Japan trip - where to go

angph38

i oso dunno the range leh

but need for triple, cos my mum coming wif us.

folic

Hi Angelia,

actually, most hotels in Tokyo will have very small rooms, only big enough for 2. It is not quite possible to add another bed. Unless you stay in those ryokan, but I don't know any in Tokyo.. cos I usually use Tokyo as base and then travel out to other places.

For Tokyo, I usually stay in Century Southern Tower, which is near the Shinjuku station. It is opposite Takashimaya as well. My company has got corporate rates with them, so it is cheaper for me 15000 yen one room. If no company rates, it will be about 18000-20000 yen I think. Which airline are you flying with? I know ANA has some cheap air fare and room offer two months ago...
Most of the agencies here offer the Prince chain of hotels and most are located in convenient locations. Only thing about Japan hotel is that if you choose one that is popular with local business men, then be prepared that your room you will stink.. stale cigarette smell. Even if you ask for non smoking room, it will be the same cos ventilation is poor. But other than that, most hotels are very clean.

folic

apple77

Hi Angelia,

You can check out the links below:

::Annex Katsutaro Ryokan ::::::::::::
http://www.katsutaro.com/

- 2 min walk from Dokanyama Exit(No.2) of Sendagi sta. on the subway Chiyoda Line.
- 7 min walk from West Exit of Nippori sta. on JR Line and Keisei Line. (walking distance to UENO)
- 51 min to Narita Airport
- around Art Gallery, Museum

14,000-16,000yen for 3 pax stay in Japanese style with bath
--------------------------------------------------

:: Hotel Asakusa Mikawaya :::::::::::::::::
http://www4.famille.ne.jp/~tyo-stay/e-nikkanren/ham1.htm

- 5min walk from Asakusa Station (Subway Ginza Line)
- Twin Room 12000Yen

--------------------------------------------------

:: Kikuya Ryokan ::::::::::::::::::::
http://jpinn.com/inn/4-1.html
http://village.infoweb.ne.jp/~kikuya/

Conveniently located for city sightseeing. Especially close to Asakusa Kannon Temple. Comfortable Japanese-style rooms are available.

- 8 min. walk from Tawaramachi Sta. on the subway Ginza Line
- 10 min. by taxi from JR or Keisei Ueno Sta

12,000Yen for 3 pax japanese style w bath

----------------------------------------------------

HOTEL MIKAWAYA :::::::::::::::
http://www4.famille.ne.jp/~mojyo/

Access.
- *JR(JAPAN RAILWAY) Ueno st 6 mounts by walk
- *Subway(GINZA LINE) INARI-CHO st 2 minits by walk

12.000 Yen(Japanese Style) 3pax in 1 rm

---------------------------------------------------

Taito Ryokan :::::::::::::::::::::
http://www.libertyhouse.gr.jp/index.htm

There's a public hot spring near this place.... and this ryokan is near the temple
JPY9,000 a night for three people

apple77

Tama Ryokan
Traditional Japanese Inn near Downtown Shinjuku
http://www.idiom.com/~turner/tamaryokan.html

3 people ¥10500/day

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grand House Chang Tee Hotel
http://changtee.com/index.html

3 Person: 12000 Yen

Close by major shopping and restaurants around the Ikebukuro Station. Department Stores includes: Seibu,Toubu,Mitsukosi,Parucol,Marui,Sunshine City.

bubble_low

Juz like to chk whether anyone been with ANA packages. Wonder whether the guide is chinese speaking, (cos going together with parent). Do comment on the food and hotel. Thks

bubble_low

Juz like to chk whether anyone been with ANA packages. Wonder whether the guide is chinese speaking, (cos going together with parent). Do comment on the food and hotel. Thks

angph38

apple,
juz wanna thank you. we stayed @ Grand House Chang Tee Hotel for our overnite stay in Tokyo. pretty good except that the heater doesn't seem to be hot enuff.

sunjade

Hi Low,

Hey, i am going for the ANA package as well. Which one are you interested in or have you signed up already? We are going for the 7 day honshu experience...

apple77

Hi angelia,
no prob, am happy to help. How's the room and the facilities? I've been to few hotels in japan... mostly they use those electric heater therefore not warm enough... then the 2nd time i went bk they changed to gas heater.. much warmer.. keke... so is the rooms clean? how's the staffs there?

