and tell you to come with me in May.

I went to the management and suggested to console the training for April together with March.

May, I will mostly in office training. You can bunk in with me. We have a big hotel room with double bed. No issue.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jo_jocelyn</FONT>
my hubby told me 1st wk of May is Japan holidays, no one working, that's why his trip is from 2nd wk of May.

u'll be in Tokyo city rite? tot u wanna go beyond Tokyo? my hubby at Osaka leh. hubby said abt 3hrs ride by bullet train leh. he said "cannot move around alone" despite me telling him it's no problem and forwarding him the postings here!! very stubborn man!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mandy</FONT>
u oso wanna go? good leh, then at least i got company during the day!! kekeke...

mandy

hi angelia and JO,

really!!! i can go?? but how much is the air tixs??? and i need to work out my budget. then maybe i can check out some suppliers and see if i can have a meeting with them.

i got 2 frens in there, dun knwo if they are free to meet us and bring us ard.

anyone knows how much is the air tixs?

cos if i am not going to japan, then chances are, i will go to beijing.

mandy

jo jocelyn

Mandy,

Air Tickets to Japan :

Northwest - $500+
UA - 800+
JAL - 1300+
SQ - 1400+

If first week of Japan is Public Holiday, then maybe I will go in 2nd week. I will mostly in Tokyo and Yokohama cos Japan office located there.
I might want to extend to a longer period so that I can go to Hokkaido

mandy

i also want to go hokkaido... but i think if i were to extend to there, it might be too expensive for me... out of my budget.maybe u let me know your schedule and then i see how i can work out my budget.

mandy

cynthia

Hi Angelia... so good, you can go with your hubby on his business trip...

Me went to Osaka and Tokyo (company incentive trip) some years back. Very nice places... It's actually not that difficult to move around. The people are very helpful but sometimes their English very hard to understand. Try asking the younger Japanese. We noted that they understand us (and we understand them) better than the older ones.

I like the lively atmosphere in the Fresh Section of their supermarkets. So different from the atmosphere here in our wet markets and local supermarkets.

Tried their Koke beef too - RAW! Very YUMMY leh... think about it also hungry liao... Went to Mt Fuji and DisneyLand. So fun!

Hey, shall I bring my albums on Friday to show you??

cynthia

hwee

It's not difficult to travel in Japan. Most young Japanese can speak broken English. If not just show them a map and point the destination u wanted to go and they will direct u.

I have been there twice. I always start my trip from Tokyo. 1st time, I went there in June and travel by JR to Osaka and Hakata. 2nd time in Dec, we also travel by JR to Hokkaido. The trip to Hokkaido is really memorable.... The snow scenery there is really like those in TV serial! It's freezing, but I enjoyed it! For those who are interested to go Hokkaido, must go during winter, best near X'mas, cos every town has their X'mas theme and the X'mas mood there is great.

For those going to Tokyo &amp; love shopping, don't miss the 100yen shop at Shibuya. It's a 5 storey shop and all items at 100yen (abt $1.40) . U will be surprise by the household items and food items they offer at 100 yen. Their electronics stuff there were also cheaper then S'pore. Basically, these outdated items in japan... but to us, they are considered new. The MD players, APS cameras are very cheap.

angelia - I takes take 2.5hr to travel by JR from tokyo to osaka. Buy the JR pass from the JTB office at Takashimaya, cost about $400 plus but u can travel on all JR lines (both bullet train and their MRT) in Japan for 7 days contnuously. According to my friend, it's almost equivalent to a return trip ticket to Osaka from Tokyo.

Hope the above helps.... and oh yes, I will also be in Japan for my honeymoon in Jun!

fish

HI,
For those who are interested to go japan on guided tour, I strongly recommend this one by ANA. I went with my fiancee after our ROM last year and it's only 1,700. The tour guide was excellent, he told us so much about the country since he was a jap-born. But the food was so-so. It was very comprehensive considering we went to tokyo, osaka, and Kyoto. It was really memorable....

fish

Hi cynthia,

About 13. but everyone was cooperative. The gd thing about guided tour is u get a fairly gd understanding of the places and culture from tour guides, good ones I mean. Whereas if u go on your own , sometimes u r so busy getting around that the joy of understanding more about that place is gone. Perhaps my hubby and I are the lazy sort we just want to be pampered : - )

jo jocelyn

Hi Mandy,

Will keep a lookout for the stuff you need.

I am flying on 23/Mar midnite flight. Benson flying on 26/Mar morning.

Thanks everyone for your suggestion. I guess my first trip in the morning is to go to the supermarket and 100yen shops.

mandy

hi Jo,

okie...
have fun there and take... btw, do u have email which i cam communicate with u there and your phone, is it ROAM??? me can send u sms??

mandy

gwnn

thinking abt going to japan for my honeymoon in June. heard hokkaido is really pretty in summer, anyone got idea? is it difficult to go to hokkaido from tokyo, by train/air? any recommendations for 'min-ju' (inns) to stay at?

tks!

jo jocelyn

Dear Mandy,

Singapore line cannot use in Japan. Unless you rent one from your service provider.

I am bringing a laptop so you can send me email via my company's. But the earliest I can retreive is on Monday.

Between 24 and 26, you can SMS my hubby (you got the no).

I am still struggling to find cheap and near train station hotel (for Fri, Sat). Sakura season start 18th and now hotel very full.

Mandy, I have another trip coming up on April (maybe 3rd week). You can start planning.

hwee

Hi gwen,

I travelled to Hokkaido from Tokyo by rail. It's quite far and requires you to change trains at 2 stations. The express train (bullet train)will end midway and thereafter, you will need to change to a limited express train. The whole journey will take about 11 hours provided you manage to catch the connecting trains and the super express train. Also, the JR pass do not allow u to take overnight trains, so u need to travel in the day time.

For my case, I stop over at Aomori for a day before contining the trip to Hokkaido. Aomori is quite a nice place as well esp if u go in Aug cos they have some festival to celebrate harvest.

When I was there, I stayed in small but decent hotels at abt $160 per night and all within walking distance from major train stations. However, I noticed these small hotels there do not have English wordings on their signboard and u will need to know some basic Japanese to identify these hotel. If not, then will have to ask around for help.

Hope the above helps. When are u intending to go?

gwnn

Hi Hwee,

thanks! wow...that sounds like a really long way. guess it'll be an experience if the scenery enroute is nice. is that the case? else, rather than spend one day on train, flying might be a better option. thinking of going in mid june. i've been to tokyo before so will probably spend only 2 days there, and then 3-4 days in hokkaido. any suggestions for things to do in hokkaido?

gwnn

hwee

Hi gwnn,

Actually, not much scenery along the way, maybe because I went during Winter, so all covered with snow. But their JR train is very comfortable. During my return journey from Hokkaido to Tokyo, I actually catch all the connecting trains and I find it quite enjoyable cos we talk, sleep, eat and time just pass very fast!

If you are considering to take an internal flight fm Tokyo to Hokkaido, pls book your ticket 3 months in advance. They actually give a very good discount if you book early.

3-4 days in Hokkaido should be enough. I'm not too sure what are the attractions in summer, but the common places are the river canal at Otaru. government building at Sapporo and the park outside Sapporo Stn, Night scenery at Mt Hakodate.

I think 2 days in Tokyo maybe a bit too short. If u have the JR pass, you can travel to Shin-Fuji Stn &amp; transfer a bus to the foot of Mt Fuji. There is also the Asakusa Temple, Tokyo Disneyland/sea and the Park outside Tokyo Stn. There are also more to shop in Tokyo. I would you need to cater at least 4 days in Tokyo.

angelia

wow, so many postings!! thanks everyone for the info.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hwey, Cynthia</FONT>
since u've both been to Osaka, care to share with me what are the nice places and nice food? i'll prob be venturing ard on my own (except wkend) cos hubby working.

can't extend his trip cos need to rush back to M'sia to attend his brother's wedding!!

me headache!! still trying to work out a good schedule!!

sherin

Since 1st week of May is Japan holiday, will the shops/shopping centres be open? I will be going to Tokyo from May 2 to May 8.

hwee

Angelia,

Osaka got a lot of food street.... there is big one near some red-light district (can't remember the name) which is not very safe for you to go alone. There is also a famous shopping district there, 1 or 2 stns away from Osaka Stn (Shinsaibashi). Very big, link a few shopping centres with underpass shopping street like citilink. Go to their supermarket, they sell a lot of Japanese cooked food and the prices were reasonable.

When I was in Tokyo and Hokkaido, there this desert call "Xue Mei Niang", it is a palm-size ball made of mochi filled with red beans and green tea cream. Very delicious. But I dun recall seeing it in Osaka. It's available at a counter in some supermarkets and train stations. Look out for it!

On your hubby off-day, u can also go to the new Universal Studio. According to my friend,the rides were great, but need to queue for at least 1/2 hr. It will be worst on weekends.

Sherin,

I always go during school holidays in Jun and Dec, so I not too sure abt it. But I doubt the major shopping centre will be closed during Japan Holiday. Can check with the tour agencies or JNTO office at Takashimaya.

cynthia

Hi Angelia, I got some writeups here on Osaka shopping centers...

RINKU PREMIUM OUTLETS home to 119 stores including Bally, Coach, Fulra, Brooks Brothers and many more. Located 30 miles south of Osaka, on Osaka Bay - near the bridge to Kansai International Airport. In a relatively urban location served by a first-rate transportation infrastructure that brings shoppers by road, rail and air.