angph38

apple,
the rooms R clean, with attached bathroom.

not sure what type of heater they're using, but it's those like aircon type.

didn't interact much wif the staff (but they speak chinese!!!) cos we juz check in, rest a while & out we go again.. came back, took keys, back to sleep. early next morning, checked out liao

the room has tatami in-laid. and they provide a "mattress" (more like quilt) & a quilt. think they try to make it similar to ryokan style (but no wardrobe to keep the mattress & quilt so we juz leave it as it is) but the tatami is not removable. it's pretty comfy though

facilities? they hv a shared bar fridge outside the room (along the corridor), a microwave oven & a hot/cold water dispenser juz beside the reception counter. wldn't mind staying there again if i hv the chance to go Tokyo again

bubble_low

Hi sunjade,

Which agency did u sign up ? Actually, i'm still sourcing around. Not sure whether food, hotel and tour guide is good. When are u leaving ?

apple77

angelia,
okie, seems quite nice then. Maybe i'll try staying there the next time i go. But isit easy to find and location convenient enough? Soemtimes their maps are not very accurate.. keke

angph38

apple,
no worries abt the location. it's very easy to locate. esp if u use the map on their website. juz count turn right after how many streets, walk straight for how many streets, etc. it's really that many streets!!! and the T-junction is shown as T-junction on the map

the only thing is, hv to find the correct exit from the JR station!!! it's pretty confusing to us, non-regulars!!

apple77

angelia,
hahah, think i shdn't have that much problem since the one i stayed is much much much more difficult to find, hence never recommend to you. Wah.. all these talking makes me feel like going tokyo again.. miss the stretch along sensoji temple and of cos hte hot spring.......... shiok!

angph38

apple,
ya, miss Tokyo cos i nvr really have the chance to explore!!! hiaz... too many hiccups during my last trip. but guess won't be going in near future, hubby wld rather go european countries

apple77

angelia,
actually if go everywhere liao then decide to go to same country again is better.. at least get to see other places first... good mah... might plan for europe trip for my honeymoon... but still a bit too early to plan for that.. since my date is next yr end.. hahahah

angph38

apple,
it nvr too early to get more info.. else by then u'll hv to prepare for ur wedding and honeymoon together. might be too rush.

millie

may i know which area to stay in tokyo wld be better? a fren suggested shinjuku but i find the hotels in this area more ex. how abt ikebukuro? any comments pls?

we plan to stay in tokyo and go for day trips out.

apple77

angelia,
hmm, maybe u're right... shd start collecting info ^_^

Hi millie,
i feel that as long as it's accessible to the main line of the train stations, i think anywhere is fine, it doesn't take long to travel around, more or less like singapore. But i think it's worth it to pay a little more to stay nearer to the popular areas like shinjuku or ikebukuro cos... the train tix are $$$.. unless u get the pass. So where u intend to go to for ur day trips?

millie

hi apple,

thks fore ur info. i will source for hotels in shinjuku area. as for day trips, maybe out to kyoto, osaka and sendai. hv not planned yet. most impt must get my rm confirmed cos now peak in japan leh.

angph38

millie,
day trip to Osaka & tokyo? then u'r getting the JR pass rite? u intend to stay in Osaka or only do a day trip?

i went Osaka, but did a 1 nite stay @ Tokyo. Went Hakone but din manage to see Mt Fuji

Osaka to Kyoto by JR is abt 30mins, but not sure how long is it from Tokyo, maybe 2.5hrs.

try to get hold of a copy of the JR timetable & start planning (check the earliest & latest train u cld take). The ordinary JR pass allow us to take Kadomo (slowest) & Hikari trains unless u wanna top up extra $$$ to take their Nozomi trains. so we'r always taking the HIKARI trains, unless going to Kyoto cos it's only 1 stop from Osaka, not much diff.

Hikari trains from Tokyo to Osaka is abt 3 hrs, Nozomi is 2.5 hrs. be sure to go & Q early if it's wkend or peak period cos there is only a certain number of unreserved cabins (3 for 8-cabin trains, 5 for 16-cabin trains if i rem correctly) and it's usu packed.

&, always plan to catch the earliest train to depart & the 2nd last train to return, juz in case u cldn't reach the JR station in time (the train leaves on the DOT!!!), u still won't leave too late, and still can catch the last train home

millie

hey angelia,

thks for ur info. think i'll take ordinary JR pass. so ex already. if need to top up, cost even more. i intend to plan my schedule now and do all the reservations at the narita airport once i reach. haha kiasu rt?

was ur trip a short trip? fr what u mentioned, u didn't seem to have stayed long.

may i ask how come u didn't see mt fuji? foggy day?

i m trying to look for lodging at shinjuku area now. got problem with 29th to 31st dec. the places i checked r full!

will check out grand hse chang tee. thks yah!

millie

angelia,

read in earlier posting tt the heater at chang tee not warm enough? how do u find? now winter time and i scare of cold.

but the hotel looks clean and decent yah.

angph38

millie,
me oso scared of cold, but hor, to me quite alrite (still can take it), but my mum complains it's cold, maybe cos she's near the windows!!

what i can suggest is that u email them & check if it's possible to add extra heater cos u got fren stay b4 & find it not warm enuff. btw, we set the heater to 31 degrees!!!

oh, cos by the time we reach the top of Hakone, it's already 2+ 3pm, & it's very cloudy liao. i went mid-nov, so it's autumn time & the it's pretty dark by 5~6pm.

stay wasn't long cos hubby hving biz trip in Osaka, so we stayed in Osaka for 1 wk, only the last wkend can go Tokyo. can't extend stay cos he doesn't hv leave
unless i extend my stay in Tokyo wif my mum, but hubby say "cannot!!"

millie

hi anyone been to disneysea? i hv been to disneyland in states and thot of visiting disneysea in japan. however, the website doesn't show much and i wonder if the inside is as enchanting as disneyland. how abt the rides in disneysea?

thks!

hazel_t

Disneysea is ok only, it's smaller than their Disneyland which is very packed during school holidays. The rides are also lesser. I would say that one full day is more than enough.

mvp

Heard tat basically u can't get to try out many of the rides as they are usually packed wif pple. In tat case, is there any shopping area within disneyland to occupy time rather than spend fruitless time queueing...thanks!

tsubame

Hi, I'm going Tokyo F&E for my honeymoon (sort of, more like shopping trip for HB
) in March. Will be in Tokyo for 9 days.

Just saw the links for accomodations posted previously. Will try the Grand House Chang Tee Hotel if our current choice -House Ikebukuro- is not available. They haven't repied yet
, maybe because it's CNY. Will call them on Monday if no reply by then. Interested parties can check them out at www.housejp.com.tw

We're looking for accomodation in either Shinjuku or Ikebukuro. So once check in can immediately shop what.

Anyone been to Kamakura and Yokohama while in Tokyo? Intending to visit these 2 places during our stay.

millie

hi cat, i did a day trip to kamakura to see the big buddha. u can take a bus fr the train station to it. sorry can't remember the bus no. didn't visit other sights in kamakura but we walked ard the areas near the train station. i like it there. it's a town and much quieter.

sakurasan

I visited Kamakura and Enoshima. It's a very nice town but didn't manage to take a nice pix with the Buddha coz it was winter and dark at 4pm. Nikko is another must go...very pretty!

antares

hi, may I know has anyone been to Japan for honeymoon with tour agency? Is it really very tiring? Initially thinking of Free and Easy but a bit worried abt the language barrier problem..

sakurasan

Hi Antares

No worries abt language problem. Tokyo and Kyoto are well signposted in english and romanji. I had no problems getting ard on my own when I was there. The tourist information office over there has english speaking staff.

millie

antares, we survived the 'language problem'. we know no jap but with the chinese characters and english directions and some hand language with the local, we managed. a gd way to find ur way ard is to carry the name of the destination u want to go to and just point at the destination when u ask for directions/ time schedule/ etc.

i wld encourage u to do free and easy so that u hv control over your planning. but cost wise, it's cheaper and less stressful to do package tour.

tsubame

Hi millie and sakurasan, thanks for the info. I was like thinking if can squeeze Kamakura, Yokohama Chinatown and Minato Mirai all in 1 day.
Cos they are all on the same JR line. Kamakura seems like can be covered in the morning, then afternoon we go Yokohama. Dun think we'll be going Nikko though, cos it's just temples and shrines and quite far.