DIAMOR OSAKA an underground shopping arcade surrounded by seven stations. Was built according to the city planning to set main pedestrain passages underground to avoid traffic congestion on ground level. Diamor Osaka consists of four streets names Fashionable Street, Casual Street, Market Street and Variety Street.

HERBIS PLAZA located on basement second up through the 3rd floor in the building complex named Herbis Osaka with 190 meter high-rise which accomodates the world famous luxury hotel, The Ritz-Carlton Osaka and office tenants.

HEP FIVE a vertical shopping mall comprising of over 100 speciality stores, food/restaurants, amusement and an event hall. On the 7th floor, there is a spectacular Feris wheel that goes up to 348 feet high.

CRYSTAL NAGAHORI largest underground space in Japan with total floor area of 81,800 sq metres. Built as part of development for a major east-west transporation arterial of Osaka. B1F is a shopping mall with connection to 3 stations, with parking on B2F-B4F. Shopping mall stretches 730 metres with a total of 101 tenants, making up 9,500 sq metres of retail area.

HOOP a speciality store complex annexed to Abenobashi Terminal Building.

Think all these should be pretty easy to go to, since all near some stations.

cynthia

desiree

I have read from internet. "A JAPAN RAIL PASS cannot be purchased inside Japan." Is it true? And I am only in Tokyo for about 2 days, must I definitely buy the 7 day ticket? If not, how I go shopping??

hwey

Yes, the JR Pass can only be purchased outside Japan.

If you are only there for two days, no point buying the pass. Pay cash. It is not always cheaper buying the Pass. The pass only save you money if you travel by rapid trains and bullet trains or across prefectures. The usual trains and buses, I find that they aren't that different from Singapore's prices.

princess

I'll be going to Tokyo this September. It should be Autumn. Anyone's been to Japan during Autumn? How cold is the weather? Is it alright to wear skirts? I don't intend to bring any jeans cos too bulky. Can I wear sandles? Don't want my toes to drop off. All comments appreciated!

bouncy

My husband has a United Airlines voucher worth US$200 (equiv to plus minus S$370). He obtained this voucher due to a flight delay on board a United Airlines flight. We would like to sell the voucher at S$150. Travel has to be completed by 2 Oct 2002. It can be redeemmed for direct flights from Singapore to Tokyo. Interested parties please email me at [email protected]

starfruit

Hi Princess : which part of japan will u be going and for how many days? i was also considering Japan as my honeymoon destination.

hwey

I prefer Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, and then Kamakura, and Hiroshima. Of course, Tokyo - my favourite. Buzzling with life and vibrance.

klyc

I am planning to go Japan for my honeymoon in Nov02. Anyone knows is the weather okay in Nov? Any recommendations on any tour agencies that is good (service/itinerary)? I heard that there will be some travel fair coming soon 25Aug (ChanBrothers) and 1Sep (SA UIC). Is anyone going too?

KLYC

may

u can try Tokyo Dome hotel. Is a very nice hotel and it is new, plus it is near a JR train station. i think their website is www.tokyodome.com.jp

if this is not the web address, can you try the search engine on the web? I book it online which is a cheaper rate and i squeeze two pax in a single room to save money.

hwey

Hi Jason

What's your budget? There is a Tokyo International Youth Hostel at Iidabashi. It is situated next to Iidabashi station (JR) and above the private line, I think also called Iidabashi. I find that it is very convenient and one night stay there, if I am not wrong is 3,800 yen.

jason

Thanxs for the reply.
Budget wise would be about SGD50-100 per nite.
Staying alone so should not be a problem

Saw that since i will only be staying in Japan for one nite, i need not get the JR pass?
Please advice.

fion

Me also considering of going to Japan (December) for honeymoon. can anyone give me some advices?

a) is it advisible to go F&amp;B or package tour? prefer F&amp;B, but will a first-timer with wee wee knowledge of Jap. able to survive there?

b) is there any reasonably-priced hotels? I heard they are about S$240 on avg. true? thinking of staying there about 6 nights.

c) where can we purchase the Japan rail pass?

thank you :p

honey

I'm going for a company trip in Nov to Tokyo. Any recommendations where to shop for reasonably priced and fashionable clothings in Tokyo?

dolphie

Hi Honey,

If you want street fashion, I suggest Shibuya and Harajuku. For branded products, you should be able to find them in big shopping centres, namely around Shinjuku.

lemonade

anyone has any recommendation on reasonably-priced accomodation in Tokyo and Osaka? eg. S$200/night

or ... any good website recommendation that i may check for accomodation?

mikko

hi lemonade,

you can visit the japan embassy...i got a brochure listing down all the budget hotels in the various parts of japan.

for tokyo area...avoid hotels in shinjuku/ginza/tokyo city areas...try the "suburbs" - check out Toshi-Center Hotel..if i'm not wrong..it's around Yen9,000 for single and Yen13,000 for twinshare. i've stayed in another cheap hotel before but the name slipped my mind...will revert when i recall.