Hi antares, I went with tour package 2 years back. Was so rushed didn't feel relax at all, and dun really feel like I've been to Japan when I return.
Dun feel like been to a holiday.

Think it's ok if you dunno the language. Just do as millie suggested. Actually the Japanese should understand English, cos it's a subject in their school syllabus. Just that like us in S'pore learning Jap, they can understand but may not be able to answer you in the language.

Actually, feel that it is cheaper if F&E, if you dun mind staying non-hotels. And it's very fun trying to make head or tails out of their subway. Enjoyed getting lost in the Tokyo Station even though we were madly rushing for time and trying to find the correct platform last time we were there.

ingenue78

Hi Antares,

I just came back from a package tour in Japan. It was a good trip and wasn't as hectic as we initially tot. The s'poren tour guide was great as he told us a lot of things about the jap culture and their history. It helps tt he knows his way ard Japan as he stayed there b4. despite it being a tour package, we still have some time for some F & E. At times, we tend to venture out of the hotel too. When we visited Universal Studio and Disneyland, we were left on our own to explore ...so it isn't tat bad...at least, i need not stress myself out on the road directions. In actual fact, i tot it was better coz we get to have loads of beauty sleep in the coaches, making us feel refresh whenever we reached our destinations!! ;-P

millie

cat, just to suggest not to try to squeeze visiting so many places in 1 day. might be too rushing. but if u r going tis mar, it will not get dark early. we decided to go 1 place a day partly cos of the early sunset and partly cos we dun wanna rush abt. we planned for a relaxing free and easy trip. but of course, it depends on ur planning and schedule.

and u reminded me of the fun of getting lost.
at times, hubby and i argued on the correct direction/ train but overall, think we have fond memories of finding our way abt. and i remember commenting that the teachers teaching english in japan must be not doing their job as most pple gave us a blank but friendly look when we try to ask in english.

yvonne

Hi Ino

May I know which agency did u sign up with for your Japan pkg?
I intend to go Japan in late March (for the cherry blossom).
still looking around for tour agencies...so far, i heard from colleagues' feedback tat CTC's tour pkg is not bad..(price wise, its also cheapest)
i have never been with group tours before but coz we r going Japan an coz of the language barrier...decided to take tour pkg to save all the hassle.
pls reply..thks!

askabride

hey, yeah, yvonne, me too, intending to go at the same time as you for the cherry blossoms, so that's y we are hunting for good pkgs too

ingenue78

hi yvonne,

your fren is rite...CTC is one of those wif value for money packages. I went with Hong Thai Travel coz their departure date suited my schedule. Their package is quite reasonable. Can check it out.
;-)

yvonne

Hi Ino

thks for ur reply. k..will check out Hong Tai and compare against CTC. ;)

Antares > CTC is located at Chinatown Point (4th sty I tink).
u can also visit their website http://www.ctc.com.sg for more info.

hey askabride...so how's ur findings?? i m looking at 7 days central japan..
i went to SA UIC website..the itenary not very good leh..coz 1st day u reach then they bring u to Disneyland..then at nite, u gota take a flight to Osaka...like tat very tiring leh..
n ChanBrothers is too ex for us..
;P
so most prob. taking CTC..but with Ino's input, will check out Hong Tai.
Good luck in ur findings.. heheh

askabride

hi yvonne,
i currently at the stage of collecting brochures hehe, think this weekend will check CTC and Hong Thai out.
Yeah, true, Chan Bro's pkgs seem quite exp leh...
Anyway, do share your findings too ok?
Good luck to both of us heheh

ordinary75

Hi ,

Why dun u consider the ANA package? I went on a 7-day central japan tour in 2002 and it was fantastic...good tour guide and itinerary. The ANA website has the details.

askabride

Hi, actually, i am hoping to visit Mt Fuji + Disneyland + DisneySea + bullet train + many others attractions WITHOUT temples, temples and temples...anyone has any gd recommendations on such pkgs?
I did think of gg on our own but i am not really familiar with this country, besides, I hope to have the luxury of having transportation and meals waiting for u :p